??!
1 photo
Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge)

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) (2017-2019)

Also referred to as: Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) 2018 and Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) 2020. AWD Auto CVT (2017-2019), 2WD Auto CVT (2017-2019) and 2WD Manual (2017-2019)
4.7 from 6 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Amazing

A beautiful easy and comfortable ride. Love my car
Yearly service
No issues what so ever. Nice easy features. Toyota feels safe and reliable and great service at heidelberg.

Thank you Toyota

Purchased in December 2017 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

A Lexus with a Toyota badge

This is a real suprprise package. The top of the range C-HR Koba model has all the latest technology, all the goodies that you expect on a Lexus and drives surprisingly well. My initial concern was that a 1.2 litre motor, albeit turbocharged, would not be man enough for what is an extremely solidly built car. But I was wrong. The motor is fine for both city and country driving and the digital speedo helps ensure that it does not run away from you. The car is exceptionally well built and the doors close with a very satisfying clunk. I understand it was one of the few cars that have transitioned from concept to production with minimal changes. It really is a head turner. Having had four Lexus cars we sold the NX to get the C-HR. A clever touch is the rear door handle. See for yourself. Wish I could give it 10 stars.......

BadgeCVT 2WD
TransmissionCVT
Date PurchasedApr 2018

The best

I had been waiting for this car before it was even released to Australia and I was not at all disappointed. The standard comes packed full of safety features you would need to pay extra for in other models and brands. Performance is super smooth and handles corners well at fast speeds. Don’t find this to be noisy at all. For a 1.2 litre turbo I’m impressed at how fast it can go in an uphill freeway. I love the sleek diamond design inside and the compact small suv feel as I’m nervous about driving big cars. I do find the boot to be quite limited in space but you’d expect that with a hatchback like design. Running costs are exceptional with only once a year services capped at $195 each time. Haven’t had any issue with performance but find using expensive fuel to be the costly part in keeping this car running at top performance.

BadgeCVT 2WD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017

This car turns heads! I feel so safe in this car! Love it!!

I got the 4WD CHR, base model, CVT auto, in 'Atomic Rush' which is a cherry red colour which shines very glittery in the sun, & the colour looks darker on dull days. This car turns heads everywhere I go! & of course I allways go the long way home! Best of all it only needs servicing every 15,000 kms or yearly (whichever comes first) with Fixed Price servicing for 5 years. I also purchased a Tony White Group Mechanical Protection Plan, giving me 8 years of Warranty with Platinum Road Side Assist for the 8 years, absolute bargain at $995. - cheaper than paying for 8 years of Road Service alone! The CHR is the smoothest drive ever, the CVT transmission is very smooth, it's very 'zippy' & has great take off & loves hills, great handling, quite a lot of power for a 1.2 TURBO. Although it's considered an SUV it feels more like a car. It has 3 drive modes, Normal, Eco or Sport. This car is phenomenal on petrol, it takes only 95 or 98 Premium fuel but it does about 100km for only 6 litres of fuel. (Around town, stop start traffic it uses around 7.5 litres per 100km). The seats are so comfortable, the steering is very precise & the safety features are awesome! It has 7 airbags, lane departure warning which corrects your steering back into the lane if you drift over the line, it also has Driver Survivor alerts for long distance travel, reverse camera, rear cross traffic alert - great for backing out of car spaces, frontal collision warning with emergency breaking, 4 front & 4 rear sensors along with the reverse camera makes it so easy to park, it also has a great turning circle. What I love most is the Cruise Control, when you turn on the cruise control a radar 'locks' onto the the car in front & you can select 3 different travel distances to cruise behind the car in front, if they speed off you continue on doing your speed, but if the car in front slows down you slow down maintaining the safe distance you have pre-selected, if the car in front stops, you stop!, when the front car drives off, you also start driving - the car literally drives itself & brakes on it's own & all you do is steer!! Amazing!! best car I've ever driven. And you can't get better reliability than TOYOTA

BadgeCVT AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Brilliant Design

C-HR Standard 2WD
The C-HR being a cross between a Corolla and a RAV4 provides the high ride comfort in a mid sized hatch. Having owned this for nearly 4 weeks and done 500kms we have found this a comfortable ride offering ease of access and good handling. Fuel economy seems great especially on open road. The 1.2L Turbo engine is smooth and quiet and the CVT is smooth. The vehicle comes standard with many safety systems only found in higher models of other makes. Overall extremely happy and would recommend it for people who are looking for an economical vehicle easy to access. The fixed price yearly service is also great.
We have now had the vehicle for almost 2 years and driven just over 7000kms including one trip of 1000km round trip. The vehicle has performed brilliantly and we are very happy.

Purchased in June 2017 at Mosman Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Great family car

The wavy LED lights that make up the back of the car are accompanied by stylish concave glass that matches the curvature of the lights. It resembles older models, such as he aero-friendly wheels to the frumpy shape, but it's easily the nicest interpretation of the Prius I've seen to the date.

BadgeCVT AWD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

See all Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R reviews

Questions & Answers

Why do owners and reviewers criticise the chr for chr for demanding premium fuel?The owners manual clearly states a requirement of 95 octane and up to 10percent ethanol...e10 is fine.
1 answer
Not quite right John. What the manual says is Toyota allows the use of ethanol blended gasoline as long as the RON is a minimum of 95. Australian E10 has an octane rating up to 94 (depending on who the supplier is). I know it's only one point difference but unless you know the fuel brand your are buying is definetely 94RON, I'd only be using E10 as a temporary measure.

Details

Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) 2WD Manual (2017-2019)Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) 2WD Auto CVT (2017-2019)Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R (No Badge) AWD Auto CVT (2017-2019)
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $30,682$32,742$34,802
TransmissionManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors555
Seats555
Fuel Consumption6.3 L/100km6.3 L/100km6.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L50 L50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L4 Cylinder 1.2L
Max Power85kW @ 5600rpm85kW @ 5600rpm85kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm185Nm @ 1500-4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,100 kg1,100 kg1,100 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)720 kg720 kg720 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all Toyota C-HR NGX10R / NGX50R

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.