1 photo
Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440

Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440

MPNs: 2327, EM0440 and SEM0440
3.5 from 44 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Sunbeam

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
m.dawes
m.dawesGippsland, VIC
  • 3 reviews

Minimal fuss grinder

published

Purchase as a price match at around $90, I am pleased with its ability and ease of use. It comes with a few accessories that I don't really use if I'm going to be honest but good to have none the less.

Purchased in November 2020 at Harvey Norman for $90.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
ARC
ARC
  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Only worked for 1 year

published

Ground too coarse after 1 year of use and couldn't get it to grind fine coffee for a stovetop. Even put in 3 spacers as recommeneded but still it would not work properly. Waste of time and money. Bad product. Would not recommend, unless you're happy to buy a new one every year. Guess you get what you pay for....

Purchased in January 2018 for $100.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Jess
JessSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Sunbeam EM0440 Grinder Does Not Grind to Fine

published

Bought this grinder from Amazon. First time grind produced coarse coffee even though setting is fine grind. Sunbeam Customer Care sent two (2) washers but the grind is still not so fine. Another set of double washers was requested which I fitted under the burr. The grinder is now working fine with the added washers.

Purchased in January 2020 at Amazon for $69.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Jess,
Thank you for your Feedback.

Micemeat
MicemeatHobart, TAS
  • 27 reviews
  • 1 like

Auto Grinder

published

Great grinder, makes it easy and fresh!
Easy to setup, nice adjustment for grind consistency and work well.

However can be messy at times, comes with a nozzle to aim and improve lost coffee/spread however even so still makes a large mess of coffee grind around the unit.

Ordering a metal peace that makes the coffee head wider and taller to prevent this from happening.

Purchased in December 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Micemeat
Micemeat

Static it is for sure, This has however happened since new, I will give this a go, when I have a chance.

Thanks,
Jordan.

Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christine
ChristineFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 12 likes

Second Sunbeam Grinder, it's performing well.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $99.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Christine, thank you for the review, we value feedback given by customers...

Christine
Christine

A product that is faulty from the start

published

I bought this with a sunbeam espresso machine. Spent quite a few days trying to get the thing to grind correctly. Upon doing a little search on google I discovered that it is common for these grinders to not grind your coffee fine enough for an espresso machine as it should be coming with an extra washer. Sunbeam are aware of this also as when you call them they will send you an extra spacer to try fix the problem. So 3 calls later and a 3 weeks of waiting for the part to arrive, I add a spacer to find that it has changed nothing. Will be demanding my money back this week. Product should not be on the shelf.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI I.S, sorry to hear. It must be something else so yes, please return to store of purchase

Andrew Westcott
Andrew WestcottHobart, TAS
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Average

published

It does the job. I'm sure there are better grinders that are more consistent. But it is cheap and effective enough for the purpose. It is however poorly designed. Quite an amount of grind stays behind inside and builds up on itself unless the machine is shaken or bashed, or a brush is inserted to get at the grounds. Maybe a little too compact? Particularly messy when coming out. Static maybe?

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Andrew Westcott,
Grinders do tend to be a bit messy when grinding, always looking at ways to improve our products so thank you, we will take on board...

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Award-winning-coffee machines in 2020!

The awards for top coffee machines (manual/semi-automatic, capsule/coffee pod and fully automatic) of 2020 are here! View in-depth ratings for different aspects of the coffee machine, such as Milk Frothing and Cleaning & Maintenance.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.5 Nov 2019
award-winning-coffee-machines-in-2020
Next
Gaz
Gaz
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

A good little coffee bean grinder.

published

I bought a Sunbeam EM0440 coffee bean grinder on the net from Amazon, and was delighted on its quick arrival. I tested it straight away after reading the instructions and found it to be very easy to use and it has a good progression indicator of coffee grounds, from very course to very fine. The cost was very reasonable for the product. Very happy with my purchase of the Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440. Cheers.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hey Gaz,
So glad you are pleased with the Grinder, agreed it is at a good price point for the performance. Thank you for the positive review...

Gaz
Gaz

My grinder does the job with ease to my favourite consistency, thanks Sunbeam.

Mike
MikeDarling Downs, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good budget grinder

published

This machine initially would only grind very coarse until I worked out how to assemble it properly. You must set the upper burr in place in the top assembly before attaching the top assembly to the base. The upper burr then should sit lower than the surrounding rim. It now seems to be working fine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Rubbish

published

Too coarse! dont waste your money. it will destroy your day as you will be drinking sandy coffee. I had to put my hand on top to push down to make it finer (the adjustment did not work properly). but it will not provide even fine coffee. so I gave up making my own coffee because this machine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
  • Verified

How to fix grind that’s too coarse

published

The grind was always too course no matter how many times we reassembled it. I googled like crazy & found gold from someone called Sneedy on a whirlpool forum who said “You need to sit the top burr into the adjustment collar (rotate it until you feel it click' – the white marks should be aligned but more importantly it will sit lower than in any other position) *BEFORE* fitting both (as a unit) onto the base.” Thanks Sneedy! Worked a treat.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Lex
Lex
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

coffee at a new level

published
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vicky H.
Vicky H.North East Victoria

The grind is too coarse

published

Recently brought an EM7100 coffee machine, and went back yesterday and purchased the EM0440 grinder. The grind is just coming out too coarse. On every setting, the grind is the same. I pulled it apart twice, and put it together again after reading some reviews. I cannot get the grind any finer. It will be getting returned to Harvey Norman. Extreamly disappointed.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Excellent.. but beware of setting up the burrs correctly

published

A really great product when set up correctly. At first the grind was too course regardless of setting even though I had set up the machine as directed in the instructions. After reading other reviews I decided to take the machine apart and put it back together.. worked great the second time around producing a fine powder perfect for my espresso machine. If not for that initial issue, easily a 5 star machine.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Frank Li
Frank Li
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Motor runs but burr doesn't move

published

Purchased from AppliancesOnline, received it today. Followed instructions to put it together but It doesn't work at all. I can hear the motor sound which suggest the motor is runs but the burr doesn't seem to move at all, no matter what setting it is at. The beans are not being ground.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Frank Li
Frank Li

Turned out the grinder was damaged in transit, refunded by ApplicancesOnline, later bought same model from the good guys and it works good.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440

Why is my grinder making a loud noise?

Check for any blockages.

My coffee gets caught in the chute and sprays everywhere, what should I do?

Clean the residue from the chute. Try grinding into a container closer to the spout, then pour into the group handle. This will catch the grinds which are statically charged and going in all directions.

Why is there no difference to my grind despite adjusting the settings?

Check the grinder burr is seated properly.

My burrs are not aligned, how do I fix it?

Make sure everything is clean, with no obstructions.

How do I achieve consistency in my grind?

  1. Use beans from the same brand, blend and volume. Ensure beans are fresh before use.
  2. Make sure all parts are clean before each use.
  3. Experiment with the amount of time in which you grind the coffee beans.
  4. Over time as blades start to wear, slowly adjust your grinding time.

Latest Consumer Questions

Geoff
Geoff asked

I bought two grinders one for normal coffee one for decaf. The decaf will only do a course grind, no matter what setting, I have disassembled it and checked all assembly against the correctly operating grinder, but can only get a course grind. Whats happening?
Geoff

4 answers
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Geoff,
Firsty can I ask how old is the grinder?.
Thanks

Geoff
Geoff

Two weeks

Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Geoff,
I have just sent you a private message if you could kindly respond via that please.
Thanks

Swivelfish
Swivelfishasked

Was just cleaning the burrs....I have accidentally placed and turned the collar on my grinder before replacing the hopper.Now it is stuck tight, the lock button is depressed and I cannot move it or remove it to put the hopper on. How can I remedy this please!

Model EM0440

No answers
John K
John Kasked

on my grind fresh clean and put head back on turn half way round and has jammed

No answers
See all Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryCoffee Grinders / Roasters
Price (RRP) $99.95
TypeAutomatic
Grinding MechanismConical Burr
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g
Number of Grind Settings25 settings
Dimensions 382 x 135 x 262 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateOct 2008
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 2327, EM0440 and SEM0440
  • GTIN13: 9311445018682

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.