??!
19 photos
Subaru Outback

Subaru Outback (page 2 of 9)

3GEN, 4GEN, 2GEN, 5GEN
4.0 from 168 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (32)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (31)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (31)
  • Braking
    4.5 (31)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (31)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (30)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (32)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (32)
  • Handling
    4.3 (32)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (31)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (32)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (31)
  • Features
    4.1 (31)
Previous
Next
batchee

batcheeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

Safety & practicality. There's not much the Outback won't do.

published

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Silverback

SilverbackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Quality, usability, funtional and great value.

published

2015 Subaru Outback premium this is a great car for the family. Funtional and roomy inside with cup holders, rear folding seats, USB ports, sunroof and leather seats. Big roomy rear wagon with quick release handle to fold seats. Ecomonical engine with good smooth power and transmission. Funtional roof rack option which fits neatly into the top plastic roof tracks. Love this car. Great japanese build and quaility. Best valued family wagon on the market.

Purchased in May 2018 at Subaru Dealers for A$28,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Lancia

LanciaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The Subaru Outback is the perfect car for many reasons! I love the way you can get in the seat a fantastic level!

published

Transportation is fantastic with pods, back seats come down and towing a trailer or caravan! It’s loves the small commutes to large driving trips around Australia. Tech worthy dash and console!

Purchased in November 2011 at Garry Crick subaru.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Iggy Pop

Iggy PopCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Subaru

published

Just purchased a new Subaru Outback and initial view is not great. The car appears to be good quality finish, but first drive on the highway, I found the front to be wandering requiring continuous corrections with the steering. Tyre pressures did need adjusting which gave a slight improvement. A bit disappointed with this. After a couple of attempts, the steering issue has been sorted. Seems the wheel alignment was the issue

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Pitpat

PitpatHobart, TAS

  • 70 reviews
  • 31 likes

3.5 stars. More room than the Forester but has a few to many minor annoyances

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
TJL

TJL

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

2018 Subaru Outback Hobart- average car and average service

published

Purchased in February 2018 for A$48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sean Saunders

Sean SaundersSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

More pros than cons of this car

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Twiggy

TwiggyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wonderful car but pathetic local service from the Subaru dealer.

published

We recently had a minor accident, denting in the driver's side of the rear bumper bar of our 2017 model Subaru Outback. We had the bumper bar replaced and repainted, however the sensor which detects a vehicle approaching and about to pass was not functioning. The local Subaru dealer has now had the car for three days and is unable, so far to resolve the problem.
What is even of more concern is the lack of communication from the dealer.
As stated before a wonderful and safe car being let down by amateurish and irresponsible service.

Purchased in August 2017 for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

2018 Subaru Outback- Too many electrics.

published

I've had the 2018 Subaru Outback for 7 months. I think they've jammed to many things into this car and parts are failing. Since owning mine the infotainment system failed. That unit controls radio, GPS, camera, phone, and needs to come from the Overseas. Google Head Unit fail. Furthermore the fuel level indicator is not calibrated properly in the 2018 model with the machine arriving in Australia mid 2019. This means if it's indicating you've got half a tank you actually have a quarter and if it's indicating a quarter you'll be walking. I also had problems with internal rattle noises. Subaru Australia and the dealer are not helpful.

Purchased in July 2018 at Ballina Quayside Motors.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Liron nehmadi

Liron nehmadiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good but not as reliable as I would expect

published

We purchased a Subaru Outback MY18 10 months ago. Since then we travelled 17K with the car.
The Good:
Handle more like a car than an SUV
Spaces, practical and very nice inside
Active security systems are best in class

The bad:
This car has a lot of electronics in it. With so much tech come the issues. Our multimedia screen died and it will take nearly THREE MONTHS to replace
The battery died after the car has been parked for a week

I guess brands like Kia will be more reliable today than Subaru...

Purchased in March 2018 for A$43,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Muzza

MuzzaMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent Allrounder

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
DriveAWD
Austaurean

AustaureanJerrabomberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

2015 Subaru Outback 2.5 Premium

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DriveAWD
GreenVomit8

GreenVomit8Sydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent

published

Really happy with the car even though I'm not a fan of 4WD vehicles and this was as close to a family station wagon that I could get. Doesn't sit that high off the ground as other 4WDs do.
If there was a Liberty wagon at the time of purchase I would have went for a Liberty wagon but they stopped making them. I also would have went a Camry wagon but they stopped making those as well.
Build quality is excellent. Feels like it will go on forever.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
GKB

GKBSydney

Complete failure of Infotainment system - beware

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveAWD
Gil

GilMelbourne

Drives well

published

Good safety features. Maps vastly superior to the older version in our 2012 Outback - speed zone notifications in maps and on instrument screen are especially useful. Car has plenty of go and is very comfortable. Lot's of space in the back seats and boot. Happy now the Starlink system has been replaced.

Badge3.6R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick

NickMelbourne

2018 Outback 3.6r - Mixed feelings

published
Badge3.6R
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
DriveAWD
Soc

SocGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Outback

published

What a great car, excellent overall in regards to space height, room and more so the roof racks. Great family car and price is spot on. The only thing i could find is why are they using full synthetic oil on a daily driver? Really happy with this car i will buy another soon.

Badge3.6R Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Jordi

Jordi

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

First car and I'm in love

published

Super reliable, good on fuel, nice size without being huge and also quite pleasant to drive. Sadly it doesn't have turbo which I'd have loved, but that's what I get for buying used I guess. The car is really comfy and does everything you need a car to do while looking great and feeling great at the same time.

Badge2.5i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Built for highway cruising but just as comfy in the city.iI

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
SteveP

StevePGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent all round

published

Very comfortable driving. Heated front (leather) seats and sunroof are a joy. High front seats (for those of us a little older) make getting in and out so much easier. Easy visibility, incl larger side mirrors, makes driving (incl changing lanes) easy. And have the comfort of it being all wheel drive. Highly recommended.

Badge2.5i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Page 2 of 9
See all Subaru Outback reviews

Questions & Answers

graeme

graemeasked

Outback 5GEN 3.6R (2014-2021)

I am a very happy Subaru owner during the last 12years and during the last 5 years a 2015 3.6 R premium outback. This car is outstanding and easily the best car i have owned in approximately 50 years of driving various makes and models. The Outback has a great power to weight ratio, superb driving / handling characteristics, comfortable, able to handle reasonably serious off road conditions, has a great Harmon Kardon stereo and lots of nice tech ( do yourself a favor and check out the spec,s on this vehicle )
Another great attribute with this Outback 3.6 R is it runs on ordinary 91Ron unleaded petrol. the best economy I have achieved is 7.6 litres per 100kl,s. It is not to difficult to achieve around 8.4 to 9.5 average with sensible driving.
I have recently considered upgrading my Subaru Outback to the newest model, a bit more refined, more power maybe ,upgraded tech, suspension and so on. Not a big ask for Subaru. Wrong ! ! ! Very wrong.
Trying to get real information about the new 2021 Subaru Outback is akin to pulling teeth, however I believe the new model only has a 2,5 litre engine and ( your kidding us ) no turbo available. The crazy part is they have increased the tow value from 1800 KG,s to 2000 KGs. REALLY.
Subaru, you may have known what you were doing, but what were you thinking. you have made a major blunder ( in my opinion) by robing your customers of owning a Subaru with decent, safe power.
It appears that to own a 3.6 Outback now the 2020 model is the last available. Very sad. So, get onto the car sales websites, have your money handy and buy one . you won,t regret it.
Graes

2 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Graeme, Thank you so much for your review. We know that there is a great appreciation for the 3.6R model in the Outback. While it may not be an available option in the new Outback, we're constantly working with the factory in Japan about future possibilities for us. We recently released specs and pricing on the 2021 Outback which you can check out here but there will be more to come as we get closer to its release in March. The Subaru Team.

graeme
graeme

Thanks Subaru Australia for your reply. I look forward to Subaru Japan having a light bulb moment and re-introducing the 3.6 engine or similar in 2022 . We should not be limited to underpowered smaller engines that do not cut the mustard, especially when towing/overtaking. People will pay a premium price for a premium vehicle / engine combination.
I hope we get the goods in 2022.
Graes.

Melanie S.

Melanie S.asked

Outback

Does the new model come with a 7 seat option?

2 answers
tinkertoy
tinkertoy

No, not this one. I don’t think Subaru has a seven seat option, at least in Australia.

MansfieldJohno
MansfieldJohno

No

Jolene Cathrine M.

Jolene Cathrine M.asked

Outback 3GEN (2003-2009)

Im looking at buying a 2007 Outback D/Range MY07 with 165k on the odometer. Will mostly be driven around town, with an occasional bush road drive to go camping, gold detecting, fosicking. Will have my mechanic inspect before I buy, but is there anything I need to watch for? Thank you.

3 answers
Linda Maree
Linda Maree

I’m sorry I’m unable to answer this question

M M
M M

Hi Jolene

We had an older Outback (2001/2002 from memory?) and prior to this an even older Subaru 'wagon' (didn't have a model name) so not too sure about the 2007. A couple friends of mine had the 2007/8 though and they, like us, kept driving theirs until the cars' old age.

We loved our old one so much. So solidly built and we felt safe in it. We do most of our driving around town - inner city and suburbs. The bush road drives were nice and we never felt like it would let us down (unlike the new electronic ones). It had an amazing (Irving?) bullbar fitted on the front and was a dream to drive away and for long distances.

The only thing for us is as it aged and did higher Ks on the clock, the value decreased so much and when it came to a major service and inevitable replacement of some operational engine parts (can't remember which one/s) but it became too cost-exhaustive, around the same amount as the whole car was worth. So that was the only thing that got us to buy a whole new car. Prior to that, not much went wrong or cost too much mechanically.

Best of luck.

Jolene Cathrine M.
Jolene Cathrine M.

Thank you.

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Outback
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price A$41,345A$48,052A$54,877A$44,023
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT) and Manual
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km9.9 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power191kW @ 6000rpm110kW @ 3600rpm129kW @ 5800rpm129kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4400rpm350Nm @ 1600-2800rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance213 mm213 mm213 mm213 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,800 kg1,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014
Compare all 8 Subaru Outback

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.