??!
1 photo
Telstra Smart Modem Gen 2

Telstra Smart Modem Gen 2 (page 2 of 2)

2.7 from 29 reviews

See the Best Modems in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
5
2 star
4
1 star
11

Chris

Chris

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very Stable VDSL2 Modem and Router

published

I have being using the Telstra 2nd Generation FTTN Modem VDSL2 Router for 8 Months and I have been very happy with it's performance, no issues what so ever, Very Stable VDSL2 sync connection and WiFi performance

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 18 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN 50 (Unlimited)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Robert I

Robert IGunnedah

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

reasonable

published

Seems to be a rather stable modem with solid wifi. setup was easy and straight forward. most basic functions are included and work. the mobile backup mode however is slow to switch over when hard line goes down. no qos options.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

Sensational

published

Upgraded from my old Telstra AC router and it's increased my speed by 10mbps and improved range throughout my house. Telstra app is pretty handy for additional info but was plug in and setup instantly. Looks great and couldn't be happier

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN 50 (Unlimited)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
min40fc

min40fcPerth, WA

  • 53 reviews

Does its job but glitchy at times

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality

FuZe Ron

FuZe RonSydney, NSW

Telstra is such a bad internet provider

published

The internet keeps dropping out,the ISP I have is rubbish and it always takes so long to boot it up again like come on Telstra why did you let me down now I’m using mate internet

Purchased in January 2019 for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN 25 (Essential)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers

MusicMom

MusicMomKyneton

  • 3 reviews
  • 11 likes

Arcadyan is a throwback to Dialup

published

So easy to set up, Yes. Then Drop it like it's hot, the wifi signal that is. It's a downward spiral from there. Several Mobile apps only open to error messages and will not function when connected (Whatsapp was among them). It took nearly 2 mins for the household laptops to connect to wifi, which is unacceptable considering that we live in a technological age where a connection time of more than 10 seconds is considered poor. This modem also would not connect to our Home Cloud Storage rendering 8 terabytes of information/storage inaccessible. I can recommend the modem as new age looking paperweight and the box would make for a smashing diorama.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

Victor

VictorSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Working perfectly! Unbelievable signal strength! Plug n Play! 4g backup works seamlessly.

published

Upgraded to Telstra Smart Modem Gen 2 today.
. Surprisingly so easy to use with 0 setup, just plug and play.
. Tested 4g backup which works seamlessly. Will never need to worry about dropping connection from physical cable.
. Signal strength is unbelievably strong that I even removed the Wifi extender from downstairs of my house.
Feel like the wifi connection and speed consistency is much stable than my previous F@st 5355.
I think this is because that the power rated input is 12v 2.8 amp which is 40% more powerful than F@st 5355 which is 12v 2.0 amp.
Will play with it more in these days

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability

kamagloire

kamagloireSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Awful. Keeps dropping out.

published

Drop out are very frequent. They don’t always last long, but can occur every 20 seconds or so.

I thought it was only on certain devices, but no, they’re all taking turns now. The SIM works perfectly, but leave that on and Telstra will harass you, before screwing up your service.

Another manufacturer throwing out a beta product.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
ISPTelstra Broadband NBN 25 (Essential)
Functionality
Ease of Setup
Wi-Fi Range
Reliability
See all answers
AZA

AZAGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 22 reviews
  • 13 likes

Telstra ripping off customers with what they are already paid to provide a service for

published

Page 2 of 2

Questions & Answers

KKW

KKWasked

Where to plug in my landline phone cable into the Telstra Smart Modem Gen 2?

No answers

Cinzia G.

Cinzia G.asked

Bad bad bad experiences with this modem. In the space of 8 months Ive had four replacements. Now my 2.4GHz is no longer showing; only equipment on 5GHz work despite all working yesterday. Guess what? Telstra tells me theres a problem with the modem; or so they think. Sending me another one!! Has anyone else had 2.4 drop out?

No answers

CalmBird99

CalmBird99asked

Hello, i would like to know if anybody has much experience with disabling the 5GHz option of this router? Specifically in order to connect "smart" lighting products that will only work with 2.4GHz wifi. I understand this router has band steering which will combine both 2.4 and 5GHz, how can this be disabled? Has anybody successfully done this and then been able to connect smart products? Please let me know your exact process if possible!

2 answers
Treads
Treads

Login into the modem by going to 192.168.0.1 in your web browser, In the top corner enter Admin as the User, and the password by default is Telstra. Then click the wifi tab, Look under the network name and uncheck the box for band steering. Now your modem will broadcast 2 separate networks one will have 5G in the name, and the other wont.

CalmBird99
CalmBird99

Thanks for the reply Treads!


Get an answer from our members and Telstra representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.