??!
9 photos
Sunbeam London Collection TA2220 / TA2240

Sunbeam London Collection TA2220 / TA2240

TA2220B (Blue), TA2240CP (Champagne), TA2220BZ (Rose Bronze), etc...
1.7 from 18 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.7

18 reviews
5
(0)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(8)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    2.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (9)
  • Even Toasting Yes (1) · No (8)
Previous
Next
tankerton

tankertonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Did toast one side Doesn't toast at all now

published

We have a Sunbeam Toaster TA2220B which was very poor toasting from New & now a few year's old doesn't toast or if we're lucky one side.
Have to insert the bread 3 or 4 times to see slightly toasted bread.

Purchased in July 2017 at RetraVision for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
LJM

LJMSouth East Queensland, QLD

It only has one function - to toast - but it doesn't!

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Myer Online Store for A$69.00.

Even Toasting No
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

hello LJM,
I'm sorry to hear about your toaster problems, could I ask for an update about the recent replacement?
Has the unit been replaced?

LJM
LJM

Hi. No, now that the holidays are over it's on my new year to do list!

Seeing Red

Seeing Red

  • 2 reviews

Only toasts on one side of the bread

published

I purchased this toaster a few weeks ago and just unpacked it on the weekend. Looks great but it only toasts on one side of the bread. Have tried various settings and all 4 slots but looks like it is going back for a refund!

Purchased in November 2019 at Harris Scarfe Physical Stores for A$60.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Seeing Red,
Sorry about that, I'm sure that would be very inconvenient but that toaster sounds like it is a faulty unit so please return it to the retailer for a replacement.

Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam London Collection TA2220 / TA2240 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lorraine

LorraineSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Dont buy this toaster

published

First one didn't toast evenly, refunded by Myer. Second toaster, cancel button stuck handle not working to push toast down. Now I can't find a matching toaster to the kettle

Purchased in June 2019 at Target Australia for A$59.00.

Even Toasting No
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hi Lorraine,
Sorry to hear about your toaster troubles, Please return to retailer and ask for a replacement toaster of equal value.
Sorry for any inconvenience your have experienced.

Jessica

JessicaSydney, NSW

TERRIBLE TOASTER !!

published

I bought this toaster and have had it replaced twice - it does not toast the bread evenly on both sides. After the second replacement I asked sunbeam to send a different model but they did not have any in stock to match an already purchased black kettle. Third replacement had the same issue. I now need to go back to the retailed where I purchased for a refund and find another toaster to match a kettle! Not happy Sunbeam!

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$45.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Jessica,
Sorry to hear about toaster troubles. Please send me a direct message with the kettle model number - I'm sure there will be a toaster to match from our new range.

Toni B

Toni BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Looks great but only toasts one slot.

published

Right out of the box I loved the look, however one of the 2 slots only toasts the edge of the bread, the middle elements don't heat up enough to toast the centre of the bread. Have to toast on slice at a time on the "better" side and rotate it halfway through, to get a toast on both sides. Very disappointing. The matching kettle is great though.

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for A$44.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Toni B,
Sometimes a product can fall through the cracks. Please return to store for a replacement.

Gedi T.

Gedi T.Central Queensland, QLD

Devastated!

published

Devastated! Bought this gorgeous set 4 slice toaster & matching kettle in champagne. 4 slice toaster has only lasted 3 months, left side works but as soon as you push the plunger down to use right side it trips the safety switch of the house!

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer for A$74.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Gedi T,
Sorry to hear. Please return to store for a replacement.

Looks great. Toasts poorly.

published

How disappointing that this expensive toaster only really toasts on one side of each slice of bread. I bought it a year ago to match the kettle (which works perfectly) and I would have thought for $130 it would well truly outperform a cheaper brand (K-mart for example). Lesson learned - stick with the inexpensive brands, they make them look pretty too these days. Sunbeam appears to have dropped the ball on this one.

Purchased in July 2018 at Appliances Online for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting No
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Kim,
Sorry to hear you were not happy...

Seafordresident

SeafordresidentGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cancel button stuck after 2 weeks now won’t work

published

Worked fine for 2 weeks and today I went to cancel the toast as my eggs were not ready yet and the cancel button is stuck on and toaster won’t turn off unless I un plug from wall.

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Seafordresident,
So sorry to hear of this. Please email a copy of your purchase receipt to customercare@sunbeam.com.au along with your contact details and we will arrange to replace the toaster for you. Kind regards Sunbeam.

Seafordresident
Seafordresident

Thank you will do!

Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam London Collection TA2220 / TA2240 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

SamSydney, NSW

So disappointed

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Myer for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sam,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. So sorry to hear of this. Your feedback is duly noted and I can assure you it will be passed on to our product manager. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Sylvia

SylviaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

My $12 Woolworths toaster lasted longer!

published

Worked well for 14 months and then it just died. It toasted well and bread did not burn or get stuck so I expected it to last longer for the price. I had a Woolworths $12 toaster in the past which lasted a lot longer! Not worth the money. It looked pretty though :(

Purchased in January 2018 at Myer.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sylvia,
So sorry to hear this. Please call us on 1300 881 861 with your purchased receipt and details. Kind Regards, Sunbeam

Sylvia
Sylvia

Hi, I cannot find the receipt, but I still have the box if that helps.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sylvia,
You won't need the box. Give the team a call to see if they can assist...

Garry

GarryHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

WEll It Does Toast one siee Perfectly

published

It's interesting. I was watching a 1991 Movie and they had poor quality toast. So did I back then but with 27 years to improve toasters I am convinced it will never happen. I have had a t least a dozen toasters since then and none of them survived nor did they ever produce a consistent result. This one doesn't either in spite of the high, much higher cost. I would go back to a $30 toaster from Coles but my wife likes the colour. It does look good. Yes I know bread is variable but I just think both sides should toast the same. Am I wrong to expect this simple result?

Date PurchasedAug 2018
perth tez

perth tezPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Stylish but very disappointing

published

Lovely looking toaster, but not a good performer. Didn't toast evenly and levers were always reluctant to stay down in toasting position. After one side stopped working and then a burnt electrical smell, we threw it away. It cost $126.65 to purchase and only lasted 18 months.
Of course the warranty period is 12 months.
Purchased in September 2016 and replaced in March 2018.
Wouldn't recommend. Found a Russell Hobbs toaster with a 2 year warranty.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Wayne B

Wayne BTowsnville

Third toaster

published

Well this is the third toaster we have now after replacing the other two under warranty. We have cafe series coffee machine and grinder but had to replace the cafe series kettle because it leaked so we bit the bullet and bought a new toaster and kettle. Thumbs up so far for the kettle but three toasters later....what gives. It cooks on one side of the toast golden brown and the other is not even blushing. I filmed it to prove it. I will say the guys at the Good Guys replaced the second one we had with the current third one no questions asked. At least this side of the problem is working perfectly.

Yes. one of the slots doesn't cook on one side. I shall call it......... """""""SUNBEAMS NEW 3.5 SLOT TOASTER"""""....

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Boni

BoniTownsville

Very disappointed

published

I have had the sunbeam London collection 4 slice toaster for 4 days and it toasts on on one side of the bread. This is the reason why I replaced my previous toaster. The day after I bought the toaster, I bought the kettle to match it. I will be returning the toaster but now I'll have mismatched appliances. Very disappointed with the toaster. Seriously, the amount of money you pay for a 4 slice premium looking toaster and only to fail you.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam London Collection TA2220 / TA2240 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Only toasts one side

published

Just got our new toaster as the old one had started only toasting one side of the bread (12 years of service mind you). Got our new flash shiny one and it's doing the same thing. Is it really that hard to make a toaster that makes toast the same as in photo on box? Grrrrrrr

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Genghis7777

Genghis7777Christchurch

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Looks good, 1 out of 4 slots only cooks one side

published

Replaced 4-slice Breville toaster whose RHS stopped staying down and sparked when electricity came on. This toaster looks good. Has LED-lit buttons for cancel, defrost and reheat. Crumb tray is easily accessible. Toasts OK in 3 slots but one slot toasts one side leaving other side uncooked. Looks aren't everything.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Technician00

Technician00brissie

  • 15 reviews
  • 21 likes

A Toaster that works

published

Well it work It does what a toaster suppose to do.
The toast the same every time .
The setting are good all electronic control very stable.
But get the extended warranty . for peace of mind.
Unit looks the part take up a bit of room on the bench.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Questions & Answers

Alicia B.

Alicia B.asked

London Collection TA2240CP (Champagne)

I've had my toaster for 13months and the lever has just stopped working? Is this normal? Would've expected a brand new toaster to work longer than a year...

No answers
Kath

Kathasked

London Collection TA2240W (White)

I bought our toaster last year for our new house which we moved into last month. One side won't stay down...we need to push the leaver down 4 to 5 times to toast the bread on the left side. Is there some way to fix it because currently it is not fit for purpose. Thanks

4 answers
Garry
Garry

It’s clearky faulty and you should simply return it for a replacement.

Wayne B
Wayne B

If the product is not performing to the way it has been designed and the place you bought it from will not take the return, I suggest you familiarise yourself with ACCC website all about car Maurer law. Check out the link. This is a direct quote from then.
If you buy something that isn't right, you have consumer rights.

https://www.accc.gov.au/consumers/consumer-rights-guarantees/consumer-guarantees

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Kath, please call our customer care team on 1300 881 861 and they would be happy to further assist you.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.