7 photos
Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD

Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD 2020 and Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD 2022.
4.5 from 6 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Subaru Australia

Reviews

4.5
6 reviews
5
(3)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Imprezive!
Imprezive!Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 34 reviews
  • 17 likes

Is it really worth that extra $$$?

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Peterrob
PeterrobSouth East Queensland, QLD

OK, but...

published

Bought the XV new from local dealer July 2019. Test drove their demo model first, couldn't find any faults. BUT, my car has what seems to be typical Subaru CVT issues. If there was such a thing as kangaroo petrol, I've got it. The car very quickly exhibited jerky acceleration, would shudder when going around 60kmh. Took it back to the dealer, who told me it will settle down. Wrote to Subaru who deftly shunted me sideways to the dealer, whose last words to me were 'drive it hard'. Now the behaviour has shifted to not so subtle roughness when accelerating, so still faulty. It's a real shame, because otherwise it's not bad a s a compact SUV. Total travelled is 7K. I drive our other car in preference to the XV. Won't repeat hit purchase.

Purchased in July 2019 for $39,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Stevo
Stevomelbourne
  • 23 reviews
  • 26 likes

2018 XV L great car so far

published
Badge2.0i-L
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Stevo
Stevo
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Stevo, Thank you so much for your excellent review! It’s great to hear that 2 years on you are still enjoying your Subaru. If we could ask one favour, we would love to see this on Google reviews. Happy driving @Stevo! The Subaru Team.

Stevo
Stevo

No thanks I stay as far away from Google as i can, and at the risk of sounding snarky nobody at Subaru has done me any favours unless i pay for it.

Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Practical, Safe rugged car

published

I am now on my sixth Subaru. From the Sportswagon, two Foresters, and Impreza, and Outback and now a 2018 XV. I've had nothing but reliability. No Subaru has ever let me down or cost me a fortune. The XV is the best car ever. The Safety tech ad creature features are just amazing.
I have only ever got these cars serviced once a year, on their birthday, by the dealer. I do about 10Km per year. 80% in town, the rest off-road. I don't do mods to them, just add some amateur radios and antennae. Go Subaru!

Badge2.0i-L
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Louie
LouieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Love it

published

Fantastic.. so much fun to drive. This is my 4th Subaru and I wont buy anything else, each one has surpassed the last. the vehicle is comfortable and roomy with all the options you could want. Most complaints I see are that they are short on power. Drive it like you stole it...... that's how they like to be driven. If you keep the revs up, there is plenty of power there for a 4 cylinder / 2 litre vehicle.

Badge2.0i-L
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
GT2036
GT2036Sydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent value, great to drive and economical

published

The interior is well planned, spacious and has quality features. The driving position and vision are exceptional. I am getting 5-6L/100km for highway driving and 7-8L/100km for urban driving. Steering is light and responsive. Eyesight features like adaptive cruise control and safety warnings are impressive. Very happy with my choice.

Badge2.0i-L
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJan 2018
See all Subaru XV reviews

Questions & Answers

goluke171
goluke171asked
XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD (2017-2021)

What is the difference between g4x and g5x?
Is the boot design differently? I have someone giving me a cargo boot mat which fit the g4x model. Can it be used in my xv 2020?

No answers
John
Johnasked
XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD (2017-2021)

What does G5 mean and what is the boot space in all your XV models

No answers
See all Subaru XV questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-L AWD (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 7 Subaru XV
CategorySmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $35,292
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 63 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power115kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque196Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,400 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)650 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance220 mm
Release dateJune 2017
Compare all 7 Subaru XV
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.