??!
1 photo
Koala Timber Bed Base

Koala Timber Bed Base

4.7 from 288 reviews

Reviews

(244)
(28)
(6)
(6)
(4)
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (136)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (137)
  • Ease of Assembly
    5.0 (128)
Jacinta P

Jacinta PGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Bed Base is great!

published

This base is so, so easy to put together! It's sturdy and strong, and everything just fits. Doesn't creek or wobble, and coupled with the Koala Mattress, it's the comfiest bed I have ever slept on. Thank you :)

Purchased in March 2020 at Koala Mattress for $1,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Phil O.Koala

Nice sturdy basic bed frame, the flat surface is perfect for the Koala mattress

published

Bed came the next day after ordering online. Was very easy to unpack and assemble. No tools needed. Bought it with the king Koala mattress and they pair up perfectly. There's a little squeek on the right side when I'm getting out of bed, but will probably go away once it settles.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Phil O.Koala
jacqbrown68

jacqbrown68South East Queensland, QLD

Love it - colour also brightens the room

published

Easy to assemble in just a few minutes, comfy to sleep on and even the dogs keep tryign to get up there to sleep, peaceful and quiet as you move,

Purchased in February 2020 at Koala Living Online Store for $680.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for your feedback! Glad to hear you and your dogs are enjoying it :)

Beds

Find out how Koala Timber Bed Base compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Super fast!

published

Delivery is super fast, the base takes only 4 mins to put together.
The bed doesn’t creak and it is a nice neutral colour that works with most bedroom styles.
It is a low to the floor bed though, which suits me but may not suit others.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for your feedback Rosie! :)

Brendan E.

Brendan E.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Exactly what I need, and wiring routing holes are awesome for chargers these days.

published

Very very easy to assemble, no tools at all, possible with one person, although two people would have it assembled in like 1 minute. Very quiet, very stable, very sturdy.

Purchased in January 2020 at Koala Living Showrooms for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks Brendan! Glad you're enjoying it :)

Tung Dang

Tung DangSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

I like the design of this bed base but it's not good quality

published

I purchased a Koala bundle: mattress and bed base. The mattress is very good and I have reviewed it as 5 stars in other review. But the bed base is not good for sleeping because it makes loud squeak sound when hoping in or out the bed or rolling our bodies. So I have to return the bed base and keep the mattress. I appreciate helpful support from Koala which makes returning the bed base smoothly.

Purchased in February 2020 at Koala Living Online Store for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala
Michelle H.

Michelle H.Richmond-Tweed, NSW

So easy to assemble!!

published

I love the look of the bedbase. The clean lines and the timber are perfect for my bedrooom decor. I assembed it myself, but have not yet dis-assembled.
Teamed with the koala mattress, I now sleep so much better than I did on my old mattress.

Purchased in February 2020 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Easy As

published

Wow great base so easy to assemble all by myself and pull apart with no tools. Frame is solid and no creaks. Combined with Koala mattress I now sleep great

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for the great review!!!

Excellent!!!

published

Prices low
Ordering and delivery simple and stress free
Assembly easy
Looks fantastic
Wonderful design allows for books, cords etc to be hidden giving my apartment bedroom a fresh uncluttered feel.
Environmentally sound- check out the website

Purchased in January 2020 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

We are glad you love your bed base!!!

Beds

Find out how Koala Timber Bed Base compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NPG

NPGSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Found what I was looking for

published

I have been looking for a light, yet strong bed for myself. I live on my own and wanted something easy to move but strong and firm for my back problems. Koala bed is indeed a great product, does not have any chemical smell, looks great, very earthy and was so easy to unpack and assemble it, I did it myself, a woman of 60 with back problems and stairs to deal with. One thing I would love this product to have is a little bit more height, apart from that and the creaking at the beginning, which settles very rapidly, it is a very well design bed.

Purchased in December 2019 at Koala Living Online Store for $680.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for the great review, and we'll make sure to pass your suggestions along to the team!!

jbauer

jbauerGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Overpriced

published

Quite frankly I was surprised when I received this bed base. It's pretty ugly and in my opinion, extremely overpriced for how basic a finish it is. I don't get the hype, sorry...At $300 I would give this five stars.

Purchased in January 2020 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

We are so sorry to hear the bed base doesn't meet you expectations! If you would like to email us at support@koala.com, we would love to help you out.

My Wife and i Love the Koala

published

Yes we are very happy with it.
No creaking or groaning- very easy to assemble the bed frame (No tools ) fabulous.
The Mattress is very comfortable and so much room on the King.
Love going to bed at night .
AND the price is very good . A good quality product.

Purchased at Online .

1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for the great review Allan!

Xavier

XavierPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent, easy to put together, sturdy

published

Got the mattress, loved it, and the bed base is just as good. It's sturdy, really easy to put together (literally 5 minutes, and not tools required!), and high quality. Cannot recommend it enough for people also buying the mattress.

Purchased in December 2019 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thank you for the review Xavier, we're happy to hear you love it as much as we do!

  • Verified purchase

Top brand. Worth every cent.

published

A very chic bed for modern life, the Koala bed base is super easy to assemble (think giant lego) and is the right base for every kind of mattress and every situation. The Koala team are a joy to work with too.

Purchased in January 2020 for $720.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for the review Charlotte :D

Item is awesome. Great height and easy to put together

published

To assemble it is so easy and only a short time to do it. Love it and hubby has said on lots of occasions what a great buy with the mattress and base .. mattress has reduced snoring too ... amazing

Purchased in December 2019 at Koala online for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks so much Lou & Daz!

Beds

Find out how Koala Timber Bed Base compares to other Beds

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emy Lu

Emy LuNortheast, VIC

Looks sleek! No creaks! Love my Koala!

published

The Koala bed is pure bed base genius. Super easy, fun set up (did the King solo). First nights sleep on the king Koala mattress was epic, magnificent for both myself & my husband. He said “...that was the best sleep I’ve had in my life, well done babe”. I’m stoke on our purchase too! Totally worth it. Thanks Koala!

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Great to hear you guys are enjoying it Emy!!

Caroline M

Caroline MSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Couldn’t be more perfect!

published

Unbelievably easy to put together, looks amazing & having the holes at the top of the bed to put cables through is so handy!
My old bed had a Koala mattress but on an IKEA frame with slats & it is without a doubt so much better on this bed base.
It looks so nice & so typical of Koala to make such a quality product.
Can’t recommend any more highly!

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Thanks for the review Caroline!

Janet S.

Janet S.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews

Love the Koala mattress and base. Sleeping so peacefully now!

published

Not a sound from the bed and I don’t feel a thing when there’s other movement on the bed. The base was so easy to assemble and took less than half hour. Such a comfortable bed and so glad we finally purchased one.

Purchased in December 2019 at Koala Living Online Store for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Great to hear! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review

Caseyrae12

Caseyrae12Hobart, TAS

Highly recommended!

published

The bed base was very easy to assemble with simple visual instructions. We have had the product for a week and had no trouble with creaking or discomfort. A highly recommended bed base.

Purchased in December 2019 for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Assembly
1 comment
Koala
Koala S.Koala

This is awesome to hear !!!

Alison

Alison

  • 2 reviews

This is so comfortable

published

Have been using the bed for just over a week and I must say I have had no backaches or sore legs. It wasn't to hard to put together it was harder moving the boxes they were heavy. No the bed base doesn't creak at all very and the bed is very comfortable.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Jessica I.

Jessica I.asked

I just try my bed base with my partner and is making sounds. I don’t like it is there any way to fix this .

1 answer
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Hey Jessica :)

The beds are made from Natural timber veneer, these can at times expand or contract due to extreme or sudden changes in temperature, we all retain a little extra fluids at times, to eliminate the noise you can rub a natural soap bar or some wax (Soy or beeswax candle) into the joints and this should help relive the rubbing.

If the problem persists please get back in touch and I can book an exchange of your bed base at that stage!

Sweet Dreams
Koala Dream Team

Abbey E.

Abbey E.asked

Do you have to buy the koala bed base if you are going to purchase a koala matress? I don't like the style or height of the bed base but am interested in trying a koala mattress.

2 answers
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Hey Abbey!
You definitely don't need to buy our bed base. Our mattresses use Australian sizing and so will work with any bed base that uses a same standard.
One thing to note, we recommend that if you're using a slat base the slats be no more than 7.5 cm apart.

Hi Abby I have a friend that uses a slat base with his Koala mattress and says it's great

Michaela D.

Michaela D.asked

I have purchased koala mattress and bed base 7 months ago. The mattress has begun to lose its shape and where my partner and I sleep there are dips in the mattress. The bed base is also very noisy on my side of the bed. We spoke a representative a few months back to make sure it was assembled correctly and everything was set up fine. I did swap the side horizontal side panels which helped for a short period but the middle panel creaked and now my side panel is creaky again. I am lighter then my partner and we are both under 70kg. Do you know what could be causing this? And is the mattress meant to be rotated to prevent impressions?

1 answer
Koala
Koala S.Koala

Sounds like a warranty issue, send us an email at support@koala.com and we'll sort it out :)

Get an answer from our members and Koala representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.