15 photos
Subaru Liberty

Subaru Liberty (page 2 of 4)

4GEN, 5GEN, 3GEN, etc...
4.3 from 94 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sedans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Subaru Australia

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (27)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (26)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (23)
  • Braking
    4.5 (25)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (25)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (24)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (24)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (25)
  • Handling
    4.6 (25)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (25)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (25)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (25)
  • Features
    4.4 (25)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Charbel
CharbelSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the subaru liberty

published

2008 subaru liberty has plenty of power leather seats sunroof luxury edition popular car very smooth on roads steering wheel is smooth as well I clean my cars one a week always protected with wax the liberty's will not let you down

Purchased in January 2019 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Narelle
NarelleMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car. Really quite impressed.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Daniel
DanielSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Solid, reliable car

published

This has been a great vehicle overall. It's comfortable and reliable and very easy to drive. The features are plentiful and I've never had a problem with it. 6 month servicing is annoying and the fuel economy isn't great around town. I'd definatley recommend a Subaru however. The AWD system is excellent and the car feels like it's glued to the road

Purchased in August 2015 for $35,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Waynos Beaunos
Waynos BeaunosSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews

Really amazing car

published

I was given this car after having to leave my Mercedes with my ex.

Best thing ever, sticks to the road, entertaining to drive (love Awd now), and surprisingly quick (mid range) also good on fuel.

I should be replacing her, but why, she never misses a beat

Oh the tiny battery has been an issue (once) but hey small issue in a great car

BadgeOutback
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Reliable car

published
Badge2.5i
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2010
Bob D.
Bob D.SYDNEY
  • 2 reviews

An absolute delight to drive!

published
BadgeHeritage
BodySedan
Engine Size2.2 litre
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
smart cookie
smart cookieSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent Car - Poor Dealershp Service department

published
BadgeGT Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2010

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Steven. R
Steven. R
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

A real great car for its time!

published

I love Subaru’s & when I was looking for one I was looking for the WRX at the time. While searching I found these awesome rides. Kind of like the luxury version of one I chose it due to having all leather interior (STi stitched), momo steering wheel, sunroof, climate control plus it was the STi model & looked sexy as. So I chose this 6 speed weapon & I am overall very happy with it. It had great legroom for me, a nice sounding turbo, great suspension package & awesome rims. The sound system is amazing for a stock one too! The only thing is I wished it had a slightly more throaty exhaust but apart from that (which can be modified) is overall a really good car :D

BadgeGT Tuned By STI
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2015

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
robin
robinMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 31 reviews
  • 17 likes

love this car.

published
BadgePremium Pack
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sophie W
Sophie WAU
  • 6 reviews

Perfect

published

Good car and easy to drive, really cheap on fuel. Subarus are good cars because they are all wheel drive. I feel safe when I'm driving in the car and it's a reliable car to get you where you need to go, not much to fault on this car very happy

BadgeSport Edition
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Jake
JakeMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful and fun car to drive - excellent power

published

I have had this car for 6 months and it has been nothing but a pleasure to drive. I have not had a single issue with the car, except that i drive more enthusiastically which uses more petrol! the spec-b suspension is unbelievable. Interior looks modern and up to date even though it is 10 years old design. The mcintosh sound system is OK, i installed a parrot bluetooth to add bluetooth experience.

BadgeGT Spec.B
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017

Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
iBennyz
iBennyzMelbourne
  • 8 reviews

Perfect first car, very reliable

published

This is my first car and I love it. As the vehicle is AWD, it creates a smooth and controlled driving experience, in addition to that, the cruise control function makes driving so much easier. The interior and cosmetics of the car has a modern feel despite being a MY05 model. Unfortunately there is no bluetooth or AUX audio function, however with two cigarette lighter ports, it allows me to use a FM tuner to play music through my mobile device. It's current running cost is $55-$65 a full tank which usually lasts 1.5 weeks with day to day commutes. I've owned this car for over a month now and have had no problems.

BadgeSafety Pack
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sedans

Find out how Subaru Liberty compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sonny
Sonny
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pleasure to drive

published

We didn't know what car we wanted to replace our Ford Escape? Subaru had a pretty good deal on a car I hadn't considered. The test drive and sales man was rather good and we decided on the suburu liberty. This was exciting but we never imagined how awesome it would be until it was ours and we got to drive it permanently. It's smooth, quiet and powerful enough to be zip yet a rather decent sized car. We are a family of 5! Very spacious for what appears to be a small car. AWD once you've had if I don't think you'd ever want to go back, very happy customer !

Badge2.5i
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
commie
commieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 21 reviews
  • 6 likes

The complete wagon.

published

Brilliant wagon. Not luxury but everything you need, comfortable, accessible, well designed, roomy, easy to service etc. The Liberty is a simple to maintain point and shoot wagon that does what a vehicle that it is should do. I use it for everything from everday travel to going camping and skiing and it's never failed me.

Badge2.5i
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2010
Ken
KenNewcastle
  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

2.5 ltr motors head gasket failure. USA forced a recall, but not here in Aus.http://forums.whirlpool

published

2007, 77k (as of 2017), full service. City only drive. Just told that the head is beginning to leak, 2500-3500 (some paid 6000) repair plus control arm rubber failing (price??)
This one owner car was to last my healthy aged mother till she can drive.
DONT buy any 2.5 subaru non turbo.
Ring Subaru Aus and tell them your thoughts 1800 22 66 43 (Monday to Friday 8.30am – 5.00pm AEST).

BadgeLuxury Edition
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2007
Blair B
Blair BSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

What an admazing car.

published

Enough power to push you back in your seat and to make passing a snip. I really hate CVT thought Subaru would have been better going for dual clutch but heard the new tune is good, took for a test drive and was impressed and brought it. On b roads and highways I'm getting mid 8's l/100kms very nice for 3.6, flat 6 one of the few truly balaned engines so super smooth 1700rpm at 105 km. All this nice stuff aside (apart from the loud tyres) eyesight is f$@ken awsome for motorway driving, could save your skin one day also makes driving more relaxed.
Pitty the high beams are not LED, also no DRL well no fancy LED ones anyways, small sunroof from 1990's. Very happy with the car.

Badge3.6R Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Irene
IreneSydney
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Impressive reliable and functional

published

2014 model, safe all wheel drive great in the wet weather, timeless look, powerful yet doesn't guzzle fuel 95/98 petrol, comfortable seats yet sporty looking and dont feel every bump on the road. easy seats 5 people, all the extra safety features makes it a car that will stay in our family for years having just passed it down to my son.

BadgeGT Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
markir
markirRaumati
  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great car, surprisingly fast

published

Bought a 3.0R Spec B late last year. Overall pretty good car - I've owned a few Subaru turbos over the years and wanted something different (no turbo lag in particular), The 3 Litre motor is just awesome. I was shopping for an auto wagon - but when I drove the 6 speed manual I loved it. So a quick assessment:
Pluses:
- really nice 6 cylinder motor, great response, surprisingly fast
- awesome Bilstein suspension
- great 4wd
Minuses:
- a bit skittery on rough road
- sulky key remotes - won't work if it is raining!
- chassis rigidity poor - needs front strut brace

That last point is hugely significant - with the brace installed is is a different car, a pleasure to drive and confidently push into corners!

BadgeGT Spec.B
BodySedan
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
mcwins
mcwinsAU
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Safe, solid and Subaru.

published
Badge2.5i Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Ashley
Ashley
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect car, couldn't be happier!

published

Excellent driving experience, powerful yet quiet and fuel efficient which is ideal. Interior and exterior is comfortable, tidy and modern. Only thing I would change is having a rear window wiper for cold mornings, other than that I couldn't ask for much more. So far it has treated me very well, reliable is an understatement.

Badge2.5i
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
1984chugs
1984chugsNSW, 2000
  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

I've already lost my licence since owning this car

published
BadgeGX
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Nikki
NikkiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Prefered my 2002 Subaru Manual Liberty

published

We love this car, it has a nice drive.. some issues I've found include clock is very small and the car is quite big which makes manouvering into small spaces difficult. Disappointed that parking sensor was an addition and only works for the rear. I wish it was still made in manual.

Badge2.5i Premium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Louisa
Louisamelbourne
  • 2 reviews

Lucy, my 2006 Tuned By STi Liberty GT

published

Dream car, made with care.

When Driving my 06 TBSTI, I know I'm wrapped in safety. She's spacious, comfortable, makes decent power, good on fuel and when maintained, will last for ages.
With the right child seat configuration, you can also fit 3 across. I also know, without kids seats, you can lay the rear seats down, and fit a 2seater couch in.
My Lucy has been tuned to make it more fuel efficient with an increase of power. Being 11 years old, she is getting on. But, I won't be selling her any time soon. She is my dream.

Badge10/10 tbsti
BodyWagon
Engine Size2.0T
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Daniel
DanielSydney, NSW
  • 18 reviews
  • 15 likes

Excellent Car. Happy to be back in a Japanese vehicle!

published
BadgePremium
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
DrBob737
DrBob737AU
  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best shaped Liberty Sedan Ever

published
BadgeHeritage Luxury Edition
BodySedan
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2001
Page 2 of 4

Other Sedans

Previous
Next
See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.