18 photos
Toyota Kluger AWD

Toyota Kluger AWD (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger AWD 2020 and Toyota Kluger AWD 2022. Petrol, Hybrid
3.8 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

3.8
13 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (4)
  • Braking
    4.3 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (4)
  • Handling
    4.3 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (4)
  • Features
    3.3 (3)
Previous
Next
D H.
D H.
  • 7 reviews

Good vehicle but.

published

This is a nice vehicle to drive, very spacious, smooth and fast for an SUV.
Fuel consumption is ok but not brilliant around town. For a base model you get enough to keep you happy. Toyota reliability went out the door under warranty, full $8000 auto replacement. Toyota fixed it so it says volumes for Toyota.
Klugers are made in the US now, not Japan and it shows, probably accounts for the transmission.
Services are not cheap if you use the dealers and follow logbook schedules. The car has done 100000 kms and has had front rotors replaced, automatic never failed, just developed a clonk which wasn’t normal.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
AYam
AYamNSW, 2125
  • 16 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great family car

published

Pros:
Nice to drive
Spacious
Powerful engine
Good list of safety features
Good looking
Popular, so better resale value
Cons:
High fuel consumption around 13.1l/100km
Frequency of service every 6 MTHS or 10k
Cabin dashboard display a bit dated compared with rivals

Purchased in June 2018 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Angelo
AngeloSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Nearly excellent

published

A great all round car. I would have given it a 5 stars if only it tech was updated to meet it competitors. They need to introduce apple car play to get the rating. But I am lead to believe they will offer an upgrade soon.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
sophieleilua21
sophieleilua21Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Amazing family car

published

I use this car mainly for family transport, my everyday car. It has cotton service once as we just purchased it just over 6 months now which Toyota does every 6 months

Purchased in November 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger AWD compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jane S
Jane SAU
  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good Car, solid engine, but missing key features

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
DriveAWD
See all Toyota Kluger reviews

Questions & Answers

SJK
SJKasked
Kluger AWD Hybrid Grande (2021)

Brand new car. It seems battery discharged very quickly. Every time I need to jump start.
Even if I drive more than an hour today, next I couldn' t start the car, I need jump start. Dealer checked and said there is no issues.
Anybody facing similar issue.

2 answers
Ravs
Ravs

Did you find out what was wrong with it?, I am getting my GXL Hybrid, next week.

SJK
SJK

The 12V battery was replaced by the dealer. They told me few cells in the original battery died.

Raheem A.
Raheem A.asked
Kluger AWD (2014-2021)

Hi, I just bought Kluger GX AWD 2018 model. I want to install navigation system in it and want to change the Ac panel and want to install climate control panel in it. Is it possible? If yes then how and where can I do it?

1 answer
Dianne T.
Dianne T.

Hi, I don't own one but am looking at buying one. I am confused as it says the GX doesn't come with sat nav. However looing at Carsales.com, I have come across 3 2018 model GX's that do. So either there is an option to upgrade the panel or some come with it. Don't know if this helps.

Phan
Phanasked
Kluger AWD Petrol GX (2014-2021)

Can open and close window by key on Toyota Kluger GX 2018?

Thanks

No answers
See all Toyota Kluger questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Kluger AWD (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 9 Toyota Kluger
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticContinuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolHybrid
Wheels18" Alloy20" Chromtec18" Alloy20" Chromtec
Doors 4444
Seats 7777
Fuel Consumption8.8 L/100km8.9 L/100km8.8 L/100km5.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 65 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5LI4 2.4L
Engine Code2GR-FKS2GR-FKS2GR-FKSA25A-FXS
Max Power218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm184kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm242Nm @ 4400rpm
Boot Capacity241 L241 L241 L241 L
Phone ConnectivityAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and Bluetooth
Wireless ChargerNoNoNoNo
Security FeaturesImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizer
RoofPanoramic GlassPanoramic Glass
Steering Wheel AdjustmentTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/Down
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Headlights
TypeLEDLEDLEDLED
Headlight FeaturesAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/Off
Safety Features
CamerasRearRearRearRear
Cruise ControlAdaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)
Parking SensorsCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and Rear
Hazard PerceptionBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision Warning
Lane AssistanceLane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
Speed Sign RecognitionYes, read onlyYes, read onlyYes, read onlyYes, read only
Dimensions
Kerb Weight1,970 kg2,045 kg1,970 kg2,090 kg
Ground Clearance208 mm208 mm208 mm208 mm
Driver Information
GaugesAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and Digital
Built-In Navigation SystemYesYesNoYes
Heads Up DisplayNoNoNoNo
Voice ControlNoNoNoNo
Digital Radio (DAB+)YesYesYesYes
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014June 2021
Compare all 9 Toyota Kluger
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.