1 photo
Suzuki DR-Z400E

Suzuki DR-Z400E

4.6 from 29 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Enduro Bikes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Suzuki? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.6
29 reviews
    Previous
    Next
    Matt
    MattAU
    • 7 reviews
    • 1 like

    The bike that does all. :) 2007 Modal

    published

    What a fun bike. :)
    Take it offoad, beach, Mud, to work, around town. No worries.
    Starts first time,all the time. :) My 2006 KLX250 took a little bit of effect to start on cold starts. Drz justs goes.

    I bought aftermarket seat (seat concepts) as i do a bit of highway too. Changed gearing to 15/47 to 15/44 and love it. The stock gearing if fine, but sits better on highway with 44t rear. I also added lightbar, rad guards..etc

    Bought it with 5,000kms, now has 12,000kms. :) No issues, just servicing..etc

    Still own it, and love it. :)

    Date PurchasedApr 2015

    Great all round bike will take any thing you throw at it very reliable

    published

    Great bike with a few upgrades bigger tank bash plate radiator guards case savers 43 tooth rear sprocket for road use
    Just did a 2500km ride through sand and rocky and main highway two Drz 400E one brand new and a 2007 model started from Wentworth NSW as far as QLD Innamincka back down through Broken hill and back to Wentworth over nine days two bikes unsupported and packed with tents swags tank bags rear racks panniers the bikes went through 35-38 degree days hot and dusty conditions handled sand riding and rocky surfaces we covered 600 km in one day with out any problems great reliable bikes good value go any where with some modification's

    Date PurchasedAug 2017

    Other Enduro Bikes

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Phillip
    PhillipSydney Surrounds, NSW
    • 6 reviews
    • 3 likes
    • Verified

    A bike with great potential, comes great as-is

    published
    Date PurchasedAug 2017
    Enduro Bikes

    Find out how Suzuki DR-Z400E compares to other Enduro Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    David Clift
    David CliftAdelaide S. A.

    Only problem for me is a hard seat.

    published

    I've had the bike just over a year with no problems, the only problem I can say is the seat is a bit narrow and I get numb nuts after a ride, but really it's a nice bike. The only thing that I had to do was put a 1 tooth bigger sprocket on the front that has stopped it revving too hard at 60 kms.

    Date PurchasedApr 2016
    Gary C
    Gary C
    • 6 reviews
    • 11 likes

    Great bike

    published

    I know they're not KTMs or any of the sought after European style bike, but they're great fun, inexpensive & very reliable.
    The rear suspension probably lets it down if it had to nit-pick, but it's easily rectified.
    Looking forward to doing some bush trips in the Flinders Ranges & beyond.

    Date PurchasedMar 2017
    Steve . Plumber
    Steve . Plumber
    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Loving my Drz

    published
    Date PurchasedFeb 2017
    Bungle
    Bungle
    • 24 reviews
    • 47 likes

    Great compromise between highly strung and low maintenance

    published

    Great bike as per other reviews. A decent yet low maintenance (but slightly heavy) enduro bike. Just make sure you get the suspension properly sorted to suit your weight. Standard settings are for a 73kg rider and way too soft for most riders. Lots of aftermarket parts to customise and it has been in production for 17 years and counting. Post 2005 have had the bugs ironed out.

    Date PurchasedFeb 2016
    Bobby Downing
    Bobby Downing
    • 24 reviews
    • 33 likes

    Bulletproof Bush Pig

    published

    Other Enduro Bikes

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Geoff B
    Geoff BCanberra
    • 6 reviews
    • 6 likes

    Great all round bike with modifications

    published
    Enduro Bikes

    Find out how Suzuki DR-Z400E compares to other Enduro Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Tim
    TimCentral West, NSW
    • 13 reviews
    • 20 likes

    Great reliable work horse

    published
    BigBertha
    BigBerthaWarana

    Great Allrounder

    published

    Great all rounder

    published

    New handlebars, bark busters,50 tooth rear sprocket, B&B bash plate, redo the front springs,remove stand switch, remove clutch switch, Radiator guards, Yosi power pipe and you,ve got a good bike. Mines great now but look at what I,ve had to do! Still not finished.

    Bullet proof

    published

    Overall excellent, highly recommend MSC damper and raiser, bash plate, bark busters, radiator guards. Suspension too soft if you are over 100kg. 15/47 gearing pretty good all round. Need to put loctite on front sprocket and primary nut under clutch casing to avoid vibrating loose. Have had, XR 650, CRF450X previously, would suggest if buying new have a close look at KLX450, also a great trail but needs aftermarket, pipe, bars, bashy and fuel tank which starts to add up given price difference, however has better gear ratios and awesome broad power right thru. DRZ is awesome if you want a great bike without tying too much coin if you are weekend warrior
    Robust, strong and low maintenance
    Gearing to low and a little bit heavy

    scoota
    scoota
    • 5 reviews
    • 8 likes

    Bulletproof, solid fun bike that will do everything

    published

    Ive had these things for the past 10 years. I only sold my first one for financial reasons and now that ive bought a second one it will never leave me. If you want a cheap, fun solid bike that you can use for EVERYTHING get one! Ive sucked water all through the motor-my fault-and you can get them going on the trail.
    Get the usual bash plate, gaurds etc and a lithium battery, new handlebars and your away. On my 2 bikes i have done 70,000km with no issues. get one
    price, usability
    handlebar position, weight, some poor quality parts, needs 6th gear, fuel injection

    Other Enduro Bikes

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)

    Excellent

    published

    I bought my 2010 model in march last year, i bought radiator guards, bashplate, acerbis headlight and taillight, renthal bars. The bike is fantastic, i looked into wr450's and since i do a lot of trail/enduro riding the maintanance would have been to frequent. The airfilter is easy to get to and the yellow looks traditional suzuki and stands out. I will only get drz400's from now on. A great bike for everything!
    Price, at least 3 grand cheaper than the 450's, makes good power, will get you anywhere, a great bike to get around town- yet can still do the dirty weekend work.
    ugly headlight, ugly rear taillight plastics, the suspension is OK but with my 90kg it can bottom out over jumps.

    peter.australia
    peter.australia

    Out of balance tyres at 100k lost my teeth.

    Enduro Bikes

    Find out how Suzuki DR-Z400E compares to other Enduro Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Questions & Answers

    mark s.
    mark s.asked

    My DRZ400E started weeping oil from head cover gasket, and I notice the frame oil tank is slightly overpressured. The head cover has 2 hoses to it. Hose A is at the middle right, goes to oil separator tank. All clear, not pinched, blows through to atmosphere. Hose B (10 on suzuki diagrams) goes to the frame oil tank. It does NOT blow though into the head cover like I expected. What is in the cover at this hose? Should it just be open?

    1 answer
    mark s.
    mark s.

    Forget all that - both hoses go straight into the head cover, no restrictions. Turns out the problem was a kinked hose from the oil separator box to atmosphere (below the bike)

    Travis_w
    Travis_wasked

    Hi, I have a 2014 drz400e which needed inner clutch cover to be replaced and now putting new one on I have noticed that the old one had a washer come away with it and I have no idea where that washer goes. Can anyone help me please? Not sure how to upload photo if even possible sorry.

    No answers
    Luke B.
    Luke B.asked

    Hi, I’ve put my after market slip on back on my 2009 Suzuki Drz 400e (non Ca.)and was hoping to find a stage 1 jet kit to suit but can’t find any references for the E model. Only s /sm. Any ideas would be appreciated.

    No answers
    See all Suzuki DR-Z400E questions

    Get an answer from our members

    Details

    CategoryEnduro Bikes
    Release dateMay 2007
    Visit official website

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.