??!
2 photos
Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (2017-2019)

Also referred to as: Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R 2018 and Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R 2020. (No Badge) (2017-2019) and Koba (2017-2019)
4.8 from 17 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

mapman

mapmanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Nice drive

published

Had this as a loan car. Amazing to drive, comfortable seats, nice interior design, smooth gutsy engine. The only thing I don't like is the rear end look and lack of leg room in the back seats. Good for singles and couples but not a practical family car.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

mrbmd05

mrbmd05Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great car but lacking power

published

This car has great features similar to what you would find in a high end Mercedes!
We use this car for everyday commuting.
We will service this car once a year.
Fun little car that is great on fuel.

Purchased in July 2019 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cindy

CindyTasmania

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

So Many extras!! Love it

published

I love the look of this new car. I was out looking for something completely different and fell in love. it has so many extras. Auto lights, auto wipers, auto handbrake, lane departure warning, adaptive cruise( which i love so much! no turning it off and on when the car in front is slow), rear cross traffic alert (i had to google this, it tells me when im backing out if a car is coming), blind spot warnings, rear camera, GPS, bluetooth for phone, list goes on and on. So cheap to run compared to my last car, with the option to put in sports mode or ECO.

Purchased in November 2018 at gowans for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mike B 2012

Mike B 2012Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent compact SUV, Superb silent drive, economical and family friendly!

published

Love this car, have had one for an year. It drives very well, is good for a small to medium family, and very good features packed together in the basic Koba model.

Only drawback, a poor Toyota software (GPS) system, and Boot not powered, only a manual option.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

CMMO

CMMOGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing

published

A beautiful easy and comfortable ride. Love my car
Yearly service
No issues what so ever. Nice easy features. Toyota feels safe and reliable and great service at heidelberg.

Thank you Toyota

Purchased in December 2017 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Peter

PeterSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 50 reviews
  • 41 likes

What a great car!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at OldMac Toyota.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sue

SueAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my new CH-R Koba

published

What an eye turner. I purchased a White one with black roof. Almost got the yellow one, but glad I didn't. Matt at Toyota Croydon couldn't have been more helpful. The turning circle is amazing, and with all the bells and whistles, and yes, like a previous reviewer has said, it feels like I'm driving a Lexus.

BadgeKoba AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Dia

DiaSunshine coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love toyota

published

Purchased a 2018 toyota koba teal with white roof, sooo many people keep stopping and telling me love your car its certainly an eye stopper. Love the style, the automatic hand brake, vears me back if i accidentally go over a white line, side mirrors fold back when locked, everything is accessible on the steering wheel, have always driven Toyota's but this car is unbelievable, love love my Toyota.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Bluebottle

BluebottleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Slated at launch for being slow—but this car is surprisingly zippy!

published

Got down to two choices; the Mazda CX3 and the CHR. After first testing the CX3, expected the CHR to lack the same grunt, but this car really surprised. Also more advanced in technology and safety, and somehow seemed more roomy inside, and in the hatch area. Great cornering too. So far (one year) nothing has gone wrong. Love driving this car.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
grandman

grandmanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

A Lexus with a Toyota badge

published
BadgeCVT 2WD
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Danger

DangerMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful yet fast

published

I love this car, it handles so well on the roads and has really decent speed for a SUV turbo. Very quiet on the road, and a very smooth drive even over bumpy surfaces. I love the smooth line diamond detailing interior and the added safety features including lane departure alert. It's not a big SUV but it isn't overly small either so it makes for great driving in the cbd area. Running costs are great for a yearly service capped at $195 every year for the first 5 years. Beautiful sleek design that doesn't make it look like a boring family car. What's there not to love.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Mish

MishMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

The best

published
BadgeCVT 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

LisaP68

LisaP68Illawarra, NSW

  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

This car turns heads! I feel so safe in this car! Love it!!

published
BadgeCVT AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Tarasak

TarasakMerrylands

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

The best car ever...I’m in love with it

published

Driving it is smooth and it will make you wanting to take the longer way to get home from work. I got it in black and yellow and it looks like bumble bee.. and it affordable, it’s around $30k - $40k, it also uses premium petrol, petrol tank is a good size.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Scorpio

ScorpioSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brilliant Design

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Mosman Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jenny

JennySydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great family car

published

The wavy LED lights that make up the back of the car are accompanied by stylish concave glass that matches the curvature of the lights. It resembles older models, such as he aero-friendly wheels to the frumpy shape, but it's easily the nicest interpretation of the Prius I've seen to the date.

BadgeCVT AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

dobo

doboAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Toyota C-HR Koba

published

Overall - love the car, looks great, drives great, great fuel economy. Only disappointment is the dated entertainment system and no air con vents in the back seats. Only had the car for a week but very nice to drive and handles well. Steering is really light and seems to sit well on the road. The safety features are 2nd to none, although it takes a little while to get use to the steering correcting its self when you drift out of the lane with the lane detection alret.

BadgeKoba 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Questions & Answers

Roid A.

Roid A.asked

What’s the difference between NGX10R and NGX50R?

No answers

Vinny

Vinnyasked

I am really keen on purchasing the 2019 Toyota CHR turbo, however my only concern is the 1.2 litre engine (as I currently have a toyota with a 1.8 litre engine) Would there be a massive difference? Does it struggle to speed up on a highway or uphill ?

1 answer
Peter
Peter

My wife and I are more than happy with its performance. We have taken ours up hills and out on the highway and have never felt the performance lacking for our demands. If there is a weakness, it would more likely be the CVT transmission which tends to soak up your power a little (initially) if accelerating briskly. This can be mitigated somewhat by engaging "Sports" mode which increases the pickup a little and introduces "simulated" transmission gear changes (like a non-CVT transmission).
However, there really is no better way to determine whether this suits you or not other than taking a demo in those conditions.


BERNY ITALIAN DIVA

BERNY ITALIAN DIVAasked

I want the 2019 Koba but is it worth getting all the extras like the side, rear and front skirts and garnishes? It does cost a lot extra but i'm sure it will look a lot hotter!!
Anyone got photos??

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R Koba AWD Auto CVT

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R Koba AWD Auto CVT (2017-2019)

4 reviews
Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R Koba 2WD Auto CVT

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R Koba 2WD Auto CVT (2017-2019)

7 reviews
Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) AWD Auto CVT

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) AWD Auto CVT (2017-2019)

3 reviews
Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) 2WD Auto CVT

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) 2WD Auto CVT (2017-2019)

3 reviews
Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) 2WD Manual

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) 2WD Manual (2017-2019)

No reviews
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $39,231$37,171$34,802$32,742$30,682
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Manual
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555
Seats55555
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.3 L/100km6.3 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L
Max Power85kW @ 5600rpm85kW @ 5600rpm85kW @ 5600rpm85kW @ 5600rpm85kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)600 kg600 kg1,100 kg1,100 kg1,100 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)600 kg600 kg720 kg720 kg720 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.