??!
2 photos
Sunbeam Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151)

Sunbeam Sleep Perfect Queen (BL5151)

MPNs: BL5151 and BL5151Q
3.3 from 74 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
23
4 star
16
3 star
10
2 star
8
1 star
17

Emcee

Emcee

  • 2 reviews

Expensive blanket, poor quality controllers

published

One controller stopped working during the first winter, so have been using the other for 3 years. This one failed last week. I now find that I can replace one controller for $47.50 on ebay, but the 758 sold already from just one seller tells me not to waste my money. For the price of 2 controllers I can buy another blanket. This time I'll do some research. Meanwhile I'm using my Jason $25 blanket from Big W.

Purchased for $200.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Karina

Karina

  • 2 reviews

Excellent in every way but only lasted 3 seasons

published

My partner and I have enjoyed our blanket for three seasons but now one sides handset is now longer working.
It warms the bed in 10 mins saving on our power bill and even quicker - like one minute if you are in bed.
There are no cold patches. The attachment to the bed is not in the way and it fits our bed well - even with a memory foam topping.
You can set it for 75min - which is all we usually need - as we are sufficiently warm. Of the 9 settings we only use number 7. There is an option to set for 12 hrs. An option I’ve only used once when I had the flu.

We will buy another given the poor reviews on the Breville option.

Purchased in April 2017 for $199.00.

Muppetvet

MuppetvetGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolute Rubbish

published

Would give 0 if I could. Have now purchased 2 of these blankets and both stopped working due to faulty controllers. Controls just flash and don't turn on, happened on both sides of the bed and one of them didnt even make it halfway through first winter of use!! This is an extremely common problem with these products which the manufacturer has clearly not tried to improve. Save your money - these are rubbish.

Purchased in May 2018.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Muppetvet,
So sorry to hear of your experience with the blankets. I will ensure this is passed on to our product team. You feedback is taken seriously. Kind regards Sunbeam

Michael K

Michael KSydney, NSW

Not Happy

published

I bought two electric blankets and both of the switches on both blankets are gone dead. I don’t know how to fix the problem. What does that say for the safety

Purchased in March 2018 at David Jones.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Michael,
I'm not sure what model you purchase but most of our blankets come with a 3 year warranty. You can return to store or give us a call on 1300 881 861 and we may be able to assist you with replacement controllers.


v888

v888Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Controller broke within 6 months

published

Loved this at first. I have had it less than 6 months.Now one side has stopped working- the flashing light problem others have listed here. I wont be getting it repaired as other reviews listed here suggest this doesnt solve the problem.

Purchased in September 2018.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

paulq00

paulq00Brisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Junk

published

Like others on this site, flashing light on the controller problem.
Was looking to buy a replacement controller & checked on ebay - 670 sold. Sunbeam is obviously selling a defective product to have had that many replacements.
Now the other controller has also got the flashing light problem.

Spending a lot of money doesn't buy quality when it comes to Sunbeam. To have that many failed blankets you would also conclude that Sunbeam don't value electric safety.
Avoid all their products & save yourself money & hassle.

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Lou

Lou

  • 2 reviews

Terrible, do not waste your money.

published

Purchased on June 22, 2018 after reading great reviews on multiple reputable sites. Well as of August/September 2018 one side of the queen bed electric blanket has permanently stopped working/broken. Use had not been excessive or against guidelines so very disappointed and warn others to not have to suffer the same cold pain in winter

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Lou, please contact our customer care team and they can assist - 1300 881 861.


Petal

Petal

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not happy

published

I have had to replace the control on two blankets now up number six. This was after I returned to Myer twice as replacement control didn't fix the problem.. As I am very careful when operating these controls I am certainly surprised at the durability of these parts. I have just had to pay out $103.95 to purchase one replacement and one spare from Ellis Electrical. I have always purchased Sunbeam products in the past .I had an original pop up toaster for over thirty years.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Petal, thanks for your thoughts, we do value your opinion and take it on board.

Kristine

KristineSydney

Have replaced it about 6 times in 4 years

published

One side always stops working. Usually they last a season but this year only 2 months. Luckily I purchased from MYER so they are happy to replace it every time it stops working. Did try a breville one too but that stopped working after 6 months so have just come to terms with the fact that I’m going to constantly have to replace it.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Kristine, so sorry to hear that you aren't getting a long life from our blankets, if you can pm your contact details we would be more than happy to give you a call to discuss.

HMac1

HMac1Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very good electric blanket

published

I've been very happy with this electric blanket since I bought it, and have used it all winter. It fits my high mattress, which has a pillow-top layer, with no problems. The dual controls allow both sides to be set differently, or just one side turned on if necessary. It has the usual variable heat settings, and a basic timer that allows it to turn off automatically after two hours. I use this timer regularly so that I can go to bed with my bed warmed up and electric blanket still on, but not wake up hours later overheating with the blanket still on. It was reasonably priced, and is a good, basic electric blanket.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review HMac1!!


dylek

dylekmelbourne

SUNBEAM IS STILL CRAPPY

published

i thought after the Safe n Sound disaster SUNBEAM would've improved. searched here to see if i should chance another purchase. the number of stars has improved but reading through i see all the highest ratings are for new purchases. [if asked in the first few months i would've given 4 or 5 stars myself] the lowest ratings still complain about controller failures, so much for the many replies by SUNBEAM saying they would refer the problems to their technical department. i had 2 of them and all 4 controllers failed during the winters that they were on the beds or just wouldn't work the next time they were put on. the blankets are great, fitting easily and staying put. 4 x $75 + shipping NO THANKS
ANYBODY SUGGEST AN ALTERNATIVE?

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Nikkie

NikkieWarrnambool

Terrible!! 0 Stars!

published

This is the third time these electric blankets have stopped working. 3 electric blankets in 3 years. This is not good enough!!! Yes they are replaced under warranty but it's just ridiculous that we have to replace our electric blanket every year. Very disappointed!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Lyn

LynGeelong

3 blankets in 2 years - controller faults

published

The controller has just faulted for a 4th time. We have had to return and exchange this blanket 3 times in 2 years. It’s a great warm blanket but the controls continuously faulting is a huge disappointment. Has anyone else had this problem? It’s April now and the last exchange was only just November last year.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Thi anh

Thi anhMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

It is amazing

published

It saved our life during winter time. The temperature increase quickly and stable. I use level 2 qnd in mid night i feel hot. I use level 1 for my daughter one and she love it. One bad thing is the fabric cover the electric core become stains for long use

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
jji

jjiSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sunbeam BL5151- queen electric blanket

published

Love this blanket as it's machine washable & can be tumble dried too! 9 heat settings so once you select yoir heat setting it senses & adjusts to the room & body temperatures. Dual controls, fitted blanket with no messy ties.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Peter

PeterMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

cozy and warm in my bed

published

I really like this electronic blanket. It's very easy to use and warm up very quickly. it's perfect fit to my bed and very comfortable to sleep on. I've used this product for this whole winter. I really love it.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

vimmy17

vimmy17Perth

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Quality but temperatures can be a tad confusing to set

published

I bought this electrical blanket a couple of weeks ago. It was very easy to fit around the bed and was very good quality. I was confused about the temperature settings however, as they went up to 9. Didn't really know how hot it can potentially get with no approximate degrees on it. Other than that, it has a useful feature of settings of how long you would like the blanket to be on for. This is helpful as I sometimes forget to turn mine off! I would consider buying some for my kids as well.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Kiah

KiahGrantville

  • 2 reviews

Quality made

published

I have gone through 2 electric blankets in a year. The problem with them is that they do not enclose the wiring so it cannot move. In contrast, Sunbeam wiring is fully enclosed by stitching all around making it impossible for the wires to touch. I will not purchase any other brand in the future,

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Jay

JayMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

I can't live without it in winter!

published

I love this blanket, it has setting. From 0 to 9 to give you a range of desired temperatures. It also has a 72 min and 12 hour settings so never have to worry about leaving the blanket on.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Geoff Tyson

Geoff TysonWerrington County Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

My Winter Friend

published

I hadn't had an electric blanket since I was a kid and I can still remember the rather thick wires digging into you. This winter is particularly cold so I thought I'd go have a look at what they can do now. I was surprised at how they have changed in the 40 years I didn't have one. It has 9 heat settings and even warms your feet which is just wonderful. It also has a 3hr timer and 12 hour auto cut off which has come in handy when I have been late for work and forgot to turn it off which is often sadly. I highly recommend this product

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 4

See all Sunbeam Sleep Perfect reviews

Questions & Answers

Denis

Denisasked

What is the model number/code for the BL5151 controller.

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Denis,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. The part number you require is: 972A6
Parts are available from the following online agents - please place the model number in the search engine to see a full list and photos. It pays to check the pricing and compare.
https://www.ewingelectrical.com.au
http://www.elliselectricals.com.au
https://bigwarehouse.com.au
Mr Sparky (QLD) 07 3379 5332

Denis
Denis

Thanks for that information.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Blankets
Price (RRP)159
Release dateApr 2013
Compare all Sunbeam Sleep Perfect

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9311445019610
  • MPN: BL5151 and BL5151Q

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.