??!
3 photos
Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000

Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000

EM7000 (Stainless), EM7000RE (Red), EM7000G (Graphite), etc...
3.9 from 220 reviews · View Statistics
Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 Showcases

Official material from Sunbeam.

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (19)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (18)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (13)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.2 (15)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.0 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

iain

iainSydney, NSW

7 years in still going strong, 3 friends have bought same machine after me telling them to do it

published

After 7 years of using it, i would go out again and buy another one if it broke down today. Its a work horse and give great coffee.
Once you know what your doing with coffee you can change the preset setting to fit how you like to make coffee, higher steam pressure or wetter steam, hotter brew water colder, different infusion process.
1 thing i do straight away with my machine and friends was go out and Buy a VST 22g basket for the coffee Dramatic changes made a good coffee machine Excellent.

Purchased in September 2012 at Myer for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Jim Boyd

Jim BoydPerth, WA

Useless as supplied new.

published

Previous models came with Duel floor filter baskets. This model has single floor only which means ground coffee from the supermarket won’t work ( no pressure) Sunbeam are aware of this and tell you to purchase the duel floor for $50.00 If you want to fix the problem. Fantastic machine if only they supplied the correct baskets .

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Jim Boyd
Jim Boyd

We have resolved the problem by purchasing a duel floor filter basket. I was trying to make the point to any potential buyers that one should be included with the machine at time of purchase

Michael_Jones

Michael_Jones

  • 40 reviews
  • 16 likes

Coffee OK - Sunbeam service TERRIBLE

published

Bought the EM7000 after nearly 6 years of faithful service from my EM6910.
This brings us to the first point the EM6910 came with a 5 year warranty but for the EM7000 Sunbeam only offers 1 year.
At 17 months a puddle of water formed under the machine after use - so we rang customer service which brings us to the second point
Despite living in central Sydney the closest service centre able to inspect the machine is a two hour drive!
Rang several local coffee machine service centres and they did not repair Sunbeam machines
While it worked the coffee was fine - but (i) machine failed far too soon and (ii) Sunbeam offers no sensible repair options
The replacement is from Breville ...

Purchased in April 2019 for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Michael_Jones,
Thank you for sharing your experience with your Cafe Series Espresso Machine.
We value your feedback and I have passed on your review onto our technical/quality team.

DRoberts90

DRoberts90AU

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Poor quality build

published

These machines are built poorly. 2 years on and it leaks from the bottom. Last Sunbeam product I buy. Utter crap, no consistency in quality, except that it is pot luck if you get a descent one for your money.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

EM7000 to be serviced

published

I need to EM7000 to be serviced in Hobart Tasmania and there no service agents except the other end of state which is 3 hours away. I rang customer service but the could not help. Left message for manager to call Me - no response. Lodged online query and email advising someone would contact me in 3 days - no response. How is it possible for sunbeam you have no agents in southern Tasmania

Purchased in January 2014 at Harvey Norman for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedRarely
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Mirjana,
So sorry to hear about that, 7 years with no hiccup, this is my favorite unit.
We do have 5 agents in Tasmania:
https://www.sunbeam.com.au/support/services

Mirjana
Mirjana
Ditsy

DitsySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Shocking service center, 4th machine fail. Solid build with cheap components - particularly the collar.

published

2nd EM7000 to fail after 2 EM6910s had similar issues. This is a replacement machine after the first EM7000 failed with 2 collars replaced and then the whole motherboard. Was promised a 12 month warranty. Replacement machine's Collar failed at 11 months and alarming electrical shorting sounds on the Manual button, no replies to emails after over a month and phone never gets answered, then told they don't offer a warranty on the replacement machine despite me being told they do. Don't believe this is within my consumer rights, these machines used to be 24 months warranty, now only 12!
Have tried 4 times today over an hour and a half waiting for someone to answer the service line

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Burr Grinder EM0430
Bryan

BryanQuakers hill

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Broken again

published

Bought my em 7000 3 years ago, loved it (wrote a review praising it then)made great coffee12 months ago steamer stopped working. Put it in for repair at a very reputable coffee repair company when I got it back nothing worked returned it to them and they repaired it again. Again great coffee for almost 12 months, steamer has broken again, very disappointed not going to spend a couple hundred bucks for another possible year. I drink a long black and thankfully i can still make them but my wife cant get her latte but its put me off buying another sunbeam. I have rated the frother below great when it worked.
Bryan

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
Fern M.

Fern M.Sydney, NSW

No presssure

published

Machine has no pressure, you could put your whole weight on the tamper and fine ground coffee. the gauge stays at 0 Weak .
I usually love sunbeam but not that machine

Purchased in June 2020 at goodguy for A$630.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
Jason

JasonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Makes good coffee but the pressure gauge seems flakey

published

We replaced our older series Sunbeam with this machine today after 10 years of service. We took the first machine back because the pressure gauge did nothing. The second machine seems now to be doing the same - dead pressure gauge. These are not analogue dials but digital so presumably something is askew with the pressure sensor or the MCU controlling it.

Irritating not to have a feature you've paid for but equally not stopping it from producing good coffee. I comfort myself with the point that I rarely looked at the gauge on the older machine which was not very well located so don't really need this one either.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480

Customer support service

published

Purchased this machine Jan 2019. Feb I had a problem with the steamer. Calling the service number transferred to service who suggested running the cleaning cycle. No steam, called back but transferred to service with no answer. Sent email no response.
I understand the current pandemic is disrupting work places, but no response is unacceptable.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kip B.

Kip B.Perth, WA

The best.

published

Bought it second hand from a coffee buff. Read some reviews about leaking problems after about 1 year . This one was about 2 years old and in beautiful condition. After getting the run down on how to work it, I must say it makes the BEST coffee I have ever had. It makes my old Sunbeam entry level machine ,which I thought pretty good, second rate!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hi Kip B,

Thank you for your great review! Happy to hear you're loving your Sunbeam Coffee!

barneseye

barneseyeWodonga

  • 4 reviews

Excellent

published

Fantastic machine. Things we love - compact compared to Breville; twin thermoblock means can steam and draw coffee simultaneously; quick to warm up; our first one gave 5 + years of great service.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello barneseye,
Thank you for your feedback - happy to hear you're loving your sunbeam coffee!

Correzpond

CorrezpondSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Broke Down at 6 months; Sunbeam Customer Service Appalling

published

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for A$724.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderRancilio Rocky SD (Doserless)
3 comments
Correzpond
Correzpond

Big company changes should be comprehensively planned and diligently executed so that customer service does not suffer. "The best they can" is simply not good enough and confirms why I will never purchase another Sunbeam product.

Correzpond
Correzpond

Emailed Sunbeam Customer Service 4 days ago and still waiting for even on acknowledgement. Sunbeam is quickly providing a lesson in how you turn loyal customers into enemies.

Correzpond
Correzpond

This is the typically rude and dismissive response that I have come to expect from Sunbeam Customer Service. However please keep going by all means so that readers of Product Review can see what they can expect if they purchase a Sunbeam product.

Kirstin

KirstinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Love my coffee machine

published

This machine has never missed a beat. Brings my joy every morning. Perfect extraction and perfectly textured milk.
It is very easy to clean and extremely easy to use. My son is also making great coffee.

Purchased in January 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Kirstin,
We're so happy you and your son are enjoying you're Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000!
Thank you for the wonderful review!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

beachshack

beachshackNorthern Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Second major problem in just over 2 years.

published

Was hoping this Cafe series expresso machine purchased in 2017, was built to a higher standard than the previous model which failed after several years of light use. However it started having problems and then stopped altogether( lights on nobody home) resulting in a costly repair replacing electronic board . 6 months later and the pressure of the steam wand is reduced to zero despite diligently following care instructions. It also now wont even go through a clean cycle. Pfft, certainly cant afford another costly repair. Goodbye Sunbeam, no longer a quality reliable company.

Purchased in February 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
breto

bretoPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

makes a great flat white/capp. great steam wand... when working.

published

had it for 7 months, makes a mean coffee great latte art possible if that's your thing. only problem is the steam wand died and is in under warranty as we speak. I guess they don't make things to last these days but youd expect more than 7 months of service.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Breto,
Thank you for reviewing

Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
boyadine

boyadinePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

it's alright

published

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
aldo08

aldo08Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid, buy something else

published

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi aldo08,
Sorry to hear you had these problems, we will take your feedback on board...

Ryan

RyanKillarney Vale

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Ordinary for the money - paid $750

published

Works well for about 12 months. Took great care of it, usually only 1 coffee made per. Lasted about 18 months. Absolute junk after that. This is my 2nd one. The other got replaced by retailer.
Problems: Coffee often cold, machine would overheat after a few mins, etc

Purchased in May 2017.

Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr Grinder II EM0500
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ryan,
Sorry to hear of your experience with your EM7000 coffee machine.
We would love to assist you further. Please call us on 1300 861 881.

Ryan
Ryan
Graham

GrahamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

From BES870 to Em7000

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi GraGra,
Thanks for the great feedback and review!

Page 1 of 2
See all Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 reviews

Questions & Answers

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000

The coffee pressure gauge doesn't work during the pour regardless of how fine the grind size is, what should I do?

  1. Grinds might not have been tamped (compacted) enough, tamp more firmly.
  2. Not enough coffee grinds may have been used. Increase dosage for coffee grinds. Use a single filter basket for a single dose.

My steam wand temperature gauge is not working, what should I do?

Make sure the steam wand is clean and the temperature sensor on the wand is fully submerged in milk.

Why is there no pressure in my pour?

The coffee grind coarseness and tamp pressure will affect the coffee extraction pressure. Adjust to a finer grind size and tamp firmly.

The double cup setting poured between 80ml to 100ml rather than the 60ml, what should I do?

To re-program the 2 CUP button, follow the instructions below.

  1. Prepare the 2 cup filter with coffee and tamp.
  2. Place 2 cups under the espresso pour spouts.
  3. Press the PROGRAM button.
  4. Press the 2 CUP button to start the espresso pour. Press the 2 CUP button again once the desired volume of espresso has been extracted. The espresso machine will beep twice to indicate the new program for 2 CUP operation has been set.

Why can't I get any crema no matter what grind I use?

The freshness of the coffee beans affects the level of crema. Change to a different batch of coffee beans and ensure it is used within 2 - 3 weeks of opening the bag.

My coffee tasted bitter and black, there's no pressure or crema even after I followed the instructions. What should I do?

When the grind is too fine and the grounds are packed too tightly together, it will be harder for the water to penetrate the coffee puck. This will result in an extraction that is too slow, hence bitter drinks. Adjust the grind setting and make the grinds coarser. Don't apply too much pressure when tamping.

How do I clean and care for my machine?

The coffee making process involves extracting oils out of coffee grinds to make espresso coffee. Deposits of these oils build up over time and affect the taste of the coffee and operation of the espresso machine. Regular cleaning to remove these oils is essential and will maintain the quality of the coffee the espresso machine produces and result in less maintenance being required. This is easy to do by following a few quick and easy cleaning steps after each coffee making session:

  • Cycle water through the group head
  • Purge steam through the steam wand
  • Wipe the steam wand clean with a damp cloth immediately after use
  • Remove the filter basket from the filter handle and clean away any old coffee oils
  • Empty the drip tray and rinse

Latest Consumer Questions

ted p.

ted p.asked

Cafe Series Espresso EM7000

single cup button starts then stops working. 2 cup button and manual work fine.

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi,
I have just you a private message if you could kindly respond via that.
Thanks

kwdhart

kwdhartasked

Cafe Series Espresso EM7000

I have had my EM7000 for over 2 years with no issues. Suddenly the steam wand is struggling to pump steam and the steam temperature guage increases even though the wand is not submerged in liquid. There is also water leaking under the machine when the steam control is opened. Has the steam boiler gone?

No answers
Doc M.

Doc M.asked

Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless)

My EM7000 warms the top cup warmer. It also produces hot steam. However the water passing through the coffee is cold. The water from the RHS hot water spout is also cold?
What does this mean and how do I fix it?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000
CategoryManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) A$899.00A$899.00A$899.00A$899.00
Pump Pressure15 bar15 bar15 bar15 bar
Input Power2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W2,400 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity0.03 L0.03 L0.03 L0.03 L
Colour / FinishStainless SteelRedGraphiteWhite
Dimensions 355 x 365 x 340 mm355 x 365 x 340 mm355 x 365 x 340 mm355 x 365 x 340 mm
Weight12.7 kg12.7 kg12.7 kg12.7 kg
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNoneNoneNoneNone
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateJun 2012
Compare all 5 Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.