1 photo
Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power

Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power

1.2 from 70 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Door Security Products in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Swann

Pros

  • Easy to set up

  • Affordable

Cons

  • Tends to break after a short time

  • Poor quality

  • Limited battery life

Reviews

1.2
70 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (6)
  • Night Vision
    3.0 (1)
  • Motion Detection
    3.0 (1)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.8 (5)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    1.8 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Joel
Joel
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of money

published

Had 2 units fail within a couple of months of usage.. wasteful product. Bunnings shouldn't be selling these rubbish products. I thought when the first on stopped working, it would be genuine failure. But a new unit did even last lesss.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann

Crap crap

published

Does not work.First battery run out after a month.Then the unit you plug in failed after two months.I would not buy any make made by Swann as it does not last.What a waste of money.I should have look at the reviews first.I have learned by my mistake thanks to Swann

Incentivised Review No
Za P.
Za P.Canberra Central 2601, ACT

Terrible securing with base plate

published

Terrible way to secure the unit to base plate. Every time you need to charge battery this little tool to secure the screw is very fiddling and frustrating. The inside screw came out and can not fit it now.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann
Nickdeg
Nickdeg
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Just failed without warning

published

Bought the unit about a year ago. The ringer just stopped receiving signal from the button. No warning, so missed deliveries.
Have to replace it, but it won’t be Swann.

Purchased in December 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $30.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann
Door Security Products

Find out how Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
annaboo
annaboo
  • 2 reviews

Rubbish!

published

Been missing important callers for a few months. When I checked to see whether chime wasn't working it was too late. Warranty expired. This kind of rubbish should not be sold.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings.

Incentivised Review No
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann
Jack C.
Jack C.Goulburn Valley, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Good value for the price

published

I've had mine for about 2 years. Mine has two chimes that both still work but until recently not together as they used to other than this the button broke a few months after installing it but it's not uncommon because people push them to hard also I've had this happen on other door bells and the button couldn't be fixed, this one all it took was a bit of glue and I've had no problems with it since so I think they are good value for the price

Purchased in September 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for $49.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann
Chad W.
Chad W.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Easy to use/setup BUT Cheap and nasty

published

Mine failed just after 12 months, out of warranty basically. Like so many products these days, not designed to last. Would NOT recommend this product under any circumstances. I wish I read the reviews before I bought mine. These are not repairable. I think I will go back to a mechanical door bell that will last me 10+ years.

Purchased in March 2018 for $35.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
John W.
John W.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Bad door press quality

published

The door press (button) started to stick at about 6 months and has continued to do so, to the point where I had to replace the entire unit. The build quality of Swann judging by this unit is very cheap and nasty

Purchased in June 2017.

Incentivised Review No
Functionality
4/5
Ease of Installation
2/5
Connectivity / Reliability

Unreliable

published

Worked for 6 months and then failed. A change of batteries and location dfid not fix the issue. I think the issue is poor quality control.Do not buy this unit.,

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Door Security Products

Find out how Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Crap

published

Works for 1month batteries changed crap this companies products should be banned from country will make a point at Bunnings Chinese crap

Parloo
ParlooGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Worked for a while

published

Was fine until it stopped working there is no reset in the system.Does not seem to connect with the door bell ( battery is fine) Would not purchase another Swann product. Very disappointing.

Terrible

published

This product is terrible. Stopped working after 6 months. I would not buy this brand ever again. Avoid!
I paid someone to install, not getting that money back either. Terrible product.

Door Security Products

Find out how Swann Wireless Door Chime with Mains Power compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
beebeegee
beebeegeeMelbourne, Vic
  • 117 reviews
  • 101 likes

Eyes Wide Open about Prior Reviews and Happy w/It

published

Bought the model with 2 chime receivers. Easy to set up and change sounds and volumes. There are 32 chime sounds (including 1 knocking and 2 w/bells) and the remainder are chintzy sounding chimes and tunes.

My happiness is because my hearing is not the best and the two chime units are in different rooms, plus each has a fairly loud volume range. If it only lasts a year and needs to be replaced I will still be satisfied if I always hear someone at the door. Previously had Kambrook and Arlec single receiver 'bells' that were stone solid but not sufficiently loud.

Odds seem that they will go for a year or two before problems, but given the alternatives worth the chance.

Rubbish!

published

Had unit about 18months. Capacitor in plugin base unit leaked and burned out beyond economical repair. Steer clear of this rubbish it seems components get to hot. What more can i say!

Melan
MelanSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not buy

published

I have used this door bell less than 15 months.
In this period of time door button stopped working and had to fixed by myself using glues because press button was stuck in the unit . Then 2 weeks ago main ringer stopped working and then there is no way to fix.

Purchased in June 2017.

Incentivised Review No
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Za P.
Za P.asked

We got swan smart video door bell and charging it as required. To open the cover from bottom with little Alan key the screw came out. Neither it will open nor we can fit the little screw. It is hopeless to have this way to secure the bell with the plate. Do not know how to fix it now and taped it temporarily to hold it with plate. Any idea what could be done to secure it. Terrible way to secure it with difficult to handle little tools.

1 answer
Swann
Customer ServiceSwann

Hello Za
Please do contact our technical support via the chat on our website - go the the support tab click support centre and then there will be a chat button at the bottom where an agent can assist you.
Or you can call them on 1800 788 210 press option 5
Kind regards
AS
Swann Customer Service AU

Get an answer from our members and Swann representatives

Details

Features:

This product is a wireless door chime that works by placing the doorbell feature on the front door and a receiver somewhere in the house. It requires a DIY installation. There are 32 chimes to choose from, adjustable volumes, a 50m transmission range, can be mains powered, has a backlight which accompanies the chime and comes in a modern gloss finish.

Reviewers thought:

Some people thought it was a good product while it worked. Many people, however, found the product to be of brittle and bad quality and broke very easily.

CategoryDoor Security Products
RRP34.95
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.