??!
4 photos
TCL P20 Series

TCL P20 Series

60P20US (60"), 55P20US (55"), 43P20US (43"), etc...
3.0 from 40 reviews · View Statistics

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.1 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (8)
  • Sound Quality
    1.8 (8)
  • Software
    2.1 (8)
  • Picture Quality
    3.3 (8)
Previous
Next

DO NOT BUY TCL

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Tibi

TibiPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Died after not even lasting 2 years...

published

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Macky

Macky

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bad tv don't buy

published

two years old and has hard ware issues turns its self on when you turn it off starts up randomly in safe mode and Tcl Customer support over the phone really difficult to work with

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL P20 Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DavePomona

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Didn't last the warranty period.

published

If TCL got their s#*t together and build a tv that lasted 6yrs or more, they'd be the top tv brand world wide. What is disturbing is that it's major share owner is The CCP. The Chinese Communist Party. I got the 55"P20US given as a replacement for the first tv that died after only 2yrs. To whit this has also just died, 2 yrs after getting it. Good 4k uhd picture quality and features android to boot. Greatest tv at the price, only let down is its on board quality issues. Cheap for a reason.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Achtlos

AchtlosCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 46 reviews
  • 21 likes

Cheap UHD, HDR Android TV

published

You're not going to enter 4k gaming with HDR much cheaper than this tv. The HDR takes fidling to get right, the Android works well. It has a bit of frame stutter and image tearing in 4k games, but it's budget enough to overlook. The tv is extremely light, very good for wall mounting. I'd strongly recommend this over a cheap Aldi Bauhn tv.

Update: I'm willing to bet a LOT of these TV's are available second hand now.

The HDR is atrocious, about 6 months into owning this and gaming on an Xbox Series X.. I upgraded to an OLED TV.
The HDR will "Bloom" and never turn off, remaining too bright and colour definition with be destroyed.
Terrible Black to black transition. Terrible frame response.

Purchased in January 2018 at Costco ACT, Canberra for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Gusper

GusperAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Black dot

published

I have been trying to connect tcl for 12 months for a 6 month old tv with a black dot in the centre of the screen. They will not return my emails or phone calls.

Purchased in September 2018 at Appliances Online for A$575.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Ursh a.

Ursh a.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Chinese band, Chinese quality

published

After 1 year and 2 months it died. And now I have to deal with TCL customer support, not that their seems to be any. Even when it worked it was the slowest booting tv I've ever seen. My pc boots faster!

Slow boot
Broken updates
Terrible sound
Picture is decent but not amazing

Purchased in April 2018 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Jai Latte

Jai LatteGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

No qualms as yet!

published

Fantastic quality picture. Very easy to setup and use. Not the worst volume but would probably recommend attaching to speakers for that crystal clear sound every tv buff desires. All in all a very good TV for its price.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Sandeep

SandeepSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Smart FULLHD TV and value for money

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL P20 Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DeltaKilo

DeltaKiloPerth, WA

2 & half stars. A nice TV spoiled by slow boot issue

published

This is a 2017 version TV but even 2018 models seem plagued with this 'bug' that causes TV to take 40-50 secs to boot through Android start up routine.
There is a setting to 'fast boot' so TV comes on in 2-3 secs which works for some and not for others. A very bloody annoying issue that TCL still haven't resolved after a year.
For me, the TV also failed to notify of new firmware updates which I had to ring TCL to get and manually install. Sadly the last update has created new issue of random turn ons. Hopefully a full rest will fix that?

Apart from that, TV is okay but not a brand I'd be praising for others to buy until they get 'bugs' sorted out.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Chad P

Chad PHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

great tv love it

published

great smart tv, easy to use, received this model as warranty replacement for a previous tcl tv, i can say i was extremely satisfied with the support from tcl, and the prompt service, this tv has all the usual apps, play store, stan, netflix etc, good viewing angles, and good resolution, all in all very happy.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
raghumahesh50

raghumahesh50Brisbane

  • 5 reviews

Horrible service, will never buy any TCL product

published

I brought the TV 6 months back and its started lagging a lot and I reported on 16th September and today is 26 October still not resolved. they email me the details about the service provider and the phone number is not even valid. They don't even bother updating it.

don't even bother buying any TCL products. its not worth it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Regina

ReginaBendigo

  • 6 reviews

Great TV for the price.

published

Easy setup and looks great. The only issue I have, is that it doesn't have all catch up TV Channels, only one they have is 7Plus. If you're not into catch up TV, not an issue but for me would be better to have them all, phoned TCL and they advised they are working on it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
GAZZA

GAZZAUmina Beach

Very Good Product ,second TCL TV since 2013 first unit L55V7300F3DE reason for change better inter

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Ibuzz

IbuzzBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Happy

published

A nice TV and performs well takes a while to start up but it's a Real Android Smart TV so a little patience helps. Picture is great sounds OK too. Plenty of apps and plenty of storage for the apps and for downloading videos, games etc I would recommend this and it's great value for money.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how TCL P20 Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sjjjj

SjjjjMackay

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great size tv

published

Great picture quality, especially when watch Netflix/Stan ect. Tv setup is great, easy to navigate through and select whatever feature you want. Perfect size for our lounge room not to big and not to small.
Only down side I have found to the tv is it takes a long time for it to turn on.... goes through the loading screen for close to a minute.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Aristotle

AristotleCamberwell

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Lovely Picture Average Sound

published

Really amazed by the beautiful picture this produces. We get THE most alive colours and decent blacks. It is a huge improvement on the old Panasonic it replaces. I haven't figured out all the functions yet, the remote has a lot of options but watching movies is a beautiful experience. One this - the speakers are not that great so we have a sound bar set up. I think you really need this to get the most from it. Great TV.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Megan

MeganPerth

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Do NOT buy this!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
LeFreon

LeFreonmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Picture Bad Software

published

We were so excited getting this but that soon turned to confusion and I spent a lot of the first afternoon trying to sort out the menus and set up. Its not the best but we have a workable situation now. The picture however is great! I have been wanting a 4K TV for ages and it is so vibrant to watch movies on - I love that. The audio - I knew this would be average so we run it through a soundbar. The TV looks excellent in the lounge too. I hope there are updates at some point because the software needs work.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Bugzy

BugzyBundaberg

Bad tv

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Gary  G.

Gary G.asked

P20 Series

My TCL 50p20us has got a black screen with sound. Unplugging it hasn't fixed it. Typical, 1 month out of warranty even though tbere are lots of posts on this problem.

1 answer
Tibi
Tibi

Try firmware update, it didn’t work for me but best try that first. If the retailer or TCL (who are useless) refuse to help because you’re out if their 3 year warranty but you’re still in ACL stated “reasonable” 5 year period, turn to Consumer Protection and lodge a complaint for investigation. I had 3 TCL’s replacements in 3 years after jumping though all their hoops when the 3rd in died 1.5 years after being delivered. TCL and The Good Guys refused to do anything so the matter is now with Consumer Protection who have always been very helpful. GL.

heysue

heysueasked

P20 Series

Hi, Got a TCL 55P20US tv, and the screen has died, the sounds is still coming through but the screen has just gone black. Any suggestions? It was purchased from Bing Lee on 29/12/2017- would this still be in warranty???

1 answer
Ursh a.
Ursh a.

It comes with a factory 3 year warranty. So usually the place of purchase will organise the repair. You can always email TCL support.au@tcl.com with your questions

Tam B.

Tam B.asked

60P20US (60")

I have sound but no picture

1 answer
Stewart A.
Stewart A.

I can not get my lg soundbar to work on this tv , there is no sound coming out , can any one help

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 5 TCL P20 Series
TCL 43P20US (43")
  • Discontinued

TCL 43P20US (43")

2.2
(6)
TCL 50P20US (50")
  • Discontinued

TCL 50P20US (50")

3.0
(6)
TCL 55P20US (55")
  • Discontinued

TCL 55P20US (55")

3.0
(8)
TCL 60P20US (60")
  • Discontinued

TCL 60P20US (60")

3.3
(15)
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) A$849.00A$1,499.00A$1,499.00A$1,699.00
Screen Size 43"50"55"60"
Screen TypeLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCD
Type of TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TV
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Refresh Rate 100/120Hz100/120Hz100/120Hz
Number of HDMI Ports3333
Number of USB Ports2222
Wall MountableYesYesYesYes
Weight7.9 kg11.5 kg13.8 kg16 kg
Operating SystemAndroid TVAndroid TVAndroid TV
Dimensions (without stand) 563.4 x 971 x 71.9 mm653.4 x 1130.2 x 73.7 mm719.9 x 1243.6 x 73.7 mm779.8 x 1351.8 x 75.3 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 616.3 x 971 x 189.4 mm715.6 x 1130.2 x 73.7 mm778.7 x 1243.6 x 214.6 mm884.6 x 1351.8 x 243.9 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare all 5 TCL P20 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.