??!
4 photos
Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440

Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440

TA6240 and TA6440
2.5 from 46 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
7
2 star
7
1 star
19

eagle north coast

eagle north coastMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Keeps dying, wont start in cold weather when you turn it on, now it blows the circuit breaker. It’s dead after 5mths.

published

Less than three months old. Last seven days it hasn’t turned on twice when the power has been turned on. Leave it for four hrs plus and it beeps then comes on. Worst toaster ever. Overpriced piece of crap.

Purchased in February 2019 for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi eagle north coast,
Sorry to hear this. Please call us on 1300 881 861 so we can offer assistance...


Mark

MarkSydney, NSW

Hate it

published

The springs inside the toast slot are too weak, and the toast jams against the casing every time in pops up. The high lift function is not high enough so once I've unjammed the toast, it's still very hard to get the toast out. To be fair I use sourdough loaf. It might be fine if you use the standard square loaf of supermarket bread.

Purchased in September 2018.

Even Toasting No
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mark,
Thank you for your review. It does depend on the thickness and size of the bread you are using. Sourdough bread does tend to not toast evenly in most toasters. We will certainly pass your feedback on to our design and technology team.

Glenn A

Glenn AMorphett Vale, SA, 5162

Died in 2 years

published

Performed well, especially with crumpets and elongated bread. Bought 2 years ago as always had Sunbeam toasters. Took a while to figure out time changes for subsequent toast once the elements had warmed up. Perfect 99% of the use.
Sadly same problem as AdamMadd in August 2018 with it dying. The lights are on but no heat.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
AdamMadd

AdamMaddGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 24 likes

Waa good while it worked

published

Bought this 2 yrs ago because it was supposed to be a good quality toaster. And while it worked, it was. But it doesn't last too long. (our previous kambrook lasted 7 years)

Good points:
Good price range for a crumpet toaster
Digital display showing how much time left.
Issues:
Digital toast settings - if you wanted a setting between 1 and 2, it wasn't easily possible.
Died less than 2yrs after buying it with sparks, a small Puff of electrical smoke, and a safety switch tripping.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
4 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi AdamMadd. Sorry to hear of the issues you had with your Sunbeam toaster. Please give our customer care team a call on 1300 881 861 and we would be happy to further assist you.

AdamMadd
AdamMadd

Tried that and that was a waste of my time. They were not able to assist me at all as you said they would. They told me because it only comes with a 12 months warranty, there's nothing they can do.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Adam, Please send a private message with your number and we will contact you directly.


Luigi C

Luigi CPerth

  • 4 reviews

Excellent inexpensive toaster

published

This 4 slice toaster is one of the few models around now that still does crumpet setting.
It cooks the perfectly (without burning the bases).
The functions are simple to use and work like you would expect (easy to learn and use).
The count down timer is handy.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Luigi C, what to say? We love to hear a customer loving their product, thank you so much!!!!!


Poor design

published

With a closed roasting compartment bottom decorated by a 4 mm slit . It became a crumb trap on the 2 ledges with only small crumb particles falling into the shallow so called tray. There is no way to keep clean. What a designer team? Sunbeam should offer free cleanup for these toaster!!

Date PurchasedApr 2016
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
JOHN
JOHN
JOHN
JOHN

Question is what Sunbeam is doing about the problem. Other makers are doing a straight through design so that crumbs fall straight into the tray which should be a little deeper so that larger particles could be collected.


Kevin

KevinCrows Nest, Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This toaster must be defective

published

Have used it now since receiving it from Appliances Online recently a few times and while using the crumpet feature notice the elements were not bright.The time to partly cook the crumpet was around 8 minutes.I took the crumpet feature off and immediately the elements brightened to what would be normal and is what they are when toasting bread.
Yet the book says when the crumpet feature is activated extra power is sent to the elements for the top part of the crumpet.
Very, very disappointed.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
3 comments
Kevin
Kevin

Well done Sunbeam Technical support crew, the toaster has been replaced and all is now well !!!!!!!!

Kevin
Kevin

However a week later the crumpet setting has failed ! Chinese production is failing Sunbeam and the quality of an old Company is now compromised.

Kevin
Kevin

Has now reached the end of its productive life, takes toast to cook twice over on the max setting !! Into the bin, never buy Sunbeam again which is sad as they once were a proud top product but ruined by Chinese bad production methods.


Electrical safety hazard

published

Toaster worked well for two weeks, then it continually tripped the circuit breaker. Tried it in other power circuits with same results. If it trips a circuit breaker, that means there is an electrical short which has a potential for electrocution and/or fire. This is a dangerous product as we noticed there are other reports of electrical safety issues. Additionally it is not possible to make fine timing adjustments which one would expect with a digital counter.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 55 likes

Great toaster, smart (sort of) and has quite a few nice functions with digital timer

published

It is a nice toaster that I bought, quite pricey, but I wanted something that is going to last and function well. This sunbeam maestro seemed (so far 2.5 years) alright, and functioned pretty well, I particularly liked the digital timer thing which remembers your setting, though you have to keep it plugged in.

For a price of $79 at Harvey Norman, it was OK, since it was one of the best in that price range, and I hope it is going to last a bit longer.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Lynne B

Lynne BBendigo

Great when it works!

published

First toaster lasted three months before it flashed, sparked and tripped the safety switch. Would then only toast, very feebly, on one side. Took it back to The Good Guys and foolishly exchanged it for another one. After all, when it worked it was great for long pieces of bread. We’ve had the replacement for a week or so and it just tripped the safety switch. Still works but it’s just a matter of time until it dies too. Sunbeam used to be a reliable brand - those days are long gone.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Carlie

CarlieMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

looks good but overcooks

published

Using setting 3 (of 5) burned the toast to black- so I'm not quite sure who would ever use 5.
Setting 1 and 2 get used only in our household.
The crumpet button is good as it cooks the crumpet longer on the top than bottom- however setting 1 was sufficient.
The countdown feature is useful for cooking a big breakfast and the longer slots for large slices of bread is also great.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Pink

PinkAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Toaster Great Price Too

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

HappyMamaBear

HappyMamaBearGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Caused a major electrical fire

published

Had this toaster for two years. Last night, about two minutes after my husband made toast, this toaster caught on fire, and a terrifying electrical fire ensued which filled much of the house with smoke and required evacuation and an emergency attendance by firefighting crew. Burns to our pantry, hardwood floors and outdoor decking occurred, and my husband received a burn to the hand.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

alexandraK

alexandraKMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Ah! Toast on Time

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Stu G.

Stu G.Canberra

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great if you only want to toast one side.

published

Purchased this toaster only to find it faulty as it would only toast one side.
Replaced with another only to find the same fault after about 6 months.
When it was working correctly it did a pretty good job, nice count down timer.
Not sure I will get another Sunbeam.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
reviewguy22

reviewguy22Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

works great for the office so far

published

Bought this for the office and so far so it gets used every day. Its got a count down features tells you the time. Everything is electronic so you can set the time. Would of liked a button for 15 seconds more as some types of breads take longer to toast. I usually set it to option 2 for 2:15sec.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Was good until it stopped toasting both sides!

published

Loved this toaster as it could fit larger pieces of bread, had a great display giving you a countdown until your item was ready and a crumpet function. Then this weekend it broke and now only lightly toasts one side of the bread for some reason. We bought it a couple of years ago from DJs, can't remember what we paid, though I did expect it to last longer as we don't use it extensively!

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Wal

WalAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Toast ok. Crumpet setting doesn't work

published

Love the timer on the front. Toasts ok. Crumpet setting doesn't work - initially this crumpet setting will work but after about a minute it shuts down and resets. Only just bought the product. Very disappointed. Had the previous model which worked great. I suspect this particular item is faulty. Will seek a replacement through sunbeam.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Gary

Gary

  • 3 reviews

Great purchase

published

Got this on sale at Myer and just loving the digital timer on the front....no longer am I at the mercy of the toaster, I can know exactly when it's going to be ready. Haven't burnt anything in this, works well on all settings. Having taken back three Breville toasters, this was such a relief.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Wizard_aus

Wizard_ausSouth Australia, 5162

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Does what its meant to do - TOAST

published

Even though it has a digital cook display it is easy to use.
Cooks toast evenly and not over cooked.
Crumpets are perfect.
A little more expensive than I would normally pay, but that seems to be the way with toasters these days.
Was recommended by a friend and word of mouth is how they sell products these days.
Highly recommended product

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Darwin Dan

Darwin Danasked

Maestro TA6440

After 3 years of great toasting, the LCD screen is dying and the display is really weak. Can this be fixed or will it be cheaper to replace the toaster? I was expecting 10 years from this machine.

2 answers

Hi there, sorry I have no idea. Maybe you could phone Sunbeam or a local fixit company. Mine burns the crust and leaved the middle pale. So not happy now either. Think these days to get 3 years is pretty good. If you can wait till the January sales you'd get a really good price. Shop around. Hope this helps. cheers Dianne.

Wizard_aus
Wizard_aus

Sorry can't actually help you on that one. Best thing to do is contact manufacturer or a reputable service centre. Considering the throw away society we are I'm guessing a new one... good luck


lwbls1

lwbls1asked

Maestro TA6440

Purchased a TA6440 this weekend, after my old toaster died after 7 years of faithful service. The timing settings on this toaster are crazy!!! We are regular crumpet eaters and on the lowest setting 1, the time defaults to 4.00 minutes, this is way too long for crumpets. There is no way you can leave this unattended to cook and it would be downright dangerous to let children use this product.
Why on earth would you need a setting of 6 which equates to nearly 7 minutes on the crumpet setting - its a house fire waiting to happen??

2 answers
Lisa
Lisa

Strange my crumpet setting is timed lime the:
1 = 1min 45 sec
2 = 2 min 05 sec
3 = 2 min 25 sec..... up to 6 = 3 min 20 sec. This is for the 2 slice version. Maybe yours is potentially faulty/calibrayed wrongly at the factory.

Annette
Annette

Just went to check and mine also says 6 minutes 40 seconds on crumpet setting for 6 - I have never checked that out! It is crazy!!! Would never use it that's for sure - also find the 4 minutes on the minimum time setting a bit crazy - why doesn't it start at 2 minutes and go up to 4 max???

You will notice too that once you have used the toaster, the time settings vary according to how hot the elements are, so 1 drops back as far as about 53 seconds on the second lot of toast.

The theory of this toaster is excellent, it is just that the actual functions are crap!!!


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Sunbeam Maestro TA6240

Sunbeam Maestro TA6240

2.5
(20)
Sunbeam Maestro TA6440

Sunbeam Maestro TA6440

2.6
(25)
CategoryToastersToasters
Price (RRP) $89.95$109
Type2 Slice4 Slice
Release dateJun 2013Jun 2013

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.