??!
9 photos
Suzuki Baleno EW

Suzuki Baleno EW (2016-2019)

Also referred to as: Suzuki Baleno EW 2018 and Suzuki Baleno EW 2020. GLX Turbo (2016-2019), GL (2016-2019) and GLX (2016-2019)
3.9 from 10 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


More Room Then Most Cars

This little car will absolutely amaze anyone that gets into it. The legroom both front and back is huge and the boot is huge too. It has sat nav, rear camera, bluetooth, it can also read text messages out to you so you don't even have to look at your mobile phone when driving. The air con is cold and it really is a pleasure to drive. My wife just loves driving it and always gets people asking her about it. It even has day time running LED lights and auto headlights. The blue paint just dazzles in the sunlight. Its no pocket rocket as its only a 1.4 litre engine but certainly powerful enough for a full load of people, and very comfortable seats. Its cheap to run and even servicing is under $300.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Axle problem. Buyers beware

While I like most things about this little car, the rear axle is giving me a great deal of grief.
Rear tyres need to be replaced at around 18000kms due to excessive wear. Independent testing revealed a 15mm toe. Suzuki, however, claim that it is only 4mm and therefore ‘within specifications ‘.
Who would you believe?

Purchased in April 2018.

TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

I love it

Perfect car. It fits my pram and my car seat and still enough room for more people. It’s nice and smooth I have the 2018 version and it’s a perfect mum car. I would recommend this to all mums who need a good spacey car to fit their bubs plus extra in

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Doesnt feel safe on freeway

Hired one of these in Tasmania for a recent business trip and was not happy with this car. At 80kph and over, the steering felt too light and the car did not have a planted feel on the road. When I was passed by trucks during highway conditions I had to grip the wheel tightly to make sure the car would stay in the direction I wanted it to go. Probably ok in city driving but definitely not a car for highway or country driving. My Ford Focus feels much more solid and safe and comfortable to drive - chalk and cheese.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Good comfy car.

The car is the best in the range for the amount of money it costs. It has got all the features such as GPS & apple car pay. The fuel economy is great. A better pickup would have made this car a great one. Surprisingly, there is plenty of leg room.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Roomy cheap comfortable vehicle.

still haven't driven 1000km.Nice car for wife.Plenty of room in the front and back.Basic GL model with steel wheels and wheel covers.Comfortable seats.All tech gizmos included..rev camera,apple/android auto,7 inch touchscreen and other connections,12v socket in rear,everything but AEB.Speed limilter is on steering wheel with other controls.Set it and no breaking speed limits.also on economical 1.4lt.4spd auto...in 2018.Overlooked anyway.Great value.Smooth drive reasonably quiet..Under bonnet is uncluttered.Built in India.Back end a little ordinary looking.Front almost same as Swift.5 yr 140,000km warranty.Capped price servicing..every 10000km.That is fine..i service other non warranty vehicles every 10000km.Deep cargo area.Space saver spare sucks and i forgot to upgrade.No big deal plenty of wheel/tyre's to fit are available and reasonable price.Nice dark blue colour..still extra $500 to have which is an anger-take.Was the best colour of the three.Weighs less than a tonne.Relatives have had trouble free motoring with Suzuki,hope this is no different.

January 5th 2019 Update: 15000km in.

Ok so car still runs ok but engine is constantly pinging.I always use pulp 95 even and the drivers seat constantly creaks.Issues i will take up probably before the next service.It takes nothing to dent this car but considering its light weight and what feels like.paper-thin steel guess has to be expected.So be extra careful.It is a cheap car,but really was still $16500 so not especially.Cabin room is good.The engine plastics were covered with some sort of sticky residue from new,so i am not sure what that was.Fuel economy is still great but feels like always filling up because of the small tank...but a fill doesn't cost a lot.First service the wife took in so they chose to sting her an extra $100 at Suzuki for extra totally unnecessary services on what was a capped price service...at every 10000km..Yep they still pull that crap.Even when buying,although friendly,they tried to pull a couple of fast ones.Would possibly even be enough not to return to them for servicing.Dumb move.I will take in next time.Look is an ok car and the wife likes so that's what matters.Would i buy the car again if given the chance.Probably not.I have only seen a couple on the road compared to the Swift,so it would seem Suzuki are becoming irrelevant..meaning any trade in no.matter what the km is in the toilet.Suzuki from what i gather make ok cars but i can't see us sticking with this until warranty end or past that,and that would be a first ever.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

An awesome little car with lots of surprising features and big space inside!

Purchased this car 3 months ago and really happy with it overall. Handles well on the road, great fuel economy, heaps of leg room inside and space in general, lots of extra features included, such as sat nav, reverse camera, usb / memory card option for own music, cruise control, led driving lights. Great value car!

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Great little Car

Great little car, handles well easy to park esp with reversing camera, no noise, amaizing on fuel. Easy use setup, with sat nav, cruise control, bluetooth conectivity, hands free and apple play. The Baleno is a great little family car. Excellent on fuel, $35-40 will give a full tank and can get great millage.

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Above Average

Have been driving the new Suzuki Baleno for the past 15 months. It's good value for money with cruise control, reverse camera, Apple Play, Good Handling and Minimum Noise. Although it may look small but it has good leg room and high top. About $35 dollars of petrol gives me about 500kms. Good Buy!!!

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Good runaround

Purchased a 2017 built base model 1.4 auto 6/17. So far so good. It is not the quickest car on the block but it is more than sufficient as a roomy comfortable as an economical hatchback. I was surprised just how big it is in comparison to other cars in the price range. $16990 drive away with 5 Years warranty as an end of financial year bonus. Built quality seems good, nothing has broken or fallen off. This is an honest neat car with standard SAT NAV Apple car play, cruise control, led driving lights ect ect. I looked at all of the available cars and in my opinion the Baleno came out tops. The auto box is a 4 speed but it is not CVT. I believe that this will be more reliable in the future. More expensive but more reliable. These Suzuki are made in India Suzuki are the top selling car on that country and if they can handle the roads there Aus should be no problem. At 3000kms no probs. We will see how it goes but so far I am a very happy owner

BadgeGL
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
2 comments
Had 10.000 km service. no probs at all.Capped price $175.00Just had 20,000 km service fixed price $175.00. No problems at all. This car is comfortable, well specified easy to drive, nippy and for an inexpensive economical day to day runabout it is truly excellent. Not surprising that Suzuki has been announced as the "most satisfied customer" brand on the market. Well done Suzuki. My daughter has a Swift and she just loves it.

Questions & Answers

How do i fix front driver's seat -started to creak when I move in it. Seat back noise is near air bag. Was fine until car came back from its second service. Very annoying spoiling a great car. Is this a warranty issue as car only just over 2 years old? Baleno 1 litre sz4 boosterjet. 2017 model UK.
1 answer
You yourself do nothing.It is a warranty issue.to me anyway.Can't say any car i have owned has done this..My wife's car doing the same.i will politely take up with them at second service.

Details

Suzuki Baleno EW GLX Turbo (2016-2019)Suzuki Baleno EW GL Manual (2016-2019)Suzuki Baleno EW GL Automatic (2016-2019)Suzuki Baleno EW GLX (2016-2019)
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $21,990$15,990$16,990$15,600
TransmissionAutomaticManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy16" Alloy
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption5.2 L/100km5.4 L/100km5.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 37 L37 L37 L37 L
Engine3 Cylinder 1.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power82kW @ 5500rpm68kW @ 6000rpm68kW @ 6000rpm68kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque160Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm130Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureIndiaIndiaIndiaIndia
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Active Head Restraints
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016Jan 2016

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.