??!
34 photos
Toyota HiLux

Toyota HiLux (page 2 of 15)

MK7.III, MK7.I, MK6, etc...
3.5 from 281 reviews

Reviews

3.5

281 reviews
5
(108)
4
(61)
3
(32)
2
(36)
1
(44)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (28)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (28)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (28)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (28)
  • Handling
    4.0 (28)
  • Braking
    3.9 (27)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (27)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (24)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.1 (28)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (29)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (20)
  • Features
    3.5 (27)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (29)
Previous
Next
David R.

David R.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

2008 HiLux 3 litre turbo diesel

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Private Sale.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Perfect in the right scenario

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Roger

RogerNorth Queensland, QLD

Not regretting for buying a Hilux

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$30,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bk.S

Bk.SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable ute

published

Purchased in February 2019 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Clicky

ClickyGippsland, VIC

  • 14 reviews

Basic but dependable

published

Purchased in September 2018 for A$49,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
seduxen

seduxenTasmania

Poor fuel economy, poor user manual

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Burnie Toyota.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Eddie

EddiePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great vehicle

published

Done 55k,serviced on time by myself,never had any problems. I drive my hilux every day, usually 10 kms to work and back,no dpf issues ever. In saying that i do use the correct dpf oil at services and have minimal idle times. Have never had any driveline clunking i have read about either.I see people believe theres a fuel gauge problem, because they can only get 60 liters in the tank once the low fuel light is on.Isn't this simply a early warning system meaning fuel level is getting low and it will need filling in the next 100 200 kms?Unlike my previous new ute which had many problems from the first month i owned it until i traded it with auto trans problems at 90k ,this hilux was cheaper to buy and much more reliable than the ranger

Purchased in July 2016 for A$53,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Shane b

Shane bWheatbelt, WA

Poor fuel usage

published

I purchased a 2017 hilux SR with automatic transmission. Bought this vehicle brand new. It is used as a farm vehicle and on the open highway. Have had all its services done on time at the dealership. I am relatively happy with it. I have done 40k now and have had no mechanical issues with it. From new it has had a higher fuel usage than I expected. Around
13L/100km. Can get around 11.7 on a long run with no load. I have complained to the dealer about it. Their computer says there's nothing wrong with it.
On the highway when doing 110km/h it mostly stays in 5th gear. Only changes to 6th gear going downhill. Seems like the motor is under powered. If I can get the high fuel usage problem solved I would rate it 5 stars.

Purchased in December 2017 at Toyota Dealers for A$51,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ron G

Ron GSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

A little love lost

published

Loved it when I first got it. Good on highway, good on fuel (diesel). Regular services under warranty. Then the letter came about the first of three recalls and then it became a headache.

Purchased in November 2016 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon

SimonCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

I love ggn15r Hilux It has the 4.0 litre v6 petrol engine

published

I use my Hulu everyday for work and leisure. The 4 litre v6 engine won't get get you as many KS to a tank as some other double cab utes but when you need the power it is definitely there. It's roomy in the cab and engine bay for changing oil and filters although the rare seats do lack a little space. Bad points are it's rather heavy on fuel and parts are expensive but I guess what is in the these days.. I would definitely recommend these to trades or family's for camping or boat towing.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tim

TimPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Lies lies lies

published

Purchased in January 2017.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017

Warranty is questionable

published
BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD

Unfixable Brake squeal - buyer beware

published

Toyota “genuine service” have failed to stop the break squeal after 4 attempts.

For the last 32,000kms my fully optioned diesel auto sr5 with “leatherette” interior has sounded like a squealing 50 year old “sh$tbox”.

RRP on this car with my Toyota genuine upgrades was $80k (I didn’t pay $80k)

Terrible experience.

Feel like I bought an 80’s hilux rust bucket that’s been running beach tours for 30 years

Caveat emptor!

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
LEMMY

LEMMY

  • 41 reviews

Wow, very bumpy!

published

With no load in the back, the drive is just terrible. My brain is being smashed against my skull in a most aggressive manner, over roads that I know are smooth. You can feel every tiny crack, bump or crevice in the road. I have asked if there is any suspension adjustments that can be done, but it seems not (any suggestions, apart from filling the tray with concrete?) Under load, it's great and it was a bargain (only $22,000 new 2018).

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2018
DriveRWD

Like Father like Son

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2003
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love the hilux, but it’s not perfect.

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Drive4WD

Purchase of New Car Mosman Toyota

published

I use the Car for work and off road.
I use the car every day and I travel a lot to regional areas for work and some places don't have the roads sealed.
The car gets services at the due warranty mileage or date.
I love the car, it drives and handles all conditions.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Petergun1000

Petergun1000Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Dust by passes Air Filter

published

Not so unbreakable any more. Dust particles by pass the air filter and put the vehicle in limp mode. No fix yet from Toyota

Read this article to see why.

http://unsealed4x4.com.au/heres-filtration-expert-thinks-toyotas-dust-problem/

You would think this would be a recall or and upgrade of the Air Filter unit but not yet.

Shame Toyota Shame.

BadgeRugged X
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyUte
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Wheres the Warranty ?

published

If these bloody Hilux's are so unbreakable why do they not have a good warranty like the Holdens & Fords ie 5 years unlimited Klms. From what i have seen of them it would send Toyota broke. As these things are continually broken down. Even brand new ones go into limp mode as soon as you do a bit of dusty driving ? You see heaps of second hand ones with less than 200,000 klms on them advertised with new or rebuilt engines. Clutches always stuffed before 100,000 Klms ? Unbreakable, what a joke.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size2.8L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Drive4WD
Renter

Renter

  • 2 reviews

Best car ever

published

Such an Amazing car, built tough
I’ve generally drive around 3 hours and day
Only get the car serviced once a year and I’ve never had any problems
Best and most reliable car I have ever owned
Would recommend getting the diesel as it does chew through petrol pretty fast

BadgeSR5
Engine Size4.0L V6 Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2015
DriveRWD
Page 2 of 15
See all Toyota HiLux reviews

Questions & Answers

Jacob

Jacobasked

HiLux MK8.I 4x2 2.7L Petrol Workmate (2015-2020)

Can a 2020 hilux 2.7 be converted to lpg without valve seat recession problems?

No answers
Steve

Steveasked

HiLux MK7.I (2005-2008)

Drivers vinyl grey seat needs replacing of my 2008 Hilux Dual Cab Workmate, wanting to know if the later model seat will fit?
up till what later models?

No answers
Khan.D

Khan.Dasked

HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

Would a 2019 sports bar fit a 2012 hilux duel cab ?

1 answer
Bill Z.
Bill Z.

I would think not. But can't be sure 100%

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.