9 photos
Toyota Kluger 2WD

Toyota Kluger 2WD (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger 2WD 2020 and Toyota Kluger 2WD 2022. GX, GXL, Grande
4.3 from 7 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.3
7 reviews
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (4)
  • Braking
    5.0 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (4)
  • Handling
    4.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (4)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (4)
  • Features
    4.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Pedro L.
Pedro L.
  • 2 reviews

Dream

published

What a truly exceptional car to drive, super spacious, powerful and reliable. I cannot fault this vehicle. It’s always a pleasure to drive with so much room in the cargo area for camping

Purchased in January 2017 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nader
NaderGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Very good car suitable for families

published

very good family car , It has a bit high fuel consumption ,rather than that it is amazing, very smooth ,bought it use same year, no issues or complains at all

Purchased in June 2019 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ian
IanPalmerston, NT
  • 4 reviews

Great family wagon

published

Car gets used every day and is comfortable and reliable. It is used around town and on the freeway. It fits our family of seven with ease and I recommend it over other family rigs.

Purchased in May 2015 at Peter Kittle Motor for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger 2WD compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sean
SeanSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Very reliable performance and excellent driving experience

published

- Commuting, family transport and school pickup
- Daily driving around 30 ~ 50 km
- Half-yearly service at a fixed price $180
- But a bit high fuel consumption 12.8 liter for 100 km

Purchased in December 2015 for $41,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gillian
GillianHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed with key quality and warranty

published

Purchased this car new in Jan 2018 - in Feb 2019 the key broke - it just opened and the inside computerised piece fell out ( could not find it ) - the car is still under warranty and yet I had to pay $245 for a repair . There was not a mark on the key itself - so the fault was not mine .I have never had this problem with any key before. Extremely disappointed in the service dept at the Toyota dealership that they don't warrant their faulty key.

Purchased in March 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Year2017

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Yousuf
YousufKellyville NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good practical design inside out

published

We mainly use this car for family vehicle is beautifully design with immense sense of practicality. ride is super smooth if runs on premium unleaded engine is so quite however 8 speed gearbox needs bit improvement shifting is not as seamless as the previous 6 speed gearbox but it still helps you save on fuel , it also makes you feel that car is being driven in big gear at low speed with low revs.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2018
DriveFWD
Nwa888
Nwa888Nsw
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Super car

published

This car is one of the best cars you can buy super reliable and also has a lot of features one of the main things has heaps of room for all your friends and family levels are low.
Kluger is a well-resolved large SUV. It has very good on-road manners with real off-road capability. If you don’t mind the styling, a Kluger AWD (to the appropriate specification for your budget) should be on your shortlist.

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
See all Toyota Kluger reviews

Questions & Answers

Joseph S.
Joseph S.asked
Kluger 2WD Petrol Grande (2014-2021)

I just had my battery replaced in my Toyota Kluger.
The radio/reverse camera screen are blacked out & reads No DVD, Please insert map DVD.
How can j get this operating again

1 answer
Pedro L.
Pedro L.

I just changed my battery and didn’t have any issues. It sounds like yours has a faulty wire or frayed connection. You might need to take it to an auto electrician or if your vehicle is under warranty take it to the dealership to repair. Good luck.

KUMUDU
KUMUDUasked
Kluger 2WD (2014-2021)

I bought a brand-new Toyota Kluger GSU50R GXL 2WD - 2019 from a very reputed Toyota dealer in July 2019. Couple of days after the delivery the Air conditioner went faulty. When I speak to them, they tell you things like to a 5y old child expecting us to believe. Normally any service reps from any dealer ships from any manufacturers are very bad. They produced good constructive explanatory statements for customers. They just don’t tell you the truth. I have been in to this dealership 4 times for the same problem. Still not working. Now Toyota Australia is involved. Why this problem keeps coming like this? Is this because of the incompetent technicians of the dealer who can’t trouble shoot this or is it a factory defect? It is not a cheap model! We paid to drive, not sitting at workshop for technicians to learn or do trial & error work. Its my money & my car.
What Lemon Car! What an Unbreakable Toyota!

2 answers
Jamie
Jamie

Can you explain exactly whats wrong with the aircon? (tell me as if I'm a technician you need to help point where to look)

KUMUDU
KUMUDU

when turn on the Air conditioner no cold air. Inside the car is fogging up if you use the heater. first time they said it was a human error at the factory. Drove home next day no Air conditioner working again (no cold air) . Took it back to the dealer that time they kept the car for two days & use some dye to see where the gas leak is. After a day or so they said found the problem & it is the compressor int going faulty. I knew it was a load of garbage. In a brand new car ? what a joke. Then it took them nearly a week to get the compressor from Japan. Fitted in after 1.5 months later no air con again. Took it back again then they said the gas was too much last time when they regassed. So they I think they patched up again & so far its ok. waiting to pass 1.5 months to see what happens next. Thanks

Mahsan S.
Mahsan S.asked
Kluger 2WD Petrol Grande (2014-2021)

Is this a better car than the kluger GX? Whats with the fuel consumption with Grande? Anyone had precious experience with this? Many thanks in advance.

No answers
See all Toyota Kluger questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Kluger 2WD (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 9 Toyota Kluger
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Chromtec
Doors 444
Seats 777
Fuel Consumption8.7 L/100km8.7 L/100km8.7 L/100km
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Engine Code2GR-FKS2GR-FKS2GR-FKS
Max Power218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm
Boot Capacity241 L241 L241 L
Phone ConnectivityAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and Bluetooth
Wireless ChargerNoNoNo
Security FeaturesImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizer
RoofPanoramic Glass
Steering Wheel AdjustmentTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/Down
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Headlights
TypeLEDLEDLED
Headlight FeaturesAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/Off
Safety Features
CamerasRearRearRear
Cruise ControlAdaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)
Parking SensorsCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and Rear
Hazard PerceptionBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision Warning
Lane AssistanceLane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
Speed Sign RecognitionYes, read onlyYes, read onlyYes, read only
Dimensions
Kerb Weight1,885 kg1,885 kg1,955 kg
Ground Clearance208 mm208 mm208 mm
Driver Information
GaugesAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and Digital
Built-In Navigation SystemYesNoYes
Heads Up DisplayNoNoNo
Voice ControlNoNoNo
Digital Radio (DAB+)YesYesYes
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 9 Toyota Kluger
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.