??!
1 photo
Toyota 86 ZN6 GT

Toyota 86 ZN6 GT (2012-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota 86 ZN6 GT 2019 and Toyota 86 ZN6 GT 2021. Manual, Automatic
4.5 from 19 reviews

Reviews

4.5

19 reviews
5
(14)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
NGL

NGLGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fun to drive

published

Seriously this car is so fun to drive, very reliable, and very slick. It's a car that's an alternative to the family car I have, great to drive, and great throttle response. My only issue with the car is the setup of Bluetooth. Probably the worst setup in any car I have owned. Very difficult to initially connect, needed the manual book to do so, as to find the connection part is placed in a place that dose not make sense, making it difficult to locate. Should be easier, not sure what they were thinking.

Purchased in May 2019 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
joey k.

joey k.South East Queensland, QLD

Owned it for 5 years. Great reliable car.

published

Purchased in December 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
See all answers
testdriver

testdriverMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 32 reviews
  • 41 likes

Watch the servicing costs !

published

I really liked this car for what it was, during my 12 months of ownership. In some ways it's what the British were trying to achieve with their small sports cars a few years ago. Frankly some of the reviews here are ridiculous and are not considering what the car is. It is a sports car, 2+2, low C of G, rear wheel drive, no fancy gimmicks, not overpowered. Perfect. Well not quite. You have to drop the engine to change the spark plugs so major services are expensive. And that exhaust noise in the cabin than you can hear.... It is not exhaust, it is a manufactured noise ducted from the intake system to a location near the pedals. You can block it off of you find out about like I did. And a Subaru boxer engine :-). Overall a great package.

BadgeGT
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Sports Cars

Find out how Toyota 86 ZN6 GT compares to other Sports Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gabriel

GabrielMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great sports car

published

Don't buy this car expecting it to be a drag machine. It's very much the definition of a sports car, handles well but thats about it. It's comfortable and while the back seats aren't really 'seats' at all, can be used when you really need them to. Aftermarket parts are also extensive so you can do whatever you want to the car easily.

BadgeGT
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Ashleigh

Ashleigh

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful car, turns heads wherever you go!

published

This is a great car. Looks sleek and drives great. Definitely a head-turner. The only negative is the practicality. The boot is quite small and the back seats are not really suited to fully grown adults. But in saying that you do not buy a sports car for practicality. It is very fun to drive and has great fuel efficiency.

BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Tim W

Tim WSydney, NSW

  • 22 reviews
  • 17 likes

Love it

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Justin

JustinSydney

  • 5 reviews

Perfect Budget SportsCar

published

This car is the perfect weekend sports car, with exceptional handling and steering feel. Throttle and braking response is acceptable and overall, it is an absolute joy to drive on backroads.
As a bonus, this car looks great from the outside and has all the necessary features for interior comfort.
The space for rear passengers is minimal and only to be used on short journeys, however the seats can be folded to produce quite a large albeit narrow boot.
Fuel usage requires 98 octane but I have experienced a low consumption average of around 8L/100km.
Overall, no issues with the car and maintenance remains cheap as it is a Toyota.

BadgeGT
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Pierre

PierreAU

  • 19 reviews
  • 25 likes

For a quick little sports car to rival the mx5

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Karl S

Karl SWoocoo

Fun car to drive. Terrible customer service. Loosing coolant

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Sports Cars

Find out how Toyota 86 ZN6 GT compares to other Sports Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BayBay

BayBayCanberra

DO NOT BUY

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
madi

madisydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

my 2nd girl after first.

published

its a great car with great speed that's why got fined 3 times..lol
$420 for red light
$2430 for over speed (170 km/hr)
$380 for over speed in 60 zone.
but still I jus love my bebs even though I have been charged for so many times still cant think about any other car.
Every morning its excite me to go to my work, make me feel proud when hang around with my frens.
I enjoy every moment when m in a driving seat.

BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

AMAZING!!

published

40 dollers to fill the tank!! Its amazingly fast regardless off what people tell you!! And mines an auto!!!!! Amazing looking car, but you do feel the road more then most other cars!!
I owend a rx8 before this and the rx8 was my dream car but not anymore ;)

BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Phil B

Phil BPerth

Love My 86

published

Well, my 86 GTS is my second car. The other is a Tickford Falcon. Different cars for a different drive and I love them both but for different reasons. The 86 feels like a sports car and feels quick due to the low stance. Whilst it could do with a spare wheel, better stereo, reversing camera, etc. most of these add to the weight and would slow it down even more. If you have one of these cars just enjoy the experience. It was never meant to be a muscle car or a family runabout. I hear there are Cosworth upgrades on the way, smiling already. :)

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeGTS
AGENT ORANGE

AGENT ORANGE

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

underpowered overrated

published

a nissan 370 z ..0-100 in 5 secs...toyota 86 0-100 in 7.5 secs..thats about as quick as family sedan..really those who compare the 2 are joking...nissan 370z v6 245kws vs toyota 86 boxer 4cyl 2.0 good motor but needs turbo plus the nissan 370z just looks sexier better meaner..the fact that so much hype has gone on about this car must be toyota has paid off the motoring journos...get a NISSAN 370Z

BadgeGT
TransmissionManual
Sherree

SherreeDarling Downs, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

Putting the fun back into driving

published
BadgeGT
TransmissionAutomatic
Sports Cars

Find out how Toyota 86 ZN6 GT compares to other Sports Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thruxton8

Thruxton8Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great, and probably too good a chassis for public roads

published
BadgeGT
Rob

RobMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

The 86GT - It does what it was designed for.

published
BadgeGT
Mara

MaraSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

My GT86

published
BadgeGT
Humberto

HumbertoSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

All good so far

published

I've put 5000km on my gt it has been perfect so far a good balance of power and fuel economy. Handles excellent. This is my daily usually just me in the car but I've had 2 baby seats in the back. Not much space but it does the job. The only bad part is having to buy from a toyota dealer and having them work on it
Good bang for buck
Toyota dealers and gets compared to the mx5

TransmissionManual
BadgeGT
1 comment
ANTZ
ANTZ
See all Toyota 86 ZN6 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota 86 ZN6 GT (2012-2020) but you can read 4 questions about Toyota 86 ZN6.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.