??!
3 photos
Tefal Multicook & Stir RK901

Tefal Multicook & Stir RK901

3.4 from 21 reviews

See the Best Multi Cookers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
5
3 star
9
2 star
1
1 star
2

Dom

DomSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 22 reviews
  • 17 likes

Love it! I'm a bloke who has never made Risotto in his life... now I can it's so easy!

published

We have a pretty normal family of five and with daily routine of work, school and driving the kids around the Tefal Multicook has been a real handy addition to our cookware. We ahev made risotto, soups and stir fries... we chop ingredients, throw into the machine... then set and forget... and within an hour you have a meal! We've never made risotto before and is is so easy with this machine. It's great. The Tefal does everything automatically. I don't know what more expensive devices are like, such as a Thermomix, but for the price I can highly recommend the Tefal Multicook.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
1 comment
Dom
Dom

Jo Bevan

Jo BevanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 35 reviews

It’s a versatile cooking appliance & I love it.

published
  • +1

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
Jan

JanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 17 reviews

Really complicate your cooking with a Tefal Multicook and Stir RFK901

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
See all answers
Cavitation

CavitationSydney, NSW

  • 41 reviews

Useful cooker with a few faults but many advantages too.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

Monika B.

Monika B.

  • 2 reviews

I like it

published

Purchased in March 2019 at TVSN (TV Shopping Network).

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

D.Ablett

D.AblettGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 18 reviews

Good for risotto lovers with bench space

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

Saltcastle

SaltcastleSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lots of potential

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Rice Cooking
See all answers

Zed95

Zed95South East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 9 likes

Load it up, set it and forget it

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
See all answers
Katie L

Katie LGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 9 likes

Tefal multicooker and stirrer innovation to the next level and a time saver

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
nerfherder

nerfherderPerth

  • 30 reviews
  • 1 like

Self stirring cooking is very handy!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

Gloria Tung

Gloria TungSydney, NSW

  • 17 reviews
  • 7 likes

Trial and error - not for time poor home chefs

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Rice Cooking
See all answers

dogbert

dogbertWestern Australia, 6110

  • 18 reviews
  • 18 likes

Pride of place in the kitchen

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

bubbablueberry

bubbablueberryAU

  • 14 reviews

Versatile no-fail cooking, quick easy clean-up

published
  • +1

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

Piajess

PiajessMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 35 reviews
  • 23 likes

Great if it works!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Sautéing
See all answers
bronstar1

bronstar1Gippsland, VIC

  • 35 reviews
  • 21 likes

Is this going to end up another gadget behind cupboard doors?

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers
BJ_JT

BJ_JTMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 54 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not really required but it's ok!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

JCL

JCLTasmania

  • 26 reviews
  • 1 like

It's a Rice Cooker

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Ambassador Program.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Pressure Cooking
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

DavidH9000

DavidH9000Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 26 reviews

A great idea that just misses the mark.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Sautéing
See all answers

jaya36

jaya36SA, 5169

  • 66 reviews
  • 1 like

Three stars because non stick is my no-no

published

Purchased in April 2019.


Baxtersin

BaxtersinNorthern Region, NSW

  • 23 reviews

Buy pot!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Features / Functions
Slow Cooking
Steaming
Sautéing
Rice Cooking
See all answers

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Mack

Mackasked

what is the highest temperature setting for auto stir function?

2 answers
Jan
Jan

Sorry, I cannot help. My machine is gone. The instructions were too complicated, and most times the machine did not respond, however many times I entered the sequences. I only used default settings.

Jo Bevan
Jo Bevan

Hi Mack.

The highest temperature setting for using the auto stir function is 160 using the fry/crust option.
The temperatures can be selected as follows: 100, 110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160.

Hope this was helpful for you.

If you’re interested in finding further information about the settings, temperature and recipes, you can find on the Tefal website below, options to download a PDF for the Instructions & Manual & also Recipes.

Tefal MultiCook & Stir link:
https://www.tefal.com.au/Cooking-appliances/Rice-%26-Multicookers/Multicook-%26-Stir-RK901/p/7211003472

Kind regards,
Jo.


James

Jamesasked

I have a cook4me which is fantastic, now I have a multicook and stir I am having difficulty sorting out the controls ie understanding the function panel how do I select what I want and if the stir light is on is it working or waiting for me to do so ething, what is the different result between crust fry and baking how do I set the delayed start ???? Help

2 answers
Jan
Jan

I have written a "how to complicate your cooking" review on the Multicook and Stir. I redrew a properly labelled function panel on Weetbix cardboard, because the printed instructions are ridiculously tiny and one has to flip the page constantly. It didn't help much. I think the machine takes time to react; slower than one can push the buttons. I did the sequence over and over, but really had no confidence it was working or correct. I spent hours trying to work it out. There were a couple of disaster results. In the end I just kept leaving it and hoped something would happen. I suspect some of the recipes are incomplete. At times the English translation is poor and makes no sense at all. The machine is gone now. I dreaded using it.

Jo Bevan
Jo Bevan

Q- I am having difficulty sorting out the controls ie understanding the function panel.
A: Use the instructions booklet as a guide. That’s what I did with the first couple of uses.

Q - how do I select what I want:
A: This depends on what it is that you want to cook.
What particular menu options is it that you’re having difficulty?

Q- if the stir light is on is it working or waiting for me to do something.
A: The Stir function will begin when you close the lid and press the Start button.
To cook without the Stir option, remove the stir paddle & de-press the Stir button to turn off.

Q- different result between crust fry and baking.
A: Crust/Fry function is for frying, browning meats, sautéed onions and vegetables etc. Baking is for Cakes, Bread, Roasting etc.

Q- set the delayed start.
A: This is explained in the instructions booklet.

My MultiCook & Stir review gives you an idea of what menu options I used for cooking different foods.
I also have a couple of short YouTube videos showing what options I selected to cook with. Which may be useful.
Videos:
Tefal MultiCook & Stir Chicken Coconut Curry.
Tefal MultiCook & Stir Lamb Korma.
Tefal MultiCook & Stir Chili Con Carne.

YouTube Videos Link:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4Wobu6ZJg9biOl44MQ5mng


Catherine K.

Catherine K.asked

Can this do pressure cooking

1 answer
Jo Bevan
Jo Bevan

Hi Catherine.
The MultiCook & Stir does not do pressure cooking.
Tefal do have another product which is a pressure cooker and it’s called Cook4Me.
Hope this helps.


Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.