??!
4 photos
Subaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R

Subaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Subaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R 2020 and Subaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R 2022.
4.4 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

16 reviews
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (5)
  • Braking
    4.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (5)
  • Features
    4.4 (5)
Previous
Next
FerrisBueller

FerrisBuellerPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

110,000km of excellence

published

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
tinkertoy

tinkertoyNSW, 2000

  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect family car

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Tynan Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Linda Maree

Linda MareeMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Outback 2019 3.6

published

I agonised over what car to buy, can’t believe how much I love this car. The smooth power and great steering the comfort of the drivers seat to the enormous space of the back seat.
The little things like a light coming on under my door stepping out into a dark garage, so cool it’s awesome!

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great car, can't beat the performance safety and reliability and overall value of the 3.6r outback.

published

Brilliant car, love the thick torque through rev range, Much quicker than the 2.5l litre liberty 10.5sec 0-100 , 3.6r 7.5 sec 0-100. Fuel consumption great on highway and average around town if you're enjoying the engines instant strong power. Adaptive cruise control eyesight is very nice and I feel good knowing my wife and family are in one of the safest cars around.
It's not a race car but has very good real world performance.

Purchased in May 2019 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Alan

AlanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Well designed car. Local dealer not so good.

published

Had the vehicle 2 years now and very happy with the product. Subaru have done a good job in the design and engineering. The eyesight system and adaptive cruise control is reliable.
I tested the 2.5 before and it was nice to drive but the 3.6 is relaxed power and there is no revving with the CVT it's incredible smooth.
It's a lot of car for the money. Well done Subaru.
Negatives: the only issue the car has is with the multifunction unit. It has stopped working twice and keeps getting poor radio reception (not related to location)
The dealer has not been so good: Melville Subaru. They messed up the factory 5 year warranty then tried to give me an insurance plan. On one service they forgot to tighten the oil drain plug back up.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
dior2009

dior2009Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes

Best car I've ever owned

published

Bought a new Outback 3.6R a month ago, seriously this is the nicest car I've owned. Super quiet and silky smooth, built well, very refined and has all the technology for a safe drive. Especially love the Harman Kardon sound system. Looking forward to good times in this car. Thanks Subaru

Purchased in June 2019 for A$46,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Gil

GilMelbourne

Drives well

published

Good safety features. Maps vastly superior to the older version in our 2012 Outback - speed zone notifications in maps and on instrument screen are especially useful. Car has plenty of go and is very comfortable. Lot's of space in the back seats and boot. Happy now the Starlink system has been replaced.

Badge3.6R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Nick

NickMelbourne

2018 Outback 3.6r - Mixed feelings

published
Badge3.6R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
DriveAWD
Soc

SocGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Outback

published

What a great car, excellent overall in regards to space height, room and more so the roof racks. Great family car and price is spot on. The only thing i could find is why are they using full synthetic oil on a daily driver? Really happy with this car i will buy another soon.

Badge3.6R Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Car

published
Badge3.6R Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ant

AntMacquarie Park

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best Subaru Ever By Far

published

I have driven Subaru's since 2001. They have always had something special about them, but I noticed over time other brands had not only caught up but were exceeding the Subaru on most levels. Seeing the newly designed Outback, I had expectations of a small improvement over previous generations. Boy was I wrong! This generation is such a big change in every way. The quality of build, the quietness in the cabin, the safety features, the entertainment system, everything is automatic and you are now even warned when your washer fluid is low. I am not saying the Subaru is more advanced than other cars, it has just finally caught up in one big leap. I love this car and think it's the first one I will hang on to for quite some time. 5 Stars.

Badge3.6R Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
CLB

CLBSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

We love our Outback

published

We chose the Outback for the space and its capability on country roads. Purchased new in Nov 2016 we were aware that some people have labelled the 6 cylinder model a bit thirsty, but we are delighted with the fuel consumption - much better than expected on our month-long road trip around Victoria & South Australia. The vehicle's comfort and power has exceeded our expectations. We would recommend this vehicle to anyone that wants to explore the country in comfort with confidence.

Badge3.6R Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
VV

VVMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect for growing family and trips

published

Bought my Subaru Outback 3.6R Premium brand new in 2015. The engine is powerful without being heavy on fuel, I get an average economy of 9.0L/100k with mix of highway and city driving (60/40), obviously this will depend on lot of other factors for many.

Love the space especially for our family trips. The car is packed with safety features and the constant AWD boosts confidence while driving in wet conditions.

The only thing i hate is the way the headrests are placed on the driver and passenger seats. They are almost pointing downwards and don't suit me being used to seating straight. But that is an issue for me and may not be for others.

Overall a very well built, reliable and safe car.

Badge3.6R Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Truereviewer

TruereviewerVictoria, Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

The vehicle does it job .

published
Badge3.6R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
sbmtb

sbmtbMELBOURNE

Very thirsty and poor off road ability with CVT

published
Badge3.6R
TransmissionAutomatic
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WAH

WAH

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent car and I love it, but a few minor bugbears

published
Badge3.6R Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
See all Subaru Outback reviews

Questions & Answers

graeme

graemeasked

Outback 5GEN 3.6R (2014-2021)

I am a very happy Subaru owner during the last 12years and during the last 5 years a 2015 3.6 R premium outback. This car is outstanding and easily the best car i have owned in approximately 50 years of driving various makes and models. The Outback has a great power to weight ratio, superb driving / handling characteristics, comfortable, able to handle reasonably serious off road conditions, has a great Harmon Kardon stereo and lots of nice tech ( do yourself a favor and check out the spec,s on this vehicle )
Another great attribute with this Outback 3.6 R is it runs on ordinary 91Ron unleaded petrol. the best economy I have achieved is 7.6 litres per 100kl,s. It is not to difficult to achieve around 8.4 to 9.5 average with sensible driving.
I have recently considered upgrading my Subaru Outback to the newest model, a bit more refined, more power maybe ,upgraded tech, suspension and so on. Not a big ask for Subaru. Wrong ! ! ! Very wrong.
Trying to get real information about the new 2021 Subaru Outback is akin to pulling teeth, however I believe the new model only has a 2,5 litre engine and ( your kidding us ) no turbo available. The crazy part is they have increased the tow value from 1800 KG,s to 2000 KGs. REALLY.
Subaru, you may have known what you were doing, but what were you thinking. you have made a major blunder ( in my opinion) by robing your customers of owning a Subaru with decent, safe power.
It appears that to own a 3.6 Outback now the 2020 model is the last available. Very sad. So, get onto the car sales websites, have your money handy and buy one . you won,t regret it.
Graes

2 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Graeme, Thank you so much for your review. We know that there is a great appreciation for the 3.6R model in the Outback. While it may not be an available option in the new Outback, we're constantly working with the factory in Japan about future possibilities for us. We recently released specs and pricing on the 2021 Outback which you can check out here but there will be more to come as we get closer to its release in March. The Subaru Team.

graeme
graeme

Thanks Subaru Australia for your reply. I look forward to Subaru Japan having a light bulb moment and re-introducing the 3.6 engine or similar in 2022 . We should not be limited to underpowered smaller engines that do not cut the mustard, especially when towing/overtaking. People will pay a premium price for a premium vehicle / engine combination.
I hope we get the goods in 2022.
Graes.

Alan

Alanasked

Outback 5GEN 3.6R (2014-2021)

The power and torque figures of 129kW and 235Nm under details are incorrect for the 3.6

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Outback
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price A$54,877
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors5
Seats5
Fuel Consumption9.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power129kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque235Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance213 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2014
Compare all 8 Subaru Outback

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.