??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900

Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 (page 3 of 5)

MPNs: 36013667, 5172 and FA8900
3.9 from 96 reviews · View Statistics

Fan Buying Guide - How to choose the coolest tower or pedestal fan for you

If you’re looking for a way to avoid melting this summer, a fan could help. But with so many types on the market, how do you choose the best fan for your home?

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (15)
  • Power
    4.5 (12)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

J CY

J CYGeelong

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic Fan

published

The fan was incredibly fantastic as it did the job of cooling the room down what with the recent heatwave VIctoria been experiencing. The fan’s power and output could not be faulted and the three different options of wind blowing from fan was pretty cool - horizontal direction,vertical or wave or figure 8 direction. It’s a BUY!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Shopping King Louis

Shopping King LouisPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for summer without the high electrical bills....

published

This sunbeam fan is perfect for summer without the high electrical bills. It is not loud and there are many settings or functions on this unit surprisingly - swivel left right and up and down. Someone actually thought about the air flow and designed it properly. It was also easy to assemble together.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
minijumbuk

minijumbuk

  • 4 reviews

Decent fan, slightly loud, remote control

published

The fan has quite a few settings that you can play around with. My favourite feature is the remote control. The fan has 6 different levels of speed which makes it quite flexible to use. The oscillation also is quite handy, as it lets you choose between a few different movements. It is a good enough powered fan.

Things I dislike about this fan is that at the higher speeds it can be a bit loud compared to some of the more high end fans. Another feature I dislike is that the operation panel is LED lit. While it looks cool during day time, it is annoyingly bright and will light up your whole room at night. I have had to cover the panel before I sleep (and unfortunately when you cover it the remote can't be sensed).

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Standalone Fans

Find out how Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JenConsumes

JenConsumesSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fab fan for summer

published

Great for cooling both a small bedroom or a large loungeroom. Stylish design, very sturdy and great quality for the price.
Personally I find the LED lights a bit bright in the bedroom but the fan is quiet so I can overlook that.
Easy to take apart to clean the blades.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Danie YY

Danie YYBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Great for everyday use

published

Quiet when working, easy to install, the pedestal is steady so I put it in the living room with no need to move around.
Multiple functions with combinations of 6 speeds, timer, 3 kinds of wind modes and oscillate vertically or horizontally.
Great deal on boxing day, use it everyday and love it!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Raghu

RaghuSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good fan

published

Had one fan got another one this summer.
The only flip side is the bright display.
The fan has good coverage and covers big size room.
Very easy to clean remove a screw and you are good to clean every part of the blade and grill.
Highly recommend the fan

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Rickie

RickieKootingal

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Loving the osc feauture

published

Great fan with 8 figure osc. Its really quite too and there is a timer ranging between 30 minutes until 10 hours.
It has 3 speed as well.

The only drawbacks that someone might do not like is the blue lights. It can be quite bright at night and if you set the sleep mode the lights blinking. Quite disturbing sometimes.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
SNL

SNLMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

This is awesome.

published

I don't really use the infinity oscillation but its the best fan I owned. You can easily substitute ac for this fan as it has multiple speed and on the lowest, it is actually quite so you can get a good night sleep.
The build is also solid and has a rubber base and so it sticks and doesn't move when oscillating

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Felicity

FelicityBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Okay job

published

This fan has no problems putting out a fantastic cool breeze. It’s not super noisy and doesn’t have the clicking sound some upright fans can have. It has adjustable height which makes it a good purchase and of course it rotates. Not bad for our qld summers. But would prefer a ceiling fan

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Standalone Fans

Find out how Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jecht

JechtMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product

published

Solid built fan. Good range of motion including oscillations in 3 different directions. Doesn't overheat as much as other fans in the motor. Cools air in the room its placed in and doesn't need to be directed in the one position. Very quiet fan and well worth the retail price.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
John R.

John R.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

The answer to summer heat

published

This fan is just right. Super quiet yet so powerful. Can't ask for a better buy. So affordable and can use it all day and night long. Thought I'd buy a cheap one and see if it's good enough - so happy I got this. Even our dog loves it. Awesome buy

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Lluu

LluuAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

My saviour

published

Good fan in a pinch. No air conditioner at my house at the moment, so had to buy something temporary. Multiple speeds and on the lowest 2 are quiet enough to sleep through. Timer function works well, especially with the remote, so perfect to use in the bedroom at night. The black colour makes it visually unobstrusive. Would recommend.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
dbau

dbau

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great fan!

published

Great fan with unique figure-8 oscillation pattern, remote control and multiple speeds. Operates as expected. Assembly was super easy and a lot simpler than no-name brands. Only negative is the blue LED lights are a little bright at night, but not at all a deal breaker. Highly recommended, great fan!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Rohan

RohanKelso

Great Fan. Recommended.

published

I bought this fan in October last year. I am a student so its a cheap option and has most of the features that other expensive fans offer. Its really quiet, consumes low power and you can adjust the direction, speed and height to your liking. I definitely recommend others to buy this fan.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
BJ1

BJ1Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

REALLY GREAT FAN!

published

The fan is great very stable with the circular base, yes its heavy but that's to stop it toppling over if accidentally brushed against.Powerful motor and it moves the air around fast. The oscillating function is easy to use and helps cool the air better when its oscillating.A very fast and popular fan and doesn't stay long on the shelves. Even the cat enjoys the cool air movement and gets in a position to make sure he gets the best effect.Really went for this fan when i saw it and after reading the blurb on the box i was convinced and what they said is true. Like the blue led speed lights as one can see at a glance how high or low the fan speed is , also quieter than alot of fans similar to this.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Standalone Fans

Find out how Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 compares to other Standalone Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharna

Sharna

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is a perfect product.

published

I part of my disability I feel the heat more so me I love having a fan going. It keeps the air cool and easier to breath because the air is not so stuffy. This fan I can't I can't live without at all. Love the fan I'm going to be buying another for my mum bc she loves it as much as I do.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Julie

JulieMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good fan

published

Just bought a few days. It’s quite and heavy fan , cooling well with many functions, have 6 speeds and sleep mode. The only cons is the led light in the too bright at night. Maybe I will cover it to make the room darker. I bought in Harvey Norman

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Anna H.

Anna H.Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

LOVE IT!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Gazza

GazzaHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Low pitch hum from fan.

published

I am happy with all the features on the fan and the six speeds are great. The fan blades are nice and quiet, Unfortunately I find it difficult to get to sleep with it on because of a low pitch hum that seems to be emitted from the motor. The noise is by no means loud, just annoying! Went back to the shop and the one in the shop made the same noise. Disappointed but I guess I may have to learn to live with it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Lou

Loutoowoomba

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love this fan

published

This fan is great - many options for function and not noisy Only draw back is the blue light that I have covered with a scarf so that it doesn't light up the bedroom. Comes with a remote that you can adjust through the night without getting out of bed.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
See all Sunbeam Infinity 40cm FA8900 reviews

Questions & Answers

Bethel h.

Bethel h.asked

Can you tell me how to unlock fan so i can clean the blades.

No answers
Lory

Loryasked

Hi I've had this fan for a few years now and it's started to rattle and squeak when oscillating. Any ideas how I can fix it? It's keeping me awake it's so loud lol

2 answers
Ian
Ian

May be buy a replacement as I don't know that it is serviceable by anyone.

waytogohere
waytogohere

Same issue here, and we have three of these, all clicking or popping with each oscillation. Annoying when trying to sleep having a loud click every 20 seconds or so.

Ron W.

Ron W.asked

The top speed is just like a 1 setting

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Ron W,
If you feel like there is a fault in the motor, please do return it to your retailer for a replacement.

Ron W.
Ron W.

We got this as a Christmas present Dec 2018. They gave us the instruction booklet but no receipt. By the way because we were so pleased with this make and model we bought a 2nd one which still operates perfectly.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Features:

  • Sunbeam’s tri-movement oscillation provides a savvy upgrade on pedestal fans that just blow air directly onto you. It moves air in various formations, including vertically, horizontally and in a Figure 8 air shape, for maximum effectiveness at providing relief on sweltering days.
  • Fan panel or remote control (with batteries included) can be used to select from 6 speeds, the wind formation mode and time functions
  • A sturdy pedestal base and stand effectively supports the fan, helping to prevent an tip-overs and increasing safety (provided caution around the fan is always taken).
CategoryStandalone Fans
Price (RRP) A$169.00
FeaturesOscillating, Remote Control and Timer
Colour / FinishChrome/Black
Number of Speed Settings6
TypePedestal
Cord Length2.7 m
Dimensions 469 x 207 x 626 mm
Weight9.3 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Construction
Blade MaterialPlastic
Body MaterialMetal and Plastic
Blade Diameter400 mm
Release dateOct 2012
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36013667, 5172 and FA8900
  • GTIN13: 9311445019535

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.