??!
4 photos
Subaru Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium

Subaru Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Subaru Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium 2020 and Subaru Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium 2022.
4.4 from 40 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (10)
  • Braking
    4.4 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (10)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (10)
  • Handling
    4.4 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (10)
  • Features
    4.3 (10)
Previous
Next
MansfieldJohno

MansfieldJohnoNortheast, VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Best car the wife has driven

published

purchased car brand new in November 2019 . Wife has done 9012km she said it is comfortable and quiet to drive. Car averages out at 6.85km per 100kms. So cheap to run

Purchased in November 2019 at Subaru Dealers for A$45,898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
M M

M MPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 15 likes

Purchased brand new and a lemon! Atrocious lack of support from Subaru Australia!!!

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2016
7 comments
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ M M, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Subaru. Please feel free to send us a direct message to our Facebook page with your vehicle details and we'll be in touch. The Subaru Team.

M M
M M
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ M M, It is unfortunate that you feel that way. We wish you well with your further interactions with the dealer. You are welcome to contact us at your discretion be it via our Customer Relations Team or our Facebook page. The Subaru Team.

ELK

ELKSydney, NSW

Designed for city driving

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
fdsaj

fdsajAU

  • 26 reviews
  • 23 likes

Not good enough

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jimbo

JimboCentral Queensland, QLD

All 4 the Driver is SO TRUE

published

Second hand purchase from SA and return drive to Mackay Queensland was a dream drive. Used daily great for trips to Cairns, Emerald and Gladstone. The eyesight is a great.

Purchased in January 2019 at Private.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Quality vehicle with a Subaru design fail

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Subaru Docklands.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
batchee

batcheeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Safety & practicality. There's not much the Outback won't do.

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Silverback

SilverbackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Quality, usability, funtional and great value.

published

2015 Subaru Outback premium this is a great car for the family. Funtional and roomy inside with cup holders, rear folding seats, USB ports, sunroof and leather seats. Big roomy rear wagon with quick release handle to fold seats. Ecomonical engine with good smooth power and transmission. Funtional roof rack option which fits neatly into the top plastic roof tracks. Love this car. Great japanese build and quaility. Best valued family wagon on the market.

Purchased in May 2018 at Subaru Dealers for A$28,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Liron nehmadi

Liron nehmadiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good but not as reliable as I would expect

published

We purchased a Subaru Outback MY18 10 months ago. Since then we travelled 17K with the car.
The Good:
Handle more like a car than an SUV
Spaces, practical and very nice inside
Active security systems are best in class

The bad:
This car has a lot of electronics in it. With so much tech come the issues. Our multimedia screen died and it will take nearly THREE MONTHS to replace
The battery died after the car has been parked for a week

I guess brands like Kia will be more reliable today than Subaru...

Purchased in March 2018 for A$43,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Muzza

MuzzaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent Allrounder

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
DriveAWD
Austaurean

AustaureanJerrabomberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

2015 Subaru Outback 2.5 Premium

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DriveAWD
GKB

GKBSydney

Complete failure of Infotainment system - beware

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveAWD

Built for highway cruising but just as comfy in the city.iI

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
glennl003

glennl003South East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

A vehicle for all seasons

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Cassie T

Cassie TAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

Mummy car

published

I bought the Subaru Outback in 2017 premium version and couldn't be happier. The main reason i bought it was because of all the safety features. I tested the safety features out, it will beep if you start to swerve into another lane, slow down if you are driving too fast when car infront has slowed down which could be good if you get distracted with a screaming child. Able to take car up dunes without need to charge tyres. Can open/close boot via car remote, handy when carrying groceries/ baby. Plenty of leg room for front passenger even when you have baby car seat in the back. Has a great sun roof too. Great all round car!

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Belmakov

BelmakovSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Family SUV

published

Ample Space, Rich Looks, Great Ride, fantastic road grip, can go on and on and on. Symmetrical 4WD is just awesome and you cannot question Subaru's eye to safety. The Eye sight and lane departure features are cool additions. Great sound system and excellent leather quality used for seats.

Now why 4 stars then - Dashboard looks quite basic, their inbuilt entertainment system is supposed to be playing video files as well but none of their technicians could make it work

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Rudolph

RudolphSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car

published

Highly recommend this car, it's a pleasure to drive. Leather seats feel luxurious, with power seat adjustments. We took it to the snow and it was very comfortable and quiet, lots of power, plenty of room for skis on the roof, plenty of room for luggage and skit boots, and the front seats are heated. Did our research and you get a lot of premium features for the price.

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Des

DesBallarat

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect family car without the bulk

published

Purchased new 2017 Subaru Outback premium 2.5. After many large bulky 4x4 this is a breath of fresh air, as smooth as a Lexus , lovely ride and handling .and so quiet..... Fuel efficient 8.5 lit/100 town running , no rattles beautiful solid build quality .
Massive leg room compared to ,cx5 Mazda, jeep , Hyundai.
Most definately recommend ,

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Des
Des

Whilst it was a very good car , I have since sold it .... CVT auto transmission just annoyed the crap out of me in the end .... No defined gears, found engine to be very underpowered.... Vague steering and no feel.... However very well built vehicle

Lane

LaneNorth West, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

All the bells and whistles

published

A beautiful car to drive, smooth, easy and quiet. The cruise feature is excellent if not a little space age. The car drives and brakes itself. Lots of room inside front and back. I especially like the electric controls for adjusting the seat and I love the seat warmer excellent for a bad back. Average running costs, however services are expensive.
The only problem I've come across is now and again I can't gain access to my car. It is keyless using a hand print and it simple doesn't work, frustrating but eventually it gives in. A lovely car that I love but I wouldn't get a keyless car again.

Purchased in April 2015 at Suburu, tweed.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
John

JohnAdelaide

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great all round family car

published

I've had the car coming up about a year. It's been a great daily driver. Boot is plenty for a family of 4. Back seats have plenty of room and so do the front. Engine is adequate for every day drivingand returns 8.5ltr per 100km in suburban driving. Eye sight is a breath of fresh air and I'm thankful for buying a car with it.

Sound system could be better other than that it's a good reliable buy.

The only vehicle that i could see coming close to this would be a kia sportage in diesel form.

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Page 1 of 2
See all Subaru Outback reviews

Questions & Answers

Rod

Rodasked

Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium (2014-2021)

Anyone with problmens/noise when opeming power tail gate?

4 answers
Iggy Pop
Iggy Pop

Mine has been ok but only had the car one week. How has the steering been on yours? Mine wanders at highway speed. Taking it back to the dealer tomorrow

BK53
BK53

What problem was found? I have a Forester 2.5 l not quite 2 years old and it wanders over the road and needs constant correcting. Wondering what to do. Help please. I have Bridgestone Dueller low profile tyres which were on since new - 25000 kms on the clock.

Rod
Rod

Subaru replaced the tail gate motor - not without argument as they couldn't "hear" the noises.

Recently they also changed the coils, had to leave the car with them for a week till one "senior mechanic" found the problem.

I had to replace the OEM tyres before 40,000kms, never had tyres that last that little.

Iggy Pop

Iggy Popasked

Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium (2014-2021)

Have just purchased a 2019 Subaru Outback, and first drive on the highway I find the steering extremely poor. I stopped at first service station and found tyre pressures ranged from 190 kpa to 260 kpa. I adjusted them to the recommended 230 front and 240 back and did improve but the steering still veers to the left. I did investigate a bit more and found the US model has a bunch of complaints similar to mine on the steering. It seems you have to concentrate and drive with continual corrections as soon as you go over 80 kmh. Interested if any one else has had similar issues with the car. We now have 100 km up on the car and I am extremely disappointed. Wondering if I have purchased a lemon??

1 answer
Rod
Rod

Thank you Iggy, I dont drive much the car, its has 35Kms, i had the car for almost 4 years now and as i dont drive above 100kms p/h haven't noticed anything weird on steering. Hoerver picked up my attention that OEM tyres are already low, when i had my first liberty back in 1995 OEM tyres last 80Kms! there are many complains in the use for faulty motor on the power lift tail gate.

Himonefella

Himonefellaasked

Outback 5GEN 2.5i Premium (2014-2021)

Our M2017 after the twenty four month service (only 25500kms) has developed the shakes when the aircon and aux fan start up on a hot day under idle at traffic lights. Her idle appears to be set at the 750/800 mark and she drops back to 650 when both of those items kick in. My service dept states that the shake is normal?????

1 answer
Rod
Rod

yes, poor answer. i have some noises when i pass form P to R or D, at subaru docklands they said is normal. I believe while under warranty, they dont see extra $$$, so its normal

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Outback
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price A$48,052
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors5
Seats5
Fuel Consumption7.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power110kW @ 3600rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 1600-2800rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance213 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2014
Compare all 8 Subaru Outback

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.