??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900

Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 (page 2 of 5)

MPNs: 36013667, 5172 and FA8900
3.9 from 96 reviews · View Statistics

Fan Buying Guide - How to choose the coolest tower or pedestal fan for you

If you’re looking for a way to avoid melting this summer, a fan could help. But with so many types on the market, how do you choose the best fan for your home?

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (15)
  • Power
    4.5 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Wess82

Wess82South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Noisy... and bright light.

published

The fan is noisy and sleep mode is even worst... it’s so loud. I tested it and I couldn’t sleep... it’s was louder than normal setting. The blue bright lights... soo bright. Good breeze comes out though and good oscillating feature but unfortunately to noisy.... overall okay fan. . .

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Carole

CaroleHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews

A bit of a rattle

published

This fan has great power and I love the figure 8 mode. However, it rattles quite a bit on high speed, and I’ve tried many times to adjust it with only short term success. It appears that the fan blades are slightly hitting the cage. Also the blue lights are too bright, as many people have mentioned.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI Carole,
It should not be hitting the cage. If this continues please return to store for a replacement.

Tam

TamPerth

6 fans later and I give up!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
4 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Tam
Tam
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Standalone Fans

Find out how Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ang

AngSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

This is a great fan!!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Ang
Ang

Thank you
Ill admit it - i was scared id break it - but i did angle it down

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Great!

Good fan, but has a few issues.

published

The fan is very quiet and has good airflow. Remote is very convenient and easy to use. Good oscillation and timer functions built in. And the base is quite heavy and sturdy so it is hard to knock over. However, the blue LEDs on the front are extremely bright at night, with no way to turn them off. I had to put a sticky note over top to be able to sleep. Sometimes the fan has rattling and vibrations which are rather loud and distracting. All screws are fully tightened, so rattling must be from the motor components.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
UsandMe

UsandMeToowoomba

  • 5 reviews

Good Quality Fan, with quirks

published

We have owned this fan for 1 year, and it has been very reliable. It is a well built fan, and is very quiet in low speed, and hasen't increased in noise or developed any annoying rattles or squeaks like cheaper made fans tend to. However the blue lights indicating fan speed cannot be turned off, and are really annoying when you are trying to sleep. You would then think that sleep mode would turn all the lights off and make the fan really quiet...which would be useful, but no, instead the lights go up and down like a disco, and the fan speed goes into a spasmodic mode, between maximum and minimum, loud and quiet, which does not seem to have been thought through by a normal person, as it is hopeless if your trying to sleep.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
UsandMe
UsandMe
Layla

LaylaSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quiet and Cooling

published

I bought this fan from The Good Guys on sale and are very happy with my purchase. This fan is perfect for cooling in summer and has good air flow without the noise. Although the blades are plastic this fan still works very well and has a stylish design. I recommend this product.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Great to see you are staying cool in this heatwave Louise, thanks for the review.

Barb

BarbHervey Bay

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

I'm not a fan on pedestal fan's...BUT...

published

I'm not particularly fond of pedestal fan's yet when going to choose what I wanted..(tower fan).. after trying them all out I chose the best...very strong fan as far as stability & a very strong fan...cooling me off to the point I walked away...a variety of speeds...6...plus the added bonus is instead of just going side to side it also goes up & down plus gives the choice of a figure 8 encompassing a huge area... stylish also...from not wanting one... I'm glad I purchased this one...plus a handy remote... awesome...

Date PurchasedOct 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Barb, thank you for your review. This fan is very good we agree and the figure 8 movement is very effective. Also this one is extremely quiet when using the lower speeds...

Barb
Barb

Oh definitely Yes... also one of the reasons why I chose the Sunbeam Fan...who wants a noisy fan while sleeping...sorry Sunbeam Official... forgot to mention that...

Poppy

Poppysouth australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best fan I've ever bought

published

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the positive review Poppy.

Standalone Fans

Find out how Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lovelylegs

lovelylegsAngle Park

  • 13 reviews

it's perfect

published

It is a powerful fan it helps cool you down my friend sleeps with it every night, it is a quiet fan and the functions are quite basic and easy to use I couldn't do without it.It is the best fan I have ever bought.It is so very good. I just love it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Kuku

Kuku

  • 3 reviews

Low noise basic fan

published

it isn't too powerful but gets the job done at night, its is surprisingly quite but still manages to drown out all the other noises and helps me sleep, the functions are quite basic and to if you leave it at a speed of 4 or 5 at night you'd have the best sleep ever

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sylviat

SylviatSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet but...

published

It's a quiet fan but because im sensitive to certain sound frequency. And i think i always hear it from this fan at night if the speed is more than three. And i hope there isn't the beep sound every time i change the speed or turning it on. And the lights indication are quite bright.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Dan

Dan

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great, quiet fan

published

Bought this fan when our old one conked out in the middle of a heatwave, spur of the moment no research decision.
Glad we bought this one because it is simply the best fan I've ever had.

Noise level is low, if you have it on one of the first 2 or 3 speeds you will forget it is there. We turn it up to 4 or 5 usually as the white noise it creates drowns out the street sounds.

It has a ton of settings for speed, oscillation (up and down as well as left to right, not sure how useful this is) and a timer. We just use the speed settings, if you turn it up all the way it is way too strong for most rooms and settings.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
M Layt

M LaytVic, 3021

Cheap simple to use Perfect.

published

What you want a fan to be, working, quiet, no fuss. Helped cool down the room. Good quality. You don't need remote controls, just 3 buttons to click. Nice new black color. Doesn't show dirt like the white ones. Bit of a modern take. I didn't think twice about going out and buying another.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Eddie

EddieMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great fan !

published

This fan was actually a great purchase. For a reasonable price, it has easily the output of air I was looking for. The functions are sufficient for any basic you could want. Although it is a bit noisy, I can easily sleep with the fan on in my room. Definitely would recommend to get out of the heat!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Standalone Fans

Find out how Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The best so forget the rest

published

In NZ we had a climate heat wave, or so it felt. Had to buy 2 fans,Seemingly satisfied by Mitsibushi ratings of quiet, pedestal, instant from Harvey Norman....the dearest was all that was left, around $200 each..Then saw Sunbeam Infinity pedestal on Dick Smith, had to buy to compare.It had to come from Australia, but the quietest fan Ive ever (not)heard, even my cat sleeps right in front of it.The rest are not realistic by review, as one can sleep-no noise -sleep, with my Sunbeam.Good airflow.So decided to sell the Mitsis and buy 2 more Infintis....sold out!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Silky

Silky

  • 4 reviews

Great fan for its price!!

published

We checked through a lot of fans before making the decision to buy this one. The fan works pretty well plus its not noisy. The remote is useful and so easy to operate. The only thing that might be a negative point is the weight of the fan. Its a bit heavy than the standing fans. However, we have been extremely happy with our purchase minus the weight.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
data

datasydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good and reliable fan

published

Pros
I bought this fan 2 months ago. The quality is much better than what I expected. This is great cooling fan in the bedroom and really quiet during sleeping time. It has 6 speed setting to choose and timer function which is very useful.

Cons
The blue light is bright at night and slightly expensive.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Erik

Erik

  • 4 reviews

Good decent fan

published

The days of summer was really hot, and buying a new fan from Sunbeam did help cool down the temperature of my room at night. Nice black colour and with simple functions. It is also lightweight so it can be shifted anywhere in the house during day and night time.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Hunter

Hunter

  • 4 reviews

Not a bad Fan

published

This Sunbeam FA8900 fan is attractive and reasonable price. It has so many different settings that you can use, speed, wind models, timer, remote control and tri-movement oscillation. Remote control allows you to choose different settings without moving your body. The most incredibly function is tri-movement oscillation, the fan can rotate not only left and right, also up and down, it cools your entire room much faster than normal fan. The only problem is the indicator lights on panel are too bright at night.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
See all Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 reviews

Questions & Answers

Bethel h.

Bethel h.asked

Can you tell me how to unlock fan so i can clean the blades.

No answers
Lory

Loryasked

Hi I've had this fan for a few years now and it's started to rattle and squeak when oscillating. Any ideas how I can fix it? It's keeping me awake it's so loud lol

2 answers
Ian
Ian

May be buy a replacement as I don't know that it is serviceable by anyone.

waytogohere
waytogohere

Same issue here, and we have three of these, all clicking or popping with each oscillation. Annoying when trying to sleep having a loud click every 20 seconds or so.

Ron W.

Ron W.asked

The top speed is just like a 1 setting

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Ron W,
If you feel like there is a fault in the motor, please do return it to your retailer for a replacement.

Ron W.
Ron W.

We got this as a Christmas present Dec 2018. They gave us the instruction booklet but no receipt. By the way because we were so pleased with this make and model we bought a 2nd one which still operates perfectly.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Features:

  • Sunbeam’s tri-movement oscillation provides a savvy upgrade on pedestal fans that just blow air directly onto you. It moves air in various formations, including vertically, horizontally and in a Figure 8 air shape, for maximum effectiveness at providing relief on sweltering days.
  • Fan panel or remote control (with batteries included) can be used to select from 6 speeds, the wind formation mode and time functions
  • A sturdy pedestal base and stand effectively supports the fan, helping to prevent an tip-overs and increasing safety (provided caution around the fan is always taken).
CategoryStandalone Fans
Price (RRP) A$169.00
FeaturesOscillating, Remote Control and Timer
Colour / FinishChrome/Black
Number of Speed Settings6
TypePedestal
Cord Length2.7 m
Dimensions 469 x 207 x 626 mm
Weight9.3 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Construction
Blade MaterialPlastic
Body MaterialMetal and Plastic
Blade Diameter400 mm
Release dateOct 2012
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36013667, 5172 and FA8900
  • GTIN13: 9311445019535

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.