2 photos
Suzuki GS500F

Suzuki GS500F

GS500F, GS500FL1 (See All)
4.5 from 18 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Sport Touring Bikes in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Suzuki

Reviews

4.5
18 reviews
5
(9)
4
(9)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Mileage 18,000 km
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Andy
AndyMelbourne
  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great first bike, also suits bigger riders

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2018 for $4,200.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John Cavar
John CavarSydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent reliable

published

Pretty well ! Great power for 500cc
Love the bike , runs well, mechanic told me excellent bike

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maverick
Maverick
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic 500 legend in its own time

published
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leon
LeonLaunceston, TAS

1990 & 2008 models

published

I had a '90 model about 20 years ago for a commuter and it did the job well. I've just bought an '08 model that was written off and turned into a track bike with a sports rear shock, braided brake lines and petal brake discs. It can't keep up with the sports bikes on the straights but it's a heap of fun in the corners and can keep the sporty bikes honest. It goes to show you how versatile the GS500 can be.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Suzuki GS500F compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
scrabharlz
scrabharlzBrisbane
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Suzuki GS500F all rounder

published

Bought this bike approx. 2 yrs ago before trading in for triumph street triple. A great bike overall nothing superb in performance though certainly quite capable. The big seller with this bike is reliability and longevity it just keeps going and going I have had quite a number of mechanics tell me first hand how good this bike/model is in terms of reliability and low maintenance. Great commuter lot of fun in the twisties and good short/medium distance (light) tourer.
an all round good bike

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Glenn07
Glenn07Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it

published

Bought this bike 6 months ago. Love it!! Pretty cheap to run. Nice big fuel tank 19-20 litres. Quite comfortable. Goes pretty good. Cheap to maintain. Fun through the hills. Good to commute on. I find myself leaving for work early so I can ride the bike, and often go to work via the hills.
Most of it
Worst thing is the front forks, a little too soft, bottom out sometimes

Glenn07
Glenn07
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Reliable, Economical, Powerful and Comfortable long distance riding. No Regrets!

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Ingoes
IngoesGippsland, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome, reliable workhorse

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GS500F Rider
GS500F RiderSydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Suzuki GS500F Great all rounder

published
Peter Ward
Peter Ward
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Suzuki GS500F compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
scrabharlz
scrabharlzQld
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Suzuki GS500F

published

Bought as brand new 2011 model. Fantastic bike in the twisty stuff obviously not a powerful as your 600cc plus sportbikes, but still great bike through mountains. 2 seperate mechanics I have spoken to, both tell me the gearboxex on them are the best around and tough as. Very easy bike to ride overall, nothing super spectacular about it, just a solid performer. Brilliant fuel economy far better than a lot of sport bikes. Other strong points - high degree of reliabilitty just keep on going. Am informed that at about 100,000 klms they will need a rebuild however can go to 130,000ks or more they will just burn a bit more oil.
reliability, fuel economy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
K8T
K8TNew South Wales, 2446
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect Learner Bike

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Excellent

published

I've got 22000km's on my GS over the last 2 years and passed my P test comfortably. It's easy to ride and suits a 100kg rider like me well. I have a gear rack and commute 64km daily and can't wait to get on each day. bike travels comfortably at 110-120 km/h with a good (not awesome) acceleration - Suzuki seriously got this bike right and haven't messed with it too much.
Inexpensive to buy, holds market value for a long time, very little to go wrong, great fun to ride and learner legal in NSW and ACT, fuel economy is terrific
Cheaper fairing which will cost a bomb if you drop it, carbie driven so it hates cold weather, little instrumentation.

mavrick
mavrick

I have just got my GS and I love it, I did my Q ride on one and was sold, I've got the F model which I think looks a bit better than the naked. When I was younger I rode 4 cylinders so there was a bit of getting used to with the twin vibration.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sport Touring Bikes

Find out how Suzuki GS500F compares to other Sport Touring Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tristo
Tristo
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SunSport1962
SunSport1962South East Queensland, QLD
  • 18 reviews
  • 23 likes

Excellent

published
Chrissyinthegong
Chrissyinthegong

has just bought one pick it up on the weekend pretty excited my step up from a 250 virago

SunSport1962
SunSport1962

So how's your GS500F going two months on from purchase?

Chrissyinthegong
Chrissyinthegong
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Bubba
Bubbaasked
GS500F

Are the 2008 gs500f fuel injected?

3 answers
Glenn07
Glenn07

no, twin carbie

scrabharlz
scrabharlz

no they are not fuel injected.

Jeremy Ross
Jeremy Ross

How many km can I get in a full tank

Thomatso
Thomatsoasked
GS500F

What does it weigh?

3 answers
scrabharlz
scrabharlz

approx 170kgs.

Ingoes
Ingoes

Nah more like 199kgs

Glenn07
Glenn07

Yeah, just under 200KG, no new tech weight saving

Wally
Wallyasked
GS500F

I have a gs500f and it has just started to get a fan like sound (hitting noise) developing in the front can anyone tell me what it is?
Cheers
Wally

4 answers
scrabharlz
scrabharlz

Have you checked the oil.... not that the Suzi should be chewing oil...but if its had a hard life...it coud be low oil or bearings going(????).

scrabharlz
scrabharlz

Have you checked the oil.... not that the Suzi should be chewing oil...but if its had a hard life...it coud be low oil or bearings going(????).

Glenn07
Glenn07

Valve clearances???

See all Suzuki GS500F questions

Get an answer from our members and Suzuki representatives

Suzuki GS500F

Details

Compare both Suzuki GS500F
Suzuki GS500F
  • Discontinued

Suzuki GS500F

4.3
(6)
Suzuki GS500FL1
  • Discontinued

Suzuki GS500FL1

No reviews yet
CategorySport Touring Bikes and Learner Approved BikesSport Touring Bikes and Learner Approved Bikes
Engine Capacity487cc487cc
Compare both Suzuki GS500F

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.