1 photo
Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440

Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440

MPNs: 2327, EM0440 and SEM0440
3.5 from 43 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Clare G.
Clare G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Does not burn coffee

published

Need to be prepared for loud noise. Keep the brush that comes with it as you will need it. I brush break off bits of beans from the burrs regularly to keep the grinder in top shape

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Clare,
Thank you for your review and great tips!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

irishpete
irishpete
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good while it lasted.

published

Purchased for $99.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Great value. Compliments my EM7000 perfectly. Best espresso ever.

published

All grinders and all espresso machines need to be cleaned regularly or they fail to satisfy. Fresh-ground beans are oily and sticky so will eventually clog up both machines. This grinder gets bad reviews when it has been assembled incorrectly. We had hiccups at first and now have a reliable routine that keeps it reliable. After a lot of use it did need the burrs re-shimmed and luckily we could do that. All burr grinders will eventually need this done.

Purchased at Second hand for $150.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
tfe
tfe

Old dry supermarket beans will never produce great espresso. You must buy fresh-roasted beans for reliable results.

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello tfe,
Thank you for the great review and helpful tips!

Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RedBren
RedBren
  • 2 reviews

Good Value

published

Good value for the $’s. Not too noisy, grind is fine for filter coffee. Just ensure correct assembly after cleaning as per previous posts. Only downside is coffee grinds held in spout at end of grind - easily dislodged with a couple of taps (now part of my grind ritual).
Recommended

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $78.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello RedBren,
Thank you for your GREAT review!

Don fromthe West
Don fromthe West
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for money

published

i had mixed thoughts about this product based on some of the less positive reviews but Sunbeam seem to have fixed up all the issues. I put it together without reading the instructions. Big tick. No need to assemble the grinding wheels - all done already. Another tick . Sunbeam have added a rubber (silicon) 45 degree nozzle to the hard plastic spout so 99% of coffee goes into the group. tick. Will check the grinding wheels to see if i have missed something but all seems to be wring well. It seems to be very good value for money.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Don!

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Best coffee machines in 2020!

The awards for best coffee machines (manual/semi-automatic, capsule/coffee pod and fully automatic) of 2020 are here! View in-depth ratings for different aspects of the coffee machine, such as Milk Frothing and Cleaning & Maintenance.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.5 Nov 2019
best-coffee-machines-in-2020
Next
GourmetEngPerth
GourmetEngPerthPerth
  • 14 reviews
  • 22 likes

Excellent Value - 3 WEEK UPDATE

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Easy to use, makes great coffee

published

I have to say, this machine makes great coffee. I've been using a German made hand grinder for years. Thought an electric grinder would save time but was surprised to discover it does an even better job of grinding coffee than even the German hand grinder. My coffee actually tastes better! Adjustment and control is a breeze with the accurate dial ring and push button start/stop. Easy to disassemble and clean - once I learned how to do it. Saves so much time and has a well made Italian burr. I recommend the suggestion below of grind-tamp-grind-tamp to avoid making a mess. Once you get the hang of it, it's easy and tidy. I just hope it's reliable. Had it three months so far with no sign of issues.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Phil
Phil
  • 2 reviews

I love this grinder

published

I've had my EMO440 for about a month now and I couldn't have expected more from a machine designed for home use. Like anything there has been a learning curve, but definitely nailed it now. My friend bought a Fiorenzato and paid $1200.00 for it and I haven't had the heart to tell him, "my coffee is equally as good". Oh and I should mention the bonus. I'm using half as much coffee as I was with my old grinder. Saving four or five bucks a week, it will have paid for itself in about 20 weeks.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Juan
JuanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Excellent grinder and a cheap entry price for a first time buyer!

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MissLiv
MissLivSydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic grinder!

published
Donna Mineo
Donna MineoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 37 likes

Been used daily for 5 years - hasn't skipped a beat.

published

The best Burr grinder on the market for under $100.

published

This grinder is absolutely fantastic! No mess, if you've had the rubber nozzle included which limits the grind mess to almost nothing. Produces a fantastic espresso grind (set to 11) and above average espresso with my Delonghi ECO310BK :)

Recommend to anyone who wants a good cafe style grinder, that doesnt want to settle for blade, and also doesnt want to splash out on a $200+ grinder! You'll get good, creamy espresso every time if you set your grind to 11, tamp properly, and dose the right amount of coffee into your Portafilter :D
Consistent grind, fast and easy, little to no mess (make sure the rubber nozzle is included), bang for buck!

NinaJay
NinaJayQLD, 4556
  • 106 reviews
  • 20 likes

Excellent

published

I would recommend this grinder to anyone. It is reasonably priced (but not super cheap) and it has worked really well over time. Holds a good amount of beans for home use and grinds on demand which I love.
Fantastic home grinder that has multiple settings (grind how you want, depending on what you are making the coffee with).
I love that it grinds on demand by simply laying the coffee basket/handle in it.
I really can't think of any. Ours is always messy but that is because coffee grinds are hard to clean up at the best of times!

toulouseletrek
toulouseletrek
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent

published

Overall I think this is a fantastic grinder. You can almost set it up intuitively out of the box without reading the instructions. This is my first grinder (after previously using pre-ground beans) and the coffee tastes great. It has a ton of settings for how fine you want the grind depending on the use. I would recommend this machine to anyone.
So easy to use, looks great, nothing complicated about it. Works well every time.
None yet- though it was given to me as a gift so I don't know what the price was. Noise level can be a little loud sometimes, but then again you are grinding beans!

Zdenda
ZdendaAU
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect grinding machine that does not crash coffee beans, but really grind them to perfection

published

We own this machine for about 3 years and we used it minimum once a day.
It has variable grinding adjustment and we can finally have real good Turkish
coffee.
When it comes to hopper, if you call Sunbeam, they post you free plastic extension. I found it very practical. This stopped spill of coffee dust around my appliance cabinet. I thing, that the plastic extension should have been included in box, when I bought it.
This coffee grinder was obviously not designed for occasional use! This is everyday use item and that is the reason why you don’t have to clean it after every use.
Reliable real grinding machine with 24 setting adjustments
The plastic extension should have been included in box, when I bought it.

1 comment
Grimace60
Grimace60

If you are talking about the little elbow that slips over the spout, I received one in mine when i bought it over a year ago.
Interesting that you missed out. It certainly does reduce spillage

Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 reviews

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440

Why is my grinder making a loud noise?

Check for any blockages.

My coffee gets caught in the chute and sprays everywhere, what should I do?

Clean the residue from the chute. Try grinding into a container closer to the spout, then pour into the group handle. This will catch the grinds which are statically charged and going in all directions.

Why is there no difference to my grind despite adjusting the settings?

Check the grinder burr is seated properly.

My burrs are not aligned, how do I fix it?

Make sure everything is clean, with no obstructions.

How do I achieve consistency in my grind?

  1. Use beans from the same brand, blend and volume. Ensure beans are fresh before use.
  2. Make sure all parts are clean before each use.
  3. Experiment with the amount of time in which you grind the coffee beans.
  4. Over time as blades start to wear, slowly adjust your grinding time.

Latest Consumer Questions

Geoff
Geoff asked

I bought two grinders one for normal coffee one for decaf. The decaf will only do a course grind, no matter what setting, I have disassembled it and checked all assembly against the correctly operating grinder, but can only get a course grind. Whats happening?
Geoff

3 answers
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Geoff,
Firsty can I ask how old is the grinder?.
Thanks

Geoff
Geoff

Two weeks

Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Geoff,
I have just sent you a private message if you could kindly respond via that please.
Thanks

Swivelfish
Swivelfishasked

Was just cleaning the burrs....I have accidentally placed and turned the collar on my grinder before replacing the hopper.Now it is stuck tight, the lock button is depressed and I cannot move it or remove it to put the hopper on. How can I remedy this please!

Model EM0440

No answers
John K
John Kasked

on my grind fresh clean and put head back on turn half way round and has jammed

No answers
See all Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

CategoryCoffee Grinders / Roasters
Price (RRP) $99.95
TypeAutomatic
Grinding MechanismConical Burr
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g
Number of Grind Settings25 settings
Dimensions 382 x 135 x 262 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Release dateOct 2008
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 2327, EM0440 and SEM0440
  • GTIN13: 9311445018682

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.