8 photos
Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440
Listing monitored by Sunbeam

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (10)
  • Even Toasting Yes (5) · No (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Nicko
NickoSydney, NSW

Once great but now annoying

published

Purchased Nov 2020 & we loved it, especially the countdown timer.
Then we found that unless you are using large slices, the bread gets caught on the lip, eventually bending the lifting arm to the point it's very hard to get the bread out without burning your fingers.
Now it's developed another fault where we are finding the toast is much darker on one of the 4 sides, so we avoid using that slot.
Its a pity because if it worked properly, I would be happy to pay double what I initially paid; instead here I am spending time to warn others & giving it a lousy rating.

Purchased in November 2020 at David Jones for $99.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
BevG
BevGSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

It Still Works!

published

Our replacement arrived in August 2020 and yes, it is still operating. It randomly changes toasting time on the default No. 2 setting and no longer toasts crumpets very well but it kept up to the challenge of all the family here for six weeks over the Christmas holidays. Would I buy another? No.

Purchased in August 2020 at Appliances Online for $99.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5

Other Toasters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jewels B.
Jewels B.Far North Queensland, QLD

Was an Excellent Toaster

published

Had this toaster for 7 years, it still works, however now has gremlins and constantly beeps at us as well as change settings randomly (to defrost or decreases the time) I will be purchasing another as I think 7 years is an amazing lifespan for a toaster

Purchased in October 2013 at Myer for $99.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Jewels,
Thank you for the great review, we're happy to hear that you're loving the durability of our TA6440.
Enjoy,
Sunbeam Customer Care

DRUGGIST
DRUGGISTSydney, NSW
  • 22 reviews
  • 12 likes

Uneven toasting

published

I have recently bought this toaster to replace an older Sunbeam. Very uneven toasting from it, burns toast on 2nd setting of 6. Turned crumpets into hockey pucks on lowest setting.
Bing Lee replaced twice in 2 weeks. I have taken refund.
Breville here I come, disappointed in the quality from what was once an iconic brand.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020 at Bing Lee for $99.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BevG
BevGSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

I’M BACK!

published

We smugly thought we’d struck it lucky but just shy of three months of it working absolutely perfectly it produced a flash when turned on and kicked in the circuit breaker and died. It is being replaced under warranty - we weren’t able to choose another Brand. It is disappointing to look back on the fabulous quality of Sunbeam over the years to what they put their name on now.

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for $99.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Bev Gregory
Bev GregoryQueensland
  • 2 reviews

I think we got Lucky!

published

Purchased on 14th April 2020. We went without a toaster for quite some time as all the reviews online for almost all brands, even expensive ones, were poor so I gave it away. My husband did some research and ordered this Sunbeam and so far, we are very happy. It toasts perfectly, we love the electronic settings and the matt stainless finish. We mainly toast thin sliced bread; grain, wholemeal, white and fruit loaf. Watch this space!

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for $99.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Nat
NatGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Faulty from the get go

published

Two sides of the toaster elements wouldn’t heat up resulting in toast cooked unevenly. Countdown timer is an excellent function. We purchased the Breville toaster a bit more instead and very happy with it.

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Annabel
AnnabelSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Started out well, then .....

published

It was really good for a while. Then I used the crumpet setting. Ever since, it has only toasted properly on one side of the bread and the other side is very pale. I have to turn bread around and toast the other side. I do like the ability to change timer easily. It is out of warranty so am looking for a better toaster now. Will try Breville.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $100.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5

Other Toasters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
JAYB
JAYB
  • 2 reviews

First one lasted a couple of years; second one lasted 14 months; third one lasted less than two months

published

The features of this toaster are what brought us back each time. We got a decent life out of the first one, but the second one didn't last well. We were very disappointed that the third one failed within two months; David Jones happily provided a refund (and they were shocked at how quickly the toaster died). We decided to bite the bullet and we have bought a quality, reparable UK brand.

Purchased in February 2020 at David Jones for $99.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Culum B.
Culum B.Sydney, NSW

Elements blown

published

The toaster is great when it works. The settings are great, especially the crumpet setting. BUT we had ours less than 12 months and the element blew. We are not the only ones.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Culum B.
So sorry to hear about this, however all Sunbeam appliances come with a minimum 12 month replacement warranty. Please return the unit to your retailer for a replacement.

Culum B.
Culum B.

Thanks for that. But it was a house-warming present, so we dont have a reciept.

Love it but it does not last

published

We love this toaster but it does not lasts. The elements keep failing. We have had 5 in 2 years. We love the timer! It makes coordinating the cooking times of breakfast items a dream. Just wish it would last.

Purchased in June 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $89.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Other Toasters

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
eagle north coast
eagle north coastMid North Coast, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Keeps dying, wont start in cold weather when you turn it on, now it blows the circuit breaker. It’s dead after 5mths.

published

Less than three months old. Last seven days it hasn’t turned on twice when the power has been turned on. Leave it for four hrs plus and it beeps then comes on. Worst toaster ever. Overpriced piece of crap.

Purchased in February 2019 for $80.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi eagle north coast,
Sorry to hear this. Please call us on 1300 881 861 so we can offer assistance...

Toasters

Find out how Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 compares to other Toasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark
MarkSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Hate it

published

The springs inside the toast slot are too weak, and the toast jams against the casing every time in pops up. The high lift function is not high enough so once I've unjammed the toast, it's still very hard to get the toast out. To be fair I use sourdough loaf. It might be fine if you use the standard square loaf of supermarket bread.

Purchased in September 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Even Toasting No
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Mark,
Thank you for your review. It does depend on the thickness and size of the bread you are using. Sourdough bread does tend to not toast evenly in most toasters. We will certainly pass your feedback on to our design and technology team.

Glenn A
Glenn AMorphett Vale, SA, 5162

Died in 2 years

published

Performed well, especially with crumpets and elongated bread. Bought 2 years ago as always had Sunbeam toasters. Took a while to figure out time changes for subsequent toast once the elements had warmed up. Perfect 99% of the use.
Sadly same problem as AdamMadd in August 2018 with it dying. The lights are on but no heat.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
AlexisMadd
AlexisMaddGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 24 likes

Waa good while it worked

published

Bought this 2 yrs ago because it was supposed to be a good quality toaster. And while it worked, it was. But it doesn't last too long. (our previous kambrook lasted 7 years)

Good points:
Good price range for a crumpet toaster
Digital display showing how much time left.
Issues:
Digital toast settings - if you wanted a setting between 1 and 2, it wasn't easily possible.
Died less than 2yrs after buying it with sparks, a small Puff of electrical smoke, and a safety switch tripping.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi AdamMadd. Sorry to hear of the issues you had with your Sunbeam toaster. Please give our customer care team a call on 1300 881 861 and we would be happy to further assist you.

AlexisMadd
AlexisMadd

Tried that and that was a waste of my time. They were not able to assist me at all as you said they would. They told me because it only comes with a 12 months warranty, there's nothing they can do.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Adam, Please send a private message with your number and we will contact you directly.

Questions & Answers

Di's
Di'sasked
Maestro TA6440

is there a way to permanently increase the default setting on 4 slice sunbeam maestro toaster - it reverts to setting number 2 every time it is unplugged

2 answers
BevG
BevG

Ours reverts to the default setting 2 as well. We have had our second one for over twelve months and it is still toasting well.

Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Di & BevG,
Unfortunately the Maestro doesn't keep the current setting when it's turned off at the wall - Comes back on setting "2" sorry for the inconvenience.
Thanks

Kevin M.
Kevin M.asked
Maestro TA6240 / TA6440

The Removable crumb tray doesn't close fully is this normal or should it latch fully inserted?

3 answers
JAYB
JAYB

It should slide in all the way. Are some crumbs stopping it from sliding in?

Kevin M.
Kevin M.

its brand new unused the tray sticks out 3mm push it in and it pops out again

Annabel
Annabel

Take it back. It should click in. You push it in and it pops out to release. Gently push in again and it should click in.

Darwin Dan
Darwin Danasked
Maestro TA6440

After 3 years of great toasting, the LCD screen is dying and the display is really weak. Can this be fixed or will it be cheaper to replace the toaster? I was expecting 10 years from this machine.

2 answers

Hi there, sorry I have no idea. Maybe you could phone Sunbeam or a local fixit company. Mine burns the crust and leaved the middle pale. So not happy now either. Think these days to get 3 years is pretty good. If you can wait till the January sales you'd get a really good price. Shop around. Hope this helps. cheers Dianne.

Wizard_aus
Wizard_aus

Sorry can't actually help you on that one. Best thing to do is contact manufacturer or a reputable service centre. Considering the throw away society we are I'm guessing a new one... good luck

See all Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440

Details

Compare all 4 Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440
CategoryToastersToastersToastersToasters
Price (RRP) $99.95$109.00$99.95$109.00
FeaturesDefrost Button and High Lift LeverDefrost Button and High Lift LeverDefrost Button and High Lift LeverDefrost Button and High Lift Lever
Number of Slices 2424
Dimensions 244 x 248 x 356 mm247 x 244 x 479 mm244 x 248 x 356 mm247 x 244 x 479 mm
Weight2.43 kg3.2 kg2.43 kg3.2 kg
Power1,050 W1,800 W1,050 W1,800 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Construction MaterialStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Release dateJune 2013June 2013
Compare all 4 Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.