??!
7 photos
Subaru XV G4X
3.5 from 99 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
33
4 star
27
3 star
13
2 star
10
1 star
16

Ok but not great!

published

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

sweetsunset

sweetsunsetSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent response CTV failure on XV Subaru from Subaru

published

Recently wrote about failure on the CTV on my XV Subaru with 135000 kms on the clock. Apparently this is not unusual after further investigation on my part. However Subaru have agreed to replace the failed part at their cost. Certainly worth asking the question.

Purchased in December 2014.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Suzanne Gaffney

Suzanne GaffneySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

CTV Transmission failure - again

published

Bought a brand new Subaru XV in 2014, have it serviced regularly and female driver. Suddenly after 135,000kms the dashboard lights up like a Christmas tree. After taking it to the local Subaru dealer was told CTV (Continuous Transmission Variable) would need to be replaced as a cost of $5000 , however they are seeking some relief from Subaru Japan. In the meantime turned on social media to find that it is an ongoing problem with the transmission and Subaru are very familiar with the issues surrounding the technology. Have refused to do a recall and leave their brand in tatters and the owners looking elsewhere for a different car. Be very wary when SUV shopping - stay away from Subaru

Purchased in December 2014 at Tynan Motors.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
1 comment
Suzanne Gaffney
Suzanne Gaffney

Since posting my review, Subaru have agreed to replace the Transmission at their cost and the job has been completed successfully.

Simon D

Simon DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for small family or single people

published

I use this car for daily transport to locations and road trips but not off roads too much. The car is very comfortable, the seat are well put together so sitting for long period of times does not impact your body as much as other cars. It is also very fuel efficient if you drive long distance and smooth, you don't feel the car switching gears or hear any sounds as it is quiet.

Only down side to this is boot space, it doesn't have enough space to fit more than 2-3 peoples worth of luggage depending on how much you bring as it got compensated for bigger room space for the people in the back seat

Purchased in January 2015 at Subaru Dealers for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Lini

LiniSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great buy

published

I commute to work and drive close to 100kms a day. Smooth drive and love its intelligent cruise control. Not a great fan of the lane assist due to the fact that it only detects solid lines on the road. Very very fuel efficient.

Purchased in January 2019 for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Thought Subaru was a good car

published

We purchased ourXV brand new in 2013 and has been a good car till the oil burning issue became aware to us when the oil light came on 2000k before the service ! Then came the left CV failing at 120k now for the big one the CTV has failed at 180k
This car has always had log book service
Used everyday commuting to work by my Wife
I had a 2001 Subaru Outback before it did over 300k and only thing that I replaced was the front CV’s at 280k
I would not recommend a new generation Subaru

Purchased in November 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

saigon

saigonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

Jerking transmission. Be Warned!

published

Bought Subaru XV 2013 brand new. The first issue I want to address is the jerking of the transmission at low speed as many XV owners have experienced, I informed Subaru within the warranty period and was told it's the car's characteristic. I just can believe 5 years later Subaru still have not sorted it out.

Other issues include noisy engine, very high rev when engine is cool/cold, aircon kicks in and out even when the outside temperature is 2 degree. I reported the issues with Subaru Dockland and was told they are characteristics of the car

I just hate driving this car, I would not recommend anyone to buy this car.

Purchased in February 2013 at Subaru Dockland for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

JDP

JDP

  • 7 reviews

Great car, bit small for a family

published

Great car, moves well. Nice to drive unless hill assist is on then very sluggish. Pity it doesn't come in turbo diesel. Auto cruise control is great. Crash assist sometimes pulls the car up unessecary which can be frustrating

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Karen G

Karen GBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Annoyed with Subaru service dept answers to my questions

published

Use the car every day, school run and to work etc. Serviced when due, fixed any small problems as they have occurred. Now have issue with key staying in lock and have to turn on and off until it releases. Subaru do not want to know about the complaint. I wanted pricing to repair but he just kept going on about no good will as I had not had all the servicing done at a Subaru dealership - I get the services done at a reputable workshop near where I am working. Could not have been more disinterested!

Badge35000
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJun 2012
GSN

GSNAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

So happy with XV!! Excellent AWD

published

Decided to upgrade our car from sedan to small SUV. Did all our works to find right car.
Young family with two kids who love camping, so our priority is good safety rating, good leg room @ back seat, fuel efficiency and good luggage space.

Our finalists are Subaru XV and Mazda CX3. When we went to showroom to test drive we decided to go with XV. So happy with our choice.

Not much luggage space is our only negative, but purchased roof pod and during camping time just fix the pod and issue solved.

Badge2.0i-L
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Simon

SimonMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Still going strong

published

My XV was bought in 2012 when it first released in Australia. I was one of the lucky ones to drive the first shipment stock. After 6 years of driving it around, it still going strong without any machinically issue. It is so reliable that I decided not to upgrade it to the second generation XV. The CVT works very well with the 2.0 engine. I never use it for any towing so the CVT and 2.0 engine are just perfect for my daily urban travel and sometimes rural adventures. I guess my biggest dislike is the price to update the GPS but it is no big deal as Google Map is always there in my phone.

Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2012

What a disgraceful automobile.

published
Badge2.0i
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedOct 2013

Really Disappointed

published
Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Tony

TonySydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unhappy with car shudders at low speed

published
Badge2.0i Special Edition
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Marie

MarieAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Stylish & Economical

published

I am so happy with this car. It is so economical the fuel tank lasts so long compared to previous cars. It is really smooth to drive. The interior is sleek and although it may not seem like there is enough room it fits my car seat, pram & dog on holidays including or luggage. It is quite spacious. I mainly bought this car for the look but I couldn’t be happier with the way it runs and it makes me feel very safe as a bit higher up as I have been in a car accident previously. If I ever purchase another car it will definitely be from Subaru!

Badge2.0i
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Michelle Martinez

Michelle MartinezSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

love my car

published

It was time for a quality car. I'm 50 now so stylish luxury it had to be. I specifically wanted beige interior and thankfully Subaru delivered. This car drives smooth and makes every journey a pleasure. The dark tint is beautiful and the instrumentation is easy on the eye. Highly recommended.

Badge2.0i
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Raymo

RaymoRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Easy to drive, economical high clearance car

published

I live in a country area with worn, potholed dirt roads with high centres that occasionally flood. The high clearnce of this car is ideal, it handles very well in all conditions and so far is reliable .

I downsized from an Xtrail and it occassionally feels a bit small for carrying gear, but it is a smaller grade of car.

It has also devolped the strangest internal squeaks, which are not mechanical.

Otherwise a great little car - 6.9l per 100k without aircon, 7.4l per 100k with aircon.

No complaints, a well engineered car that is a pleasure to drive in all weathers.

Badge2.0i
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMar 2016
1 comment
Raymo
Raymo

Jerry

JerryLaverton, Victoria

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bit expensive, but good drive

published

I had this car for almost 3 years now. I believe car was expensive at the time of purchase whem compared to competitors. However, I am happy with mild off road use. Ride is bit hard on free way. Good as a used car because quality will be ok for long term use

Badge2.0i-L
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMar 2014

CVT problems commenced 98 000ks

published
Badge2.0i
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2015

It is a perfect car.

published

The feel-good drive of the year, the all-new Subaru XV has been completely reimagined for a smoother and roomier ride while delivering gripping performance on the road. Superb production design brings more tech, more efficiency and more fun than ever before. The all-new Subaru XV stars more of your favourite features as standard, All-Wheel Drive, advanced technology for increased fuel efficiency, a super large touchscreen.

Badge2.0i
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Page 1 of 5

See all Subaru XV reviews

Questions & Answers

Felicity B

Felicity Basked

My 2012 Subaru XV is tomorrow getting it’s 3rd engine in less than 50,000km. I brought the car new and have nothing but issues - never again. I guess my question here is has anyone else had as much drama??

2 answers
Sally
Sally

why has it been replaced each time?
Mine had an oil leak under warranty needing to remove the engine to resell the cam carriers. After that it had a ticking noise that was found to be a bent camshaft. Engine out again and new camshaft installed. Now running well at 80,000 kms

Lesley L.
Lesley L.

We bought our 2012 Subaru XV in March 2015. It ran like a charm, clocking up 110,000 ks without a hitch until four weeks ago when it shuddered, lost power intermittently and flashed about four different messages reporting engine trouble. We've been waiting all this time for the problem to be diagnosed, and now onto our third hire car at great cost. We bought Subaru on the expectation of reliability and thought we were winning the game. Nooooot sooo. We are waiting for some satisfactory answers Subaru!


Wendy

Wendyasked

Having just purchased a 2018 XV Hatch sports, in setting the volume for the front sensors, let alone the rear, the volume on the highest level is actually very quiet, especially if you have hearing aids. Any tips or short instructions to ensure I have done this correctly? TIA

No answers

Rosie

Rosieasked

Hi

We have a dilemma with our 2012 Manual Subaru XV which threw up all warning lights one evening driving home. Subaru dealer told us we needed a new battery, quoted us 750 including diagnostics test, we had it replaced for half price with a local mechanic. Drove away, and discovered all the warning lights on dashboard again. Second diagnostic test at Subaru dealer (more money:( and now we are told a problem with ABS system which cost 6500 to fix. This knocked me off my feet. Has anyone spent such enormous amounts on this problem, or this car, in one hit? Very angry at this point as I feel there is no guarantee that this may be all that is wrong with the car.

1 answer
JT S.
JT S.

Bought a used 2012 XV and days after buying it, it did this exactly. Turns out it just needed a new o2 sensor.


Get an answer from our members and Subaru representatives

Details

Subaru XV G4X 2.0i
  • Discontinued

Subaru XV G4X 2.0i (2015-2017)

27 reviews
Subaru XV G4X 2.0i-L
  • Discontinued

Subaru XV G4X 2.0i-L (2015-2017)

23 reviews
Subaru XV G4X 2.0i-S
  • Discontinued

Subaru XV G4X 2.0i-S (2015-2017)

23 reviews
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Discontinuation dateMay 2017May 2017May 2017
Replaced bySubaru XV G5XSubaru XV G5XSubaru XV G5X
Compare all Subaru XV

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.