??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151)

Sunbeam Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151)

MPNs: BL5151 and BL5151Q
3.3 from 80 reviews

Electric Blankets & Heated Throws Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of electric blanket or heated throw would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.3

80 reviews
5
(23)
4
(20)
3
(10)
2
(8)
1
(19)
Previous
Next
Michaela

Michaela

  • 6 reviews

Does what it says it will

published

I’ve only had this electric blanket for a short time but very happy already. It’s easy to fit on the bed and warms it up really well on a cold night.

Purchased in July 2020 at Myer.

NAMD

NAMDSydney, NSW

Expensive blanket

published

Blanket worked perfectly fine so far but one side of the blanket has stopped working. Controllers are ok as I swapped them and they were working fine. So the fault is in the actual blanket. Unfortunately, warranty expired by just one week so unable to get replacement. Quite disappointed. I did call Sunbeam on 8/06/20 and sent email as well from pushpa.nand@hotmail.com. Pls check your records

Purchased in May 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$117.30.

Mooey

Mooey

  • 6 reviews

Expensive for what is a fairly standard sort of blanket

published

I have had poor luck with electric blankets over the past years. The last one was a fitted Jason brand which didn't even fit properly, prior to that was Goldair which had a failed controller within 4 months. So, I decided to bite the bullet and go for Sunbeam although it was 3 times the price of the Jason brand. The blanket does what it should - it heats up the bed. That's about it. There's no bells or whistles, it won't make you breakfast in the morning or make the bed for you. Is the price justified? Not in my opinion but if it lasts a few winters then I'll consider it a worthwhile purchase.

Purchased in June 2020 at BriscoesNZ.

Electric Blankets & Heated Throws

Find out how Sunbeam Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151) compares to other Electric Blankets & Heated Throws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Control stopped working

published

One controller stoped working. Only had the blanket for 14 days.
Should have known better than to purchase as my parents have had the same trouble with there's and then the replacement one too.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$159.00.

Stew

StewWestern Australia

  • 29 reviews

Doesn’t work like cheaper brands. Dials hard to read being red light even with my reading glasses.

published

Very disappointed with this Sumbeam electric blanket, I never spend this much on a blanket as the ones I buy usually only last about two years before I throw out. I decided to buy myself a good brand this year and after reading up about how it heats your feet I was hooked, so when it arrived I couldn’t wait for the weather to change first time felt cool in top half and warmer down towards the bottom anyway it still hasn’t improved wish I hadn’t bought now as 4 cheaper brands to just 1 of these. Also the dial is hard to read being red light that is so bright you can’t see the numbers for heating.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bed Buys for A$157.00.

Emmi

EmmiGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Toasty night sleep

published

Easy to put on bed as it is fitted takes no time to warm up, and nice and toasty when you get in. Good value for a quality electric blanket.

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Emmi,
Thank you for the great feedback!

Emcee

Emcee

  • 3 reviews

Expensive blanket, poor quality controllers

published

One controller stopped working during the first winter, so have been using the other for 3 years. This one failed last week. I now find that I can replace one controller for $47.50 on ebay, but the 758 sold already from just one seller tells me not to waste my money. For the price of 2 controllers I can buy another blanket. This time I'll do some research. Meanwhile I'm using my Jason $25 blanket from Big W.

Purchased for A$200.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Karina

Karina

  • 4 reviews

Excellent in every way but only lasted 3 seasons

published

My partner and I have enjoyed our blanket for three seasons but now one sides handset is now longer working.
It warms the bed in 10 mins saving on our power bill and even quicker - like one minute if you are in bed.
There are no cold patches. The attachment to the bed is not in the way and it fits our bed well - even with a memory foam topping.
You can set it for 75min - which is all we usually need - as we are sufficiently warm. Of the 9 settings we only use number 7. There is an option to set for 12 hrs. An option I’ve only used once when I had the flu.

We will buy another given the poor reviews on the Breville option.

Purchased in April 2017 for A$199.00.

Muppetvet

MuppetvetGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Absolute Rubbish

published

Would give 0 if I could. Have now purchased 2 of these blankets and both stopped working due to faulty controllers. Controls just flash and don't turn on, happened on both sides of the bed and one of them didnt even make it halfway through first winter of use!! This is an extremely common problem with these products which the manufacturer has clearly not tried to improve. Save your money - these are rubbish.

Purchased in May 2018.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Muppetvet,
So sorry to hear of your experience with the blankets. I will ensure this is passed on to our product team. You feedback is taken seriously. Kind regards Sunbeam

Electric Blankets & Heated Throws

Find out how Sunbeam Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151) compares to other Electric Blankets & Heated Throws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not Happy

published

I bought two electric blankets and both of the switches on both blankets are gone dead. I don’t know how to fix the problem. What does that say for the safety

Purchased in March 2018 at David Jones.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Michael,
I'm not sure what model you purchase but most of our blankets come with a 3 year warranty. You can return to store or give us a call on 1300 881 861 and we may be able to assist you with replacement controllers.

v888

v888Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Controller broke within 6 months

published

Loved this at first. I have had it less than 6 months.Now one side has stopped working- the flashing light problem others have listed here. I wont be getting it repaired as other reviews listed here suggest this doesnt solve the problem.

Purchased in September 2018.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
paulq00

paulq00Brisbane

  • 8 reviews

Junk

published

Like others on this site, flashing light on the controller problem.
Was looking to buy a replacement controller & checked on ebay - 670 sold. Sunbeam is obviously selling a defective product to have had that many replacements.
Now the other controller has also got the flashing light problem.

Spending a lot of money doesn't buy quality when it comes to Sunbeam. To have that many failed blankets you would also conclude that Sunbeam don't value electric safety.
Avoid all their products & save yourself money & hassle.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Lou

Lou

  • 2 reviews

Terrible, do not waste your money.

published

Purchased on June 22, 2018 after reading great reviews on multiple reputable sites. Well as of August/September 2018 one side of the queen bed electric blanket has permanently stopped working/broken. Use had not been excessive or against guidelines so very disappointed and warn others to not have to suffer the same cold pain in winter

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Lou, please contact our customer care team and they can assist - 1300 881 861.

Petal

Petal

  • 2 reviews

Not happy

published

I have had to replace the control on two blankets now up number six. This was after I returned to Myer twice as replacement control didn't fix the problem.. As I am very careful when operating these controls I am certainly surprised at the durability of these parts. I have just had to pay out $103.95 to purchase one replacement and one spare from Ellis Electrical. I have always purchased Sunbeam products in the past .I had an original pop up toaster for over thirty years.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Petal, thanks for your thoughts, we do value your opinion and take it on board.

Kristine

KristineSydney

Have replaced it about 6 times in 4 years

published

One side always stops working. Usually they last a season but this year only 2 months. Luckily I purchased from MYER so they are happy to replace it every time it stops working. Did try a breville one too but that stopped working after 6 months so have just come to terms with the fact that I’m going to constantly have to replace it.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Kristine, so sorry to hear that you aren't getting a long life from our blankets, if you can pm your contact details we would be more than happy to give you a call to discuss.

Electric Blankets & Heated Throws

Find out how Sunbeam Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151) compares to other Electric Blankets & Heated Throws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HMac1

HMac1Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very good electric blanket

published

I've been very happy with this electric blanket since I bought it, and have used it all winter. It fits my high mattress, which has a pillow-top layer, with no problems. The dual controls allow both sides to be set differently, or just one side turned on if necessary. It has the usual variable heat settings, and a basic timer that allows it to turn off automatically after two hours. I use this timer regularly so that I can go to bed with my bed warmed up and electric blanket still on, but not wake up hours later overheating with the blanket still on. It was reasonably priced, and is a good, basic electric blanket.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review HMac1!!

dylek

dylekmelbourne

SUNBEAM IS STILL CRAPPY

published

i thought after the Safe n Sound disaster SUNBEAM would've improved. searched here to see if i should chance another purchase. the number of stars has improved but reading through i see all the highest ratings are for new purchases. [if asked in the first few months i would've given 4 or 5 stars myself] the lowest ratings still complain about controller failures, so much for the many replies by SUNBEAM saying they would refer the problems to their technical department. i had 2 of them and all 4 controllers failed during the winters that they were on the beds or just wouldn't work the next time they were put on. the blankets are great, fitting easily and staying put. 4 x $75 + shipping NO THANKS
ANYBODY SUGGEST AN ALTERNATIVE?

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Nikkie

NikkieWarrnambool

Terrible!! 0 Stars!

published

This is the third time these electric blankets have stopped working. 3 electric blankets in 3 years. This is not good enough!!! Yes they are replaced under warranty but it's just ridiculous that we have to replace our electric blanket every year. Very disappointed!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Lyn

LynGeelong

3 blankets in 2 years - controller faults

published

The controller has just faulted for a 4th time. We have had to return and exchange this blanket 3 times in 2 years. It’s a great warm blanket but the controls continuously faulting is a huge disappointment. Has anyone else had this problem? It’s April now and the last exchange was only just November last year.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Thi anh

Thi anhMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

It is amazing

published

It saved our life during winter time. The temperature increase quickly and stable. I use level 2 qnd in mid night i feel hot. I use level 1 for my daughter one and she love it. One bad thing is the fabric cover the electric core become stains for long use

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Page 1 of 4
See all Sunbeam Sleep Perfect reviews

Questions & Answers

graham p

graham pasked

Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151)

Can you buy electric blanket with 4 controller

1 answer
Stew
Stew

Sorry I do not understand what you mean saying 4 controller? They come with 2 controllers for the double and queen sizes. If that is what you mean.

Denis

Denisasked

Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151)

What is the model number/code for the BL5151 controller.

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Denis,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. The part number you require is: 972A6
Parts are available from the following online agents - please place the model number in the search engine to see a full list and photos. It pays to check the pricing and compare.
https://www.ewingelectrical.com.au
http://www.elliselectricals.com.au
https://bigwarehouse.com.au
Mr Sparky (QLD) 07 3379 5332

Denis
Denis

Thanks for that information.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.