??!
1 photo
Sunbeam FA8900

Sunbeam FA8900

MPNs: 36013667 and FA8900
4.0 from 91 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
33
4 star
35
3 star
12
2 star
8
1 star
3

Cmac

CmacSydney Surrounds, NSW

No good in the bedroom

published

Looks good and makes good wind but..
Humming noise from the motor makes it to loud for bedroom use, even
on the lowest speed
Figure 8 oscillate function is more like an upside down U
I wasted money on a few cheaper fans that were too noisy for sleeping
and this one is unfortunately no better, the best fan I had in the bedroom
was a 15 dollar special a few years ago.
other than that...great.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Cmac,
I'm sorry to hear you weren't able to use the fan in the bedroom but I'm glad you do love it everywhere else in the home.


Far from perfect

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Myer Online Store for $143.65.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
Carly

CarlyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good Fan

published

A very sturdy and quality fan. It is quite powerful and has many modes for how you like the air to be blowing. The remote and settings are very handy. I do not find it too noisy. The one thing I dislike is the bright blue light - makes it impossible to sleep. We put dark sticky tape over it. Thanks to the reviewers here for helping me chose a fan.

Purchased in February 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Carly,
Thanks for the great review!

Terrella

Terrella

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Mum loved it so much I had to go and get another one!

published

It's a quiet fan and moves a lot of air. The round base is heavy and the fan is a lot more stable than a lot of other pedestal fans.
There are a lot of settings which we don't really make use of but they're there if needed.
The remote is very handy for elderly, injured or disabled people. The buttons are easy to use and suitable for people with limited dexterity.
One of these fans runs for about 95% of the day and night and has never skipped a beat and the motor doesn't get too hot.

Purchase date and price are 'guesstamates' and would be different as we have 2 of them.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for $120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Terralla,
Thanks for the great review !


Very Quiet Fan Once You Make A Few Upgrades

published

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $127.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Andrew B,
Thank you for reviewing. I must say if the fan is on Speed 1 it is almost silent. I must say though we would never advise our customers to alter the fan or open it up due to safety concerns.


Jordan

JordanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great fan - nice and quiet

published

This fan is great, nice and quiet. Excellent speed for the recent hot days/nights we have had lately. The oscillating modes are a good touch (infinity). Only problem is you can't turn of the LED lights and they are really bright. I've just resorted to tying a sock around it to block it out

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jordan,
Thank you for the feedback. The FA8900 is a great fan. I will pass on you comments in regards to the LED lights to our design and technical team.


Ian

IanCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • Verified purchase

I wanted it to be good but...

published

I brought this fan today from The Good Guys for $149. It was easy to assemble, looks great, and I really liked the heavy solid pedistal base. However when the fan was on the highest setting it developed and high pitched whining noise, almost like a vibration. I disassembled and reassembed the fan, double checking I'd followed the instructions. The same high pitched whining noise came back when on the highest fan speed. On the lowest speed, the motor is also louder than I expected. Like other reviewers I thought the LED's are way to bright, they really need an (auto) diming function. This is such a pitty as I really wanted it to be good but sadly it wasnt and I'll be returning it and probably head back to Bunnings for a $50 Arlec.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ian,
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for the issue. The noise you describe is certainly not usual. If you have not already taken it back to the store - please try a replacement unit. These really are great fans.


DavidB

DavidBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

BEST FAN I'VE EVER OWNED!

published

After many years of buying Bunnings Moretti fans we finally got fed up with the noise, breakdowns, and general lack of performance. We looked high and low for a decent fan and found this one on sale at Myer. It is quiet, stylish and has three way oscillation as well as "breeze mode" and a remote control (not necesseary for use as all the functions are on the fan) Its not a cheap unit at $150 on sale but we'll be using it for years... not months.

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer Retail Stores for $150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi DavidB ,
Thank you for your great feedback.!

Jacquie

JacquieNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

FANtastic fan.

published

Really attractive fan. Sturdy. The remote is great and contrary to what others say, the fan is quiet and covers a good area on oscillate. We love it. We looked at a variety of fans and this one was the best.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $155.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jacquie,
Thanks for the great review !

Quality Build - Bright LEDs

published

Hi Sunbeam

I went in to spend $90 on a fan and walked out of Good Guys after handing over $145 when I saw the difference in build quality between yours and the competitors for the extra 10's dollars.

Airflow, noise and functionality are top notch. However the LEDs are bright and I have had to put a 5cm strip of black electrical tape over the Blue fan speed LEDs to darken the room for sleep.

cheers

Drew

Purchased in January 2019 for $145.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the positive feedback Drew!


Lory

LoryMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Its amazing

published

I cant understand previous reviews saying how loud the fan is. Mine is perfect. Even on high its easy to sleep with on. This fan has got me through the hot adelaide nights. Its number one. Only thing i dont like about it is the bright lights. But thats easy to get used to. I think some people are just too fussy

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Lory, great to see you love the fan, it is certainly a favourite of mine!


Linda

LindaSydney

  • Verified purchase

Loud whirring noise in the motor and bright lights

published

I bought this from JBHIFI today, but am not happy.
Pros: Stylish fan and i like the round base. It is fairly quiet, when on speed 3 or above it produces good air flow, oscillating component is good.
Cons: I cant feel the air standing 1.5 meters away when on speed setting 1 & 2. Quiet, but it has a constant whirring noise in the motor, which is annoying at night, the blue lights are super bright i might as well keep a night light on. I had to cover the blue lights with fabric so i could sleep.
Overall good fan, but i am not happy and will be returning this one.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Linda,
Thank you for your feedback for your FA8900. Sorry to hear that the fan does not meet your standards. I'll be sure to pass your feedback on to our Design & Development team.


Steve

StevePerth

  • Verified purchase

Humming Noise

published

I agree with other reviewers who have similar issues with a loud humming noise - disappointing after reading so many reviews on how quiet this fan is. Impossible to use this fan in a bedroom whilst sleeping which is why we purchased. Back to the store we go and see if we have any luck with the next one...

Date PurchasedJan 2019
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Steve,
Sorry to hear of the issues you have had with your FA8900. Please give us a call on 1300 881 861 if you experience any issues with your replacement.

Steve
Steve

Hi, thanks for your reply - David Jones WA is out of stock so can’t offer a replacement - are you able to assist?

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Steve, We are more than happy to assist. Please call us on 1300 881 861 with your receipt.


Matthew

MatthewMelbourne, Victoria

  • 18 reviews
  • 5 likes

Top of the line, won't hurt the wallet.

published

Was looking for an affordable portable air-con to get me through the Australian summer, and decided to go with this fan- it has a great range, strong breeze, and heaps of features. Additionally- looks great in the house!

Has been getting me through those sweaty summer nights, as hoped.
Don't waste your time and money with low quality coolers!

10/10

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks matthew - Appreciate the positive feedback.

Mel78

Mel78

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Whisper quiet

published

I cannot understand the reviews saying this is noisy- this fan is so quiet, I don’t even know it’s on. It has a solid base and is easy to assemble. Love the remote control. Only drawback is bright light from the control panel which isn’t ideal at night. But overall, a great fan. Would definitely recommend.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Wess82

Wess82South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Noisy... and bright light.

published

The fan is noisy and sleep mode is even worst... it’s so loud. I tested it and I couldn’t sleep... it’s was louder than normal setting. The blue bright lights... soo bright. Good breeze comes out though and good oscillating feature but unfortunately to noisy.... overall okay fan. . .

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Carole

CaroleHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews

A bit of a rattle

published

This fan has great power and I love the figure 8 mode. However, it rattles quite a bit on high speed, and I’ve tried many times to adjust it with only short term success. It appears that the fan blades are slightly hitting the cage. Also the blue lights are too bright, as many people have mentioned.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI Carole,
It should not be hitting the cage. If this continues please return to store for a replacement.


Tam

TamPerth

6 fans later and I give up!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
4 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Tam
Tam
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Ang

AngSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This is a great fan!!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Ang
Ang

Thank you
Ill admit it - i was scared id break it - but i did angle it down

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Great!


Good fan, but has a few issues.

published

The fan is very quiet and has good airflow. Remote is very convenient and easy to use. Good oscillation and timer functions built in. And the base is quite heavy and sturdy so it is hard to knock over. However, the blue LEDs on the front are extremely bright at night, with no way to turn them off. I had to put a sticky note over top to be able to sleep. Sometimes the fan has rattling and vibrations which are rather loud and distracting. All screws are fully tightened, so rattling must be from the motor components.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Dawn

Dawnasked

Hi there I purchased this fan this week from Bing Lee and just put it together tonight but the motor makes a very loud humm noise that constantly kicks in when it's running. My friend has the exact same fan but his does not make this sound at all (which is why I bought this as I loved his). Is mine just faulty? Such a disappointment can I return for another quiet one which is what I thought I was purchasing?

No answers

VFK

VFKasked

Our fa8900 fan blades broke during moving house. Where can we buy a replacement fan blade? TIA

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi VFK,
Unfortunately the blades are not available as a part.


Kevin H.

Kevin H.asked

we have a slim remote that does not have sunbeam on it. It does say technology for life. Is this the correct remote, did you guys do upgrades on them at all

2 answers
Terrella
Terrella

Our remote just has Sunbeam and the functions of the buttons on it. We haven't done any upgrades. Technology for life is the slogan for Draeger products.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Kevin H,
No I'm sorry, am unfamiliar with Technology for Life.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.