??!
8 photos
Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440
2.4 from 54 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.4

54 reviews
5
(9)
4
(5)
3
(7)
2
(9)
1
(24)
  • Build Quality
    2.2 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (7)
  • Even Toasting Yes (5) · No (4)
Previous
Next
DRUGGIST

DRUGGISTSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Uneven toasting

published

I have recently bought this toaster to replace an older Sunbeam. Very uneven toasting from it, burns toast on 2nd setting of 6. Turned crumpets into hockey pucks on lowest setting.
Bing Lee replaced twice in 2 weeks. I have taken refund.
Breville here I come, disappointed in the quality from what was once an iconic brand.

Purchased in October 2020 at Bing Lee for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
BevG

BevGSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I’M BACK!

published

We smugly thought we’d struck it lucky but just shy of three months of it working absolutely perfectly it produced a flash when turned on and kicked in the circuit breaker and died. It is being replaced under warranty - we weren’t able to choose another Brand. It is disappointing to look back on the fabulous quality of Sunbeam over the years to what they put their name on now.

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Bev Gregory

Bev GregoryQueensland

  • 2 reviews

I think we got Lucky!

published

Purchased on 14th April 2020. We went without a toaster for quite some time as all the reviews online for almost all brands, even expensive ones, were poor so I gave it away. My husband did some research and ordered this Sunbeam and so far, we are very happy. It toasts perfectly, we love the electronic settings and the matt stainless finish. We mainly toast thin sliced bread; grain, wholemeal, white and fruit loaf. Watch this space!

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nat

NatGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Faulty from the get go

published

Two sides of the toaster elements wouldn’t heat up resulting in toast cooked unevenly. Countdown timer is an excellent function. We purchased the Breville toaster a bit more instead and very happy with it.

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers
Annabel

AnnabelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Started out well, then .....

published

It was really good for a while. Then I used the crumpet setting. Ever since, it has only toasted properly on one side of the bread and the other side is very pale. I have to turn bread around and toast the other side. I do like the ability to change timer easily. It is out of warranty so am looking for a better toaster now. Will try Breville.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
See all answers
JAYB

JAYB

  • 2 reviews

First one lasted a couple of years; second one lasted 14 months; third one lasted less than two months

published

The features of this toaster are what brought us back each time. We got a decent life out of the first one, but the second one didn't last well. We were very disappointed that the third one failed within two months; David Jones happily provided a refund (and they were shocked at how quickly the toaster died). We decided to bite the bullet and we have bought a quality, reparable UK brand.

Purchased in February 2020 at David Jones for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
Culum B.

Culum B.Sydney, NSW

Elements blown

published

The toaster is great when it works. The settings are great, especially the crumpet setting. BUT we had ours less than 12 months and the element blew. We are not the only ones.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Culum B.
So sorry to hear about this, however all Sunbeam appliances come with a minimum 12 month replacement warranty. Please return the unit to your retailer for a replacement.

Culum B.
Culum B.

Thanks for that. But it was a house-warming present, so we dont have a reciept.

Love it but it does not last

published

We love this toaster but it does not lasts. The elements keep failing. We have had 5 in 2 years. We love the timer! It makes coordinating the cooking times of breakfast items a dream. Just wish it would last.

Purchased in June 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
eagle north coast

eagle north coastMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Keeps dying, wont start in cold weather when you turn it on, now it blows the circuit breaker. It’s dead after 5mths.

published

Less than three months old. Last seven days it hasn’t turned on twice when the power has been turned on. Leave it for four hrs plus and it beeps then comes on. Worst toaster ever. Overpriced piece of crap.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingYes
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi eagle north coast,
Sorry to hear this. Please call us on 1300 881 861 so we can offer assistance...

Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Hate it

published

The springs inside the toast slot are too weak, and the toast jams against the casing every time in pops up. The high lift function is not high enough so once I've unjammed the toast, it's still very hard to get the toast out. To be fair I use sourdough loaf. It might be fine if you use the standard square loaf of supermarket bread.

Purchased in September 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Even ToastingNo
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mark,
Thank you for your review. It does depend on the thickness and size of the bread you are using. Sourdough bread does tend to not toast evenly in most toasters. We will certainly pass your feedback on to our design and technology team.

Glenn A

Glenn AMorphett Vale, SA, 5162

Died in 2 years

published

Performed well, especially with crumpets and elongated bread. Bought 2 years ago as always had Sunbeam toasters. Took a while to figure out time changes for subsequent toast once the elements had warmed up. Perfect 99% of the use.
Sadly same problem as AdamMadd in August 2018 with it dying. The lights are on but no heat.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
AdamMadd

AdamMaddGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 24 likes

Waa good while it worked

published

Bought this 2 yrs ago because it was supposed to be a good quality toaster. And while it worked, it was. But it doesn't last too long. (our previous kambrook lasted 7 years)

Good points:
Good price range for a crumpet toaster
Digital display showing how much time left.
Issues:
Digital toast settings - if you wanted a setting between 1 and 2, it wasn't easily possible.
Died less than 2yrs after buying it with sparks, a small Puff of electrical smoke, and a safety switch tripping.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
4 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi AdamMadd. Sorry to hear of the issues you had with your Sunbeam toaster. Please give our customer care team a call on 1300 881 861 and we would be happy to further assist you.

AdamMadd
AdamMadd

Tried that and that was a waste of my time. They were not able to assist me at all as you said they would. They told me because it only comes with a 12 months warranty, there's nothing they can do.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Adam, Please send a private message with your number and we will contact you directly.

Luigi C

Luigi CPerth

  • 4 reviews

Excellent inexpensive toaster

published

This 4 slice toaster is one of the few models around now that still does crumpet setting.
It cooks the perfectly (without burning the bases).
The functions are simple to use and work like you would expect (easy to learn and use).
The count down timer is handy.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Luigi C, what to say? We love to hear a customer loving their product, thank you so much!!!!!

Poor design

published

With a closed roasting compartment bottom decorated by a 4 mm slit . It became a crumb trap on the 2 ledges with only small crumb particles falling into the shallow so called tray. There is no way to keep clean. What a designer team? Sunbeam should offer free cleanup for these toaster!!

Date PurchasedApr 2016
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
JOHN
JOHN
JOHN
JOHN

Question is what Sunbeam is doing about the problem. Other makers are doing a straight through design so that crumbs fall straight into the tray which should be a little deeper so that larger particles could be collected.

Kevin

KevinCrows Nest, Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This toaster must be defective

published

Have used it now since receiving it from Appliances Online recently a few times and while using the crumpet feature notice the elements were not bright.The time to partly cook the crumpet was around 8 minutes.I took the crumpet feature off and immediately the elements brightened to what would be normal and is what they are when toasting bread.
Yet the book says when the crumpet feature is activated extra power is sent to the elements for the top part of the crumpet.
Very, very disappointed.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
3 comments
Kevin
Kevin

Well done Sunbeam Technical support crew, the toaster has been replaced and all is now well !!!!!!!!

Kevin
Kevin

However a week later the crumpet setting has failed ! Chinese production is failing Sunbeam and the quality of an old Company is now compromised.

Kevin
Kevin

Has now reached the end of its productive life, takes toast to cook twice over on the max setting !! Into the bin, never buy Sunbeam again which is sad as they once were a proud top product but ruined by Chinese bad production methods.

Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Electrical safety hazard

published

Toaster worked well for two weeks, then it continually tripped the circuit breaker. Tried it in other power circuits with same results. If it trips a circuit breaker, that means there is an electrical short which has a potential for electrocution and/or fire. This is a dangerous product as we noticed there are other reports of electrical safety issues. Additionally it is not possible to make fine timing adjustments which one would expect with a digital counter.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 56 likes

Great toaster, smart (sort of) and has quite a few nice functions with digital timer

published

It is a nice toaster that I bought, quite pricey, but I wanted something that is going to last and function well. This sunbeam maestro seemed (so far 2.5 years) alright, and functioned pretty well, I particularly liked the digital timer thing which remembers your setting, though you have to keep it plugged in.

For a price of $79 at Harvey Norman, it was OK, since it was one of the best in that price range, and I hope it is going to last a bit longer.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Lynne B

Lynne BBendigo

Great when it works!

published

First toaster lasted three months before it flashed, sparked and tripped the safety switch. Would then only toast, very feebly, on one side. Took it back to The Good Guys and foolishly exchanged it for another one. After all, when it worked it was great for long pieces of bread. We’ve had the replacement for a week or so and it just tripped the safety switch. Still works but it’s just a matter of time until it dies too. Sunbeam used to be a reliable brand - those days are long gone.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Carlie

CarlieMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

looks good but overcooks

published

Using setting 3 (of 5) burned the toast to black- so I'm not quite sure who would ever use 5.
Setting 1 and 2 get used only in our household.
The crumpet button is good as it cooks the crumpet longer on the top than bottom- however setting 1 was sufficient.
The countdown feature is useful for cooking a big breakfast and the longer slots for large slices of bread is also great.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Pink

PinkAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Toaster Great Price Too

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Kevin M.

Kevin M.asked

Maestro TA6240 / TA6440

The Removable crumb tray doesn't close fully is this normal or should it latch fully inserted?

3 answers
JAYB
JAYB

It should slide in all the way. Are some crumbs stopping it from sliding in?

Kevin M.
Kevin M.

its brand new unused the tray sticks out 3mm push it in and it pops out again

Annabel
Annabel

Take it back. It should click in. You push it in and it pops out to release. Gently push in again and it should click in.

Darwin Dan

Darwin Danasked

Maestro TA6440

After 3 years of great toasting, the LCD screen is dying and the display is really weak. Can this be fixed or will it be cheaper to replace the toaster? I was expecting 10 years from this machine.

2 answers

Hi there, sorry I have no idea. Maybe you could phone Sunbeam or a local fixit company. Mine burns the crust and leaved the middle pale. So not happy now either. Think these days to get 3 years is pretty good. If you can wait till the January sales you'd get a really good price. Shop around. Hope this helps. cheers Dianne.

Wizard_aus
Wizard_aus

Sorry can't actually help you on that one. Best thing to do is contact manufacturer or a reputable service centre. Considering the throw away society we are I'm guessing a new one... good luck

lwbls1

lwbls1asked

Maestro TA6440

Purchased a TA6440 this weekend, after my old toaster died after 7 years of faithful service. The timing settings on this toaster are crazy!!! We are regular crumpet eaters and on the lowest setting 1, the time defaults to 4.00 minutes, this is way too long for crumpets. There is no way you can leave this unattended to cook and it would be downright dangerous to let children use this product.
Why on earth would you need a setting of 6 which equates to nearly 7 minutes on the crumpet setting - its a house fire waiting to happen??

2 answers
Lisa
Lisa

Strange my crumpet setting is timed lime the:
1 = 1min 45 sec
2 = 2 min 05 sec
3 = 2 min 25 sec..... up to 6 = 3 min 20 sec. This is for the 2 slice version. Maybe yours is potentially faulty/calibrayed wrongly at the factory.

Annette
Annette

Just went to check and mine also says 6 minutes 40 seconds on crumpet setting for 6 - I have never checked that out! It is crazy!!! Would never use it that's for sure - also find the 4 minutes on the minimum time setting a bit crazy - why doesn't it start at 2 minutes and go up to 4 max???

You will notice too that once you have used the toaster, the time settings vary according to how hot the elements are, so 1 drops back as far as about 53 seconds on the second lot of toast.

The theory of this toaster is excellent, it is just that the actual functions are crap!!!

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440
CategoryToastersToastersToastersToasters
Price (RRP) A$99.95A$109.00A$99.95A$109.00
FeaturesDefrost Button and High Lift LeverDefrost Button and High Lift LeverDefrost Button and High Lift LeverDefrost Button and High Lift Lever
Number of Slices 2424
Construction MaterialStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Dimensions 244 x 248 x 356 mm247 x 244 x 479 mm244 x 248 x 356 mm247 x 244 x 479 mm
Weight2.43 kg3.2 kg2.43 kg3.2 kg
Power1,050 W1,800 W1,050 W1,800 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateJun 2013Jun 2013
Compare all 4 Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.