??!
1 photo
Tick Travel Insurance

Tick Travel Insurance (page 2 of 81)

International, Domestic
3.9 from 1,609 reviews

Reviews

3.9

1,609 reviews
5
(804)
4
(402)
3
(83)
2
(34)
1
(286)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (699)
  • Transparency
    3.6 (505)
  • Customer Service
    3.7 (606)
Previous
Next

Great customer service, easy to claim

published

I've had Tick insurance on a few previous international trips, and never had to use it. It was easy and quick to set up each time, and was an affordable option, even when I required the most comprehensive cover.

I needed to make a claim in May 2020 due to item theft. The representative from Tick, while ensuring that they received the appropriate documents, still delivered an excellent and timely response, with the amount deposited into my account soon after.

Would recommend for future purchases.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Scam Insurance

published

Do not deal with this insurance company. Even though you legally can not travel during to covid restrictions, this fraudulent company will not refund your insurance because they say it is not their fault. So the government prevents you from travelling but this fraudulent company keeps your money. They should be prosecuted for fraud and theft. Never ever use this company!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Alan-Paul, I'm sorry we weren't able to accommodate your refund request, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up with you personally about another option that you may be eligible for. Thanks, Anna

Trip cancelled due to Covid no refund

published

Family trip cancelled due to world wide pandemic, contacted tick, was informed they were going to keep my money and offer nothing in return. Do not support this vial company!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Madison, I'm sorry we weren't able to help you with a refund, but I would like to help. I have just sent you some information via private message about an option that may be available to you, and how it applies in your specific case. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dom

DomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 28 likes

Tick Travel Insurance - love your money, especially when no travel occurred

published

My claim to Tick after my trip to China was cancelled was knocked back due to the so called travel agent offering a useless credit. I responded to Tick to see if I can at least get a credit on travel insurance, which was absolutely worthless given that I have not left Australia on the 29th May 2020. They did not even respond, great service. Great ethical business when they take your money with absolutely no risk on their behalf. I would not recommend or buy insurance from them again. I am sure that if this company was also under the name of insure and go, that I had purchased policies from them also.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Dom, I'm very sorry about the delays you've experienced, and I would like to help. I would like to share with you an option that you may be eligible for. I have sent you more information about this via private message. Thanks, Anna

Pınar Ç.

Pınar Ç.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Stay away from these thieves!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Pinar, I'm sorry about the negative experience you've had here, and that the pro rata credit was not suitable for you. If you haven't already, I would dispute the outcome of your claim by emailing complaints@tickinsurance.com.au. Thanks, Anna

Claim Denied Again - Disappointed but not surprised

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Nola, I'm sorry your claim didn't have the outcome you expected. You can lodge your complaint formally by emailing complaints@tickinsurance.com.au. Thanks, Anna

Nola G.
Nola G.
Nola G.
Nola G.
Anne

AnnePerth, WA

Easy to Apply

published

Lodged a claim back in March 2020 due to Mothers Death. Was refused claim due to her having Dementia which was not the actual cause of dearth. I disputed it and still have not heard back from them 3 months later. Will not use them again

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Mary Heuzenroeder

Mary HeuzenroederMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

COVID19 Interruption to world Travel

published

Purchased Tick travel insurance for international travel in August/Sept .Premium $636.47. No refund on policy because of Covid19 and travel restrictions is totally unethical. Would not recommend Tick unless they reconsider this scenario.
We are very upset.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
keith forsyth

keith forsyth

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Refund for cancelled trip

published

My trip was cancelled by the airline and they refunded the full amount to me by the airline ,as I am no longer traveling Tick offered me a credit of $87 on a policy that cost me $135 absolutely shocking, it’s just ripping people off and making a profit while doing it. I understand admin costs but really this is just robbery

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Keith, I'm sorry the credit wasn't acceptable to you, and I will pass on your feedback. Thanks, Anna

keith forsyth
keith forsyth

Usual generic reply will never use this company again , I’m glad I didn’t have to make a claim I bet they would find an excuse not to pay out

Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Graham

GrahamSouthwest, VIC

Totally lacking Moral Ethics, Professionalism, Compassion & Fairness.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Margaret Mckeown

Margaret MckeownSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cancelled cruise

published

I bought my travel insurance in February 2020.
My cruise was cancelled for September 2020 because of the current virus so I would not need my insurance. I ask for a refund or a credit and was refused. I have used this company for many years and all my travelling companions have had their insurance refunded.
I'm so disappointed as to how they treat their loyal customers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationMiddle East and Pacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
2 comments
Margaret Mckeown
Margaret Mckeown
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Thank you for your feedback Margaret, I will be sure to pass it on. Thanks, Anna

Katherine U.

Katherine U.Illawarra, NSW

Unethical and unprofessional

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Senior
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Dom

DomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 28 likes

Find out true colours when you try to make a claim

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Be very careful

published

Took out Policy on Jan 1,2020. for a Cruise to Pacific Islands. Due to Cancellation of all cruises due to Covid-19 I applied for Cancellation & Refund of policy, noticed a clause had been added to the policy that stated no Covid-19 claims, this wasn't listed when the policy was taken out.
Reply from Tick was that "Sorry you are outside the cooling off period so they would not be refunding"
Would have been happy to be able to use a credit for another time, but NO
Will never use this company again & will not refer anyone to do so.

Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Robyn, I'm sorry that we weren't able to help you with your refund or credit request before, and I would like to help. I will follow up via private message with an option you have available to you in the form of a partial credit. Thanks, Anna

Taylor

TaylorLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

will not be using this company again!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
5 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Taylor
Taylor

We have lodged a complaint but have heard nothing. I doubt we will hear now they have taken our money.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Taylor, I am happy to follow up on your case to get you an update on your complaint. Could you please send me your policy number via private message? Please send it only via private message to protect your privacy. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worst "non-existent" customer service

published

I purchased travel insurance on 03/03/2020 with no excess. Due to COVID-19, all flights were cancelled to anywhere in the world. I tried cancelling my policy but was referred to the complaints department. I received a generic email stating they will have a response in 15 business days. After numerous phone calls and the same "we do not have a phone number for the complaints department, so we'll follow up with an email", I am still waiting for a response 38 business days later. I suggest sticking well away from Tick Travel Insurance. I question whether they actually exist.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Lorraine

LorraineGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Very poor customer service!!!!

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
7 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Lorraine, I'm very sorry about the delays you've experienced, and I would like to help. Could you please let me know what your questions are and I will do my best to help? Thanks, Anna

Lorraine
Lorraine
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

All good so far

published

Purchased 12 months travel insurance for world excluding USA with the excess removed. The policy was cheap and easy to set up. Currently, have claimed for 2 general practitioner visits. The claim procedure was simple and processed within 2 weeks. All costs including medications and blood tests were covered. So far better than any Australian private health fund at 1/3 of the cost.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Anthony

Anthony

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Policy inflexibility with COVID-19 Travel Ban

published

I was denied a refund or flexibility with my travel insurance cover as I was not able to travel due to the COVID-19 ban. I lodged my request in writing with Tick Insurance back in March and have received no response. I hesitate to use them again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Anthony, I'm sorry about the issues you are having in getting flexibility with your policy, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Profit focused only.

published

Cancelled our trip and policy due to Virus. Requested a refund but Tick chose to stick to their cancellation policies no matter what. Basically took our money and ran, not even a offer of a rain check.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Alexander, I'm sorry about the issues you are having in getting a refund, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Page 2 of 81
See all Tick Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sarah G.

Sarah G.asked

Tick Travel Insurance

I can not understand why when i purchased a policy for an overseas trip that i could not go on due to covid19. Trust me, i was ready to go but both the AUS and US govenments wouldn't let me. I handled all of my bookings, flights, hotels, tours and orgainsed refunds, even from non refundable hotels booked i got full refunds as they understood that New York was closed and there was no way on Earth i could be there. They went against their policy and refunded me in full. Yet you, a travel insurer who we use to help us make claims or get refunds etc when things happen and go wrong on our trips. Trips we have saved for, trips we have dreamt of. So when something like a world wide pandemic happens and throws everyone for 6. The companies we pay to help us, close the door and dont refund us. I didnt cancel my policy, i couldnt use it, not just the govenement but the world wouldnt let me!!! i did all the hard work, i asked for nothing from you. I did my policy online, never spoke to anyone, everything was emailed straight away, so no admin on your end, it was all computer generated, yet you think it is ok to keep all of my money, when seriously.. you've done nothing. Which feels like a kick in the face.. not slap but a when you're down lets kick you too. I couldnt not use your service, i did not cancel your policy. Yet you dont care. You'll keep it.. My policy number is 24919308. I was told via email when i requested a refund. unfortunately, this is not possible outside the 14-day cooling-off period. Seriously.. i didnt change my mind.. this isnt normal circumstances and you all know this. Your cooling off period is a crap scapegoat when it comes to this..i didnt changce my mind, none of us have. We were not allowed to travel, this was taken out of our hands completely. Nothing like this has happened before and your company is just saying too bad so sad... i was told i could go to the link to see if i could get a partial credit..Credit... you think i would use you again. OMG.. you cant even cover me from yourself let alone anything, god forbid something happened on a trip and i needed to make a claim through you. You have stolen my money. This policy is "Fit for Purpose"under fair trade. Are you above fair trade. Basically you are making up your own rules here, you know this does not fall under your 14 day cooling off crap..
Even saying, we can not refund you, but we can put your policy on hold and when you can travel again we will activate your policy and update your travel dates.. Why is this not an option.. no one loses. Happy customers and great understand company.
Finding solutions where everyone wins isnt hard. Losing customers due to scapegoat excuses.. easy.

1 answer
Halley M.
Halley M.

Hear Hear. I'm having the same problem.
I've previously gone with 1Cover and World Nomad on multiple trips and had no troubles when there were issues. Tick was one of the only companies that would insure my grandmother for all of her conditions when she wanted to travel for her grandaughter's wedding in Bali - and now we're left with $600 'credit' that she is unable to use as the wedding is cancelled and she won't be traveling anywhere again as it was to be her last trip due to her health. Badly done indeed. I contacted them through the correct channels multiple times with NO reply. But putting my review up here prompted a reply from a Tick representative (Anna, who was great - but still - shouldn't have to write crappy reviews on other sites to get them to reply to anything!)
I continue await their reply on the proper channels... !!! Good luck to you.

Lou

Louasked

Tick Travel Insurance - Top

Why is it that efficient attention has been given to my claim for additional costs and non-refundable fees has not been processed since late March 2020? The questions that have come back from officers within TICK have been simplistic, indicate failure to look beyond the last communication and indicate inepitude on the part of those individuals, e.g., not looking back to the full documentation and then asking inept questions. First officer appears to have forgotten the claim. My last communication thtrough the system answering their query by anotrher was lodged approximately two weeks ago, followed up by 'phone to ensure that it had been received and that the full files were visible which they were. Took over a week for the officer supposedly acting upon it to indicate "the file had been updated". I appreciate the very high current workload these people appear incompetent, so what does that say about management Lee P

3 answers
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Lee, I'm sorry your claim isn't progressing as you would like it to, and I'd like to help. Please send me your policy number via private message and I will follow up on your behalf and get you a meaningful update on your claim. Thanks, Anna

Lou
Lou

Hi Anna. My policy number is MS/TK/305144/23408455. Claim reference 120005383/322960. If you trace the claim file through you will see the inefficiency to which I refer and the claims personnel involved. Lee Pooley [Email and Phone Number Removed]

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Lee, thanks for sending this information. I have followed up on your case with the claims team. Thanks, Anna

Glenda Margaret

Glenda Margaretasked

Tick Travel Insurance

Our tick travel insurance policy is for travel not commencing until 28 October 2020. Nothing related to current travel restrictions but we are now unable to make this trip. We want to cancel the policy and get a refund so how do we stand? Thanks, Glenda M

1 answer
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Glenda, unfortunately, if you just want to cancel your policy for change of mind, we cannot give a refund, unless you are within the 14 day cooling off period. If you have had to cancel your trip due to unforeseen injury or illness, you may be eligible to lodge a claim, depending on when you purchased your policy, and if your policy featured cancellation before departure cover. Thanks, Anna

Get an answer from our members and Tick Travel Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.