??!
9 photos
Suzuki Baleno EW

Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2021)

Also referred to as: Suzuki Baleno EW 2020 and Suzuki Baleno EW 2022. GLX, GLX Turbo, GL
3.8 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (10)
  • Braking
    4.0 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (11)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (11)
  • Handling
    3.7 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (11)
  • Features
    4.1 (11)
Previous
Next
Dani

DaniSouth Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good city car, economical, affordable, reliable... Excellent AC.

published

Good city car, economical, affordable, reliable...
Excellent AC.
Good value for money.

But

Due to reduced insolation it can become a bit noisy (in bad roads) and hot (requiring the use of the AC)

The head rest is too much leaning forward becoming uncomfortable for long drive

The central console work's well but it is not the easiest to use... Requires some getting used to and some patients

Purchased in March 2016 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mark

Mark

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Typical Suzuki. Bloody awesome.

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Suzuki Dealers for $17,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
HS C.

HS C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Good value zoom car

published

The paint top coat is easy to chipped off, annoying for a new car.

Overall suit for the purpose, reliable and affordable city commute car. It has large space inside for up to 4 people. If the seat can be flatted down like Jazz, it will be perfect.

Purchased in December 2019 at Suzuki Dealers for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Suzuki Baleno EW compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kedan

Kedanmelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very bad car and special very bad customer service also

published

Hi Purchased Suzuki Baleno Jan 2020. i am not happy with car the amount i paid. i am thinking if i paid similar amount you with other brand might be i get better quality car and better customer service. within a two months my car key broken and i went to Suzuki service center to fix my car key. According to them they don't cover warranty. Second important thing on car doing to much vibration on highway. Third important things front internal dashboard is very cheap quality you hear all time noise of plastic.

Purchased in January 2020 at Suzuki Dealers for $17,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Rudy Chilwan

Rudy ChilwanNew South Wales

Fantastic courier vehicle

published

240,000 klms trouble free.Serviced by agents with no major problems thus far.Extremely economical.If you need something faster I suggest you buy a Porsche.One of the most reliable cars I have ever owned.

Purchased in January 2017 at Suzuki Dealers for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for A to Z with all the gear needed

published

Great small compact car, with great bootspace and entertainment and safety function.
Easy to drive and suitable for newbies of a vehicle in their family, great for driving UBER too and also great backroom space for passengers too.
Only downside was that it is not ANCAP safety rated yet

Purchased in June 2016 at Suzuki Dealers for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Very hardy little car, Fast take off and zoomy car.

published

Can't say anything bad, you get lots for your money and the car is quite powerful. Very spacious, good stereo, easy to drive, looks good. Very proud to own one.

Purchased in November 2016 at Suzuki Dealers for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Viny

VinyPerth, WA

Not great

published

I bought Suzuki beleno 2019 modal brand new car just to drive Uber . After 2 weeks I went to Uber place and they I’m not able to drive my car cause this is not safety rating stuff . Which makes me so sad . It’s just wastage of money. It’s a brand new car but still I can use it . Suzuki baleno doesn’t have 5star rating. So if some wanna do Uber don’t buy this car. Please

Purchased in January 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
LDB

LDBSydney Surrounds, NSW

Great Little Car

published

Two months in and I love this little car. Roomy, economical, performs admirably, with plenty of zip and response. I’m doing highway/motorway driving most days with plenty of long uphill climbs. Took it on a longer run to Wollongong and it zipped up Mt Ousley on the way back. I love that it’s a bit retro with the chrome highlights. Can’t fault it so far.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Suzuki Baleno EW compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bignoux.philip.a

bignoux.philip.aSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Surprising

published

I purchased a Suzuki bale on as a small run around second car, it is surprisingly big inside and has a lot of room for my 2 teenage girls, it is a decent city run around car and is quite fuel efficient. Has a boot big with enough space to accomodate picnic gear and chairs. Engine is small and it needs a bit of a heavy foot whe climbing hills or overtaking, but does the job, great second car.

Purchased in November 2019 at Smiths of geelong for $15,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
glen

glenSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

More Room Then Most Cars

published

This little car will absolutely amaze anyone that gets into it. The legroom both front and back is huge and the boot is huge too. It has sat nav, rear camera, bluetooth, it can also read text messages out to you so you don't even have to look at your mobile phone when driving. The air con is cold and it really is a pleasure to drive. My wife just loves driving it and always gets people asking her about it. It even has day time running LED lights and auto headlights. The blue paint just dazzles in the sunlight. Its no pocket rocket as its only a 1.4 litre engine but certainly powerful enough for a full load of people, and very comfortable seats. Its cheap to run and even servicing is under $300.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Joe

JoeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Axle problem. Buyers beware

published

While I like most things about this little car, the rear axle is giving me a great deal of grief.
Rear tyres need to be replaced at around 18000kms due to excessive wear. Independent testing revealed a 15mm toe. Suzuki, however, claim that it is only 4mm and therefore ‘within specifications ‘.
Who would you believe?

Purchased in April 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
See all answers
Ayla H

Ayla HLiverpool

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love it

published

Perfect car. It fits my pram and my car seat and still enough room for more people. It’s nice and smooth I have the 2018 version and it’s a perfect mum car. I would recommend this to all mums who need a good spacey car to fit their bubs plus extra in

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
FocusFan

FocusFanSydney, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 15 likes

Doesnt feel safe on freeway

published

Hired one of these in Tasmania for a recent business trip and was not happy with this car. At 80kph and over, the steering felt too light and the car did not have a planted feel on the road. When I was passed by trucks during highway conditions I had to grip the wheel tightly to make sure the car would stay in the direction I wanted it to go. Probably ok in city driving but definitely not a car for highway or country driving. My Ford Focus feels much more solid and safe and comfortable to drive - chalk and cheese.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Avinash

Avinash

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good comfy car.

published

The car is the best in the range for the amount of money it costs. It has got all the features such as GPS & apple car pay. The fuel economy is great. A better pickup would have made this car a great one. Surprisingly, there is plenty of leg room.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Suzuki Baleno EW compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rusty

RustyPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Roomy cheap comfortable vehicle.

published
BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
VikiT

VikiTBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

An awesome little car with lots of surprising features and big space inside!

published

Purchased this car 3 months ago and really happy with it overall. Handles well on the road, great fuel economy, heaps of leg room inside and space in general, lots of extra features included, such as sat nav, reverse camera, usb / memory card option for own music, cruise control, led driving lights. Great value car!

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Kristy

KristyTamworth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little Car

published

Great little car, handles well easy to park esp with reversing camera, no noise, amaizing on fuel. Easy use setup, with sat nav, cruise control, bluetooth conectivity, hands free and apple play. The Baleno is a great little family car. Excellent on fuel, $35-40 will give a full tank and can get great millage.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Don5

Don5Melbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Above Average

published

Have been driving the new Suzuki Baleno for the past 15 months. It's good value for money with cruise control, reverse camera, Apple Play, Good Handling and Minimum Noise. Although it may look small but it has good leg room and high top. About $35 dollars of petrol gives me about 500kms. Good Buy!!!

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Peter B

Peter BPeel, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 16 likes

Good runaround

published
BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017
2 comments
Peter B
Peter B

Had 10.000 km service. no probs at all.Capped price $175.00

Peter B
Peter B

Questions & Answers

bart

bartasked

Baleno EW (2016-2021)

thinking about buying a baleno gl dose anyone know is the timing a belt or chain and if a chain dose it still have a replace after x amount of kms

1 answer
Cheryl S.
Cheryl S.

Yes it is in the service manual. Cant remember what kms it needs changing but it definately does

Hakheng C.

Hakheng C.asked

Baleno EW (2016-2021)

Can we use Suzuki Baleno 2020 to do UBer?

2 answers
Cheryl S.
Cheryl S.

You can use any car for uber as long as it is roadworthy and and within a certain age.

LDB
LDB

For a smaller car it’s got pretty good room in the rear seat, so don’t see why you couldn’t use it for Uber

Marie

Marieasked

Baleno EW (2016-2021)

I bought my Suzuki Baleno in January 2020. After one week someone hit me in the back. It went for repair for 3 weeks. When I got it back, 2 weeks later, I went to buy petrol, I couldn't open my petrol cap. Apparently when the wire that connect to cap to the lever on the floor was loose. Life went on. I just find the car is a bit gutless up a hill. I've even put it in overdrive, the car slows down even more. I'm being over taken at the lights and up a hill. Not very happy with the Baleno.

1 answer
LDB
LDB

Hi Marie, sorry to hear someone hit you. The petrol cap problem would seem to be a repair issue after the accident. Speak to the repairer. The accident shouldn’t have affected the cars performance, I got my Baleno in November and can’t fault it’s performance, I drive up and down the Blue Mountains daily, so big, long hills. Yes I too get overtaken, but usually by someone doing well over the speed limit. If you feel the car is not performing right, speak with your dealer.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 4 Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2021)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $21,990$15,990$16,990$15,600
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy16" Alloy
Fuel Consumption5.2 L/100km5.4 L/100km5.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 37 L37 L37 L37 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power82kW @ 5500rpm68kW @ 6000rpm68kW @ 6000rpm68kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque160Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureIndiaIndiaIndiaIndia
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016
Compare all 4 Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2021)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.