7 photos
Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD

Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD 2020 and Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD 2022.
3.8 from 17 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Subaru Australia

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (7)
  • Braking
    4.9 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (7)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (7)
  • Handling
    4.1 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (6)
  • Boot Size
    2.3 (7)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (7)
  • Features
    4.3 (7)
Previous
Next
DannyK
DannyKHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Great Car For The Money

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
vrxbeachboy
vrxbeachboy
  • 24 reviews
  • 10 likes

Important Features I did not realise before my purchase. I thought Subarus Were better.

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Suttons for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @vrxbeachboy, were so sorry to hear you had a bad experience when purchasing your XV. Please be assured that your feedback is appreciated, and we will be sure to pass it on to our Product and Planning team. Thank you.

Scotty74
Scotty74South East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this car

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Key star Subaru Rothwell for $37,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Please think carefully before buying this car!

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Janelle
JanelleIllawarra, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great little car

published

I needed a high wheel base vehicle. I bought a demo model that had all the safety tech. It is a smooth ride, my dad loves it, even my Euro car fan beloved loves it. I would like a little better fuel efficiency and the Carplay only works intermittently but otherwise I really like this car. Never had anything so new and hi tech!

Purchased in October 2018 for $34,800.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
CJQ
CJQCanberra

Multiple Paint Chips totally spoil an otherwise great little car

published
Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedDec 2017
JSFW
JSFWSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

I Love my XV!

published

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
JSFW
JSFW

6 months down the track and I still love it. I can fit my golf clubs and buggy in the boot and I guess thats pretty good! Radio still drifts in and out whereas it doesn't in the other car. It's my daily drive so already over 6K Kms. :-)

John
JohnSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

CVT not good

published

This car is great except for one MAJOR glaring fault. It has a CVT transmission which shudders and jerks in bumper to bumper situations (Sydney traffic) at low speeds, when the revs are between 1000 and 18000 rpm.
Not a comfortable driving situation. Seems like it is on the verge of stalling. If it wasn't for that extremely annoying trait this would be an excellent car. The problem is so bad I am going to sell it and NEVER buy another CVT transmission. Also - I have researched this issue and it is obvious it is not just my car but a design fault. American owners are requesting a recall or a lawsuit.

Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedAug 2018
priceless21
priceless21South East Queensland, QLD
  • 24 reviews
  • 17 likes

Great car - no regrets buying it

published

Okay I am not a car buff so I just wanted a comfy car that is safe and useful.
This is our main car - but I have kept my old Jazz as second car. (The Jazz has a bigger boot though)
Love the car very much and the eyesight safety is brilliant. So safe and this made it very cheap it insure - less than $500 comprehensive.
Love all the features, but wish the boot was as big as the Jazz.
Cost wise it was amazing value really. So pleased we bought it.

Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alz
AlzCanterbury/West Coast, 8053, NZ

Great capable car Updated 3 yrs on

published

Purchased in August 2017 for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

2018 XV top of the range S Series,6K on the clock in 4weeks.

published

Mountains, hills, freeway, off-road, dirt corrugated tracks, car parks, pancake flat irrigation country, city peak ,CBD ,snow, rain, hail, flood, mud ,rocks, sand, gravel, dust and the tar all across SE Australia.-Sweet! .No issues. Relaxed driving. What more can you ask of a vehicle and with a 5 year warranty!
5.9-6.6 Litre /100 k Country, 7.7-8.2 City, 4WD off road 8.5-9.
Great all around car. Not a race car by any stretch, but more than capable with 21st century ergonomics and safety.

.

Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Plesantly surprised

published

Excellent dynamics
Good performance once you get used to the cvt's linear characteristics
Bullet proof engineering and quality
It's got enough power if you rev the happily revving engine
Don't pay too much attention to the critics about the power output being too low
Comfy and quite ride
Only criticism is the sound system being below expectations.

Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Alena
AlenaSydney

Shaking on low speeds

published

Hate this car! We were disappointed after 2 days of driving it. We just bought the 2018 Subaru XV and it shakes on low speeds. I always get stuck in traffic coming back from work and the whole 50 minutes I drive 20-30km/h. The car shakes and shudders the whole time and it feels that it's gone choke and stop. Hasn't fully stopped yet, though.

When we took it to the service we were told it's a software issue, they have an update for Impreza but not for XV. We were told to live with it until and if Subaru makes a software update for XV.

I don't recommend this car to anyone.

Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMar 2018
chillout0000
chillout0000Brisbane
  • 11 reviews
  • 20 likes

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR!!!!!!!

published

This car drives ok providing you do not drive under 40kms per hour. It stutters and shudders almost to the point of stopping. I have been told by Subaru that I need to modify my driving. After taking it back to Subaru many many times they haves said that it is a “characteristic” of the vehicle. Funny how they dont mention this in their shiny brochures. I drove a 2017 XV and loved it, but it appears that the 2018 release has this problem. I have found other 2018 owners and the problem is consistent with this model. Subaru do not have a fix - they admit it is a problem and basically we (and others) have been told to just live with it. NOT GOOD ENOUGH SUBARU!!!!!!! Fix it or give me (us) a refund...........

Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2017
bob
bob
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car but too much technology.

published
Badge2.0i-S
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Subaru XV reviews

Questions & Answers

Wendy
Wendyasked
XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD (2017-2021)

My 2018 G5X 2.0i-S died. CVT and Diff - I was told it was because the mechanic had not refilled the front diff with oil. I drove 6000kms with no oil if that is the case. Is that even possible - day trips of up to 500kms over mountains at speeds of 110? There seems to be a lack of accountability around faulty CVTs in XVs in Australia. Repair bill almost $13000 in a two year old car...it is with Fair Trading...

6 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Wendy, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your XV. Our Customer Relations Team is available on 1800 226 643 or feedback@subaru.com.au. Alternatively, you're welcome to send us a private message to our Facebook page with your vehicle details and we'll be in touch. The Subaru Team.

Wendy
Wendy

It is being investigated by Fair Trading. Your Customer Service person would not escalate nor let me speak to his manager. He was sexist and ageist. Customer Service - poor.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Wendy. Thank you for your response. Our team will respond to Fair Trading accordingly. Take care and be safe. The Subaru Team.

Geegee
Geegeeasked
XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD (2017-2021)

My radio goes off when my phone connects via blue tooth. How do I fix this?

2 answers
Haydo P.
Haydo P.

I dont have an answer but I think have the same problem occurring n my car - have you found a fix?

Geegee
Geegee

Sorry, I took my car to dealer who fixed the issue.

See all Subaru XV questions

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Subaru XV G5X 2.0i-S AWD (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 7 Subaru XV
CategorySmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $40,359
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 63 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power115kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque196Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,400 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)650 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance220 mm
Release dateJune 2017
Compare all 7 Subaru XV
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.