??!
2 photos
Toyota Corolla ZRE182R Ascent Sport

Toyota Corolla ZRE182R Ascent Sport (2012-2018)

4.3 from 71 reviews

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
38
4 star
22
3 star
6
2 star
3
1 star
2

Steven N.

Steven N.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Toyota car

published

Great fuel economy great speed due to sport model good features but should have sat nav on it good zippy car that has hatchback mode which feels like more of a sedan

Purchased in October 2013 at Toyota Dealers for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Liza F.

Liza F.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A great little car!

published

I use my car for personal use, and commuting too and from work. Roughly 20,000km/yr. I have the car serviced as per the log book scheduled, and have never had a fault mentioned about the car. That is with mechanics separate of Toyota as well. These are popular cars for good reason, and won’t stray from Toyota cars in the future. Very happy.

Purchased in June 2017 at Llewellyn Motors for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Loren

LorenPerth

  • 3 reviews

Best car I’ve ever driven.

published

Was sceptical at first because I had my heart set on another car. After reading so many bad reviews I decided to look at Toyota instead. Dom from Toyota Melville helped me find a car that would suit me perfectly.

He found a car within my budget and let me test drive it. Unlike other car dealerships I didn’t feel pressured into buying it then and there. He offered me a great deal and great inclusions. I went home to think about it but by the time I got home my mind was made up.

Would never buy another brand car again and would highly recommend this car. It’s not a huge car but offers so much legroom and boot space like a bigger make car would. Reliable and capped price servicing.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Onases

Onases

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Plastic fantastic

published

2016 Corrolla is a nice looking car on tje outside however its seats are very uncomfortable unless you are an adult that is not more than 70kgs with a smaller frame.

For the price that you pay it is lacking in technology which is very sad to see especially when the competitors are the likes of hyundai, mazda etc...

If the price was around 5k cheaper then the shortcuts and cheap plastic that toyota took would have been to tolerable but fir a 24k starting price with on road costs it isnt.

Hope the 2019 new generation will outdo this one

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Gizzyduck

GizzyduckSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great car

published

Bought this car around 14 months ago. My partner couldn't be happier.
They have updated the sound system since 2015 model which is much improved.
My only complaint is that Bluetooth phone & sound system controls are all on the left side which is so irritating. Whereas the 2015 model has them on separate sides so you really didn't have to think about hitting the wrong control. Come on Toyota please fix this with the next generation.... :)
Great fuel economy.
Disappointed that they discontinued the Positano Bronze for this year model....
My only complaint is that it isn't as responsive in pick up as my 2015 model but my partner loves it all the same.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Sue

SueSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Very reliable easy to drive.

published

I purchased Toyota corolla Ascent sport white perl colour in Mar 2017. I love this car!!!!!No mechanical issues at all and i enjoy driving every day.
I drive 40km to get to work but its very comfortable and I dont get back sore like my old car. ( i used to drive holden)I am 100% satisfied with the car, but the only thing i want to mention is..a touch screen is very slow and i get frustrated sometimes. Otherwise no issues. This car is the best i have ever own.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedMar 2017

GIRL123

GIRL123Sydney

  • 2 reviews

Good value for money

published

I am driving Toyota Corolla 2016 Hatchback. I drive everyday to work daily. The car runs smoothly and I hardly have any issue mechanically. It is fantastic to drive, much better than Nissan or Huyndai. Very fuel efficient. The hatch back version is also easy to park in shopping centre.

It is also cheap to service the car. I service every 5000km. I just buy oil and air filter and it cost me less than 100 to do it myself.

It is extremely good value for money and I would not buy another brand.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Sweta

Sweta

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

great economy city car

published

Great car to drive, no hiccups so far, spacious enough for a city car, good size of a boot is a cherry on top but I believe that its paint can be scraped off easily, way easier than the Toyota's previous and other models. It is a fuel-efficient car with the very low running cost. Best in the market for people who are looking a small family car

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedApr 2016
evirod98

evirod98Meadow Springs Perth WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Toyota Corolla 2016

published

I back traded my2014 Hyundai i35 red trophy for pearl Toyota Sports wonderful car good price only 16000k still under warranty . Purchased at Hyundai Rockingham and very happy with sales person great service had it 6 weeks goes wonderful any issues they are there to help. Good after sales. That is hard to get.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Kelly

KellyCanberra

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic car ever!

published

It is a very reliable car, and at low petrol consuming. The engine is beautiful, strong but quiet. I like the reverse camera showing up on the screen which really reduced lots of hassles for me. The interior design is very thoughtful. The back seats have spacious legroom. very comfortable.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Tammy T

Tammy TAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing!!!

published

Ughhh I can’t explain in words how amazing this car is! I’ve driven from Dubbo, NSW to Newcastle, NSW as well as driving from Ipswich, QLD to Dubbo, NSW and both trips the car drove like a dream! It’s like the perfect family car as well as every now and then if you like racing then they go pretty hard too!

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedSep 2017

YL924

YL924Perth

  • 5 reviews

Great car for getting from A to B

published

For a young woman the aspects that were most important to me were reliability, safety and fuel consumption, and this car suits me just fine.
Performance and handling wise is all good, smooth. I like the connectivity and sound system.
Fuel consumption is reasonable, my last car was a slightly smaller manual car, and this automatic Corolla uses less fuel than my last one, so I can't complaint.
Overall, it works well and happy with it for daily use.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Frank

Frank

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

good car

published

i have for 2 month run ok . touch screen its good and have many options never like this one 2018 im happy with toyota and castumer services as will competing corolla withe other car i give full star and services cheap only $150 only i give 4 star because they interst 5% pit high

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Saraann

Saraann

  • 3 reviews

Love love love

published

Absolutely love my corolla, so easy to drive and manuver into car parks and parking spaces, The touch screen is easy to use, the lock out when driving on the touch screen is a bit annoying for passengers but other than that it’s a great car! The manual gear box is amazing and the gear ratio is fantastic. Love love love my corolla

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Saint

SaintSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Toyota Corolla

published

The driving experience is very good. Agile and a safe drive for my wife and daughter. Car is quiet, with the sport switch acceleration is good. Not in the range of a turbo I30 but a lot less. $22,000 compared to $30,000
Only issue is to get used to the drop nose. Getting front sensors for $450 is a good idea. Easy to park, good fuel efficiency and my wife and daughter love it. They also liked the Mazda 3 Astina but the "I stop" drive drove them nuts so it lost out hands down.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Langers

LangersRowville, Melbourne VIC

  • 4 reviews

Corolla-ing along! Oh What a Feeling!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedSep 2017

savcn78

savcn78NSW, 2218

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect first car

published

This is the first car I purchased for myself and I absolutely love it. It's small but it is surprisingly roomy in the back seats, two tall men have fit comfortably in the passenger seats at the back and noted that to me. It is really reliable and I have not had a problem yet! (It's been about 8 months). The reverse camera is really handy and I deliberately did not purchase the option with the inbuilt GPS as the Bluetooth setting means I can easily use Google Maps to navigate. The only downside I can think of is the voice command system which is unreliable and can get infuriating when it doesn't understand what you want. I have ended up abandoning the use of it altogether, but it's not a big loss.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Vickster

Vickster

  • 7 reviews

Best value for small car

published

For about $24000, you can't get much better value for a no-frills small car. It's easy to drive, has rear-mirror, good-sized touch-screen.
I didn't give it 5-stars because I feel the rear window is too small (poor visability when changing lanes). Having said that, it is a very common problem amongst the small car models. Also the small boot space.
I like the little sunglasses compartment. I am old-school, so still like using handbrake and key-ignition (not a fan of the brake button and touch-start).
Great reliability, Toyota is a very trusted brand. Low running costs.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedJun 2017

boby

bobyToormina

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Reliable and cheap to run.

published

I own a 2014 model corolla ascent sport which nearly completed 90k in odometer. This is my first car and bought it as brand new. Never had any serious issue so far. Handling and performance is up to the mark. Road noise was bit annoying and nearly resolved once I replaced my "sports tyres". Also had experienced increased rattling from dash board which they fixed during routine service. Very good in fuel efficiency with a impressive 6.5L/100km. Back seat leg room is average and front sports seat may not be a good option for people with back issues as getting out and getting in bit problematic.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionCVT
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Lizzy

LizzyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Such a joy to drive

published

This car is the best car I have had. It's so smooth to drive and glides noiselessly and effortlessly through winding roads. The reverse camera is great and helpful. The running costs are low. The salesmen at Toyota were so friendly and helpful. The only thing that I would complain about is the dashboard features look a little outdated.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent Sport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Page 1 of 4

See all Toyota Corolla reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Toyota Corolla ZRE182R Ascent Sport (2012-2018) but you can read 38 questions about Toyota Corolla.


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

CategoryCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $22,490
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars
Doors5
Seats5
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 50 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power103kW @ 6400rpm
Max Torque173Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Traction Control
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2012
Discontinuation dateDec 2018
Compare all Toyota Corolla

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.