??!
10 photos
Subaru WRX V1

Subaru WRX V1 (2013-2019)

Also referred to as: Subaru WRX V1 2018 and Subaru WRX V1 2020. STI Premium, STI, (No Badge), etc...
3.8 from 26 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
3

RachaelK

RachaelKSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car ever!

published

I bought this car brand new in Feb 2017. it is my favourite car i have owned. i drive it everyday to work & around on weekends. Very comfortable to drive & great power. It has 3 different driving modes which i enjoy using. I would definitely recommend subaru to anyone buying a car.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Asym

Asym

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

WRX STI premium (2017).

published

Subaru has come along way with the STI. I'm using it as a daily even, its very safe easy to drive and looks great inside and out. Cabin has come a long way, I found it nicer than Benz CLA models. Fuel economy could be better (10L/100km) but not complaining based on performance.

BadgeSTI Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Asym
Asym
Soc

Soc

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

WRX STi

published

The WRX STi is a great looking car and subaru have it down pat. They are not only a smart company but make good quality bang for buck cars. The STi is a little thirsty similar to a V8 engine. I found the paint work needs attention and the fact you cant do much more to the engine. I think it needs more TQ, otherwise a great overall car.

BadgeSTI
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Daniel K

Daniel KAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

Its a very fun car, expensive to maintain

published

Great car, great fun. My main complaints are fuel economy which you'd expect from a turbo boxer motor anyway, and the fact that the rear seats don't fold (I had expected this was just a standard for all cars! So my fault). Only buy one of these if you can afford the upkeep. Otherwise great - sporty, sounds great, looks super nice in my option.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2014

Anita

AnitaValla

Nearly killed grandparents.

published

Front drive belt broke, engine blew up, no warning light, lost steering , nearly killed grandparents.All happened within minutes. 100,000ks Bought 2010. always serviced at Subaru. Front drive belt should have been replaced at 48 months. Instead they said 125,000ks. Head office wont take the blame nor will Geoff King seller and mechanic. Not our fault!! We have done everything. Body immaculate , engine dead and said will cost $13,000 for new engine, who is in the wrong, not us?????

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Narelle

NarelleMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Was my dream car...ended up trading it.

published
BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Jules

Jules

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my Rex

published
BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Krushull

KrushullSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good car but has a few issues

published
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Fadak M

Fadak MAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a performance vehicle

published

I have the hatchback in black from 2013 with a custom exhaust

At first I thought is this car actually safe? But that Subaru boxer engine can get me through anything
Yes petrol is a bit more dear but I cannot deny that it’s worth it
Enough boot space for a pram and expanding family

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Micky Dee

Micky DeeSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great daily driver + weekend fun!

published

Great value car for someone who is looking for a good mix between a relatively comfortable daily drive and great thrills along the way on weekends. The only thing I wish they did better was an improved headunit, which the one of the 2015 model is somewhat dated and laggy. Fuel economy is decent for the power you get but you would still be looking at an average of 9-10L/100 in peak hr traffic, however it easily gets down to 6-7L/100km on highway so that's preeeety good. 10/10 no regrets :)

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Mick Dundee

Mick DundeeMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome car, if the quality was there...

published
BadgeSTI Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2017

andy

andySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

wrx great car

published

car great customer service very poor free gps updates but if you get your car serviced elsewhere no free gps updates so you have to pay xtra for service to get free gps updates ha ha spoke to subaru aust said same thing so buy garmin and fit on dash

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Soph

SophAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

My favourite car ever.

published

I recently brought a Subaru WRX and am so glad I have.
The driving on it is so smooth and perfect running. Never a wrong noise.
My leather seats are so comfy and silky feeling always nice and cool.
It doesnt cost me to much to run in petrol and always drives smoothly and quickly.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

chalie

chalie

  • 24 reviews
  • 22 likes

Engine failure just out of warranty.

published

What an expensive exercise and how incredibly disappointed we are with Subaru WRX.
Car never driven hard, always garaged , very low Milage , missed one service and told us it had no oil...which was not true as was first thing we checked and no warning lights, but of course they say what they want. I will stir very far away from this company.

BadgeSTI Premium
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2013
Woody

WoodySydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my WRX

published
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Azmiri

Azmiritruganina

  • 7 reviews

This car is good for everyday life.

published

Car looks good. Drives ok. But There is some issue with it. I have bought a premium my17. Subaru should add the Spoiler, brembo brake and 18" wheel on the premium. It shouldn't be cost extra. The car suspension is not very good. Fog light is warm white light. They should make it similar to the headlight. Premium should comes with the heated seat. But it is not. Didn't like the automatic system for dipper (highbeam). Already driven 9000 kms. Didn't give any trouble yet. A real head turner. Feel proud to own one.

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Cengo

CengoIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Service very very poor

published

I took my subaru wrx sti 2015 for a service they told me that my engine mounts needed changeing after 2 months still waiting on engine mounts to come from overseas.i rang up service several times and still nothing they just keep saying we are still waiting on parts to arrive from overseas this is a very poor customer service from subaru

BadgeSTI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Colin

Colin

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic balance of practicality and performance

published

Great car, upgraded from 2 door sports coupe and gained functionality without any loss of driving enjoyment. Great on fuel consumption and average 7L/100km while highway cruising. It obviously will consume more once you put your right foot down heavier. The only downside is that cabin noise is above average and ride suspension is stiffer than most cars. Subarus service pricing is also higher than its competitors, roughly 700 per year, sometimes higher.

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

AJ000

AJ000South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Good Engine. Poor bell & Whistles - extraordinarily pathetic service from both Subaru Australia

published
BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Nicky F

Nicky FPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic vehicle!

published

Fantastic performance - I was looking for a fast car and now I've got it! Absolutely love everything about the WRX. The interior is so refined and detailed. The memory seat setting makes life so much easier as my husband drives my car often and I'm constant having to adjust the seats. The exterior of the car is so sleek and refined. The old WRX's were definitely a boy-racer type of car but this model is elegant.

BadgePremium
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jim

Jimasked

Does the new 2013 come with a 6 speed box?

1 answer
Rob Kirkpatrick
Rob Kirkpatrick

I believe the STi has the 6-spd Manual or 5-spd Auto while the non-STI WRX is only available in the 5-spd Manual.


Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.