??!
4 photos
Subaru Outback 4GEN

Subaru Outback 4GEN (2009-2014)

3.6 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (5)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (5)
  • Handling
    4.4 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (5)
  • Features
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next

Relivable car

published

The outback diesel CVT is our daily drive it has been to places like the Painted Desert ,Oodnadatta ,Burke and Wills Dig Tree and Cameron’s Corner mostly towing a 1200 kg van with out any problems. I took over servicing the vehicle after the warrant finished our dealer is good, l use genuine parts, the only issue is front outer cv joints around 100 000 ks which you can get replaced use genuine parts ,you could say general wear and tear. I have added a skid plates. The subaru so far is reliable easy to service and cheap to run.

Purchased in August 2013 for A$46,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Sammy

SammyMulgrave

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

One of the worst quality car in the market with worst support

published

Purchased in May 2012 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Honest & dependable

published

Bought her new in 2013. She is my retirement vehicle. Something of a special as she has leather and satnav but not the sun roof. Have done >80,000 kms and she has not missed a beat. Still on original tyres! Done a few long trips MEL-NOOSA, MEL-ADEL, MEL-Wodonga. Fuel consumption rarely exceeds 8L per 100kms. She does a trip from Mornington to Footscray about 3 times a month which is a total of 600kms a month on freeway. Uses no oil, I have always used synthetic. My son has a Liberty wagon and my other son has a Forester all trouble free. Great lock on the steering (aka as turning circle) All round a great family wagon.

Purchased in March 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 4GEN compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Canberra Guy

Canberra GuyCanberra Central 2601, ACT

Quite dissapointed

published

Purchased in November 2011 at Subaru Dealers for A$42,600.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
xavibear

xavibearSYDNEY

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great family car

published

Purchased in July 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Thank you so much for your excellent review, xavibear! Hearing from our Subaru family makes us so happy. We would love if you could post this on Google Reviews as well. Thank you again, and may you have many more years of great trips in your Outback!

Lancia

LanciaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The Subaru Outback is the perfect car for many reasons! I love the way you can get in the seat a fantastic level!

published

Transportation is fantastic with pods, back seats come down and towing a trailer or caravan! It’s loves the small commutes to large driving trips around Australia. Tech worthy dash and console!

Purchased in November 2011 at Garry Crick subaru.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jonathan

JonathanUlverstone

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent, does everything you need from a car and lots more.

published
Badge2.0D
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Theodore

TheodoreHobart

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

An excellent vehicle

published
Badge2.0D
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Sunny

SunnySydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Car, just high service cost

published

I have 2012 Subaru Outback 2.5i premium automatic CVT from new, and running well until now. But the service cost is high, and need two services each year. The GPS satellite navigation also got maps out of date, but the map upgrade cost also high. The fuel is around 10.5L per 100km, not too bad.

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 4GEN compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jasko

JaskoSydney

  • 6 reviews

Great comfort,economic vehicle

published

Fantastic vehicle and great comfort ,I never had problems with this vehicle. Sturdy on the road and smooth handling ,diesel power, and comfort in very family orienteded car. Since I brought this Subaru Outback I love it for 4th year as never before I love car like this. 35 to 40$ will take fo 1 week every day town driving in 70% of the day.interior is very handy and fantastic. It is really solid vehicle ,I love it.

Badge2.0D
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Mark

MarkMount Victoria NSW

Sturdy but has weak points

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2010
Elbear

ElbearBrisbane

Problems with city driving

published

Dpf light goes to flashing as soon as oil dilution level gets to 10% which requires oil change and reset the sensor ($220). This happened within 2000 kms of similar problem caused by perforated hose ($995) while still under warranty and having only done 64000 kms, with a lot of long kms as well. Apparently I'm driving the car too gently. I was advised to push it harder and take off at lights a bit harder. Not happy.

Badge2.0D
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
1 comment
Elbear
Elbear

still taking up the case with subaru who have responded by saying that the car is ONLY suitable for longer distances and higher loads.
Unfortunately i was not made aware of this when i purchased the car.

privateer_saurus

privateer_saurus

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best car i've owned

published

LOVE my 2011 Outback, such a practical vehicle, there is nothing i can't fit in the back of this thing, from beds to sofas to music gear. And the dog of course. Diesel fuel economy even better than my old petrol Corolla. Excellent service at City Subaru (even though I didn't buy it from them). Never had any mechanical issues, very swift and nimble despite it's size, very comfortable to drive long distances using barely any fuel. Love it but Subaru have short changed themselves as it's so awesome i wont' need to buy another for a long time.

Badge2.0D
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014

30,000kms on- The best Outback model- so far

published
Badge2.5i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2013
Annoyed

AnnoyedMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 36 likes

Diesel Manual Outback

published
Badge2.0D Premium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback 4GEN compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Helen

HelenMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Turbo Head Failure after 5 years!!!!!

published
Badge2.0D Premium
TransmissionManual
Barry

BarryCanberra, ACT, 2611

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Overall good vehicle with a couple of weak points

published
Badge2.5i Columbia
TransmissionCVT
Ex Suby owner

Ex Suby ownerCentral Queensland, QLD

Love driving it but can't wait to get rid of it.

published
TransmissionManual
Badge2.0D
Nancy

Nancy

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Subaru outback diesel 2014

published

Our mechanic was really good and explained to us how to avoid carbon build up. check this site for info. Was told car is not deigned for short distance travel. We do 20 km to school 40 km return but soot is a problem. He suggested one long drive a week, in manual mode 5 th gear , 3000 reve to clear soot. Update 12 months on...
This is no longer an issue. No need for long drive. No soot build up at all after Subaru made adjustment to car. Best car we love it.

Badge2.0D Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2014
dp29

dp29Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 18 likes

Good Car

published
Badge2.5i
Page 1 of 2
See all Subaru Outback reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Subaru Outback 4GEN (2009-2014) but you can read 37 questions about Subaru Outback.

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Outback
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateSep 2009
Discontinuation dateNov 2014
Compare all 8 Subaru Outback

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.