??!
8 photos
Toyota Corolla ZRE172R

Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (2012-2019)

Also referred to as: Toyota Corolla ZRE172R 2018 and Toyota Corolla ZRE172R 2020. ZR (2012-2019), SX (2012-2019) and Ascent (2012-2019)
4.3 from 33 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
10
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
2

New Models door opening and leg room to small. Profile of vechile to low.

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Len R.

Len R.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Low Maintenance

published

The Toyota Corolla never fails. It just keeps going and going and going. A half yearly service is necessary to keep the car in tip top shape. But the low maintenance means it's a very economical car to drive around in.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

eslam

published

Purchased it 6 months ago and it already become the family’s favourite. Mostly use it for family goings and everyone in the family live it. No any issues find in the car so far and love it

Kate

KateSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic car, so economical and zippy around town and spacious best car i’ve owned.

published

Everyday car,it has been great, spacious for my family, no issues ,my mechanic suggested to buy the car, according to him this car will not have issues often.
So happy to own this car.

Purchased in March 2018 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Kamal L.

Kamal L.Sydney, NSW

Awesome car

published

I have 2017 corolla ascent. So reliable economic car. This is the 4th car I have owned so far and the best one. Though its 2 years old already still feels like brand new.

Purchased in February 2019 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Snowy

SnowySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

great reliable car

published

After replacing my VW Polo and getting into this car how happy am I , have done about 76000 kms and has not lei me down , travel to Brisbane every day from the Gold Coast,car is serviced by Toyota when due at a fixed price ,great service

Purchased in September 2016 for $23,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Han

Han

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Like it!

published

I had one car and needed another one. The first car was Toyota Camry and bought a Toyota Corolla as my 2nd car. It’s been very economical to drive and maintain.

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jazzdanca59

Jazzdanca59Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Disappointing on finer points

published

Purchased in December 2016 for $17,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Joel

JoelSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Toyota is awesome

published

I went to chatswood toyota, awesome service and lovely people who helped me purchase a me a new car. Happy with the purchase and the team at Toyota. I was able to get extras and 1% finance was also good too.
I am able to service it down the road from me at rockdale Toyota love that about Toyota.

BodySedan
BadgeZR
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Hasha

Hasha

  • 2 reviews

Favourite so far!!

published

Purchased it 6 months ago and it already become the family’s favourite. Mostly use it for family goings and everyone in the family live it. No any issues find in the car so far and love it. I got serviced it for 2 times and got the insurance from Toyota too

BodySedan
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Melissa

Melissa

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I love my new car

published

Recently we chose to purchase the Toyota Corolla 2015 A’s our family car. There is ample space both inside the car and inside the boot. We love that it drives so smoothly, parts are affordable if required and it’s a good, reliable car. The accessories are modern and look stylish.

BodySedan
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018

AAAAAA

AAAAAAAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

CAN NOT RATE HIGHER

published

Great car, nothing to complain about. My Corolla 2013 not the current shape, drives like dream it's been over a year and had driven over 65000km without an issue.
Great on fuel economy and plenty of power for 1.8 ltr. Driven down to Melbourne and to Renmark couple to times and without a doubt I would say no any other car in this segment. Definitely my next car is going to be Toyota again.

BodySedan
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedAug 2016

raj

rajAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

This is perfect for small family

published

This car is very reliable and relatively affordable, the Toyota Corolla is a prudent but unexciting choice among compact sedans. Toyota Corolla looks nice and decent road manners, Good for small family. Easy to drive and very good fuel efficiency. Spacious back seat, loads of standard safety technology. Easy access to clean as well.

BodySedan
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Miss D

Miss D

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

2016 Corolla Hybrid - my favourite toy!

published

I love love love this car!
Previously, I've always driven fairly fuel-heavy cars (Ford Fairmonts and such) so I was very concerned I'd be underwhelmed when I put my impatient foot to the floor. Have been pleasently surprised with this zippy car and it has enough pickup at the lights. Fuel kicks in the moment I need more oomph and it's a pleasure to drive. Super quiett when in it's electric aka stealth mode!
Very happy over all ~ and as always, the hatch lets me drop the seats down and pack it full of gear when camping and the like. Love the inbuilt warranties and capped servicing and roadside assist. All the things that give me piece of mind.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Tasman

TasmanSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great, economical car for day to day driving

published

The car is spacious front and back. And I really need to give credit to the amount of let space in the back seat.
The maintenance costs are very fair, and also in case of accident, repair is generally cheaper than other options.
Control and steering is good, cuts out most road noise, and the interior actually looks quite good.
It does however, only have a 1.8L engine and so if you have a car full of people and are driving in a hilly area, the car does not perform too well in those conditions, but for day to day city driving, it'll tick all the boxes.

BodySedan
BadgeSX
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Jue W

Jue WAU

  • 4 reviews

Great car that suitable for most anyone

published

Purchased it in 2014 and the latest model which is much more beautiful than the previous model. The average fuel cost of it is around 7.0 in urban area and 6.5 in highway. Corolla is one the the most reliable car in the market. Even you sell it after a few of years, you could always sell it with a good price, which is the proof. Compared with Mazda 3, Honda civic, corolla corolla may be not as powerful as civic, not as modern as Mazda 3, but trust me, just like other Toyota cars, corolla rarely got some fatal problem.

BodySedan
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Alice

Alicebrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Pretty reliable

published

My car is 2015 version. The car drives so well. It's quiet. I own an Ascent and the leather gear and steering wheel is a nice touch. There is plenty of boot space. The reverse camera is great. Very reliable car - for commuting and long distance. Toyota Corolla is so reliable and has a great reputation.

BodySedan
BadgeAscent
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Nithi

NithiSydney

  • 4 reviews

Economic and Reliable

published

Driving experience was really good when i went to a long drive on Gold coast and never had any bad experience with it. Even it was quite economical with the milage. As it was Sedan type, i didnt face any issues with the room space inside the car as i could accomodate everything in the boot.

BodySedan
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Denise

DeniseMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fabulous car

published

My 2014 Toyota Corolla ZRE172R is an absolutely beautiful car to drive - smooth, comfortable, easy to handle and has the power to get me up the biggest hills without any effort.
It's economical, has an attractive and functional dashboard, usb port, cd player, drink holders, roomy boot, fold down rear seats for extra boot room, reversing camera, folding exterior mirrors, and easy to operate volume and bluetooth controls on the steering wheel.
I bought it 2nd hand only 10 months ago and it was nearly new with only 23,000 kms on the clock and it has never missed a beat.
Love, love my car :D

BodySedan
BadgeAscent
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Sanj

SanjAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Car for small family

published

I bought my Toyota Corolla in 2014 & it still has no issues. The drive is incredibly smooth. They have bucket line seats so I’m not moving around like Mazda 3 cars. The car has no sound. Engine is very quiet & often I forget that the engine is still on, hence draining my battery on two occasions. The only downside is the service fees once the cap service of $150 runs out.

BodySedan
BadgeCorolla
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Page 1 of 2

See all Toyota Corolla reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

timing belt replacement at what KM?

1 answer
Chrisfi3d
Chrisfi3d

Has a chain, bro.


ToniA

ToniAasked

Hi I am looking to buy a Toyota Acsent 2013 with 120 000km on the clock for $8500. Is this a fair price?
Thanks

1 answer
Jazzyg1234
Jazzyg1234

I always consult the Red Book price. https://www.redbook.com.au/cars/details/2013-toyota-corolla-ascent-auto/SPOT-ITM-324070/
Also check that you are not being scammed, view the car yourself in person and check that it's not stolen etc prior to inspection.
Never transfer money for someone who will deliver the car later, that is a well known scam. (usually they will say they are working on an oil rig, or mines etc)
All the best


Jellaynnez L

Jellaynnez Lasked

How can i install maps on the corolla hatchback 2016?

1 answer
Miss D
Miss D

my maps came with my hybrid. it's a little micro sd card they fit. it costs a few hundred bucks and once installed they activate the 'navigation' function in the apps page. handy tool. only down side to this feature is it costs money to update it (no automatic updates included). if you call your nearest toyota dealership they'll be able to give you a more accurate cost to get it ~ assuming your corolla model is like mine. Good luck!


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) Ascent Manual

Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) Ascent Manual (2012-2019)

1 review
Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) Ascent Auto CVT

Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) Ascent Auto CVT (2012-2019)

19 reviews
Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) SX Manual

Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) SX Manual (2012-2019)

No reviews
Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) SX Auto CVT

Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) SX Auto CVT (2012-2019)

2 reviews
Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) ZR

Toyota Corolla ZRE172R (Sedan) ZR (2012-2019)

5 reviews
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $21,240$23,490$23,820$26,070$31,920
TransmissionManualContinuously Variable (CVT)ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Alloy15" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555
Seats55555
Fuel Consumption6.8 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.8 L/100km6.4 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power103kW @ 6400rpm103kW @ 6400rpm103kW @ 6400rpm103kW @ 6400rpm103kW @ 6400rpm
Max Torque173Nm @ 4000rpm173Nm @ 4000rpm173Nm @ 4000rpm173Nm @ 4000rpm173Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailandThailand
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Seat Belt Reminders
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Blindspot Warning System
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Immobilizer
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012Jan 2012
Compare all Toyota Corolla

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.