??!
2 photos
Sunbeam SecretChef Electronic 5.5L

Sunbeam SecretChef Electronic 5.5L (page 2 of 5)

HP5590, HP5580
2.8 from 84 reviews

Reviews

(17)
(15)
(14)
(14)
(24)
  • Build Quality
    1.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (5)

Reviewer Photos & Videos


James T

James TMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 15 reviews

Love it

published

I have had a few slow cookers over the years but this is by far the best I have had. I love it.
Seriously if you are in the market for a good reliable cheap and easy to use slow cooker this is the one for you. I promise you will love it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

ivan

ivanivanklin@aol.co.nz

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great model

published

Very easy to turn on and leave to simmer for a few hours without having to check for water shortage, so easy to use and convenient, good for a my favourite stew.
Just turn on and forget until ready to eat, also keeping warm for a long time.
Instructions are easy to use and pretty easy to clean.
Very pleased with the latest slow cooker, great product, just I wish price could be lower.
Strong 4 stars.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Trish alcock

Trish alcockMillicent

  • 3 reviews

This is ok

published

I am happy with cooking results but decided a multi cooker suits my needs. Ether . Easy too clean. The features are ok but I find its far slower than my multi cooker . On the upisde I can put it on earlier and it’s cooked at tea time not afternoon tea time

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Shaldon7

Shaldon7Bundarra

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Two years and I’m in for a new one

published

I was fairly happy with how this cooked, I looked after the bowl with how I washed it up and always made sure to wash it with warm water when it was hot so the temperature change didn’t make it crack. But I was cooking a meal and all of a sudden it cracked! And food seaped through under. Not very safe. Not looking at getting the same brand

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Graham

GrahamSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good cooker but ceramic bowl cracked straight away

published

Was a good slow cooker - countdown timer function and auto warming were good. The ceramic bowl cracked almost immediately. We were offered a new one but didn't get a chance to replace. We continued to use it until the bowl completely cracked and then threw it out. Disappointed that the bowl cracked so soon. I note that others here have had the same fault.

Date PurchasedJul 2015

Korero

Korero

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Cooks Great

published

The food I cooked in the slow cooker was always a hit with the family and others. Really simple to clean. The display cut out on me earlier in it's life and I ended up having to count the hours I input by the beeps. I thought I would break the lid first, but in the end I had a perfect glass lid and a cracked ceramic inner. I don't know if it was the age or if I added some liquid while the surface was hot, but so sad we don't have one now.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Kate

KateSydney

  • 5 reviews

Cooks well, just watch out - it gets very hot to touch!

published

Very happy with the cooking results, but the metal casing of the slow cooker gets very hot, and may warp any plastic around it, even laminate if you use it on a laminate bench - make sure you put it down on a wooden chopping board if you don't have a marble bench, or on your metal sink. little bit cumbersome to clean - accidentally dropped the bowl in the sink (very small drop) and it broke the bowl, which costs more to replace than just buying a new one.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Leah123

Leah123AU

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good but not great

published

I really like the size of this cooker. I went for the biggest I could find, which this is. I just find that it seems to cook too fast once it's reached top heat on the high setting. So I am therefore forced to use the lower cooking setting. I'd like to be able to use the higher setting to get things cooked in half the time, but it tends to over cook things. The thermostats just seems to high, even for the "high" setting.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Jon S

Jon SQueensland, 4073

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent Cooking

published

It works brilliantly but I have had to replace it twice due to the timer display failing around the 12 month mark as other reviewers have mentioned. Other than this it is easy to use easy to clean and cooks perfectly, seems theres just some quality control issue somewhere with the LCD display that needs fixing

Date PurchasedJan 2017
I.L.

I.L.perth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

it works

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Bob

Bob

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish

published

Purchase slow cooker June 2015,
timer display failed just over 1 year old and it was replaced with a new slow cooker good on Sunbeam, It was a bit of a hassle because it was 1 month over the warranty period.
Then the replacement slow cooker display failed after only 14 months old
after last time with all the hassle I decided to throw it out as you have no idea what time you have set to.
bob

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Jess90

Jess90Ipswich

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it

published

I absolutely love this slow cooker!!!! It cooks on high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours and then automatically switches to warm for a max of 6 hours! It was my first slow cooker and I'm not completely sure when I bought but it would've been in 2013 or 2014. I am looking for a new one though as the display timer isn't working properly anymore but it has been used A LOT in the time I've had it.

The purchase date is a guess

Date PurchasedMay 2014

DVD maniac

DVD maniac

  • 6 reviews

Last Sunbeam appliance I will buy

published

In decades past I have had excellent experiences with Sunbeam, but I feel they lost their way in the last 10 years or so with the appliances I bought all failing early. Case in point, the hp5590 slow cooker. Upon the second use I noticed it had lost a display segment, and it lost approximately one per use until half of them didnt work. No more have gone... Yet. The cooker mostly still works 2 years on but has many of the common problems: runs very hot on "keep warm" mode and burns food, exterior gets very hot. Cooks food satisfactorily when watched carefully but otherwise a big disappointment.

Date PurchasedMay 2015

Sergio

SergioSydney

  • 6 reviews

Great purchase. Happy with it!

published

Just follow the recipes and suggestions and you'll get great results! Sure there will be other brands and models that will do a better job but this definitely does the job and to be honest I would probably not notice the difference after plating. Recommending 100% if you're after a simple and effective slow cooker

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Jenn

Jenn

  • 4 reviews

Perfect

published

The slow cooker actually makes my meat taste 100 times better than usual. I use it very often now. I cook meat one day in advance now, it will be tender and also will not get spoiled. This is great and I can cook a big amount of meat now.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Vicki S.

Vicki S.Melbourne, Victoria

  • 28 reviews

It died six hours into my first cook

published

I wouldn't recommend this slow cooker...I bought one from Target and put lamb shanks on to cook. They were nearly done when the unit died. Stone cold dead. The shanks were sort of edible thank goodness, otherwise that would have been a heap of food wasted. I plan on returning this slow cooker for a refund and buying a different brand.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Coral S

Coral SMaroochydore

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for winter

published

I am extremely happy with my purchase. Put a meal together then just walk away. Check it before I go to work and it's ready to eat when I get home. I use the slow cooker function so that the meat is extra tender and tasty. Great for working families!

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Gen

GenSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Works a charm

published

This slow cooker works perfectly and each meal I have cooked has turned out really nice. The meat and vegetables are always tender - exactly what you want!
The cleaning is a little bit annoying as the slow cooker tub barely fits in my small sink so it is quite an effort to clean, although if you have a bigger sink it wouldn't be so bad.
The features on the slow cooker are simple and straightforward so are very easy to use.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Lucy

LucyAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for overcoming witching hour

published

Took a bit of getting used to as Ive never owned a slow cooker before but its definitely helped out a lot with a young baby that always gets cranky at about 3pm. I put all of the ingredients in early in the morning or at lunch time and the meal is ready and perfect at dinner time. No more battling to cut up veggies or meat while also calming down a tantrum. Ive never burnt anything and its great for both savoury and sweet dishes.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Will

Will

  • 4 reviews

Wow, so much easier than I thought and i'm only just starting :)

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 2 of 5

See all Sunbeam SecretChef Electronic 5.5L reviews

Questions & Answers

Jay

Jayasked

Our brand new sunbeam slow cooker is extremely hot to touch is this normal

1 answer
The Armsstones
The Armsstones

Yes it gets really hot on the outsude


Kww

Kwwasked

Why isn’t the light working on my slow cooker it seems to be cooking but the light isn’t working ?

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI Kww, no straight forward answer with this. If still under warranty please return to store or call us on 1300 881 861...


Robyn

Robynasked

My slow cooker has turned off half way through cooking. I had to turn it back on again.
Could you advise why this has happened? It is only second time I have used it.

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Robyn, I'm not sure why it would turn off. It should go to Keep Warm. Just check you have the hours programmed correctly but if it does it after checking, please return to store for a replacement...

Robyn
Robyn

Thank You. I will return to store as I did have correct time for cooking.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.