??!
7 photos
Suzuki Grand Vitara

Suzuki Grand Vitara (2005-2019) (page 2 of 6)

Also referred to as: Suzuki Grand Vitara 2018 and Suzuki Grand Vitara 2020. JB / JT.I, JB / JT.II
3.5 from 106 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
35
4 star
32
3 star
10
2 star
11
1 star
18

Sharon

Sharon

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2005 Grand Vitara

published

I truly love driving my Grand Vitara.. so easy to drive & park.. windows are great for view.. everyone that gets in it enjoys their ride & are very impressed with it's comfort as well
Can't think of anything I dislike about my Grand Vitara inside or out
I've had my car for 12 years & no trouble with it at all..still looks great & drives very well
I take care of my care with maintenance/services
I feed my Grand Vitara with good fuel & it certainly is very good on fuel
Fantastic car.. would definitely buy another when I can... it was affordable at the time of purchase.. Garry Crick's were great to deal with..

Badge4 cyl 4wd petrol mpfi sv/sq
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2005

Argus

ArgusSouthwest, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

2007 GV Prestige

published

Had vehicle now for just over two years, and can't fault it. It has done over 200,000km's (petrol engine) and although it seems a little down on power for a V6, apparently this is the norm. Original parts are expensive but wreckers in Melbourne have the occasional GV through their workshop.

Use of vehicle is solely for personal use. Depending on the week on how often the vehicle gets used.

Haven't had serviced since I had the rocker cover gaskets replaced. Hasn't clocked up the necessary kilometres.

Purchased in May 2016 at Major Car Sales.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
shaza

shazaHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Blue tooth Does not work

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Suzinauz

SuzinauzTasmania

  • 5 reviews

A little ripper

published

We flat tow our Suzuki Grand Vitara behind our Motorhome. She is a 2012 model & looks new. She has a practical easy-to-use transfer case. We have to tow with the reversing camera on as we cant feel her behind. Unhitched, she gets us to some great places. Never had a problem. She is a wiz in 4x4 and is economical. Recently we had a recall on the gear shaft. How thoughtful of Suzuki to think of us all. A company with integrity. Thanks Suzuki.

Purchased in August 2015 at Private .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

j pest

j pestAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

best after service and good 4x4

published

i had oil leak bue to muster seal in transmission case. i have been 4wd alot and have pumbed few times. but got fixed under warranty with good service also recall on car after finishing warranty is nice service from suziki. nice to see they are doing good after service. never had problems last 5 years. now all most 6 yaers and got recall service.

BadgeJLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2010

G Mount

G MountMELBOURNE

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

best little suv i every had.

published

drise well.as a big person 186 140k i was very comfy in it. is ex of road cept up with the big suv if not better. ex in snow slush and mud. interior was ok little bit too plastic but the v6 auto made up for that hands down. not too bad on fuel trips 9l/100k town 12l/100k 2tonne towing is very nice too did it well.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2010

Platypup

PlatypupMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Perfect for our specific purpose.

published

Purchased in March 2017 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

mjpss

mjpssTownsville

  • 5 reviews

cracked engine block at 90 000 not able to be fixed or replaced poor

published

so i owned a prestige from new at 90 000 it overheated due to a faulty radiator cap and i stopped straight away, the engine was stuffed. cracked block. same crack same place as a number of other engines no warranty. no car. never buy one. the car drove ok, not great but it was ok. the engine power was a bit under what it needed to be.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2008
Philip1

Philip1Southwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great little 3 door. A real 4x4

published
Badge3 Door Navigator
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Lisa

LisaCOFFS HARBOUR

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Awesome car.

published

We love our vitara. It's a smooth drive. We love the built in interactive display for Bluetooth, satalite navigation and access music! The seats are comfortable and we love that we can fold the back seats down, then fold them up against the front seats to create more room for adventures! We love loading our mountain bikes in the back & finding a new area to explore! This car has everything you would expect! Heaps of legroom, heaps of storage space, cruise control, radio, CD, sat Nav, Bluetooth, hands free etc. Awesome speakers to cruise to your favourite tunes!

BadgeUrban Navigator
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013

2016 Grand Vitara Sport - Absolutely love it!

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Tania

Tania

  • 8 reviews

Terrible, expensive mistake. Don't buy the diesel!!!!

published
BadgeJBMY09
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2011

Donser

Donser

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Please do not buy!

published

It's comfy, nice to drive and that's where it ends.

I'm one of those suckers that have the J24B engine (2.4L petrol). Nice little unit that's prone to head cracking between moulding ports. It's taken me 4.5 years (and way too many mechanics) to figure out why it's been wanting coolant topped up every month.

Basically I have that fault (Can I attach photo's here, I have one of a nice creamy coffee substance on the inside of my oil cap!).

I'm going to raise hell with this one, even though I have a nice new Unbreakable lined up for pick up in a few days, It's called a dump & run!

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2012

An expensive throw away car

published

Bought a 2006 with less than 180, 000 kms on it, after a month of driving, started making a knocking noise in the motor. Was told it was a timing chain and quoted $3000 to fix it. Got rid of it and bought a 2007 trecker. That's just clocked 80, 000 and now has a big end bearing on the way out. I have owned seven suzuki 4wds, five of them pre 2000, and couldn't fault them. These last two are absolute over priced rubbish.

BadgeTrekker
TransmissionManual
Jubei

JubeiPerth, WA

  • 44 reviews
  • 25 likes

perfect tough little car

published

i have the 3 door version of the grand vitara. i have 2 kids and a wife. we all manage to pack in this little beast every weekend. we actually prefer using this car, as its much more cheaper to run then our mercedes ml350 (2014). we save that car when we need to carry large items but the rest if the time we use the little vitara as it comes with capped price servicing, when u compare the servicing cost to a merc ml350 u will appreciate this.

Badge3 Door Navigator
TransmissionManual
Kay Bee

Kay BeeDarwin

French Diesel Engine

published

The Diesel Grand Vitara has a lot going for it conceptually. Good size, comfortable, capable off road but an unfortunate non Japanese choice in engines. I have had injector, and drive problems costing several thousands. While it's running gear is off road capable I wouldn't venture far from help mechanically with this poor choice of diesel motor by Suzuki.

BadgePrestige
TransmissionManual
1 comment
Kay Bee
Kay Bee

Me again retracting my criticism of the Renault Diesel injectors. I foolishly filled up with petrol not diesel. The injector engine warning worked well. Sorry Suzuki.


Matt56871354

Matt56871354South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Like a bad sequel this one is disappointing

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic

BlackPeter

BlackPeterAU

  • 2 reviews

2001 Diesel - mixed bag

published
Badge5 door diesel
TransmissionAutomatic

True Blue

True BlueNSW South Coast

  • 3 reviews

Top Value Vehicle

published
BadgePrestige
TransmissionAutomatic

best in class

published

i have a 2010 grand vitara v 6 3..2 for 6 years no problem, what you need to do it need to change oil every 5000 km and warm up your engine before you take it out, use good oil no cheap oil and your suzuki grand vitara last forever, 1 driving experience great on the snow .good traction ,the interior a bit small but ok for 5 persons the dashboard are at hand reach for everything the leg room great ,the fuel on local a bit high on highway better, the engine with a v6 so cool with the power, and so quiet when running I recommend any person wish to buy a SUV go for the V6 GRAND VITARA PETRO you will love it

BadgeJLX
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
ramjit
ramjit

Still have this Suzuki and running with no problem it’s almost 8yrs never change no major parts,I did the brakes and tire only


Page 2 of 6

Questions & Answers

Margaret C.

Margaret C.asked

how do i set up my mobile phone to my suzuki vitara

No answers

lea.ml

lea.mlasked

Hey I'm looking at buying the 2007 grand vitara, found one with 210 000 kms on the clock. Does anyone know if this car has problems after wear and tear? Should I stay away?

No answers

aydin h.

aydin h.asked

My 2012 grand vitara v6 auto just stopped on the highway at 250,000+ kms.
There no milky stuff in the engine or coolant. Im wondering if it could be alternator because its gone thru its 2nd battery in 4 months. Or Ecu??
Problem Any help please.. thanks
Aydin..

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.