??!
7 photos
Suzuki Grand Vitara JB / JT.I Prestige

Suzuki Grand Vitara JB / JT.I Prestige (2006-2011)

3.5 from 11 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Cracked engine block

Owned 2008 Prestige model for 5 years, @ 190 000 km and engine block cracked. Because of GFC in 2008 the alloy used to cast engine block is substandard and becoming well know to crack. Paid $20 000 for Grand Vitara 4-5 years ago, now being offered $500 from wreaker or $8 000 engine replacement.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2008

Perfect Car For my Needs

My Suzuki GV is the prestige model so it has all the fruit, full leather, sunroof, keyless entry and start etc. It's a great looking car, very reliable, easy to get in & out of, easy to park. It's a bit heavy on fuel for a 2.4 litre motor but I love it, so does everyone who drives it. With 140000 klms on the clock, so far it's proved to be super reliable. I use it as a 4x4 and it'll keep up with the big boys....for a lot less. I've towed a small caravan around Australia, easy as. Returned 12.8 l/100 klms overall. It's a great Car.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2009

Keep away from Suzuki and their incompetent dealer network

Westpoint Indooroopilly not consitant with servicing cost$138 for oil filter,when asked to check rattle in rear told it was toebar,charged$128 for privlage.3 days latter glow plugs failed,repaired by Bundaberg dealer and informed the rear diff bushes broken repaired under warrenty at 90000kms engine light kept coming up , booked in to Keema Mt Gravatt. Crankshaft broke on way ,informed by SUZUKI new crankshaft 2 conrods would have engine back to new,after 8 weeks the vehicle was driven home only to discover cooling system had not been filled over heating engine as temp sensor was not covered by coolant,sent back on tow truck ,next time coolant hose to back of engine came off ,no clamp installed,next time clutch failure due to hose not clamped on,next time brake failure due to pipe not correctly installed ,next time oil leak due to poorly installed oil seal and sump gasket,next time oil leaks and vechile could not be driven at100kms hr due to severe vibration,informed by SUZUKI tyres out of balance nothing wrong with vechile,next same problems and the engine block was found .to be severly cracked SUZUKI agreed to install new engine Keema was asked to make sure clutch was ok Keema was asked to trade on new vechile offered$3000 a 99%lost in 2yrs After new engine installed dpf fault, loud noise through transmission,taken to Moorooka Suzuki at request of Suzuki,wrong oil installed by Keema and clutch found to be broken should not have been reinstalled Next problems starter motor failure due to only 1 not 3 bolts installed,front drive shafts failure due to only 2 bolts installed,continuing engine faultsleading to engine failure due to inlet manifold not correctlyinstalled 100%LOSS

BadgePrestige
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2010

2007 GV Prestige

Had vehicle now for just over two years, and can't fault it. It has done over 200,000km's (petrol engine) and although it seems a little down on power for a V6, apparently this is the norm. Original parts are expensive but wreckers in Melbourne have the occasional GV through their workshop.

Use of vehicle is solely for personal use. Depending on the week on how often the vehicle gets used.

Haven't had serviced since I had the rocker cover gaskets replaced. Hasn't clocked up the necessary kilometres.

Purchased in May 2016 at Major Car Sales.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

best little suv i every had.

drise well.as a big person 186 140k i was very comfy in it. is ex of road cept up with the big suv if not better. ex in snow slush and mud. interior was ok little bit too plastic but the v6 auto made up for that hands down. not too bad on fuel trips 9l/100k town 12l/100k 2tonne towing is very nice too did it well.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2010

cracked engine block at 90 000 not able to be fixed or replaced poor

so i owned a prestige from new at 90 000 it overheated due to a faulty radiator cap and i stopped straight away, the engine was stuffed. cracked block. same crack same place as a number of other engines no warranty. no car. never buy one. the car drove ok, not great but it was ok. the engine power was a bit under what it needed to be.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2008

French Diesel Engine

The Diesel Grand Vitara has a lot going for it conceptually. Good size, comfortable, capable off road but an unfortunate non Japanese choice in engines. I have had injector, and drive problems costing several thousands. While it's running gear is off road capable I wouldn't venture far from help mechanically with this poor choice of diesel motor by Suzuki.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionManual
1 comment
Me again retracting my criticism of the Renault Diesel injectors. I foolishly filled up with petrol not diesel. The injector engine warning worked well. Sorry Suzuki.

Top Value Vehicle

Excellent value car with enough kit to do the job(s) without "electronic overload".
Constant 4WD a big plus vs "on demand" type.
Terrific performance within it's class. Fuel a little heavy at 11.0 litres/100km but acceptable for the go.
Gearbox works well but could learn from Mitsubishi (Super Select). A bit fidgety in cruise control mode.
Ride is good compromise for type, steering a little light, brakes excellent.
Rear space is adequate although a few more "cubby holes" would be good.
Reliability over 55,000k hasn't been an issue, just as well 'cos I'm underwhelmed by Suzuki's warranty attitude.
Only hassle is the confounding door security system. Guess it was for USA & RSA where it may be needed more.
Overall, I am, so far, very happy with the purchase and it compares well in value and usability to much more expensive cars I have owned.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic

Perfect vehicle

Just bought my second Grand Vitara Prestige. Bought 2006 model new which has been passed on to my son. 235000 km and still going like a gem. My son loves it! great family car. Nine years old and travelled all conditions. Air-conditioner just chucked it in, but after surviving Australia's harsh outback conditions, 47 degrees for half the year, pretty good I think.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic

2009 Suzuki Grand Vitara V6 Prestige; 3.2-litre, six-cylinder, petrol; five-speed automatic; wagon

Have owned this model for nearly 2 years , as a family that lives in regional Australia we are very happy with this SUV .The luggage space is good with the back seat fold down design is a great feature .The instrumentation is great and the best appointed we have seen.
Great instrumentation
pity no diesel model available

BadgePrestige

Comfortable, and smooth.

Purchased top of the range, Suzuki G.V. Prestige, 3.2L V6 Auto Petrol mid 2011. Currently 3 mths into a caravanning holiday travelling the West Coast. Towing a Jayco Swan fully loaded approx 1.7t.
Has had no problem towing, and comfortable at 100-110kph. So far car has done 25000, of which 10000 has been with van in tow. A little thirsty we average 8L/100km Highway/NO van, 10L/100km Town/NO van, and approx 17L/100km with van in tow. Only problem we have had is the driving lights washer/sprayer, jammed and was stuck approx 10cm out off front bumper. This was fixed under warranty.
Inexpensive around $40000, Comfortable, Quiet and Smooth.
Perhaps a little thirsty for size of car. Wouldnt want to tow much more than what we have, but saying that, tows our van easily.

BadgePrestige
1 comment
With the Jayco Swan what is the tow ball weight? Does this match up with the vehicle's specifications?

See all Suzuki Grand Vitara reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Suzuki Grand Vitara JB / JT.I Prestige (2006-2011) but you can read 70 questions about Suzuki Grand Vitara.

Details

Suzuki Grand Vitara JB / JT.I Prestige (2006-2011)
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVs
Release dateJan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2011
Compare all Suzuki Grand Vitara

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.