1 photo
Tefal Oleoclean Pro FR8040

Tefal Oleoclean Pro FR8040

MPN: FR8040
3.6 from 38 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Deep Fryers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Tefal

Pros

  • Oil filter lets you re-use oil

  • Quick heating and cooking times

  • Makes tasty food

Cons

  • Lid is too loose

  • Bulky build

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Product is used
Previous
Next
James
JamesSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 20 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified

Great Fryer Easy Clean & Prepare

published

Purchased in July 2021 at David Jones Retail Stores for $139.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Derek A.
Derek A.South East Queensland, QLD

Amazing, now I love deep frying

published

I have dabbled with deep frying before and it was always very messy. Big pots of oil were messy, the cheep Kmart deep fryer was great but messy... how do you manage used oil without making a mess, how do you filter used oil and keep it to be used again? Do you keep the oil in the fryer till next time? how do you carry a deep fryer around full of oil?

This machine fixes everything. The oil drains away into a mess proof box while it gets filtered. Now you can move the used oil around! All the parts of the machine are easy to clean and can go in the dishwasher so the machine is always perfectly clean stored in the cupboard and ready to make more fried chicken.

Purchased in February 2021 at The Good Guys for $149.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Other Deep Fryers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

My TEFAL Oleoclean Pro FR804040 Deep Fryer -

published

TEFAL Oleoclean Pro FR804040 Deep Fryer - over 6 months old. Was working fine but now It will not heat up the oil. I have tried resetting it but it still does not work.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5

Good Fryer, very bad design.

published

Purchased in October 2020 at eBay for $105.69.

Incentivised Review No
Deep Fryers

Find out how Tefal Oleoclean Pro FR8040 compares to other Deep Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dunk
DunkMurrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Big is best

published

I've been looking for a big fryer to get them meals done quicker, well my wait is over... love this product easy to use & set up. The only issue is it stands tall in bench and short person like myself might struggle to see in the window, but a little step ladder fixed that

Purchased in May 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store for $159.00.

Incentivised Review No
Oldsalt
OldsaltMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

After a few years can be dangerous

published

I bought this on 24th July 2018. On 17th Feb 2020 I noticed that a large percentage of the fine mesh filter wire in the lid was missing. I shook the lid and found that numerous bits of the mesh wire became dislodged. I was aware that wire bristles from a BBQ brush have caused serious illness after being accidentally consumed, hence I believe that the wire particles falling into the oil also has the potential to be consumed. If you have one of these, please check that the fine mesh filter is still intact and if not, don't use it. I have reported the matter to the ACCC and Tefal, neither have responded.

Purchased in July 2018 for $179.00.

Incentivised Review No
Shelley
Shelley
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Its perfect cooking

published

Big cooker with fast cooking.
Nice and tasty food comes from this cooker.
Oil draining container is excellent.
The oil filter is great you can re use the oil.
Its also easy to clean.
The cooking temperature is good as well.
I got one as a wedding present,
We have used it many times already

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Parent
Parent
  • 6 reviews

Love this fryer!!

published

I honestly love this fryer i used to have a much smaller one that was really good but i would have to keep waiting for my first batch to finish before putting a second batch because you cant fit that much in there but with this fryer its so big that once i’m done with my first batch i’m done cooking .I also love that this comes with an oil box which makes it easy to clean after frying and filters out any crumbs while also letting me reuse my oil and its so fast so i don’t have to wait forever just to eat like a couple others i’ve used

Purchased in August 2019 at Myer Online Store for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Deep Fryers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Eric C.
Eric C.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Great size home deep fryer!

published

Needed a new deep fryer due to moving into a new apartment. It is totally worthwhile paying the extra money for the auto oil drain feature. It is bulky but easy to move around and store particularly as oil is locked away safe so won’t spill.

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer Online Store for $149.00.

Incentivised Review No
Deep Fryers

Find out how Tefal Oleoclean Pro FR8040 compares to other Deep Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
csutak40
csutak40Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 20 reviews
  • 31 likes
  • Verified

It was good while it lasted, edit: still great!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
SuzP
SuzPSouth West, WA
  • 2 reviews

Sorry I wasted my money!!

published

I have been cooking oven baked chips for years & after purchasing a Tefal Deep Fryer I will continue to do so! Why did I waste my money? ? Not only on the fryer but on 3 different types of oil, every variety of potato including frozen chips. Not once did we we get a lovely crisp chip with a fluffy centre. Last night I again cooked my chips in the oven with just a light spray of oil & they were delish! Anyone out there want a deep fryer as I'm giving it away!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Other Deep Fryers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Terry J.
Terry J.Narellan Vale
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Disappointed, has 2 significant flaws

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Deep Fryers

Find out how Tefal Oleoclean Pro FR8040 compares to other Deep Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robert
RobertGlenorchy
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Excellent deep fryer Best on the market

published

Best deep fryer on the market , Should’ve bought one ages ago , Easy to clean love the oil filtration and storage system , Going to buy an extra oil box for different oil . It’s worth the price compared to the cheaper and or well known brands if you want an easy clean and oil filtration system

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Robert
Robert
Ken
KenMelbourne
  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified

Absolutely getting the fried fix fixed!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Graham Johnson
Graham JohnsonHobart, TAS
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent deep fryer

published

We recently bought a Tefal Oleoclean Pro deep fryer from The God Guys and are thrilled with ti. It filters the oil into a tank which sits in the bottom of the unit. The cooker has a timer and a digital thermostat which works well and it holds 4 litres of oil. It is not particularly cheap, but well worth it. The retail price is $279. We find that it cooks perfectly with the settings as set out in the user book which is written in any language one would wish for. Would highly recommend this unit to anyone wanting a cooker which filters the oil to keep it clean.

Graham Johnson
Graham Johnson

I had the price wrong, it should have been $179. It is still giving us excellent results. Graham Johnson.

Questions & Answers

Deleen
Deleen asked

I bought an oleoclean two weeks ago but it was burning the outside of the chips after six minutes even on 160 degrees. I brought it back to the store and got a new one, it is still doing the same thing. Can anyone advise? thanks

1 answer
Derek A.
Derek A.

Reading other reviews I got the idea that some of these machines don’t heat the oil to the right set temp. I think you should use a thermometer to test the oil temp.

Sandra
Sandraasked

I have a TEFAL Oleoclean Pro FR804040 Deep Fryer - Stainless Steel. I have pressed the reset button because it wouldnt work today. It still isn't working. What can I do?

1 answer
Margaret S.
Margaret S.

Just bought one and not heating up have pressed the reset button and still nothing

m b.
m b.asked

Appliance is not turning on
Pressed the reset button , nothing
Only second time used
And thoughts ?
Thanks

No answers
See all Tefal Oleoclean Pro FR8040 questions

Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

Details

Features

  • Holds 3.5L of oil at the maximum fill line, and a capacity of up to 1.2kg of food, namely French fries
  • Automatic oil filtration means oil is filtered to make it clean and fresh again - allowing it to be reused for the next cooking session. This means you save oil and time filling up the container again.
  • The oil box makes it easy to preserve the freshness of the oil between cooking sessions. If you know you won’t be using the deep fryer for a while, store the oil in a different container and clean the fryer.
  • The heating element reaches the high heat needed to crisp food quickly
  • All the separate parts of this deep fryer can be removed for easier and more thorough cleaning. The following parts are dishwasher safe - the removable bowl, lid, frying basket and oilbox .
  • The lid is equipped with a viewing window, which allows you to keep an eye on your food as it fries
  • The temperature for deep frying can be adjusted from 150 degrees - 190 degrees Celsius
  • A digital timer and auto shut-off feature both prevent food from overcooking
  • Constructed from a stainless steel bowl coating, a brushed stainless steel appliance housing, a metal control panel,

Points of praise

  • The Oleoclean heats up quickly and cooks a wide variety of foods quickly and evenly.
  • Reviewers generally enjoyed the taste of foods cooked in this deep fryer.
  • The generously size of the appliance allows you to cook a large quantity of foods in one go.
  • Oil stays fresh and clean thanks to the filtration system.

Pain points

  • Some reviewers found the large size of the Oleoclean too bulky, taking up too much room on their benchtop.
  • The lid only loosely fits onto the appliance, so that when you’re pouring oil from one container into the other, the lid may fall off - causing you to potentially spill oil. This can make a mess in your kitchen, and can also be dangerous if the oil is hot.
CategoryDeep Fryers
Price (RRP) $200.00
Capacity1.2 kg
Oil Capacity3.5 L
FeaturesRemovable Bowl and Viewing Window
Dishwasher Safe PartsYes
TimerYes
Power2,300 W
Dimensions 330 x 260 x 350 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 3045386366545 and 3045386366880
  • MPN: FR8040

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.