??!
19 photos
Subaru Outback

Subaru Outback (page 3 of 9)

3GEN, 4GEN, 2GEN, 5GEN
4.0 from 168 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (32)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (31)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (31)
  • Braking
    4.5 (31)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (31)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (30)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (32)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (32)
  • Handling
    4.3 (32)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (31)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (32)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (31)
  • Features
    4.1 (31)
Previous
Next
Jonathan

JonathanUlverstone

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent, does everything you need from a car and lots more.

published
Badge2.0D
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Jase

JaseSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Great family car with good power.

published
Badge2.5i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Theodore

TheodoreHobart

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

An excellent vehicle

published
Badge2.0D
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
glennl003

glennl003South East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

A vehicle for all seasons

published
Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Cassie T

Cassie TAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

Mummy car

published

I bought the Subaru Outback in 2017 premium version and couldn't be happier. The main reason i bought it was because of all the safety features. I tested the safety features out, it will beep if you start to swerve into another lane, slow down if you are driving too fast when car infront has slowed down which could be good if you get distracted with a screaming child. Able to take car up dunes without need to charge tyres. Can open/close boot via car remote, handy when carrying groceries/ baby. Plenty of leg room for front passenger even when you have baby car seat in the back. Has a great sun roof too. Great all round car!

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Froggy

FroggyPeel, WA

Dpf problem

published
Badge2.0D
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Chiara

Chiara

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing car

published

The design is classy and the inside is too die for. Very silent car with a lot of room. Perfect for long trips and for city rides. It connects to my phone as soon as it gets close to the car and it opens and closes sensing the key in the near by.

BadgeTouring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
jiminoz

jiminozDarling Downs, QLD

  • 62 reviews
  • 36 likes

Affordable, practical, reliable car

published
Badge2.5i
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
JOZ

JOZ

  • 6 reviews

unbelievable drive

published

the car is a smooth drive with minimal noise even on the highway. The internal space is huge with plenty of legroom. The look and the feel of the dashboard and interior looks luxurious.
The cost of fuel is a bit expensive - usually put in unleaded 958 (recommended minimum) and it does go through quite quickly

Badge2.5i Touring
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Belmakov

BelmakovSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Family SUV

published

Ample Space, Rich Looks, Great Ride, fantastic road grip, can go on and on and on. Symmetrical 4WD is just awesome and you cannot question Subaru's eye to safety. The Eye sight and lane departure features are cool additions. Great sound system and excellent leather quality used for seats.

Now why 4 stars then - Dashboard looks quite basic, their inbuilt entertainment system is supposed to be playing video files as well but none of their technicians could make it work

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Rudolph

RudolphSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car

published

Highly recommend this car, it's a pleasure to drive. Leather seats feel luxurious, with power seat adjustments. We took it to the snow and it was very comfortable and quiet, lots of power, plenty of room for skis on the roof, plenty of room for luggage and skit boots, and the front seats are heated. Did our research and you get a lot of premium features for the price.

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Jae

JaeMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

SUV? Wagon? This is OUTBACK a true Utility vehicle

published
Badge2.5i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sunny

SunnySydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Car, just high service cost

published

I have 2012 Subaru Outback 2.5i premium automatic CVT from new, and running well until now. But the service cost is high, and need two services each year. The GPS satellite navigation also got maps out of date, but the map upgrade cost also high. The fuel is around 10.5L per 100km, not too bad.

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2012
Davey's Mum

Davey's MumBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car - luxurious, efficient and very easy to drive - not happy with the Head Unit

published
Badge2.0D Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Jasko

JaskoSydney

  • 6 reviews

Great comfort,economic vehicle

published

Fantastic vehicle and great comfort ,I never had problems with this vehicle. Sturdy on the road and smooth handling ,diesel power, and comfort in very family orienteded car. Since I brought this Subaru Outback I love it for 4th year as never before I love car like this. 35 to 40$ will take fo 1 week every day town driving in 70% of the day.interior is very handy and fantastic. It is really solid vehicle ,I love it.

Badge2.0D
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Subaru Outback compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Susan dB

Susan dB

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Clutch not designed for 'steep driveways'!! Not recommended as a family car.

published

We bought a Subaru Outback in 2015 to get our family to sport, band and holidays to see the grandparents. The clutch has had to be replaced twice in two years - the first time at 31000km, and now at 67000km. The dealer asked if we live on a steep driveway! Isn't this car supposed to be an all-terrain vehicle?

Badge2.0D Premium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Great Car

published
Badge3.6R Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Fantastic

published

Great to drive , plenty of room and comfort. .elegant easy to see and use dash and controls . doesn't look like a spaceship from another galaxy like many other SUV's. Expensive servicing, every 6months other makes are 12 months .excellent fuel economy 6.7 litres per 100km .this is my 3rd outback and first new one (2015) . an outback in 2000 cost around $40,000 today you pay less with all the Improvements and new tech . adaptive cruise control is wonderful ,I can knit a jumper while driving up the coast (only joking)

Badge2.5i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
tod.b

tod.bBoyne island

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

brilliant

published

Nice cars to drive both on and off road. Dislike where the car aerial is if you break the rear window its costly. Getting around 700-800km out of 45l tank its awesome. Love my Subaru, they all have there good and bad points just like any car, its personal preference. A lot of people say the 2.5l are sluggish on hills iv never had a problem with hills like I did in my 3.2l v6 holden jackaroo, it was a pig at hills.

Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Des

DesBallarat

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect family car without the bulk

published

Purchased new 2017 Subaru Outback premium 2.5. After many large bulky 4x4 this is a breath of fresh air, as smooth as a Lexus , lovely ride and handling .and so quiet..... Fuel efficient 8.5 lit/100 town running , no rattles beautiful solid build quality .
Massive leg room compared to ,cx5 Mazda, jeep , Hyundai.
Most definately recommend ,

Badge2.5i Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Des
Des

Whilst it was a very good car , I have since sold it .... CVT auto transmission just annoyed the crap out of me in the end .... No defined gears, found engine to be very underpowered.... Vague steering and no feel.... However very well built vehicle

Page 3 of 9
See all Subaru Outback reviews

Questions & Answers

graeme

graemeasked

Outback 5GEN 3.6R (2014-2021)

I am a very happy Subaru owner during the last 12years and during the last 5 years a 2015 3.6 R premium outback. This car is outstanding and easily the best car i have owned in approximately 50 years of driving various makes and models. The Outback has a great power to weight ratio, superb driving / handling characteristics, comfortable, able to handle reasonably serious off road conditions, has a great Harmon Kardon stereo and lots of nice tech ( do yourself a favor and check out the spec,s on this vehicle )
Another great attribute with this Outback 3.6 R is it runs on ordinary 91Ron unleaded petrol. the best economy I have achieved is 7.6 litres per 100kl,s. It is not to difficult to achieve around 8.4 to 9.5 average with sensible driving.
I have recently considered upgrading my Subaru Outback to the newest model, a bit more refined, more power maybe ,upgraded tech, suspension and so on. Not a big ask for Subaru. Wrong ! ! ! Very wrong.
Trying to get real information about the new 2021 Subaru Outback is akin to pulling teeth, however I believe the new model only has a 2,5 litre engine and ( your kidding us ) no turbo available. The crazy part is they have increased the tow value from 1800 KG,s to 2000 KGs. REALLY.
Subaru, you may have known what you were doing, but what were you thinking. you have made a major blunder ( in my opinion) by robing your customers of owning a Subaru with decent, safe power.
It appears that to own a 3.6 Outback now the 2020 model is the last available. Very sad. So, get onto the car sales websites, have your money handy and buy one . you won,t regret it.
Graes

2 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Graeme, Thank you so much for your review. We know that there is a great appreciation for the 3.6R model in the Outback. While it may not be an available option in the new Outback, we're constantly working with the factory in Japan about future possibilities for us. We recently released specs and pricing on the 2021 Outback which you can check out here but there will be more to come as we get closer to its release in March. The Subaru Team.

graeme
graeme

Thanks Subaru Australia for your reply. I look forward to Subaru Japan having a light bulb moment and re-introducing the 3.6 engine or similar in 2022 . We should not be limited to underpowered smaller engines that do not cut the mustard, especially when towing/overtaking. People will pay a premium price for a premium vehicle / engine combination.
I hope we get the goods in 2022.
Graes.

Melanie S.

Melanie S.asked

Outback

Does the new model come with a 7 seat option?

2 answers
tinkertoy
tinkertoy

No, not this one. I don’t think Subaru has a seven seat option, at least in Australia.

MansfieldJohno
MansfieldJohno

No

Jolene Cathrine M.

Jolene Cathrine M.asked

Outback 3GEN (2003-2009)

Im looking at buying a 2007 Outback D/Range MY07 with 165k on the odometer. Will mostly be driven around town, with an occasional bush road drive to go camping, gold detecting, fosicking. Will have my mechanic inspect before I buy, but is there anything I need to watch for? Thank you.

3 answers
Linda Maree
Linda Maree

I’m sorry I’m unable to answer this question

M M
M M

Hi Jolene

We had an older Outback (2001/2002 from memory?) and prior to this an even older Subaru 'wagon' (didn't have a model name) so not too sure about the 2007. A couple friends of mine had the 2007/8 though and they, like us, kept driving theirs until the cars' old age.

We loved our old one so much. So solidly built and we felt safe in it. We do most of our driving around town - inner city and suburbs. The bush road drives were nice and we never felt like it would let us down (unlike the new electronic ones). It had an amazing (Irving?) bullbar fitted on the front and was a dream to drive away and for long distances.

The only thing for us is as it aged and did higher Ks on the clock, the value decreased so much and when it came to a major service and inevitable replacement of some operational engine parts (can't remember which one/s) but it became too cost-exhaustive, around the same amount as the whole car was worth. So that was the only thing that got us to buy a whole new car. Prior to that, not much went wrong or cost too much mechanically.

Best of luck.

Jolene Cathrine M.
Jolene Cathrine M.

Thank you.

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 8 Subaru Outback
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price A$41,345A$48,052A$54,877A$44,023
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT) and Manual
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7.3 L/100km7.3 L/100km9.9 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.5L4 Cylinder 2.5L6 Cylinder 3.6L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power191kW @ 6000rpm110kW @ 3600rpm129kW @ 5800rpm129kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4400rpm350Nm @ 1600-2800rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm235Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance213 mm213 mm213 mm213 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,800 kg1,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateDec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014Dec 2014
Compare all 8 Subaru Outback

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.