??!
4 photos
Sunbeam Maestro TA6240

Sunbeam Maestro TA6240

MPN: SNB-TA6240
2.5 from 20 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
4
1 star
8

eagle north coast

eagle north coastMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Keeps dying, wont start in cold weather when you turn it on, now it blows the circuit breaker. It’s dead after 5mths.

published

Less than three months old. Last seven days it hasn’t turned on twice when the power has been turned on. Leave it for four hrs plus and it beeps then comes on. Worst toaster ever. Overpriced piece of crap.

Purchased in February 2019 for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi eagle north coast,
Sorry to hear this. Please call us on 1300 881 861 so we can offer assistance...


Kevin

KevinCrows Nest, Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

This toaster must be defective

published

Have used it now since receiving it from Appliances Online recently a few times and while using the crumpet feature notice the elements were not bright.The time to partly cook the crumpet was around 8 minutes.I took the crumpet feature off and immediately the elements brightened to what would be normal and is what they are when toasting bread.
Yet the book says when the crumpet feature is activated extra power is sent to the elements for the top part of the crumpet.
Very, very disappointed.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
3 comments
Kevin
Kevin

Well done Sunbeam Technical support crew, the toaster has been replaced and all is now well !!!!!!!!

Kevin
Kevin

However a week later the crumpet setting has failed ! Chinese production is failing Sunbeam and the quality of an old Company is now compromised.

Kevin
Kevin

Has now reached the end of its productive life, takes toast to cook twice over on the max setting !! Into the bin, never buy Sunbeam again which is sad as they once were a proud top product but ruined by Chinese bad production methods.

Electrical safety hazard

published

Toaster worked well for two weeks, then it continually tripped the circuit breaker. Tried it in other power circuits with same results. If it trips a circuit breaker, that means there is an electrical short which has a potential for electrocution and/or fire. This is a dangerous product as we noticed there are other reports of electrical safety issues. Additionally it is not possible to make fine timing adjustments which one would expect with a digital counter.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great toaster, smart (sort of) and has quite a few nice functions with digital timer

published

It is a nice toaster that I bought, quite pricey, but I wanted something that is going to last and function well. This sunbeam maestro seemed (so far 2.5 years) alright, and functioned pretty well, I particularly liked the digital timer thing which remembers your setting, though you have to keep it plugged in.

For a price of $79 at Harvey Norman, it was OK, since it was one of the best in that price range, and I hope it is going to last a bit longer.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Pink

PinkAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Toaster Great Price Too

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

HappyMamaBear

HappyMamaBearGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Caused a major electrical fire

published

Had this toaster for two years. Last night, about two minutes after my husband made toast, this toaster caught on fire, and a terrifying electrical fire ensued which filled much of the house with smoke and required evacuation and an emergency attendance by firefighting crew. Burns to our pantry, hardwood floors and outdoor decking occurred, and my husband received a burn to the hand.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

alexandraK

alexandraKMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Ah! Toast on Time

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Stu G.

Stu G.Canberra

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great if you only want to toast one side.

published

Purchased this toaster only to find it faulty as it would only toast one side.
Replaced with another only to find the same fault after about 6 months.
When it was working correctly it did a pretty good job, nice count down timer.
Not sure I will get another Sunbeam.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Gary

Gary

  • 3 reviews

Great purchase

published

Got this on sale at Myer and just loving the digital timer on the front....no longer am I at the mercy of the toaster, I can know exactly when it's going to be ready. Haven't burnt anything in this, works well on all settings. Having taken back three Breville toasters, this was such a relief.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Mimi

MimiBrisbane

Sunbeam you used to have a reputation to defend

published

I have had this model since January 2016. It never toasted perfectly, I had to keep turning the slices to get an even browning but now it has died. I bought this model because it had a crumpet setting, something I appreciate in a toaster, but had the same problem with having to turn the crumpet. Paid $104 for 14 months use - luckily I took out a care plan when I bought it so I will (hopefully) be reimbursed for this really bad purchase. IS THERE NO SUCH THING AS A RELIABLE TOASTER?

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Lin

LinMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do not waste your money

published

Terrible toaster, not cheap, a regrettable purchase. This toaster takes far too long to toast a slice of bread. Really Sunbeam 5 minutes to toast a piece of bread & even then it's not to my satisfaction!! Who has that amount of time to wait in the morning for their toast to be ready

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Daniel Y

Daniel YBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Broke after a year of light use

published

Used this toaster on the weekends; only once or twice a week and it broke after a bit over 12 months of use.

Didn't have any issues with the toaster up until this point.

Wasn't able to get it replaced under warranty because I lost the receipt and it was a few weeks out of warranty anyway; lesson learned, still disappointing given that I paid almost $100 for it and my $10 Kmart toaster from 4 years ago is still working.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

MaggieA

MaggieASydney, NSW

Blew up

published

This toaster literally blew up causing an electrical burning smell and spluttering sound while it was in standby, not even toasting. It was only about 2 years old. It was also poor at toasting evenly and did not defrost properly. We also suspected it was consuming power in standby mode.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
MaggieA
MaggieA

You are welcome. I purchased a Breville replacement.


IanH

IanHPerth

Scary

published

Had this toaster two or so years used around 4 times a week. One evening we were sitting watching tv and there was a noise like an arc welder from the kitchen for about three seconds. Went to check and the toaster display was off and there was a burning smell. The toaster has last been used about 12 hours earlier and was just sitting idle. The fuse did not trip which seems like this was a positive to neutral short which burned itself out. The type of fault that can cause a house fire. Given other reports of this model causing a fuse trips, it seems like there is a serious component flaw or design flaw. I won't be buying another.

Does the job

published

Bought my Sunbeam Maestro on line but after 7 months it blew up. Was told by Sunbeam to send it back to where I bought it from, which defeated the reason I bought it online. Explained this to Sunbeam who made arrangements for me to take it to one of their local agents.. I now have a brand new Maestro, Thank you Sunbeam.

Annette

Annette

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great except for the very uneven cooking!!!

published

Very, very disappointed as have to turn the toast in the middle of cooking or just overcooked one side and undercooked the other - seems to be on "crumpet" setting all the time. Other features good, but the cooking is so annoying I just want to chuck it! Bought the four slice one so more expensive. Choice magazine recommended it so even more annoyed that it can't cook a slice of toast evenly on both sides!

2 comments
Annette
Annette
Annette
Annette

Lisa54

Lisa54Sydney, NSW

  • 32 reviews

Pretty happy and good quality

published

It has some pretty good features like it shows you how long until the toast will pop up (has a countdown clock), and you can also lift the toast midcycle to see how its toasting without stopping the cycle. I looked at a good few toasters in stores and so many seemed cheap and nasty but this one is comparatively good quality. Can seem to burn some toast edges sometimes but usually gives good enough even browning.
Quality, countdown timer, lift mid cycle
Sometimes burns bread edges


Dave Walsh

Dave WalshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 19 likes

The elements are not evenly burning ...

published

I had a good toaster , but since starting to bake my own bread , i needed a longer slot to toast my bread .
I therefore trusted sunbeam and purchased this toaster. Very disappointed as it doesn't cook toast evenly at all. one side burns on the edge the other doesn't cook, all over uneven. understandably as the elements re not burning evenly.
Looks great with digital timer
doesn't do its job.


SambOz

SambOz

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Pretty Good Toaster

published
4 comments
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Hi SambOz, thank you for your feedback which will certainly be forwarded onto our Design & Technology teams.

ABC
ABC
SambOz
SambOz

Perhaps take it back ABC, when I hear a beeping noise I think its the smoke alarm and in our place that means meal time ..LOL


Dave

DaveBlue Mountains

  • 2 reviews

Great value for money

published

See all Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 but you can read 2 questions about Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.