??!
4 photos
Sunbeam Maestro TA6440

Sunbeam Maestro TA6440

MPN: SNB-TA6440
2.5 from 26 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
5
2 star
3
1 star
11

Love it but it does not last

published

We love this toaster but it does not lasts. The elements keep failing. We have had 5 in 2 years. We love the timer! It makes coordinating the cooking times of breakfast items a dream. Just wish it would last.

Purchased in June 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting Yes
See all answers

Glenn A

Glenn AMorphett Vale, SA, 5162

Died in 2 years

published

Performed well, especially with crumpets and elongated bread. Bought 2 years ago as always had Sunbeam toasters. Took a while to figure out time changes for subsequent toast once the elements had warmed up. Perfect 99% of the use.
Sadly same problem as AdamMadd in August 2018 with it dying. The lights are on but no heat.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
AdamMadd

AdamMaddGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 24 likes

Waa good while it worked

published

Bought this 2 yrs ago because it was supposed to be a good quality toaster. And while it worked, it was. But it doesn't last too long. (our previous kambrook lasted 7 years)

Good points:
Good price range for a crumpet toaster
Digital display showing how much time left.
Issues:
Digital toast settings - if you wanted a setting between 1 and 2, it wasn't easily possible.
Died less than 2yrs after buying it with sparks, a small Puff of electrical smoke, and a safety switch tripping.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
4 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi AdamMadd. Sorry to hear of the issues you had with your Sunbeam toaster. Please give our customer care team a call on 1300 881 861 and we would be happy to further assist you.

AdamMadd
AdamMadd

Tried that and that was a waste of my time. They were not able to assist me at all as you said they would. They told me because it only comes with a 12 months warranty, there's nothing they can do.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Adam, Please send a private message with your number and we will contact you directly.

Luigi C

Luigi CPerth

  • 4 reviews

Excellent inexpensive toaster

published

This 4 slice toaster is one of the few models around now that still does crumpet setting.
It cooks the perfectly (without burning the bases).
The functions are simple to use and work like you would expect (easy to learn and use).
The count down timer is handy.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Luigi C, what to say? We love to hear a customer loving their product, thank you so much!!!!!


Poor design

published

With a closed roasting compartment bottom decorated by a 4 mm slit . It became a crumb trap on the 2 ledges with only small crumb particles falling into the shallow so called tray. There is no way to keep clean. What a designer team? Sunbeam should offer free cleanup for these toaster!!

Date PurchasedApr 2016
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
JOHN
JOHN
JOHN
JOHN

Question is what Sunbeam is doing about the problem. Other makers are doing a straight through design so that crumbs fall straight into the tray which should be a little deeper so that larger particles could be collected.


Lynne B

Lynne BBendigo

  • Verified purchase

Great when it works!

published

First toaster lasted three months before it flashed, sparked and tripped the safety switch. Would then only toast, very feebly, on one side. Took it back to The Good Guys and foolishly exchanged it for another one. After all, when it worked it was great for long pieces of bread. We’ve had the replacement for a week or so and it just tripped the safety switch. Still works but it’s just a matter of time until it dies too. Sunbeam used to be a reliable brand - those days are long gone.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Carlie

CarlieMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

looks good but overcooks

published

Using setting 3 (of 5) burned the toast to black- so I'm not quite sure who would ever use 5.
Setting 1 and 2 get used only in our household.
The crumpet button is good as it cooks the crumpet longer on the top than bottom- however setting 1 was sufficient.
The countdown feature is useful for cooking a big breakfast and the longer slots for large slices of bread is also great.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

reviewguy22

reviewguy22Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

works great for the office so far

published

Bought this for the office and so far so it gets used every day. Its got a count down features tells you the time. Everything is electronic so you can set the time. Would of liked a button for 15 seconds more as some types of breads take longer to toast. I usually set it to option 2 for 2:15sec.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Was good until it stopped toasting both sides!

published

Loved this toaster as it could fit larger pieces of bread, had a great display giving you a countdown until your item was ready and a crumpet function. Then this weekend it broke and now only lightly toasts one side of the bread for some reason. We bought it a couple of years ago from DJs, can't remember what we paid, though I did expect it to last longer as we don't use it extensively!

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Wal

WalAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Toast ok. Crumpet setting doesn't work

published

Love the timer on the front. Toasts ok. Crumpet setting doesn't work - initially this crumpet setting will work but after about a minute it shuts down and resets. Only just bought the product. Very disappointed. Had the previous model which worked great. I suspect this particular item is faulty. Will seek a replacement through sunbeam.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Wizard_aus

Wizard_ausSouth Australia, 5162

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Does what its meant to do - TOAST

published

Even though it has a digital cook display it is easy to use.
Cooks toast evenly and not over cooked.
Crumpets are perfect.
A little more expensive than I would normally pay, but that seems to be the way with toasters these days.
Was recommended by a friend and word of mouth is how they sell products these days.
Highly recommended product

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Sleepless in Brisbane

Sleepless in BrisbaneBrisbane

  • 16 reviews

LITTLE RAY OF "SUNBEAM" HAS COME INTO OUR WORLD! - SUNBEAM MAESTRO -

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Alnewt

AlnewtHamilton

  • Verified purchase

Broke exactly two weeks after purchase

published

Bought this toaster just over two weeks ago and loved it. Did a great job of toasting and had a countdown so you knew how long until the toast would be ready. But after only two weeks the outer two elements have stopped working. To have a brand new toaster fail in such a short period of time is appalling. We use our toaster daily so I'll be returning this one and getting a different brand.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Vickers

VickersSydney

Fire hazard

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
DaniD

DaniDPerth

Rubbish....

published

This was nearly the most expensive toaster at the shop I bought at, and it was had issue from day 1
* takes ages to toast
* 7 months later stops working then starts to beep uncontrollably so turn off at power for ten minutes then turn back on flashing led screen, beeping starts again and toaster is buggered.
So very very disappointed as I should have done what I suspected in the beginning is to buy a cheap toaster, if it stuffs up in one year no worries...a case of you get what you pay for, except I paid $130 and it's total rubbish.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Phil

PhilSydney, NSW

OK so far

published

I bought before reading reviews so assessment subject to future reliability but at $89 has a lot going for it. Surprised to see the box labelled it as 1040W when that is the wattage of the smaller model! 1800W is par for size so no issue there. Main positive is ability to take slices larger than standard sliced. Not all that keen on the LED aspect as more to go wrong but useful nonetheless. Ability to lift toast to see how it is going is useful. Able to toast up to about 7 minutes is useful but need to keep your eye on it as a result.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Possum

PossumWellington Point

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

lemon

published

This Sunbeam 4 slice toaster I bought from G.G. in September 2015 has turned out to be a bit of a dud. On normal setting does not brown, and blown the circuit breaker twice. If I up the toast range it burns it. I am losing faith in Sunbeam products big time.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Wendy

Wendyperth

kept shorting out

published

Our second Maestro. First one stopped working after 2 years. The new one tripped within one week and we lost power through the whole house. One week later it did the same thing. So we returned it to David Jones and got our money back. Where is the quality control at Sunbeam or any manufacturer of toasters? It seems to be non-existent.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Does not flip up with 4 slices of toast - SUNBEAM customer service were Useless! Do not buy.

published

This is my 2nd toaster of the same model in 3 months. It does not toast evenly; has to be switched off at times as the electronic display goes blank; does not flip up when toasting bagels or longer bread such as sourdough.

Instead of returning the toaster back to David Jones (again) I called Sunbeam customer service and explained my dramas with both toasters. Well, what a waste of time that was!!! I got told that maybe there maybe a batch problem and they could not help me and to go back to my place of purchase.

Never again Sunbeam!


Flyfishingnut

FlyfishingnutAU

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Broken after 4 1/2 months of light use.

published

Cooks unevenly and now has broken after 4 1/2 months of light use. Only gets used 2-3 times a week at the most. It wont turn on now, no lights and no action. Lets see how we go taking it back to The Good Guys for a replacement as it has a 12 month replacement warranty.

2 comments
Flyfishingnut
Flyfishingnut

The Good Guys replaced it without question.. Lets see how the new one goes.

Flyfishingnut
Flyfishingnut

This one cooks a little more evenly.


Page 1 of 2

See all Sunbeam Maestro TA6240 / TA6440 reviews

Questions & Answers

Darwin Dan

Darwin Danasked

After 3 years of great toasting, the LCD screen is dying and the display is really weak. Can this be fixed or will it be cheaper to replace the toaster? I was expecting 10 years from this machine.

2 answers

Hi there, sorry I have no idea. Maybe you could phone Sunbeam or a local fixit company. Mine burns the crust and leaved the middle pale. So not happy now either. Think these days to get 3 years is pretty good. If you can wait till the January sales you'd get a really good price. Shop around. Hope this helps. cheers Dianne.

Wizard_aus
Wizard_aus

Sorry can't actually help you on that one. Best thing to do is contact manufacturer or a reputable service centre. Considering the throw away society we are I'm guessing a new one... good luck


lwbls1

lwbls1asked

Purchased a TA6440 this weekend, after my old toaster died after 7 years of faithful service. The timing settings on this toaster are crazy!!! We are regular crumpet eaters and on the lowest setting 1, the time defaults to 4.00 minutes, this is way too long for crumpets. There is no way you can leave this unattended to cook and it would be downright dangerous to let children use this product.
Why on earth would you need a setting of 6 which equates to nearly 7 minutes on the crumpet setting - its a house fire waiting to happen??

2 answers
Lisa
Lisa

Strange my crumpet setting is timed lime the:
1 = 1min 45 sec
2 = 2 min 05 sec
3 = 2 min 25 sec..... up to 6 = 3 min 20 sec. This is for the 2 slice version. Maybe yours is potentially faulty/calibrayed wrongly at the factory.

Annette
Annette

Just went to check and mine also says 6 minutes 40 seconds on crumpet setting for 6 - I have never checked that out! It is crazy!!! Would never use it that's for sure - also find the 4 minutes on the minimum time setting a bit crazy - why doesn't it start at 2 minutes and go up to 4 max???

You will notice too that once you have used the toaster, the time settings vary according to how hot the elements are, so 1 drops back as far as about 53 seconds on the second lot of toast.

The theory of this toaster is excellent, it is just that the actual functions are crap!!!


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.