9 photos
Suzuki Baleno EW

Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2021)

Also referred to as: Suzuki Baleno EW 2020 and Suzuki Baleno EW 2022. GLX, GLX Turbo, GL
3.8 from 22 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hatchbacks in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Suzuki? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (12)
  • Braking
    3.8 (13)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (13)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (13)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.7 (13)
  • Handling
    3.8 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (13)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (13)
  • Features
    3.9 (13)
Previous
Next
River Man
River ManMid North Coast, NSW

Simple no fuss motoring

published

Purchased brand new in Melbourne in Jan 2018 for my wife and immediately driven to our Grafton NSW home in 2 days. It performed perfectly, despite 2 adults, a working kelpie and 85% of the travel luggage (removed from our X-Trail trade-in) on board. The more you drive this car the more you appreciate how "fit for purpose" it realy is (my SUV is a luxury Nissan Murano Ti and the Suzuki still gives me a smile when ever my wife allows me to drive it). Suzuki's are like iPhones, they simply work without the unnessasary crap that comes with android devices. Would I buy another Suzuki? Yep!

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Zane
ZaneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Some pros and cons compare to previous MY

published

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dani
DaniSouth Australia
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good city car, economical, affordable, reliable... Excellent AC.

published

Good city car, economical, affordable, reliable...
Excellent AC.
Good value for money.

But

Due to reduced insolation it can become a bit noisy (in bad roads) and hot (requiring the use of the AC)

The head rest is too much leaning forward becoming uncomfortable for long drive

The central console work's well but it is not the easiest to use... Requires some getting used to and some patients

Purchased in March 2016 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Suzuki Baleno EW compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark
Mark
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Typical Suzuki. Bloody awesome.

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Suzuki Dealers for $17,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
HS C.
HS C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Good value zoom car

published

The paint top coat is easy to chipped off, annoying for a new car.

Overall suit for the purpose, reliable and affordable city commute car. It has large space inside for up to 4 people. If the seat can be flatted down like Jazz, it will be perfect.

Purchased in December 2019 at Suzuki Dealers for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Kedan
Kedanmelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very bad car and special very bad customer service also

published

Hi Purchased Suzuki Baleno Jan 2020. i am not happy with car the amount i paid. i am thinking if i paid similar amount you with other brand might be i get better quality car and better customer service. within a two months my car key broken and i went to Suzuki service center to fix my car key. According to them they don't cover warranty. Second important thing on car doing to much vibration on highway. Third important things front internal dashboard is very cheap quality you hear all time noise of plastic.

Purchased in January 2020 at Suzuki Dealers for $17,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rudy Chilwan
Rudy ChilwanNew South Wales

Fantastic courier vehicle

published

240,000 klms trouble free.Serviced by agents with no major problems thus far.Extremely economical.If you need something faster I suggest you buy a Porsche.One of the most reliable cars I have ever owned.

Purchased in January 2017 at Suzuki Dealers for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sam
SamGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for A to Z with all the gear needed

published

Great small compact car, with great bootspace and entertainment and safety function.
Easy to drive and suitable for newbies of a vehicle in their family, great for driving UBER too and also great backroom space for passengers too.
Only downside was that it is not ANCAP safety rated yet

Purchased in June 2016 at Suzuki Dealers for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Very hardy little car, Fast take off and zoomy car.

published

Can't say anything bad, you get lots for your money and the car is quite powerful. Very spacious, good stereo, easy to drive, looks good. Very proud to own one.

Purchased in November 2016 at Suzuki Dealers for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hatchbacks

Find out how Suzuki Baleno EW compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Viny
VinyPerth, WA

Not great

published

I bought Suzuki beleno 2019 modal brand new car just to drive Uber . After 2 weeks I went to Uber place and they I’m not able to drive my car cause this is not safety rating stuff . Which makes me so sad . It’s just wastage of money. It’s a brand new car but still I can use it . Suzuki baleno doesn’t have 5star rating. So if some wanna do Uber don’t buy this car. Please

Purchased in January 2020.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
LDB
LDBSydney Surrounds, NSW

Great Little Car

published

Two months in and I love this little car. Roomy, economical, performs admirably, with plenty of zip and response. I’m doing highway/motorway driving most days with plenty of long uphill climbs. Took it on a longer run to Wollongong and it zipped up Mt Ousley on the way back. I love that it’s a bit retro with the chrome highlights. Can’t fault it so far.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
bignoux.philip.a
bignoux.philip.aSouthwest, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Surprising

published

I purchased a Suzuki bale on as a small run around second car, it is surprisingly big inside and has a lot of room for my 2 teenage girls, it is a decent city run around car and is quite fuel efficient. Has a boot big with enough space to accomodate picnic gear and chairs. Engine is small and it needs a bit of a heavy foot whe climbing hills or overtaking, but does the job, great second car.

Purchased in November 2019 at Smiths of geelong for $15,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
glen
glenSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

More Room Then Most Cars

published

This little car will absolutely amaze anyone that gets into it. The legroom both front and back is huge and the boot is huge too. It has sat nav, rear camera, bluetooth, it can also read text messages out to you so you don't even have to look at your mobile phone when driving. The air con is cold and it really is a pleasure to drive. My wife just loves driving it and always gets people asking her about it. It even has day time running LED lights and auto headlights. The blue paint just dazzles in the sunlight. Its no pocket rocket as its only a 1.4 litre engine but certainly powerful enough for a full load of people, and very comfortable seats. Its cheap to run and even servicing is under $300.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Joe
JoeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Axle problem. Buyers beware

published

While I like most things about this little car, the rear axle is giving me a great deal of grief.
Rear tyres need to be replaced at around 18000kms due to excessive wear. Independent testing revealed a 15mm toe. Suzuki, however, claim that it is only 4mm and therefore ‘within specifications ‘.
Who would you believe?

Purchased in April 2018.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionManual

Other Hatchbacks

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Ayla H
Ayla HLiverpool
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love it

published

Perfect car. It fits my pram and my car seat and still enough room for more people. It’s nice and smooth I have the 2018 version and it’s a perfect mum car. I would recommend this to all mums who need a good spacey car to fit their bubs plus extra in

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Suzuki Baleno EW compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

bart
bartasked
Baleno EW (2016-2021)

thinking about buying a baleno gl dose anyone know is the timing a belt or chain and if a chain dose it still have a replace after x amount of kms

1 answer
Cheryl S.
Cheryl S.

Yes it is in the service manual. Cant remember what kms it needs changing but it definately does

Hakheng C.
Hakheng C.asked
Baleno EW (2016-2021)

Can we use Suzuki Baleno 2020 to do UBer?

2 answers
Cheryl S.
Cheryl S.

You can use any car for uber as long as it is roadworthy and and within a certain age.

LDB
LDB

For a smaller car it’s got pretty good room in the rear seat, so don’t see why you couldn’t use it for Uber

Marie
Marieasked
Baleno EW (2016-2021)

I bought my Suzuki Baleno in January 2020. After one week someone hit me in the back. It went for repair for 3 weeks. When I got it back, 2 weeks later, I went to buy petrol, I couldn't open my petrol cap. Apparently when the wire that connect to cap to the lever on the floor was loose. Life went on. I just find the car is a bit gutless up a hill. I've even put it in overdrive, the car slows down even more. I'm being over taken at the lights and up a hill. Not very happy with the Baleno.

1 answer
LDB
LDB

Hi Marie, sorry to hear someone hit you. The petrol cap problem would seem to be a repair issue after the accident. Speak to the repairer. The accident shouldn’t have affected the cars performance, I got my Baleno in November and can’t fault it’s performance, I drive up and down the Blue Mountains daily, so big, long hills. Yes I too get overtaken, but usually by someone doing well over the speed limit. If you feel the car is not performing right, speak with your dealer.

See all Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2021)

Details

Compare all 4 Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2021)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $21,990$15,990$16,990$15,600
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy16" Alloy
Fuel Consumption5.2 L/100km5.4 L/100km5.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 37 L37 L37 L37 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power82kW @ 5500rpm68kW @ 6000rpm68kW @ 6000rpm68kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque160Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureIndiaIndiaIndiaIndia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 4 Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2021)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.