??!
9 photos
Suzuki Baleno EW

Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2019)

Also referred to as: Suzuki Baleno EW 2018 and Suzuki Baleno EW 2020. GLX Turbo, GL, GLX
3.9 from 10 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1

glen

glenSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

More Room Then Most Cars

published

This little car will absolutely amaze anyone that gets into it. The legroom both front and back is huge and the boot is huge too. It has sat nav, rear camera, bluetooth, it can also read text messages out to you so you don't even have to look at your mobile phone when driving. The air con is cold and it really is a pleasure to drive. My wife just loves driving it and always gets people asking her about it. It even has day time running LED lights and auto headlights. The blue paint just dazzles in the sunlight. Its no pocket rocket as its only a 1.4 litre engine but certainly powerful enough for a full load of people, and very comfortable seats. Its cheap to run and even servicing is under $300.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Joe

JoeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Axle problem. Buyers beware

published

While I like most things about this little car, the rear axle is giving me a great deal of grief.
Rear tyres need to be replaced at around 18000kms due to excessive wear. Independent testing revealed a 15mm toe. Suzuki, however, claim that it is only 4mm and therefore ‘within specifications ‘.
Who would you believe?

Purchased in April 2018.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ayla H

Ayla HLiverpool

  • 5 reviews

I love it

published

Perfect car. It fits my pram and my car seat and still enough room for more people. It’s nice and smooth I have the 2018 version and it’s a perfect mum car. I would recommend this to all mums who need a good spacey car to fit their bubs plus extra in

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
FocusFan

FocusFanSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 13 likes

Doesnt feel safe on freeway

published

Hired one of these in Tasmania for a recent business trip and was not happy with this car. At 80kph and over, the steering felt too light and the car did not have a planted feel on the road. When I was passed by trucks during highway conditions I had to grip the wheel tightly to make sure the car would stay in the direction I wanted it to go. Probably ok in city driving but definitely not a car for highway or country driving. My Ford Focus feels much more solid and safe and comfortable to drive - chalk and cheese.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Avinash

Avinash

  • 5 reviews

Good comfy car.

published

The car is the best in the range for the amount of money it costs. It has got all the features such as GPS & apple car pay. The fuel economy is great. A better pickup would have made this car a great one. Surprisingly, there is plenty of leg room.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Rusty

RustyPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Roomy cheap comfortable vehicle.

published
BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

VikiT

VikiTBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

An awesome little car with lots of surprising features and big space inside!

published

Purchased this car 3 months ago and really happy with it overall. Handles well on the road, great fuel economy, heaps of leg room inside and space in general, lots of extra features included, such as sat nav, reverse camera, usb / memory card option for own music, cruise control, led driving lights. Great value car!

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Kristy

KristyTamworth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little Car

published

Great little car, handles well easy to park esp with reversing camera, no noise, amaizing on fuel. Easy use setup, with sat nav, cruise control, bluetooth conectivity, hands free and apple play. The Baleno is a great little family car. Excellent on fuel, $35-40 will give a full tank and can get great millage.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Don5

Don5Melbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Above Average

published

Have been driving the new Suzuki Baleno for the past 15 months. It's good value for money with cruise control, reverse camera, Apple Play, Good Handling and Minimum Noise. Although it may look small but it has good leg room and high top. About $35 dollars of petrol gives me about 500kms. Good Buy!!!

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Peter B

Peter BRockingham

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good runaround

published
BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
2 comments
Peter B
Peter B

Had 10.000 km service. no probs at all.Capped price $175.00

Peter B
Peter B

Questions & Answers

Alison

Alisonasked

I have recently bought a 2019 Suzuki Baleno, GL, auto. It is going for it's 1,000 km service on Monday. I had to have sensors cleaned in the engine/transmission within 2 days of buying, it is extremely hard to get into reverse from park grinding & jerking badly as it goes into reverse, it does this 3-5 times before it will go into reverse smoothly, it goes up & down the gears while maintaining constant speed like it doesn't know what gear it wants to be in. the Speedo is out by 5 k's. The brakes rub badly when slowing up to come to a stop & when slowly creeping into a park etc. I'm extremely disappointed with this car & feel I should ask for a full refund. Should the dealer refund my money? ( I paid in full, no finance)

No answers

TheWarden

TheWardenasked

Anyone have a GL with manual trans? Just curious how it performs at hwy speeds ie how many rpm at 100kph. Thanks

No answers

Rose

Roseasked

Can’t connect iPhone using USB port. Sometimes it works straight away, most often it doesn’t even register at all, so cant even charge my phone whilst driving. I mentioned it at the last service and they said they updated the system but it hasn’t really helped. Just don’t understand why sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Bizarre. Anyone else had this problem?

1 answer
glen
glen

Contact your Suzuki dealer, they can fix it if it’s still under warranty


Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.