??!
1 photo
Tefal Smart Protect FV4970

Tefal Smart Protect FV4970

MPN: 36481866
3.7 from 32 reviews

See the Best Irons & Steam Generators in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
11
3 star
4
2 star
5
1 star
2

berryberet

berryberetPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews

short cord, no manual temperature option

published

The cord is so short that it can't be used without an extension lead. "Smart" rapidly became "stressful" when you can't select heat options. When it is full of water, this iron works well but is otherwise useless. Unstable on the board and fell off. Yay, now I can throw it out. Won't try Tefal again just because of the short cord... frustrating design.


Sisterliz

SisterlizGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love it

published

I can't believe that this Iron does actually set itself to the right temperature.
No sticking , irons crinkles out easily.Not too heavy.
It does every thing it is said to do.Would reccomend it to anyone who asks

Purchased in January 2019 for $86.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
Product is used: Daily
Clothing Material Cotton, Synthetics and Wool
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mrsb

MrsbSouth East Queensland, QLD

Just okay

published

Iron takes a while to heat up and tends to spit water over the clothes in the process. Iron cord is far too short, which makes ironing awkward at times. Disappointed. Not as good as my last Tefal iron, although it didn’t last past it’s warranty period. I don’t imagine this one will either..
keep your receipt!

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Kerrie T

Kerrie TTeneriffe

  • 6 reviews

Makes for light work

published

Love this lightweight, easy to use steam iron. Makes anything from linen to silk to tough cotton business shirts easy to iron without using starches. Easy to clean, heats up quickly and no scaly build up. Went with manufacturer recommendation using only filtered or distilled water. Good allrounder. Thanks for making my work easy Tefal!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

suen

suenSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best iron I've had so far

published

Seems to work well with most types of fabric except for really difficult to iron linen. Sole plate seems to resist scratching and buildup. Heats up quickly. Flashing light is useful if you forget to switch it off. I haven't had any problems so far. Automatic temperature adjustment is handy except for when you need that 'little bit more' (e.g. when sewing).

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

work well

published

The design of this iron is novel, fashionable and atmospheric appearance, easy to use, complete functions. Functionally, it has several modes to choose from, which is convenient. It heats up very quickly, it irons the clothes very nicely, and it's like a magic trick that makes the wrinkly clothes instantly smooth just like new clothes.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

HopeaeAlanev

HopeaeAlanevPennant Hills

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

great

published

I was pleased with the iron, it was a great design and comfortable to hold on to. The iron is available in a variety of fabrics, so it's perfect for home use. It's easy to iron, easy to use, and you can set the temperature you want. I have been using it for a while and have not encountered any problems at the moment. I am very satisfied.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Jerome

JeromeSILVER SANDS

  • 4 reviews

best iron you'll ever own

published

I bought this iron, after finding it on a 'best of' on line review. I haven't been disappointed it is quick and easy to iron, I particularly love the very large water tank and the the fact that it adjusts temperature automatically; so far this has worked perfectly for me

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Flynn

FlynnSmiths Creek

  • 4 reviews

Ironing is a breeze

published

I'm very pleased with it. This is a big, heavy iron with a large water reservoir. The display and controls are intuitive and easy to master. The cord is on the shorter side , but is sufficient for my needs. I was amazed at how much easier and faster ironing was with this iron vs the Sunbeam. My only complaint - it's too large to fit my existing ironing caddy. A simple fix - I'll order a larger caddy.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Kathy

KathyRozelle

  • 4 reviews

Worth what it costs

published

I would like to give a good rating for this iron, I love using it, it is gentle on my clothes and I can get all the ironing done quickly and not a wrinkle on my clothes, also does not leave the iron marks even on delicates, has various setting and temperature controls and easy to fill with water, the price is also worth for what I paid.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Sarah v Shazza

Sarah v ShazzaWoodville, South Australia

  • 5 reviews

Perfect iron, put away and take cloths out and still perfect

published

Very happy with how the tefal protect works. I've iron all my cloths hung them up away and gone to pull out my cloths and they remain perfect! The cord is a little short and its fiddle to set up but once you get going it's a real breeze and irons cloths very well

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Tetrus

Tetrusmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good iron - meets my needs well

published

For me ironing is something that happens in 3 minutes as I rush to get out the door in the morning. I just want the iron to work and work well. I honestly don't think about this much but it works perfectly and has no glaring faults. heats well, holds that heat and does the job of iriningv ery comopetentaly.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Poor water and steam control

published

Miss not having control of heat settings for delicates and there’s No way to tell that the iron is providing the heat required for other fabrics. Terrible water control... often leaks and causes havoc. Nice feature is the ‘steam’ button under the handle. Throwing this one out as it can’t be trusted... wasted my money.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Kym

KymZillmere

  • 5 reviews

Love my Tefal products!

published

I own 2 x Tefal irons and do a little ironing on the side on weekends. This one I use for delicate fabrics so I'm not guessing which setting to use. It maybe a little bulky for some people, but I find it's perfect for me. I've never had a problem with it, even after dropping it on the floor.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

I dropped this iron & it’s the best thing I did!

published

I have been using the Tegal Smart Protect for nearly a year. I iron many business shirts. I found the iron bulky, awkward & heavy to use. It did not remove creases effectively. The cord is ridiculously short & I could barely reach the end of the board. I was very concerned about dropping iron, when finally one day I did. I am glad because the $40 Kambrook iron I replaced it with, works 100% better! AND it has a grip handle, removes creases & light & easy to handle & has a longer electric cord. Brilliant.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Lucy

Lucy

  • 5 reviews

A+

published

After owning several Irons over the years, I wanted something that wasnt heavy to use but also go the job done, this Tefal Smart iron ticks all those boxes. I only use it on steam iron, but with a full tank of water it isnt heavy to use like others and gets the job done first time every time.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Meataxe

MeataxeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 11 reviews

Does the job

published

I couldn't find an iron with good all round reviews so settled with this one. Other reviews said it spat white matter onto clothes but I haven't experienced that in the 4 months I've been using it.

I kept my old iron for a while half expecting this not to do the job as well and a trusty old iron with a frayed cord but I have since thrown my back up out and only use this one.

The only negative thing I have to say about it is the cord isn't long enough so I always have to use with an extension cord.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Very Very good!

published

Bought it today after a lot of research and tested on a Cotton business shirt and a pure wool suit.

Firstly this iron doesnt hiss and spit as others mentioned, if you constantly press the steam boost a dozen times continually then an absolute minute drop comes out but the iron definitely doesnt leak.

Ironed a heavily creased shirt and came up really well, also left no shine marks on the suit. I found it really easy to use, and remember with steam irons like this if you use demineralised water instead of tap water as it will work a lot better long term.

For $90-100 AUD id recommend it. Would give it 5 stars if it were $20 cheaper but it is good value for money.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Michelle

Michelle

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Doesn’t heat up enough to iron shirts

published

This iron is very disappointing, it doesn’t heat up nearly enough to get creases out of cotton shirts, only works acceptably on very fine fabrics.
Also the cord is much too short and I need an extension cord wherever I use it.
I’ll be returning and looking for something better. For the price it was very unimpressive.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

March

March

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Just fine

published

Bought this Iron 2 months ago. Irons my husbands's shirts perfectly but it is a bit risky to iron more delicate fabrics with it. Burned one of my shirts, so I have learned to not use steam when ironing these sort of fabrics which is painful as it does not do a good job without steam.
Sometimes the water comes out of it and it makes strange noice after 10 minutes of working.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Ann J.

Ann J.asked

How to perform self timescale clean

No answers

Chooklady

Chookladyasked

Hi I cant find in the instructions what the eco and normal setting is for?

No answers

Rob

Robasked

When you first turn it on does the temperature go all the way up and then drops according to type of fabric or what?
That might be too late if I start ironing something requiring low temp.
How do you know that temp is ready to iron?
Thanks

2 answers
Maggie3029
Maggie3029

Just turn it on and you're good to go. It really is that simple. I went from a silky top to denim jeans without stopping and it was amazing. I took that chance mind you because the top had grease stains on it from cooking :( There are lots of youtube videos on it if you want to check them out. I found out that I could adjust the steam on it by watching youtube. The first time I turned it on the steam was pouring out and I had to refill it two or three times. I thought it was faulty. Then I checked out a couple of videos and found that I could adjust it and it's perfect now. I really do love this iron. I'm not sorry I bought it.

Maggie3029
Maggie3029

By the way. I noticed you asked the question on the 16th. Please don’t think I was slack and didn’t bother answering till the 20th. I have literally just received it tonight.


Get an answer from our members and Tefal representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.