??!
1 photo
Suncorp Comprehensive Car Insurance

Suncorp Comprehensive Car Insurance

2.0 from 41 reviews · View Statistics

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

2.0

41 reviews
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (35)
  • Customer Service
    2.2 (34)
  • Timeliness
    2.0 (25)
  • Job Satisfaction
    1.8 (19)
  • Transparency
    2.2 (33)
  • Claim Resolution Time3+ months (10), 2-4 weeks (5), 1-2 weeks (4), 1-2 months (4) and <1 week (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (14) · No (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Bahaa A.

Bahaa A.

  • 2 reviews

Never insure your car with Suncorp

published

My car is worth less than the cost of repairs but Suncorp don’t want to replace my car I have a new for old policy but it is not in their interest to even put new parts in my car

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
kris

krisFar North Queensland, QLD

dont waste your money use another insurance company

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Cindy T.

Cindy T.South East Queensland, QLD

FAKE, UNRELIABLE AND UNPROFESSIONAL

published

Used a misunderstanding against me to put my claim under review when I lodged my stolen car incident through a call. Even when I made it clear again at the end of the conversation that the car was not left unlocked she still put it down on offical documents. Unbelievable! When I called customer service they were "unable to do anything" and even tried to backup themselves up. Constantly shutting me down and told me to just wait for what the reviewer decides on. I told them that the reviewer would be making a conclusion on incorrect information but they did not care. Save yourself from being mistreated and disrespected like this.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sun

SunSouth East Queensland, QLD

Ongoing Saga - Suncorp fails to complete vehicle damage review bookings, sitting on their hands for 5 weeks and counting

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

worst service

published

Worst service ever. At the time to claim there was new charges never previously disclosed. Closing all accounts and cancelled all other insurance policies and will never use them again. Only going to soeak their name to warn others to stay away

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
See all answers
Kim Thoa B.

Kim Thoa B.

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A company that isnt all about the money

published

I lost both my job since the pandemic today I rang up and unexpectedly was advised that they offer 3 month free to help people effected by the pandemic! Amazing!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda CR-V
See all answers
bea

beaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

They've never let me down

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Mondeo MC
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2017
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Tdot15

Tdot15Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst service ever!

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJune 2020
See all answers

Honestly couldnt ask for better service

published

Excellent service, support and reasonable price. Cannot fault these guys at all. I have home insurance with them also and they are a stand up company. Very happy after two years with them

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Holly B.

Holly B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

They have your back

published

They are not the cheapest (although competitively priced), but have been easy to contact, very responsive to my queries and have gone over and above in terms of service to me over the years. Always happy to negotiate ways to reduce my insurance costs and have been a valuable source of comfort to me in times of need when it really counts. I have gone elsewhere briefly, only to return for a level of service and concern they showed that I have not experienced elsewhere. Thankyou so much, Suncorp.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda CRV
See all answers

Highly unreliable and Very bad customer service

published

I had an issue with my car and I called the Suncorp. They said that they will cover the issue, and in my claim lodgement the status was changed to "Repair Authorized". After 2 days of waiting, they informed me that they are not going to cover that. I spend more than 3 hours on my phone and it disrupted my work for 3 days. If they provided me with accurate information at the day I contacted them first regarding this issue I could get this work done and save my time.
If I could give a minus rating I would do so and I do not recommend their service at all.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Hubba D.

Hubba D.

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

WARNING DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM

published

Attempted to short pay me for a not at fault accident by 2500$ ended up going through my own insurance to recover the money that I was entitled to, then attempted to charge me for the hire car after going through my insurance.
you will all burn in hell for your scandalous ways.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Eldecco

EldeccoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good luck; even if you’re not at fault they get the money

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai i30
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateApril 2020
See all answers
Tom J.

Tom J.South East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely horrendous. Rude staff, any excuse not to pay.

published

I was hit by a driver insured by Suncorp almost a year ago now (other driver 100% at fault). Dealing with their claims team is like trying to squeeze blood from a stone. They make you jump through unnecessary hoops, ignore emails for weeks on end, move the goalposts, and are then extremely rude and belittling when they finally do reply. 1 year later, and they are STILL yet to pay out. This is the worst "service" I have ever received from any company.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers

Great customer service

published

We would really recommend Suncorp car insurance they were always friendly and helpful on the phone and went out of their way to help us.

The only claim we had was for a small chip in the windscreen and they quickly organised for a company to check it out

Will definitely use them again if we are back in Australia!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelFord Escape
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Suncorp Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Unhappy customer

Unhappy customerCentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Insurance fraudsters - happy to take your money with hidden clauses so they don't have to fulfill their promises!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMitsubishi Verada
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Bad and dodgy service

published

Bad and dodgy service. Was told I can change my policy within the cooling-off period. contacted them last week and was told had to pay $275 extra on top of what has already been paid just to change the date of the car insurance policy. Stay away from them.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Incompetent repairs

published

Wife's car was sent to 2 different repairs and car worse then it was before the repairs would not recommend suncorp Insurance to my worst enemy very lazy car now a bomb very bad service shame on you suncorp have lost a lot of money thanks suncorp very bad service

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 3
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Muhib A.

Muhib A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Take No responsibility after you pay premium

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
See all answers
Dani

DaniSydney, NSW

Do Not Trust Gio Or Capitol Smart

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 3
See all Suncorp Motor Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

MONTROSE

MONTROSEasked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

We have friends shopping around for their car insurance renewal with various car insurance companies.
They have asked us if Suncorp Car Insurance would cover mice damage to a car under their policy.

Has anyone had experience with this matter or able to give further information re this issue?

3 answers
hirondelle
hirondelle

I am sorry but I have no knowledge about mice damage only accidental damage.

john smith
john smith

contact suncorp & ask them

Fired Up
Fired Up

Same answer to the same question you have already asked in this site.

Get an answer from our members and Suncorp representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Suncorp Motor Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Health, Home and Contents, Income, Life, Motorcycle and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterAAI
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Included
Choice of RepairerAllowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Included up to 21 days

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $1,000
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Included up to 21 days

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $1,000
Benefits
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to 21 days

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,500
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $750
New-for-old Car Replacement

If your car has been stolen or damaged in an incident in the period of insurance and we have agreed to pay your claim as a total loss, we will replace your car, if:

  • you are the first registered owner of your car or you purchased your car as an ex demonstration model from a licensed motor dealer who was the first registered owner of the car; and

  • the loss or damage to your car occurred less than 2 years from the date of original registration of your car; and

  • anyone who financed your car provides us with written consent to us settling your claim in accordance with this additional feature

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $1,000 per incident
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Included
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncluded
FireIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
Compare all 4 Suncorp Motor Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.