??!
3 photos
Tefal OptiGrill Elite Range

Tefal OptiGrill Elite Range

Elite GC750, Elite XL
4.4 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

20 reviews
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Danny

DannyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Quite surprised by how well it works.,

published
Incentivised ReviewNo

Review collected in partnership with Tefal

harmo

harmoACT, 2914

  • 40 reviews
  • 73 likes

This will appeal to many but not without drawbacks.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +6Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Will_PayMore4Quality

Will_PayMore4Quality

  • 19 reviews
  • 15 likes

Ambassador review: a very excellent non-stick surface: $400 grill as a result.

published

Purchased in September 2011.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Grills

Find out how Tefal OptiGrill Elite Range compares to other Grills

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PMooney

PMooneyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not your average grill!! Love it!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +5Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Review collected in partnership with Tefal

bzerk86

bzerk86Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 39 reviews
  • 27 likes

Delightful Results Without Any Guesswork

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
Shezzie

ShezzieMid North Coast, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great Grill, no effort required & easy to clean.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sand

Sand

  • 19 reviews
  • 4 likes

Steaks to perfection

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +4Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
Jess

JessMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 37 reviews
  • 5 likes

Convenient and quick

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
Danielle

Danielle

  • 20 reviews
  • 10 likes

Convenient for people on the go!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +3Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Grills

Find out how Tefal OptiGrill Elite Range compares to other Grills

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pierre

PierreGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

A much better version of the electric hotplate with very, very good electronic control

published
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
Pumpy

PumpyCentral West, NSW

  • 27 reviews
  • 35 likes

A great way to grill food.

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
drew76

drew76Perth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 19 likes

Potentially the King of the Benchtop Grills.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Hummingbird

HummingbirdSouthwest, VIC

  • 31 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rare, Medium or Dry? A Meat and Plant-Based Road Test

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +16Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sandy S.

Sandy S.Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Nifty grilling machine

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
phoenixd

phoenixdMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 123 reviews
  • 34 likes

WOW! Convenience, great results & easy to clean

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +5Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Grills

Find out how Tefal OptiGrill Elite Range compares to other Grills

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett Moore

Brett MooreWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 23 reviews
  • 27 likes

Way above expectation

published

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
The Pied Piper

The Pied PiperPerth, WA

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

I used to think I could cook a steak... Now I know better

published

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Sue

SueMurray Region, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 26 likes

Easy to use, great results no mess Grill

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Peterg

PetergRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A very good option for those living in small space residences.

published

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
James

JamesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great Unit Medium Sized Cooks Great

published

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Questions & Answers

Andrea K

Andrea Kasked

OptiGrill Elite Range

Hi. I have just bought an OptiGrill Elite and have used it twice, both times to cook chicken breasts. The first time it cooked for 16 minutes which I thought was too long and it came out hard and dry. The second time the cooking time came up as 26 minutes! I took it out with 19 minutes to go with an internal temperature of 185 degrees F! Please help!

2 answers
Danny
Danny

A chicken breast is a pretty terrible piece of meat to cook at the best of times it really needs to be pounded out with a hammer so it's consistently thin to get a consistent temperature throughout. Because it's so lean if you try to cook it with full thickness it will almost certainly be dry and rock hard the only real solution is to cook it using a very slow methods such as smoking or other slow cook techniques.

If you do want to cook it in this grill you really need to slice it into much smaller manageable pieces.

harmo
harmo

As Danny said, the shape and thickness of a typical chicken breast will cause significant problems for the "smart" cook, which is running off the thickest part of the breast to calculate cook times. I've found that breast meat that's consistently 9-14mm (3/8" to 5/8") thick seem to have the best chance of having browned surface, while still moist in the middle on my Optigrill. So Danny's suggestion of slicing, or hammering should work.

Karl G.

Karl G.asked

OptiGrill Elite Range

There are so many Optigrill model, can someone please tell me which is the most recent and latest model?

2 answers
harmo
harmo

Hi Karl,

It's understandable to be confused. Tefal's site was completely haphazard... and not a little bit... incomplete when I was looking at it. Also, several (newer) versions of the grill are actually unavailable in Australia.

From what I've found in my online searches....

If you're happy with a smallish grill (20cm x 30cm) capable of doing a couple of sandwiches, or food for a couple of people, the Optigrill Elite GC750 is the latest model with all the bells and whistles. Which I reviewed for ProductReview. This has been the only "elite" model I've found in Australia. Despite what Tefal claims on their web site.

The "Optigrill Smart" GC730 (notice the older generation model number) is more advanced than the Elite in some ways, (smart phone/app controlled) but has been around for a bit longer. Haven't found that in Australia though.

As you go up in size, it seems the older generations of grill (usually the Optigrill+ XL) like the GC722 is "30% larger" but the technology is definitely somewhat older. Interestingly, they come in at the same $399 price tag at Big W, Harvey Norman, JB Hi-Fi, Myer, Spotlight, Harris Scarfe, Kitchen Warehouse, Appliances Online and several others.

So really, in Australia it comes down to three models:

Optigrill Elite (small, but more advanced) model GC750.
Optigrill + XL (larger, but slightly older tech) model GC722.

Both of these have a retail price of $399.

However, if you want to save a few dollars you can get the third model (a GC712), which is the same size as the Elite, but runs the older tech of the Optigrill + series. Or to put it another way, it's a low-tech Elite, or a smaller Optigrill +

I hope this helps your decision making.
Hamish.

Karl G.
Karl G.

Hi Hamish,

Thank you for taking the effort and time to reply back to my query.

Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

Details

Compare both Tefal OptiGrill Elite Range
Tefal OptiGrill Elite GC750
  • Award Winner 2021

Tefal OptiGrill Elite GC750

4.4
(20)
Tefal OptiGrill Elite XL
  • Award Winner 2021

Tefal OptiGrill Elite XL

No reviews yet
Pros
  • Compact alternative to traditional BBQ

  • Dishwasher-safe cooking plates

Cons
  • Can’t cook large quantities of food

CategoryGrillsGrills
Compare both Tefal OptiGrill Elite Range

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.