??!
3 photos
Sunbeam Mixmaster Hand JM6600

Sunbeam Mixmaster Hand JM6600

JM6600 (White), JM6600R (Red) and JM6600Y (Yellow)
2.0 from 48 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
6
1 star
28

Lynne Cordery

Lynne CorderySouth East Queensland, QLD

Failed after a few uses.

published

Thought I had found a great mixer - used it a few times and then it failed. Would only work for a few seconds with the booster button only. Very disappointed.

Purchased for $39.99.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Lynne Cordery
So sorry to hear this. If you have purchased this within the last 12 months and you have kept your receipt please return it to the store of purchase for a replacement or refund. Kind Regards, Sunbeam


cin

cinBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great little hand mixer

published

Have this hand mixer for 4 years. Hasn’t missed a beat. Easy to use and handy size. Love the retro look. Comes with 3 sets of tools beating, whipping and hook sort of looking. The only negative thing is the cord would like it to be a bit longer.

Purchased at Myer for $39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi cin,
Thanks for the great review! Noted on the cord length.
Kind Regards Sunbeam

RonnyCraven

RonnyCravenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 39 reviews
  • 22 likes

Only SoSo; and NOT for the arthritic

published

When my previous model died I opted for this because it seemed to be a like-for-like follow on. Not so. It's clumsy, difficult to store, not that fast and worst of all (for me) the release for the blades is ludicrous. Instead of my previous single easy button, this team of design idiots decided to incorporate the release with the speed switch. Note: Unplug it first! The swith is slightly pointed so for my arthritic hand, or indeed anyone with moist "baking" hands, it is a nought out ten development. I mean, really, don't the designers actually use these things when they arrive from China?

Purchased in July 2018 for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi RonnyCraven,
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for the experience you have had with your JM6600. I will be passing this onto our product team.
If you have retained your purchase receipt please return it to the store of purchase.

Absolutely hopeless... do not purchase.

published

Cord is ridiculously short. I used it about 6 times within a year of purchase and it died completely. It will not even turn on. It was just out of warranty and Sunbeam will not offer a replacement or anything at all. It was expensive compared to other brands... and very disappointing in quality. Will never purchase another Sunbeam product again.

Purchased in December 2017 at Harvey Norman for $54.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Michelle,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam and sorry to hear of your experience with the JM6600. I will be sure to pass your feedback to our product team.


Bob H

Bob H

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Only for very light use

published

Bought this to whip eggs for a pavlova, which it did OK (about 10 minutes to soft peak stage). Then tried 'dough hooks' to blend flour with liquid bread ingredients - big mistake. Dough flew everywhere including up the shafts into the innards of the mixer. Tried matchsticks and cotton buds to clean dough out of interior, but every time we put the beaters into the mixer, they come out coated with a thick layer of dough. We agree with the other posters who described this as ill-designed and grossly overpriced. Oh for the days when you could buy an American or Japanese mixer for $15 that worked perfectly for the next 20 years! We will be returning this to the store, no idea what to replace it with.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

KIKI

KIKI

  • 40 reviews
  • 30 likes

What happened to Sunbeam?

published

My Philips hand mixer died after 25 years, so I purchased this. Firstly the cord is way too short. This is hopeless if you don't have a power point in a convenient place. I also like to run my dirty mixer in the sink to clean it. Secondly, I had real trouble ejecting the beaters - can you only eject them when it is unplugged? Anyway I returned it and am still on the hunt for a decent one.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

TJ44

TJ44SYDNEY, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Broke after 1st use - design flaw

published

Unfortunately, was at first, disappointed with really short cord, noisy on low speeds and not quite as powerful as expected. But after the 1st ejection of the beaters, it stopped working (the start/speed button not working) : the Eject button is the same button as the Start/change speeds button! You are just supposed to push it down - so it is bound to cause problems, which exactly what happened. All the previous mixers had eject button separately, as a given... So taking it back, and will be looking for a different replacement.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Sorry to hear of the problems you have experienced. If you still have the beater, please contact our customer care team who would be more than happy to assist you - 1300 881 861.


Keira

KeiraPerth

Terrible..

published

First time use Motor stopped working due to over heating.. when we used second time, Motor stoped working with in 1 min and we have to wait for at least 15 min to get it to operate.. also, I noticed that it's mixer blade got rusted.. I don't recommend this to anyone..

Date PurchasedJun 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Keira - apologies for the issues you have experienced with your Sunbeam mixer. Please contact our customer care team on 1300 881 861 and we would be more than happy to assist.

Keira
Keira

Hi, Thank you for your response. I have returned this product to carousel Myer.

RobynS

RobynSNSW, 2582

  • 24 reviews
  • 16 likes

Much quieter than other hand beaters I've used

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review RobynS!! Keep up the great baking!!

Donna

DonnaSt Helens

  • 2 reviews

Flimsy Beaters

published

First set of beaters broke inside warranty so they were replaced, after waiting 3 months! Next set broke just outside warranty. The beaters are extremely flimsy and not up to even the simplest of jobs. As stated by others the cord is way too short. Would never buy this model again.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

PRO

PROperth

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Like it so far

published

I bake occasionally so for me the motor performance has been good. Power cord is not very long. Good enough to make whipped cream and simple cake recipes. Haven't tried it with dough recipes. Like the fact that it's simple, easy to clean and store away (for those who have small storage space).

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Merilyn Rangan

Merilyn RanganMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Have been using Sunbeam over many years not all products are worthy but this item is great very happ

published

It is perfect for my jobs enough power easy to use Came with dough hooks,balloon whisk and standard beaters. .Great product ..Ordered from Kitchen warehouse online came quickly well packaged with emails to track. Happy all round

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Chris

ChrisSydney

Dud

published

Bought for my wife last Friday motor burning and cutting out just beating eggs.taking back today 1 week old better get money back and will try another brand. The last one went for a couple of years. I don't know if I was just unlucky to get a bad one but I wouldn't buy again

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Theresa Griffiths

Theresa GriffithsOxenford

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Over Heats and short cord

published

Its a good set of beaters if you are making a quick cake as i bought them for making fudge but they over heated way to fast and i had to resort back to my elcheapo coles brand i bought years ago to finish the job.
im a bit dissapointed that they werent better.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Rach L

Rach LMelbourne, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Would be perfect if the lowest speed could be slower

published

Only bought this one for less than a week and made 2 chiffon cakes. Worked great for beating eggs, flour, oil , sugar mix. Basically can meet the requirements for Someone like me baking ocassionally. Will try brioche dough this weekend. But do feel the Speed 1 could be too fast for the dough.

Issues: cord very short, luckily got power points on island bench
Lowest speed is actually quite fast - don't expect lift the the beat up without slashing around
The beaters release not really working- have to pull the beaters out
Design of buttons make it easy to trigger boost mode but hard to adjust speed with greasy hand

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Rach L
Rach L
Sherry

SherrySouth Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published

Just bought this item from Myer on sale at $34. Looks good but have only used it once for a short while. Power on 1 is pretty fast. Cord is qt short too. Otherwise pretty happy. Only read about negative reviews after buying this. Hope I won't encounter these problems.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

TKLR

TKLRADELAIDE

  • 3 reviews

Terrible product - Absolute Junk - DO NOT BUY this model

published

This would not even rate as being good value at $5 at a garage sale! Not worth the power it consumes.
It is absolute junk and the idiot who designed it and put such a short power cord on it should be sacked for being completely stupid and his / her manager 5 seconds later for signing off on it.
Not only that, it overheated after 4 minutes of use and then switches itself off.
It hit the bin with complete frustration.
Are all new Sunbeam appliances like this?. I remember my mother swore 100% loyalty to the Sunbeam brand - me, I just swore at it. Never again.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Chris

ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

Didn't last two minutes :/

published

Bought it because of the extra attachments and power. But didn't last two minutes without overheating.
What a disappointment! Don't they have quality control. How can you expect to sell these to customers !
Now I'm getting a mouth full from my wife for getting this.
Unfortunately cannot recommend this product.
I thought I might have been unlucky to get a lemon, but after checking this forum, it looks like sunbeam is in the business of selling lemons

Chris

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Melis

MelisBrisbane

Worst mixer ever!

published

I purchased this mixer as it was advertised as having a strong engine but this is the worst mixer I have ever purchased.
Firstly the butter constantly gets stuck in the beaters when you are trying to cream it, this has never happened when I have used other beaters.
Secondly, like another user said, the engine constantly overheats or shuts down for 15mins when it is simply beating butter and sugar or icing! This is infuriating when you are half way through making a batch and it stops working! At first I thought it was just the one I purchased so I took it back but my next one did the same thing.
Honestly this is the worst beater I've ever purchased!

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Corinne L

Corinne L

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good but stinks

published

Fantastic motor came with all units and blends well but absolutely stinks if you don't clean it thoroughly afterwards. Would purchase from any reasonable price and use it for almost anything I need. Fastest speed worked like clockwork mixing almost anything as along as it is used well and properly.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Colette M.

Colette M.asked

My mixer is less than 12 months old. It is solid, has good speed control but stops suddenly. I thought it was broken. Was going to take back. When I turned it on - it worked again. This happens every time I use it. Appears to get over heated doing relatively simple tasks just as creaming butter and sugar. Is it faulty or do you have a tip to stop it over heating??

2 answers
Michelle
Michelle

Mine did the same until it just stopped working entirely.

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Michelle,
No please return to store for a replacement, we want it to work perfectly for you...


Lyn

Lynasked

I can’t seem to fit the beater to the stand it does not fit snuggly. Also beater will not spin as a hand held. I think I got a lemon. Bought it a couple of years ago and tried to use once but couldn’t so put in cupboard and bought a big kenwood. Would like to be able to use it for smaller mixing but can’t get it to go. It has never been used and is totally useless. Can you please tell me if I am doing something wrong or have I bought a dud.

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Lyn,
I have one of these at home but this model is a hand mixer only. Maybe you have a different model? With some models the beaters go in one side only and have to match up. I would like you to give us a call on 1300 881 861 to see if we can assist you.


Lovebaking

Lovebakingasked

New Mixmaster sunbeam JM6600 lets off burning motor smell when in use - not a happy customer!

1 answer
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam

Hi Lovebaking,

Thank you for your feedback. The hand mixer can have a slight motor smell for up to 10 uses when the product is new. If the smell persists please return to the store for an exchange.

If you have any further comments or concerns please contact Sunbeam Customer Service either by phone on 1300 881 861 or email customercare@sunbeam.com.au with your details.

Regards,

Sunbeam Customer Service
1300 881 861
customercare@sunbeam.com.au


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Sunbeam Mixmaster Hand JM6600Y (Yellow)

Sunbeam Mixmaster Hand JM6600Y (Yellow)

1 review
Sunbeam Mixmaster Hand JM6600R (Red)

Sunbeam Mixmaster Hand JM6600R (Red)

5 reviews
Sunbeam Mixmaster Hand JM6600 (White)

Sunbeam Mixmaster Hand JM6600 (White)

17 reviews
CategoryHandheld Food MixersHandheld Food MixersHandheld Food Mixers
TypeHandheldHandheldHandheld
Price (RRP)69.9569.9569.95
Mixing Speeds666
Motor Power350350350
Release dateOct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2011

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.