?
? !
4 photos
Sunbeam Pie Magic
4.2 from 116 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Terrible

published

The new sunbeam pie machines uses too much pastry and takes too much time to heat up and too much time to cook. Worst pie maker I have ever had I want to return it. What do I do is am very disappointed the old style pie machine was much quicker and a lot less pastry also it seems to take 30mins to cook very slow. The old style was 7 mins. also way too big.
What is sunbeam thinking with this machine.
Who designed the new style of machine and why?

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TOADY

TOADYmelbourne

Taking too long to cook

published

I purchased a new sunbeam pie maker from good guys on Sunday, made amazing lamb and pumpkin pies. However the manual says takes 15 minutes, but it was way over 30 minutes for each lot and then it took ages for the light to say ready again. Everyone says how quick it was so i called good guys and they said to return it for a replacement so will do tomorrow. Fantastic customer service from them. Will let you know the outcome as i will keep trying.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
TOADY
TOADY

thank you so much wonderful customer service at Good Guys exchanged and will try it out shortly.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Absolute rubbish

published

Pies are slightly to large and can only get 1 pie per slice of pastry. Alot of product wasted..
Stupid BigW Taree store won't refund my product..
Do not buy..

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pie Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Pie Magic compares to other Pie Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Philippa Risby

Philippa Risby

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect pies every time

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vvv

VvvGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for meals on the go

published

Have only used it to make beef pie but would be great for sweet fruit pies too. Takes a while to heat up but once ready it makes beautiful pies in 10 mins. The pastry cutter makes cutting the puff pastry much easier, and the machine is quite small in size so can fit easily in our small pantry!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TopsyD

TopsyDBerrigan

very disappointed

published

My old pie maker finally died of over use so I bought the new model. I hate it My family is now missing out on pies. You can only cut one pie from a pice of puff pastry and have to fiddle an roll the leftovers to avoid waste which sort of negates the quick and easy aspect. the pies are also too shallow and make a lot of mess with leakage at the top and you end up with pie that has more pastry than filling. Bring back the old model with the smaller deeper pies my family is begging you

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Annie

AnnieNSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great appliance that takes up very little room.

published

We as a family go on a lot of camping trips so to make a batch of pies to take away is such a time saver and I can make a complete meal in each pie and know exactly what is in them .I love that the pie maker has its own cutters and so no guessing goes into making the pie.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ZacknKate

ZacknKateYarragon

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy as pie,

published

Wonderful addition to our appliances. Easy process. The product comes with the pastry cutter as expected and will make a single pie per sheet of pastry, (but can produce more if I was eager enough to align the cutting tool close.

4 Good sized pies can be made at once

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fazzle

FazzleBelmont

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Fantastic Pie Makere

published

This is one of the best appliances I have purchased. You can make fillings and freeze what you do not use for another time. I usually make or buy the pastry sheets and cut them to fit and freeze. I then have them on hand whenever I feel like making pies for dinner. No hassle and the recipe book which comes with it has lovely recipes although I freeze leftover stews etc and use as fillings at a later date as well. No doubt, its is the best! I love it.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pie Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Pie Magic compares to other Pie Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharyon Bellwood

Sharyon BellwoodGeelong

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This makes the most amazing pies.

published

Wow, this is super easy to use, has deep dishes and cooks the pies perfect every time. It is only limited by your imagination of the type of fillings you can use. Easy to clean and stows sitting upright, I actually have it out on the bench, so I can remember to use it, what with all the other electrical appliances vying for my attention. We used it on the cold winter nights and even the snack size, is nearly as big as a normal size pie. I make a sweet one for after the main for dessert.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Letsgo

LetsgoQueensland

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Yummy yummy pies

published

This makes a decent size pie, had an older version many years ago and you would have to have 2 pies to fill you up. One of these does the job. Cutting pastry to make the pies can be difficult from the point of view with the bottom you only get 2 bottoms out of a sheet. I stick the bits together to make more. When you can't eat the shop bought ones due to food allergies it's really nice to be able to make a pie and enjoy it like everyone else.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zte

ZtePerth

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great pie maker

published

Awesome machine. Very easy to use and clean. The pastry cutters make it easy to get the right size and shape. This maker does get very hot and i have found that it is a very fine line between a perfectly cooked pie and an over cooked one, so make sure you set a timer based on the recipe book and check at the end. Money well spent.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sheree C

Sheree CDunsborough

  • 6 reviews

GREAT AND COMPACT

published

I love our 4 x pie maker.. its compact and easy to use.. we take it camping and weekends away. I think its also great that it came with recipe ideas for both savoury and sweet. The only recommendation would be for the base to be a little deeper to allow more ingredients - other than that - I love our purchase!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tashahh

TashahhMandurah

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect size

published

I had an earlier model and updated to this newer one because it makes bigger pies. I love this pie maker. Easy to clean. Easy to use. The cord winds snuggly underneath the machine. It heats up very quickly and cooks the pies in a few minutes. The manual includes a lot of different recipes too.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dee

DeeNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very happy with this great product

published

This little pie maker is brilliant - its excellent quality, very sturdy and practical. No annoying bells and whistles, just does what its supposed to brilliantly, which is make yummy pies. Cooks the pies perfectly and they look quality, I am getting rave reviews when sharing them around. I make my own pastry so can easily cut to the correct size and the pastry cutter is brilliant. The recipe book provided is also excellent. All in all a quality product from Sunbeam. Update: I was so pleased with this one I went out and bought the family size one too which is excellent (since discontinued). There's not as much fiddling involved with cutting all the pastry and the large size is brilliant for family meals. Thanks Sunbeam.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pie Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Pie Magic compares to other Pie Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Very disappointed

published

Very disappointed, pies to big and deep, prefer the old smaller ones. This one there is alot of pastry wasted unless you join leftover bits together, i dont have time for that. Please bring back the smaller pie maker please. I will be going to buy the kmart brand smaller pie maker, such a shame i would prefer sunbeam. My old one lasted for many many yrs.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Disappointed

published

I replaced my old snack size pie maker and bought this one online to find that the pie size is quite a bit larger which in turn caused a lot of wastage of pastry as previously one sheet of frozen pastry would make exactly two pies. This pie maker only gets one pie per sheet with a lot of wastage. Although you can re roll the excess, I have always found this to be a quick and easy method of making pies and do not want to be bothered with this process. Please bring back the snack size in the four pie size not two.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andromeda

Andromeda

  • 2 reviews

Loved It

published

Used first time today. Used puff pastry, for the 1st time I did waste a bit of pastry but you can put the bits together and roll out the pastry thus reducing the wastage. Cooks very quickly so watch that. Possibly put in a tad more (but not too much) filling. Otherwise it worked well and all pies cooked evenly and browned quickly.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Andromeda
Andromeda

Used it again yesterday and my partner was really raped in the pastry the way it was flaky etc. Adjusted and put a tad more mixture in the pies and all was well.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RJ M

RJ MSouth West, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

Works fine...

published

Makes good pies. Like alot of cooking, you need to experiment a bit with techniques and pastry types but all in all it is a simple handy little machine.
The non stick surfaces work well and a little bit of oil or spray makes the pastry crispy without over cooking.
Be aware it cooks quite quickly so don't leave too long.
Try to reduce the moisture (water) content or thicken it, if the filling is very saucy/runny so the pastry is not soggy.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Item But Lot Of Wasted Pastry

published

My friend had one of these machines years ago and I have always wanted one too. It seems they have changed the size pie dishes. The old one you got two bases per pastry sheet. Now you only get one base per short cut pastry a huge down size - it results in a lot of waste. I tried rolling out the left over pastry to make more bases. This must do something to the pastry as upon cooking it shrinks and expands meaning the top does not attach to the base. Very frustrating two decent pie to three wonky ones.

Apparently K-mart makes a pie maker where you can get two bases per sheet. If I knew then what I know now I would have bought that one.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 3 of 6
See all Sunbeam Pie Magic reviews

Questions & Answers

Russel W.

Russel W.asked

Pie Magic

Top layer of puff pastry is raw and doughy right through

2 answers
Jessica
Jessica

Hi Russel. Not sure why this has happened to you? Is this every time you use the machine (as in, it may be a faulty element in your lid)?
Best tips are to FILL the pie well, so the pastry lid is forced to touch the top element, and to cook for as long as needed (5-10 mins depending on whether filling was hot or cold, how many pies etc). I'll add some photos to my review for you to look at.
If you continue to have an issue, I would be inclined to get a replacement machine. Best of luck to you.

Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Russel,
Yes please follow the steps Jessica has posted & please let me know if this sorts your issue out.
Thanks

Pauline

Paulineasked

Pie Magic PM4800 (Traditional Size 4 Up)

What cup capacity is the sunbeam deep pie maker?
Thanks. Pauline.

2 answers
Harry
Harry

I recall the instructions say a 1/2 cup. I use about 3/4 of a cup so the pie maker is full and the top pastry browns better.

Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Pauline,
The Pie Magic Traditional Size 4 Up takes 1/2 metric cup of filling.
Thanks

Scott N.

Scott N.asked

Pie Magic

It would be so much easier to assemble to pies cold in them pie maker and then turn it on. Is the pre heat absolutely necessary? Has anyone done the timing for staring cold ?

3 answers
Phillip N.
Phillip N.

No

Scott N.
Scott N.

Thanks Phil, is that "No" the pre-heat is not absolutely necessary, or "No" the timing for a cold start has not been done ?

Sunbeam
Customer SupportSunbeam

Hi Scott N,
You can try this but it will all depend on how much liquid you have in your filling as you may find the pastry may be soggy.
Hope this helps you.
Thanks

See all Sunbeam Pie Magic questions

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Sunbeam Pie Magic

Details

Compare all 4 Sunbeam Pie Magic
Sunbeam Pie Magic PM040B
  • Discontinued

Sunbeam Pie Magic PM040B

4.5
(2)
CategoryPie MakersPie MakersPie MakersPie Makers
Price (RRP) $89.95$49.95
Number of Pies42
Pie Diameter12cm8.5cm
Pie Volume125ml95ml
Dimensions 120 x 350 x 280 mm100 x 250 x 270 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateMar 2017Mar 2017May 2007
Discontinuation dateDec 2019
Replaced bySunbeam Pie Magic PM4800 (Traditional Size 4 Up)
Compare all 4 Sunbeam Pie Magic

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.