?
? !
4 photos
Suzuki DR650SE

Suzuki DR650SE

4.3 from 43 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Impressive 644cc engine capacity

  • Good for long-distance rides

Cons

  • Expensive for a LAMS Bike

  • Seat is on the high side

Reviews

4.3

43 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Mileage 11,000 km
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    3.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Elstauncho

ElstaunchoSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Reliable, Simple, Bulletproof Dual Sport Motorcycle

published

Purchased in May 2017 for $8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steveo56

Steveo56Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 17 likes
  • Verified purchase

I have 3 bikes. My DR650 will be with me forever even though some years I don't register it

published

Purchased in April 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

If you could only own one bike........

published

The DR650 is a great bike but it needs a few mods to make it an exceptional all rounder.
1 - chuck the standard seat away (the further away the better)
2 - chuck the standard muffler away (as above)
3 - 20 litre acerbis fuel tank
4 - carb rejet with procycle jetting kit plus mods to the carb & airbox as per Full Force Racing Video. (BETTER MPG than stock set up + more power !!!!)

Sure the DR650 is a bit on the porky side and the suspension may need a bit of tweaking but it is the best adventure bike you can buy for the money - Basic & reliable with little to break when you fall off (which you will if you use it to get off the beaten track)

There is a good reason why the DR650 has legions of diehard fans.....

Purchased in February 2014.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trail Bikes

Find out how Suzuki DR650SE compares to other Trail Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Henry

HenryMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

One of the best all round bkes ever made

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love the bike.

published

I bought the bike with 5000ks on the clock. I have now done 13000k.
The bike does every thing I want it too for how I use it,which is more road than dirt. The bike sits on 100kmr without a problem.Also as I am getting older I wanted a more lighter bike with less maintenance and the DR is perfect. I service the bike myself. I still have the standard tank on it and I get about 250km between fills depending how I ride it .Only vice is the seat it’s a bit hard on the backside but a lambs wool fixes that.Recomend the bike to any one.

Date PurchasedJuly 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
steve

steveToowoomba

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

Simplicity at it's finest.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JK1190

JK1190Brisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

This bike is fantastic to ride. Purchased one earlier this year. Love that it's simple to tinker around with too. Unlike other bikes, this one is easy to make any adjustments or repairs to. This bike has been ridden both on road and off. When riding on road once it reaches about 80 kilometres per hour it starts to get a bit reckless. This I have attributed to it's dirt tyres. When off road this bike makes everything a breeze. Even beginner riders are able to test out and build skills off road without coming off. This bikes balance is fantastic considering it's height and weight.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not just a motorbike. , forget dogs being mans bestfreind, your dog will come second to one of these

published

Very great motorcycle. 1. Cheap. You can pick a used one up very cheap.
2. Build any bike. They are a platform for a great adventure tourer, daily commute, heavy dirtbike, supermotard, tractor to tow a plough.
3. Lots and lots of ome and aftermarket parts and accessories.
4. Loves to wheelie.
5. Bulletproof

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Awesome bike. So good I bought two.

published

I bought an 04 model and thrashed it unmercifully for 5 years. I still have it and it goes great. I crashed and drowned it but it always came back for more. I bought another 2012 model and put 40'000 km on it in 3 years. Solid, dependable and tough. I will buy another when I wear this one out. There is a great range of aftermarket accessories available for them. If they fix the neutral sender unit issue and make the seat more comfortable it would be nearly perfect.

Date PurchasedSept 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trail Bikes

Find out how Suzuki DR650SE compares to other Trail Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

dr650se

published

used a courier bike 95,oookm no problem at all, great on fuel, long power range through gears, comfortable seat, front shockers alittle small , great all round bike , oil cooled and no water or radiator was a bonus less trouble, use the clutch and dont break gears dude and ride properly. couldnt say more about it. love to own another one .

Date PurchasedJan 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pasty

PastyHobart

  • 9 reviews
  • 14 likes

Suzuki DR opens many doors

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarge18

Sarge18Hobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews
  • 23 likes
  • Verified purchase

Simply the best.

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cruising49

Cruising49Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ready for Adventure

published

What a versatile motorcycle. Have recently purchased a brand new 2015 DR650SE with the free Enduro pack that Suzuki presently has on offer. I have also had the optional lowering kit fitted to make it more user friendly for all our family. Quite a light bike for a 650cc which makes it easy to ride as a commuter and still very happy to cruise at the legal speed limit on open roads. Changes in the future - perhaps the seat which is a little hard and also a larger tank for longer trips out west. This bike is a keeper!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steveo56

Steveo56Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 17 likes

this is the only motor cycle I've ever had that I'll buy again if it gets destroyed.

published
2 comments
Steveo56
Steveo56

I forgot - it also has a B&B bash plate, B&B frame guards (where my boots would otherwise hit) and an Acerbis 21 litre tank. 400 kilometre fuel range is a safe minimum - 450 if necessary

Steveo56
Steveo56
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

So good i bought a second one

published

Bought my first dr 650 new in 2012 love it so much i talked the wife into getting her bike licence now have a 2014 with all the specs love these bikes

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trail Bikes

Find out how Suzuki DR650SE compares to other Trail Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
author57

author57Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 18 likes

Best bang for buck on the market

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hillbilly

HillbillyAdelaide

18 month review

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
blair

blairWollongong

Jetting with FMF powercore slip-on muffler

published

I recently purchased a 2012 DR650SE & was wondering if anyone out there can tell me how to set my carburettor for a FMF powercore 4 slip-on. I couldn't believe the weight difference & the power is phenomenal compared to stock. Its running slightly rich & if anyone could help it would be much appreciated.
PS if your looking for one of the funnest most reliable bikes don't look any further than the DR650SE...
Happy riding people.
Reliable, good price, easy to maintain & such a fun bike on & off road
Suspension & stock muffler

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
wookie1

wookie1AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent

published
2 comments
DR650 Rider
DR650 Rider

I changed the rear sproket to a 45 tooth the stock 42 is the cause of this issue

Mcfear
Mcfear

You can stand them up without clutching up to 70km/h, I have the 06 2nd gear between 50-70 so yes revving a bit but let off and then twist on strait away and lean backwards up she comes

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

DR 650 09 MODEL A WINNER

published
1 comment
Steveo56
Steveo56
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Suzuki DR650SE reviews

Questions & Answers

old FT

old FTasked

Can you fit a v storm 650 xt seat to a DR 650 se

2 answers
Henry
Henry

No.

Steve C.
Steve C.

not one similarity between those bikes. May as well try a seat from a Harley

Hilux1369

Hilux1369asked

Hi what type of oil do I use in my DR650SE 2010 mod?

3 answers
Henry
Henry

I use Penrite HPR Diesel 15 15W/50 Semi Synth in all my bikes. The 10L drums are often on special at Supercheap too.

steve
steve

Depends on the climate/riding conditions and what sort of money you want to spend on oil. Check out manufacturer JASO or API oil spec for your bike and try googling the dr650.zenseeker webpage for a wealth of informative info. I have got nearly 50 thousand on mine and have had no problems using Motul 5100 and Penrite MC 4stroke 10W40 ester based oils. Have also used Penrite MC 10W40 full synthetic in it when it comes on special and roughly 5000km between oil changes.
DON'T use ordinary car engine oils with friction modifiers in them as they can cause havoc with the wet clutch in the DR and you should have no problems.

Gulf western syn-x 3000, 10w40 semi synthetic works fine in a dr650 , or any wet clutch motorcycle , there are no friction modifiers in it , and you can pick it up on special for as low as $15.00 for 5 lts .

Dude

Dudeasked

Can I be a little over the high mark on oil inspection window?

1 answer
scott
scott

I personally wouldn't go over the high mark. But remember to have the bike perfectly straight to read it correctly. If it's only over by 1 or 2 mm, then it won't matter. But 5 or more mm over could cause issues with power and seals. Eventually causing leaks and oil burn. It will also create more fuel consumption as engine works harder in a higher than recommended level of oil. The same reason oil viscosity should be a manufacturer specifications.
So remember that it's actually ok to have a engine at halfway fill level. But check the oil 10 minutes after a ride. As need to know warm levels. Usually it's similar to cold but not always.
My DR650 was always at 3/4 or just below full line. I would lean it up against a wall to point it was about to fall off the wall.
Also I always added moreys or similar oil stabilizer. 25%. Supposed to help prevent wear on cold starts but I used it because hot weather here is over 40 Celsius.
Another great addition is to get oil temp gauge or temp gauge to the engine block. I was amazed at times how hot it seemed to get. Especially on 40 plus days with just air cooled engine! !
I loved the dr650. But sold it for more light weight bike because had too many river crossings by myself and picking it up was just getting too hard

See all Suzuki DR650SE questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Engine

The Suzuki DR650SE features a fairly powerful 644cc engine capacity, which is close to the maximum number allowed by LAMS - 650cc. If you’re looking for a powerful LAMS bike with fast acceleration, this Suzuki motorcycle is likely to be an appealing option.

Price

On the flipside, the $9, 490 starting price tag for the DR650SE is considerably higher than many other LAMS bikes that are designed exclusively for on-road use. If you do choose to buy this bike, it’s probably going to be more worth it to keep it as your regular bike, even after you've progressed from your learner permit and P’s to your full license.

Points of Praise

  • The simple yet effectively built engine allows the DR650SE durability, and it endures well over long-distance trips, including in the Aussie outback
  • While the price seems expensive compared to on-road motorcycles, reviewers often cited it as cheap - compared to dirt bikes that are made solely to travel off-road.
  • This was described by reviewers as the best compromise between an on-road and off-road bike. If your riding is divided pretty evenly between urban areas and unsealed roads, this DR motorcycle is a winner.

Points to consider

  • While the seat height can be lowered by 40mm from its original position, reviewers pointed out that this still may be a little high for shorter riders.
  • Many reviewers mentioned making modifications, however you likely won’t be able to do this as a LAMS rider.
CategoryTrail Bikes and Learner Approved Bikes
Engine Capacity644cc
Release dateMay 2007

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.