??!
3 photos
Sunbeam FoodSaver VS1300

Sunbeam FoodSaver VS1300

MPN: VS1300
4.2 from 19 reviews

Reviews

4.2

19 reviews
5
(11)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Previous
Next
Jonsey

JonseyPerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Most useless Kitchen aid I have ever bought.

published

The lids of the very expensive containers do not seal properly so are quiet useless. The bags are quiet small so not useful for more than 1 serving. Very disappointing product , I've ended up having to buy amother vacuum sealer.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$99.00.

JayKay

JayKaySouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Container lids a poor fit and kept popping off. Sunbeam customer service poor.

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Terry

TerrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Bag lose suction

published

I have had this for a while. I bought a lot of bags and containers thinking it was going to save me so much time. The bags are supposed to be re-sealable. But they never ever keep the air out. They lose suction after a few days. It does NOT do what its meant to. I tried taping up the hole after sucking out the air with no luck. I tried a new box of bags thinking I had a lemon set, but None have worked for me.

Purchased in January 2019.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Food Sealers

Find out how Sunbeam FoodSaver VS1300 compares to other Food Sealers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CKL

CKLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great Product For Prolonging Fresh Food

published

We got this product on special at Harvey Norman by accident. Lovely product, very easy to use with the Foodsaver containers and bags. Yes, the bags do lose vacuum after a week, but the containers were good. Able to keep produce fresher longer in the container, and we are in the process of getting more containers as a result. A word for Harvey Norman; very quick shipping and kept us in the loop via Facebook messenger was very good experience.

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello CKL,
Thank you for the great review! Glad to hear you're loving it.

Mortishia

MortishiaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 60 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Perfect accompaniment in the kitchen

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Myer for A$70.00.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hi Mortishia,
Thank you for you great review and helpful tips.

Mortishia
Mortishia

Thank you for reviewing my review. Happy owner

JKat

JKat

  • 3 reviews

This has ACTUALLY changed my life

published
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi JKat,
Thank you for the fantastic review! The container lids are a bit tricky. They need to be extremely sealed and are stubborn to remove or place on. Kind Regards,
Sunbeam

Pugawawa

PugawawaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Wish there was more detailed 'how to use' manual

published

I want to love this product but found my first effort of using the bags in the refrigerator a miserable fail. I've googled a lot but apart from blanching vegies for freezing, very little help on how to use for short term refrigeration. I want to use mainly for cucumbers, celery , avocado etc. I want to know when to use bags & when to use containers & how to prepare for refrigeration. Any help out there?

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Scott

ScottGeelong

  • 6 reviews

Works well but...

published

This is a great little gadget for family's to keep food fresh for longer and it does exactly what it says, I do wish that it came with a few more containers as buying new ones are quite expensive and I also wish there was an option to freeze your vacuum sealed food as I would use that more. Overall though its a good product, works well on fruit.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
kgmgim

kgmgim

  • 11 reviews

Nifty food vacuum device

published

Very happy with the food saver and highly recommend it. The unit has a small foot print. As well as prolonging the life of foods, it increases the amount of space in both fridge and freezer. The plastic bags are reusable and the unit can be also be used with the sunbeam containers. Only criticism, is there should be different sized bags and the cost of the containers. I would love to exclusively use these containers in both our fridge and freezer, however it would be too costly.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Food Sealers

Find out how Sunbeam FoodSaver VS1300 compares to other Food Sealers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Janine

Janinemelbourne

  • 57 reviews

Great to avoid wastage

published

This is my new favourite kitchen appliance.
Fresh homemade bread was going mouldy within 2 days due to the humidity at the moment and it goes stale more quickly if put in the fridge (scientific fact apparently) so started putting in the 10 cup capacity foodsaver, definitely get an extra couple of days.
Have found with avocados they stay fresher for longer in the bags over the containers, but still impressive either way.
It has a small footprint too, I just leave mine on the bench.
Fantastic way to reduce the amount that gets thrown away due to spoiling

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Janine
Janine
Jet S.

Jet S.Sydney

Best kitchen gadget I've bought all year!

published

Fresher for longer! Not only is it small and easy to store in a cupboard or drawer it is incredibly effective! Every week despite how hard I try bag loads of spoiled fruit and vegetables and containers of leftovers end up in the bin. With the Food Saver I can keep prepared meals in the fridge for twice as long as I once would have. Both my food wastage and grocery bill has significantly reduced thanks to the Food Saver. The glass containers make selecting a meal from the fridge easy and are a huge time-saver.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Natasha

Natasha

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Say goodbye to soggy berries!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Reduced wastage + fresh food!

published

I have found the Foodsaver to be a game changer in terms of reducing my food wastage. Too often previously I would have crackers go stale, veggies go limp or cheese dry out after doing a big shop and then not getting through everything quickly enough. Now, my big shops actually last twice as long!

I’ve loved it using for avocados, cheese leftovers and pre-chopped veggie crudités. It was suprisingly easy to use, and quite compact as well.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Kassia

KassiaSydney

Reducing waste and keeping food fresh

published

The Sunbeam FoodSaver VS1300 is a great way to keep food fresher for longer. I have loved using it for avocados, fruit and cheese - foods that go off if not consumed quickly. It's easy to use and if you have the bench space you can leave it out so it's accessible. I have also loved that I am reducing my waste as I am not using the cling wrap to store food. The containers are great and even the vacuum zipper bags are reusable.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Angie T

Angie Tsydney

Keeping it Fresh

published

Loving my foodsaver. I'm not longer wasting money and I'm able to keep food which I would usually have to throw away. Love how it keeps my avocados green. Meat, fish and poultry fresh. Herbs green, cheese doesn't go mouldy. Keeps my crackers crunchy. It's nice and compact so doesn't waste much bench space. It suctions super quick and is so easy to use.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Food Sealers

Find out how Sunbeam FoodSaver VS1300 compares to other Food Sealers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lisanow

lisanow

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Saves food, money and my environmental fooprint

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Super quick and easy to use :)

published

It takes 10 seconds to vacuum seal your food and is just as big as a kettle, so it now permanently stays on the my kitchen bench. Definitely the best way to save your everyday food from going off! Perfect for my family of 5 that can waste a lot of food, particularly fruit and vegetables.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Works great if prepared to take extra time

published

Using the food saver for vegetables has been great especially avocados.
It has worked to keep them fresh longer however I will admit often times I have not been bothered to pull the machine out as I live in a small apartment so it needs to be put away.
Would be great for people with the time!

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Sunday Prep

published

I've had this for a few weeks now. It's Sunday and just made our work lunches for the week using the containers, and made up all the kids school snacks using the zipper bags. The vacuum seal keeps the food fresh through the week and I save time so my busy week mornings are so much calmer

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Questions & Answers

Kangaroo J.

Kangaroo J.asked

Hello Can the containers go in the freezer?

You mentioned the heat seal bags can be washed and reused , just making sure I understood this correctly.

1 answer
JayKay
JayKay

Yes, there is a “snowflake” symbol on the bottom of the vac container, indicating that it can be put in the freezer. It can also go in the microwave. There are two types of bagging you can do - one is heat seal, as you have mentioned. Re-use is not recommended for meat and sometimes it’s hard to get the odour out of the bag if you put something like fish in it. The other type of bag is for the upright VS1300 machine which has a double ziplock at the top and a flat valve that the machine goes on top of and sucks out the air. It means you can unzip, take out something and re-vac the bag. These are also suitable for the freezer. Good luck getting the container to maintain the seal, though. Only one of mine worked. Sunbeam didn’t explain why the other three didn’t hold the seal. They were just happy that I could return them *sigh*. Not really backing-up their product.

Lizzy

Lizzyasked

Can you get replacement parts in particular the vacum port? Great product but can't get rid of the smell of fish from the port.

2 answers
Mortishia
Mortishia

Honestly, not certain. Have you inquired with Sunbeam? Another tip, vinegar and bicarbonate mixed together, let soak overnight. I use vinegar when raw egg products are on any of my kitchenware. Will try and look further into your request and hopefully get back to you.

Lizzy
Lizzy

Thank you will try the vinegar and bicarb.

Ann

Annasked

Some of the containers we have about 10 use all the time very good product, only hold the seal for about 2 hours

3 answers
Ann
Ann

How can I answer my own question

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Ann,
Glad to hear you are loving the containers As for the seal, the containers might have not been closed completely before they were vacuumed.
Please press firmly at each corner of the container then vacuum the air out.

Please also check the green rubber seal, to see that it is sitting evenly and correctly. If it has lifted, or is bent just a little that space is enough to let in air. Also if you can please check that there are no crumbs or food debris on the Container Lid, rubber seal or Vacuum Valve, as these will also cause a little space that will let in air and prevent air an even seal.

Ann
Ann

Thank you

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.