??!
1 photo
Tick Travel Insurance - International Top

Tick Travel Insurance - International Top

3.3 from 224 reviews

Reviews

3.3

224 reviews
5
(95)
4
(38)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(77)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (174)
  • Transparency
    3.2 (157)
  • Customer Service
    3.2 (156)
Previous
Next
Terri H.

Terri H.

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

HEADS UP: You are entitled to a partial refund and not just a credit

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
5 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Terri H.
Terri H.
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
GREGGYthenotsoGREAT

GREGGYthenotsoGREATSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

No one can beat them for sheer hide.

published
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
5 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Here we go again. It's either a robot or a brick wall.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi there, I can assure you I'm neither. If you would like me to investigate, feel free to send your policy number to me via private message. Thanks, Anna

Lynne

LynneWimmera, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic Service

published

Great value policy which was easy to purchase online. We had to make a claim which was settled within 6 weeks. Sarsha was assigned to our claim and she was very prompt with all correspondence. We have never used Tick insurance before but endeavour to use it whenever we travel in the future. Highly recommend this company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance - International Top compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tracy

TracySydney, NSW

Don't touch Tick Travel Insurance, rip offs

published

Our cruise was cancelled due to Covid19, I rang Tick to ask for a refund on a cruise that was not going to happen and was told no refund would given, absolutely disgusting, they have your money but don't care, glad I didn't have to make a claim as I doubt it would have been a very good outcome... We are regular cruisers, but will NEVER use Tick Insurance again

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Tracy
Tracy

What is a pro-rata credit? Nothing was mentioned to me about that, plus I have no plans to travel in the immediate future so not really any good to me... makes me think what I would have had to of gone through if I did need to make a claim...

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Tracy, the pro-rata credit is valid until 18th March 2022. If you like, I can send more information on this? Thanks, Anna

Rebecca L.

Rebecca L.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

One star at the moment, hoping to upgrade to five...

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
5 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Rebecca L.
Rebecca L.
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Sally

SallyHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great outcome!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Sally
Sally

I only gave 4 stars for customer service because even though most communication was via email, the couple of times I did speak to someone the communication barrier was a bit hard. They were always polite but just a little hard to understand.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Sally, thanks for the extra feedback. That's completely understandable and I will pass this feedback on to the right people. I'm glad that you were happy with the service, and we really appreciate your review! Thanks, Anna

Andre' B.

Andre' B.South East Queensland, QLD

Seemed so good ...then!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Dean S.

Dean S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Anyone Interested in joining a Class Action

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii) and South America
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Dear Dean, our complaints team will be in touch with you and AFCA to address your case. If you have anything to add to your case, you can contact our team by emailing complaints@tickinsurance.com.au. Thanks, Anna

Fiona

FionaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst Customer Service, Cannot Get Anyone to Respond to My Claim, Calls or Emails

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Fiona
Fiona

Hi Anna, the policy number is 24317277. Claim number is 120012226

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Thanks Fiona, I have passed this on to the team. If you don't hear back soon, please reach out and I will continue to follow up. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance - International Top compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Halley M.

Halley M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

No goodwill to elderly customers unable to use credit.

published

On the recommendation OF Tick, I filed a complaint regarding my grandmother's insurance ($600) for a flight that was cancelled as the credit is not usable. Have not received a reply to the Complaint, or the three emails sent since. My mother and I were even willing not to claim a credit on our insurance if it meant Gran could get a refund on hers. NO reply. Going to be making contact with ACCC and VCAT. No goodwill with this company. Very badly done. Will be sure to spread word of mouth extensively.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Senior
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Dear Halley, I'm very sorry for the delay, and that you haven't received a response yet. If you could send me your policy number via private message, I will be able to follow up on your complaint. Thanks, Anna

Halley M.
Halley M.

Anna, I have sent a private message. Regards, Halley.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Halley, unfortunately, I can't see it in the inbox. I have just sent a private message that you can reply to. Let me know if it works. Thanks, Anna

Steph

Steph

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Waiting nearly 4 months for a reply

published

My trip in April was cancelled due to covid. Submitted everything in March. Still haven't heard back despite multiple emails. Looks like I will be contacting consumer affairs. Do not go near this insurance company!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Insurance Cover ForChild
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Dear Steph, I'm very sorry for the delays you've been experiencing, and I understand your frustration. I would like to help you get an answer soon, so can you send me your policy number via private message so I can follow up for you? Thanks, Anna

HansJuergen

HansJuergenHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Covid-19 Credit Request

published

Our overseas travel was cancelled due to Covid-19. Tick Travel Insurance has offered a credit towards our next travel insurance for which we are grateful. We will definitely use this towards our next travel insurance with this company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Shan

Shan

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don’t give up!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Shan, I'm glad you were able to get a resolution. However, to clarify, each individual case is different, and so many customers would still not be eligible for a refund even when taking a case to AFCA. Thanks, Anna

Isaacs

Isaacs

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never again

published

Due to covid 19 our trip was cancelled, not by us, but by the govt.
My friends who booked with other travel insurance companies at least received a reply to their request for refunds or credit. I sent emails with the last one being on 28/3 at 9.17pm which I have yet to receive a reply. The previous ones were met with a blanket no, no refund.
We insured for 5 people over 3 policies.
NEVER AGAIN will I book with these people. It is terrible that this company has profited from peoples misfortune.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Senior
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Isaacs, I sent you a message yesterday outlining an option that may be available to you. Thanks, Anna

Great customer service, easy to claim

published

I've had Tick insurance on a few previous international trips, and never had to use it. It was easy and quick to set up each time, and was an affordable option, even when I required the most comprehensive cover.

I needed to make a claim in May 2020 due to item theft. The representative from Tick, while ensuring that they received the appropriate documents, still delivered an excellent and timely response, with the amount deposited into my account soon after.

Would recommend for future purchases.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance - International Top compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pınar Ç.

Pınar Ç.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Stay away from these thieves!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Pinar, I'm sorry about the negative experience you've had here, and that the pro rata credit was not suitable for you. If you haven't already, I would dispute the outcome of your claim by emailing complaints@tickinsurance.com.au. Thanks, Anna

Claim Denied Again - Disappointed but not surprised

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Nola, I'm sorry your claim didn't have the outcome you expected. You can lodge your complaint formally by emailing complaints@tickinsurance.com.au. Thanks, Anna

Nola G.
Nola G.
Nola G.
Nola G.
Mary Heuzenroeder

Mary HeuzenroederMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

COVID19 Interruption to world Travel

published

Purchased Tick travel insurance for international travel in August/Sept .Premium $636.47. No refund on policy because of Covid19 and travel restrictions is totally unethical. Would not recommend Tick unless they reconsider this scenario.
We are very upset.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
keith forsyth

keith forsyth

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Refund for cancelled trip

published

My trip was cancelled by the airline and they refunded the full amount to me by the airline ,as I am no longer traveling Tick offered me a credit of $87 on a policy that cost me $135 absolutely shocking, it’s just ripping people off and making a profit while doing it. I understand admin costs but really this is just robbery

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Keith, I'm sorry the credit wasn't acceptable to you, and I will pass on your feedback. Thanks, Anna

keith forsyth
keith forsyth

Usual generic reply will never use this company again , I’m glad I didn’t have to make a claim I bet they would find an excuse not to pay out

Graham

GrahamSouthwest, VIC

Totally lacking Moral Ethics, Professionalism, Compassion & Fairness.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Page 1 of 12
See all Tick Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Lou

Louasked

Tick Travel Insurance - Top

Why is it that efficient attention has been given to my claim for additional costs and non-refundable fees has not been processed since late March 2020? The questions that have come back from officers within TICK have been simplistic, indicate failure to look beyond the last communication and indicate inepitude on the part of those individuals, e.g., not looking back to the full documentation and then asking inept questions. First officer appears to have forgotten the claim. My last communication thtrough the system answering their query by anotrher was lodged approximately two weeks ago, followed up by 'phone to ensure that it had been received and that the full files were visible which they were. Took over a week for the officer supposedly acting upon it to indicate "the file had been updated". I appreciate the very high current workload these people appear incompetent, so what does that say about management Lee P

3 answers
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Lee, I'm sorry your claim isn't progressing as you would like it to, and I'd like to help. Please send me your policy number via private message and I will follow up on your behalf and get you a meaningful update on your claim. Thanks, Anna

Lou
Lou

Hi Anna. My policy number is MS/TK/305144/23408455. Claim reference 120005383/322960. If you trace the claim file through you will see the inefficiency to which I refer and the claims personnel involved. Lee Pooley [Email and Phone Number Removed]

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Lee, thanks for sending this information. I have followed up on your case with the claims team. Thanks, Anna

Anthony S.

Anthony S.asked

Tick Travel Insurance - Top

Hi Anna, took out top travel insurance on 5/9/19 for travel to Europe between 8/6/20 - 11/7/2020, Policy MS/TK305144123939609, Customer service request 359931.

We requested a pro-rata credit on our travel insurance premium of $1981.05, a huge premium,(over 75’s & pre-existing condition) we love travelling, so have to pay a high price for cover. We have Not cancelled the policy, government restrictions due to the virus prevent us from travel. May 29th email from customer service, we were advised that as a gesture of goodwill, Tick would consider a pro-rata credit with no admin or cancellation fees for all single trip policy holders who have NOT MADE A CLAIM due to the impact of Covid-19. June 1st email, refund was declined! Why is this?. We will NOT be making any claims on this policy, all our travel providers have refunded 100% of our travel costs.
Insurance must be “Fit for Purpose” under the Fair Trading Legislation, since we cannot travel, the policy is no longer “Fit for Purpose” therefore we feel we are entitled to a reasonable refund.
This is a good time to show customer support and demonstrate goodwill at these difficult times to your customers

10 answers
keith forsyth
keith forsyth

Disgraceful customer service by tick definitely will not use them again

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Anthony, I am not sure why your request for a credit was denied, but I would like to help you with this. I investigate and update you on this tomorrow. Thanks, Anna

Anthony S.
Anthony S.

Thank you Anna, hope to get a favourable reply.

Mick M

Mick Masked

Tick Travel Insurance - Top

Hello, I took out your Top Cover travel insurance well before the Covid 19 Virus. I was booked to go to Bali in June 2020 as you know the government banned overseas travel and as a result my trip was cancelled by the travel company. The travel company offered me a credit with an end date of 31st of March 2021. This may seem OK to you but the problem is that I get annual leave once a year and the month that I get my annual leave each year is June. I would really love to go to Bali during the dates of the credit offer, but if I did not show up for work my boss would sack me and I just can't afford to loose my job. I now know that you refuse to pay a refund when a credit/ voucher has been offered by the travel company even if the credit/voucher is impossible to use. So firstly what advice can you offer me regarding this issue and secondly could you tell me the section in your PDS that mentions credits/vouchers in lieu of a refund as I just can't seem to find it myself.
Regard's
Mick

7 answers
Chris W.
Chris W.

Hi Mick, I have made a similar point for a non refundable hotel room and two non refundable seperate air-tickets in Europe. My point is that we currently cannot legally accept time limited vouchers when the Australian Govt has issued an ‘Indefinite’ Travel Ban. The PDS simply requires clients to make ‘all reasonable efforts’ to avoid claim expenses by seeking refunds etc. I managed to get over 85% of our potential $30,000 claim back from providers despite it all being non refundable - they were honest and understanding in these circumstances.
Clearly it is not reasonable to accept such vouchers at this time and is also inconsistent with ACCC advice on travel providers pushing acceptance of vouchers instead of refunds. FYI this is now subject to a class action by ‘Slater & Gordon’ on airlines and travel agents insisting on the voucher option - this may well be extended to travel insurers as it is highly inappropriate and unethical given our Govt directions.
Best of luck with your claim, mine is quite straightforward but has taken over 7 weeks just to get it to management for a ‘decision’.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Mick, I'm sorry your claim experience thus far has been frustrating. Although you should accept offers of credits or refunds from travel providers, you can and should detail in your claim the reasons the credits are unreasonable, regarding your annual leave situation, and inability to travel during the dates the credits are valid. Regarding sections in the PDS that discuss this, there may be other references, but the two below references address your question:
"You must take all reasonable steps to avoid or reduce any loss which may mean that you have to make a claim under this insurance."
"You must claim from the transport company first, and provide us with written confirmation of any refunds or
rescheduling offered to you."

Thanks, Anna

Mick M
Mick M

You must take all reasonable steps to avoid or reduce any loss (read costs) to Tick Travel Insurance. How about this, I was in a multi level shopping centre in New York the centre had stairs and an elevator that led to the carpark, the stairs were not undercover and it had been raining so there was a long queue waiting for the elevator. I decided to take the stairs which were wet, I slipped and fell breaking my leg. Now of course I DON'T intend to make a claim against my Top Cover from Tick Travel Insurance for the following reasons: 1. I did not take all reasonable steps to avoid the wet stairs (when I could have taken the elevator) 2. By taking the stairs I exposed Tick Travel Insurance to a potential loss if I was to fall. Why would any sane person make a claim against any travel insurer under the above circumstances, however all is not lost, my legal team have found out that rain was not forecast on the day of my accident and that God and his legal team have a case to answer to.

Get an answer from our members and Tick Travel Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.